Home solar 4 months in.

SUSAccord2018
post Mar 1 2024, 03:09 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Mar 1 2024, 11:54 AM)
Don’t think so. He can afford an accord ler. From the nick
But some ppl really skeptical due to misinformation they get. Just like how some ppl detest ev. Everytime got one ev  goes kaboom, they straight become excited to condemn.
Good bee lucky not that gullible like that TS so noob. Definitely his family paid je the solar not like he can afford laugh.gif

Btw I got do homestay and rent out room. That's why want to find out je if solar really reliable and wont rosak after 11 years..

bee88
post Mar 1 2024, 03:33 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Mar 1 2024, 03:09 PM)
Good bee lucky not that gullible like that TS so noob. Definitely his family paid je the solar not like he can afford  laugh.gif

Btw I got do homestay and rent out room. That's why want to find out je if solar really reliable and wont rosak after 11 years..

Okay so your main concern is if solar is really reliable and won’t rosak after 11 years.

Solar component got two main part that might give u problem and cost a significant amount to repair or replace.

1. Inverter
2. Panel

For maintenance, like cleaning, we keep it to another discussion if u want to know later.

For inverter, the warranty is 5 years for string and 12 years for micro. These two warranty can be extended to 10 and 25 years respectively.

So yes, for string, u most likely need to replace in year 11, cos it’s almost at the end of its lifespan. For micro it can last longer than that. So to be safe, choose micro. When the manufacturer can promise that long, it means the item can really last that long most of the time.

2. For panel, warranty is usually 25 years. So it’s a non issue.

In order for you to have these warranty, it’s advisable to get from reputable or those who are already long in the solar game and have solid performance. This one you will need to do some homework like getting their ssm to check out their company health. If you want to be in so detailed lah. So , as long the company has solid ground, your warranty should cover 10 years at least.

Meanwhile, another thing is to make sure the Roi is well within 10 years. If can get between 5-7 years is still quite a good one. That’s why the price is a big factor here. Once ur roi met and achieved, u no longer rugi kan. And u don’t need to worry about warranty anymore if shit happens.

Once ur roi is achieved, u don’t need to worry 11th year anymore. Coz 11 years onwards, u should expect to cough up a little bit more for battery storage system anyway. And the cycle continues until ur roi is met again.

simmarjit
post Mar 1 2024, 04:01 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Mar 1 2024, 11:45 AM)
Ic.  So your total Feb production is 1397.27?

That translate to 3.67 Sun hour.

Slightly better than usually promised 3.5sun hour.

Where is your location?
KL, bill still high tho, i guess thats what happens when there are 3 power hungry PCs that are on at night LUL, one of which is a 24/7 machine.
bee88
post Mar 1 2024, 04:55 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Mar 1 2024, 04:01 PM)
KL, bill still high tho, i guess thats what happens when there are 3 power hungry PCs that are on at night LUL, one of which is a 24/7 machine.
Ur place kl so efficient? Already got ur Feb bill? My place still haven’t got. Usually after 2 - 3 days.
simmarjit
post Mar 1 2024, 05:02 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Mar 1 2024, 04:55 PM)
Ur place kl so efficient? Already got ur Feb bill? My place still haven’t got. Usually after 2 - 3 days.
No havent get, based on the past few months bill and also me knowing the usage
adamw
post Mar 1 2024, 07:40 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(sansaboy @ Mar 1 2024, 01:21 PM)
3 phase

Now tnb bill is rm 600+
Future usage might increase if more EV and family members stay with us
Go for max NEM 12kW inverter. Rm600+ includes EV charging?
cdspins
post Mar 1 2024, 08:29 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Mar 1 2024, 03:09 PM)
Good bee lucky not that gullible like that TS so noob. Definitely his family paid je the solar not like he can afford  laugh.gif

My opinion is that install solar just don't expect to use it for more than 10 years. Just have the mindset that after 10 years, you need to re-invest. Start from 0 and buy everything again (new inverter + new panels + new DB + new cables maybe + new battery maybe). Then you can work your planning backwards easier.

So the question then become in 10 years time can you can back your invested money?
cdspins
post Mar 1 2024, 08:30 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Mar 1 2024, 04:01 PM)
cool2.gif Spot a miner here
simmarjit
post Mar 4 2024, 01:19 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Mar 1 2024, 08:30 PM)
cool2.gif Spot a miner here
No larh LOL ... more like homelabber wannabe LUL
accordvtec
post Mar 6 2024, 09:41 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Mar 1 2024, 03:33 PM)
Okay so your main concern is if solar is really reliable and won’t rosak after 11 years.

Solar component got two main part that might give u problem and cost a significant amount to repair or replace.

1. Inverter
2. Panel

For maintenance, like cleaning, we keep it to another discussion if u want to know later.

For inverter, the warranty is 5 years for string and 12 years for micro. These two warranty can be extended to 10 and 25 years respectively.

So yes, for string, u most likely need to replace in year 11, cos it’s almost at the end of its lifespan. For micro it can last longer than that. So to be safe, choose micro. When the manufacturer can promise that long, it means the item can really last that long most of the time.

2. For panel, warranty is usually 25 years. So it’s a non issue.
In order for you to have these warranty, it’s advisable to get from reputable or those who are already long in the solar game and have solid performance.  This one you will need to do some homework like getting their ssm to check out their company health. If you want to be in so detailed lah. So , as long the company has solid ground, your warranty should cover 10 years at least.

