Home solar 4 months in.

bee88
post Feb 29 2024, 08:43 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Feb 29 2024, 08:16 PM)
To give u some idea, a panel usually cost 600-800. An inverter maybe 2k something. If my maths are correct, their profit margin is 100%
This I have to disagree.

U haven’t include labour, accessories, and the inverter he has is 3 units. And each unit is about 2k like what u said.
For string the margin is higher. For micro is smaller margin.

It can be 100% though, if the system u get is at a very very steep price.
simmarjit

980 posts

QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Feb 29 2024, 08:39 PM)
For an average of RM280 a month usage, is it advisable to even install solar panels?
Nope, 500+ then should consider
etan26

323 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 29 2024, 06:36 PM)
I regretted feeding the troll, just put this idiot on your ignored list!
Already done that, cheers mate.
bee88

303 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Feb 29 2024, 08:21 PM)
Wow! Location?
I pm u lah my location. Duwant ppl stalk me later hahahah
bee88
post Feb 29 2024, 08:45 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Feb 29 2024, 08:41 PM)
I’ll take that offer… wahahahahaha
Later I pm u k. No worries. My offer is open to Anyone who is looking for advice.
yeapsc73
post Feb 29 2024, 08:55 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 29 2024, 07:51 PM)
My area is 4.49 sun hour average for the whole February.
Great generation. I got about 3.8 hours this month. Last month around 3.2
dirtinacan
post Feb 29 2024, 09:00 PM

381 posts

My 1st complete month.

Total generated 763kwh
Highest day 35.3kwh (today)
Lowest day 14.2kwh

Normal month usage below 550kwh
This month dem hot. Dunno how much energy used but almost everyday on 2.5hp aircond afternoon until 7pm
NubPro
post Feb 29 2024, 09:13 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 29 2024, 08:43 PM)
This I have to disagree. 

U haven’t include  labour, accessories, and the inverter he has is 3 units. And each unit is about 2k like what u said. 
For string the margin is higher.  For micro is smaller margin. 

It can be 100% though, if the system u get is at a very very steep price.
I dont think microinverter is worthy of its price and trouble.
I highly doubt solar installers will provide high end panels, so 800 is a very safe number. To give u some idea, I could get 550w panels for 600.
Accesories are cheap, labour cost I assume 3 pax, 100 ringgit a day. 5 days work. 1500. Definitely the margin is on the higher end, surely we can get better bang for the buck in the future
bee88
post Feb 29 2024, 09:27 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Feb 29 2024, 09:13 PM)
I dont think microinverter is worthy of its price and trouble.
I highly doubt solar installers will provide high end panels, so 800 is a very safe number. To give u some idea, I could get 550w panels for 600.
Accesories are cheap, labour cost I assume 3 pax, 100 ringgit a day. 5 days work. 1500. Definitely the margin is on the higher end, surely we can get better bang for the buck in the future
Have you asked for the quote and the panels provided by the provider? Maybe u can try pm me the detail and I will share with you my thoughts about them.

Labour u don’t count like this. Some companies have their own team and they pay The team based on installation. One team is about 5 people. So Like one site it can cost about rm2800 or 3800. And depending on how many days to complete.

550w at rm600? There are different grade of the panels. U can try to import the brand that solar company used for their solar package. It’s not that cheap actually.

That’s why in the end, I always ask ppl to bargain. Don’t go for expensive offering from “reputable” companies try to get the cheapest u can get.

As for micro inverter, it’s the safer annd more durable inverter you can get in the market. I wouldn’t compromise on safety by choosing String.

bee88
post Feb 29 2024, 09:31 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(dirtinacan @ Feb 29 2024, 09:00 PM)
My 1st complete month.

Total generated 763kwh
Highest day  35.3kwh (today)
Lowest day  14.2kwh

Normal month usage below 550kwh
This month dem hot. Dunno how much energy used but almost everyday on 2.5hp aircond afternoon until 7pm
What’s ur capacity? From there can calculate the sun hours
dirtinacan
post Feb 29 2024, 09:37 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 29 2024, 09:31 PM)
What’s ur capacity? From there can calculate the sun hours
Capacity 565w x 12 panels.