Meanwhile, another thing is to make sure the Roi is well within 10 years. If can get between 5-7 years is still quite a good one.  That’s why the price is a big factor here. Once ur roi met and achieved, u no longer rugi kan. And u don’t need to worry about warranty anymore if shit happens.

Once ur roi is achieved, u don’t need to worry 11th year anymore.  Coz 11 years onwards, u should expect to cough up a little bit more for battery storage system anyway. And the cycle continues until ur roi is met again.
bro you seem knowledgeable. im interested in investing in solar now but got no idea about it.
is there any company that you can recommend so that i can start from there?
cincai search google will get companies like plus xolar, gsparx, and some solar solar companies.

my usage were typically 800+- but last month due to cny and freakin hot weather it hits 1000+-
bee88
post Mar 6 2024, 09:42 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(accordvtec @ Mar 6 2024, 09:41 AM)
bro you seem knowledgeable. im interested in investing in solar now but got no idea about it.
is there any company that you can recommend so that i can start from there?
cincai search google will get companies like plus xolar, gsparx, and some solar solar companies.

my usage were typically 800+- but last month due to cny and freakin hot weather it hits 1000+-
Ok. Pm u later
Roblox Malaya
post Mar 6 2024, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Oct 3 2023, 10:42 AM)
That 47k is not an asset like house. More like a car. It will be deteriorated. Should include depreciation expenses oso . No to little second hand value.
No lah... solar panels last long time and require very little maintenance.

Should look at it from payback period angle.

His payback period is 4.9 years for his RM47k investment. Not bad.

After five years, he is getting free RM800 per month.
Keng
post Mar 6 2024, 10:21 AM

142 posts

Anyone tried installing solar panel on awning? Or better still, use solar panel as awning? I've plans to install awning at my parents' driveway, so thinking if its possible to do so. The driveway also gets unblock sunlight throughout the day.
ctys2012
post Mar 6 2024, 10:31 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Mar 6 2024, 10:21 AM)
Anyone tried installing solar panel on awning? Or better still, use solar panel as awning? I've plans to install awning at my parents' driveway, so thinking if its possible to do so. The driveway also gets unblock sunlight throughout the day.
the aeon at my place is doing so... they are covering the rooftop carpark with solar panels, its used to be non covered car park
TSnetflix2019
post Mar 6 2024, 10:43 AM

416 posts

My uncle did. The solar company suggested it to him cos his roof a lot of weird angles and at the same time he memang plan to install awning.

His only complain so far is it's collecting a lot more dust because of the angle issue. He installed it flat. if conventional roof top it will be sloped so when it rains it will wash away some of the dust and also less water stain.
adamw
post Mar 6 2024, 12:07 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

Currently helping a friend to customised his solar carport, already sent his requirements to supplier, no reply yet
Keng
post Mar 6 2024, 03:47 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(ctys2012 @ Mar 6 2024, 10:31 AM)
the aeon at my place is doing so... they are covering the rooftop carpark with solar panels, its used to be non covered car park
That's good to know that its doable.

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Mar 6 2024, 10:43 AM)
My uncle did. The solar company suggested it to him cos his roof a lot of weird angles and at the same time he memang plan to install awning.

His only complain so far is it's collecting a lot more dust because of the angle issue. He installed it flat. if conventional roof top it will be sloped so when it rains it will wash away some of the dust and also less water stain.
Ok, i'll keep that in mind to install it at an angle. Gonna channel the water away to a gutter and then down the drain.

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 6 2024, 12:07 PM)
Currently helping a friend to customised his solar carport, already sent his requirements to supplier, no reply yet
Ooo, keep me posted! I'm very much interested in this setup.
yeapsc73
post Mar 6 2024, 04:03 PM

384 posts

depends on the house orientation, the sunray to the driveway will be blocked by the main building which is much higher in certain months in a year (if north-south orientation) or certain hours in a day (if east-west orientation).

My house which is pitch roof, has 6 pieces PV facing south and 6 pieces facing north. Those facing south will get more generation now as the sun at the southern hemisphere until equinox on 21/3 then the sun will be slowly going to shine on the northern hemisphere

This post has been edited by yeapsc73: Mar 6 2024, 04:07 PM
MGM
post Mar 6 2024, 04:56 PM

18,455 posts

The structure that holds the solar panels as awning has to stand against bad whether too, can this be insured?
nottherealme
post Mar 6 2024, 05:13 PM

61 posts

one of my neighbour got his solar installed by this company called Northern Solar. Very very bad service. During pitching everything is good, however the headache came during the installation part. During installation day, appointment made at 9am but the contractor end up coming at 2-3pm despite several reminders and kept calling the sales guy.

When contractor finally came, he said no one from the company inform him. Anyway, installation done and then got leaking issue. contacted the sales guy but he kept pushing the blame to my neighbour instead of rectifying it. So, my neighbour contacted the contractor directly and turns out its a sub con and he said he can't do anything because the solar company did not pay them and all the other sub con for a long time. So they asked the sales guy if can fix on our own and claim from your end, he said can. so proceed with own fixing and at the end now say cannot claim. Left google review but it has been deleted.

Avoid this company, Northern Solar. They offer cheap package but come with a lot of problem after. Not worth the saving. Heard from the contractor also that a lot customer complain but no action taken.

255 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0424sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:43 PM