But limited by inverter rating and 4 panels facing north.

Inverter is 1.8kw x 3.

Max inverter output is 1.932kw though (483w per panel)
adamw
post Feb 29 2024, 09:44 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(dirtinacan @ Feb 29 2024, 09:37 PM)
Capacity 565w x 12 panels.

But limited by inverter rating and 4 panels facing north.

Inverter is 1.8kw x 3.

Max inverter output is 1.932kw though (483w per panel)
The hoymiles total 1.8kW(1.932kW) is the limit, extra panels wattage get you more power when weather not so good.
TSnetflix2019
post Feb 29 2024, 09:47 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Feb 29 2024, 08:17 PM)
Here is mine for February

Wow. How many panel?
yeapsc73
post Feb 29 2024, 11:49 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 29 2024, 09:44 PM)
The hoymiles total 1.8kW(1.932kW) is the limit, extra panels wattage get you more power when weather not so good.
Supposingly at max sun brightness, the output is kept at 1800W or 1932W for this inverter? Any input power over 1800W will be tapered off?

bee88
post Mar 1 2024, 12:20 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 29 2024, 11:49 PM)
Supposingly at max sun brightness, the output is kept at 1800W or 1932W for this inverter? Any input power over 1800W will be tapered off?
When a panel is rated at 575w or 600w, this is the STC value.

The best is referring to noct value.

Like ev, one is nedc value , another is wltp value.

So to achieve full panel outpu as per stc value, u need to see certain criteria met.

So clipping is considered minimal with the pairing while the spread is higher during non peak hours. Which is quite optimum.
adamw
post Mar 1 2024, 12:21 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 29 2024, 11:49 PM)
Yes, my Projoy 3kW max also I get is 3.2kW even though my panel total wattages is 3.9kW.
cdspins
post Mar 1 2024, 12:23 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 29 2024, 07:48 PM)
Okay. Let’s address your question

In the first lesson, we learn that the nett offset is 0, so your question is how come Tnb say need to pay rm60.

The website you are looking at is a calculator. It will generate estimated figure based on certain formula.

So where does the rm60++ come from?

In your bill, you have sst charges 6% on 601 units and above.  Icpt surcharge for 1500 kwh usage. Kwtbb 1.6%

What NEM allows to offset is the base fare, but the sst charges , icpt charges , kwtbb are not offset Ed. So the RM60 is actually all the other charges that is not offset. Tnb just offset the unit price, but not others. 

So, u might think, like thst not so worth la kan.

If u no solar, these charges u need to pay. If on solar , you still need to pay.

So these charges are not avoidable whether on solar or not.

Anyway, Tnb calculator x boleh pkai one lah. If suddenly u change ur mind and want to install solar, pm me, I personally help you calculate and offer you sound advice on how to go about installing solar.  There are things to avoid and things to do when it comes to solar. 

Gspark is one that u should avoid in the first place. Like u said, gspark is subsidiary of Tnb and surely Tnb will play kaw u with their gspark package. 

Any more question? Before we can proceed?
Good information on everything.... As for the Gspark charge Kaw kaw, that I will beg to differ. I gotten 3 quotation from GSpark, and 2 other companys... GSpark is more expensive but in the range of about 2~8% in my case.... I think for those considering NEM, do weigh and consider and get few quotation as it is free quote. In my opinion I think it is fairly reasonable to pay the extra to have a piece of mind unless the other company reputation is also very good and you personally know that the company is operating for long times. This is just my opinion

cdspins
post Mar 1 2024, 12:27 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Feb 29 2024, 07:30 PM)
I want to install but hate my current house. Can't see myself living here after a few years
Actually when you sell a house with NEM, the whole system is transferable.... just add up in the house price...
yeapsc73
post Mar 1 2024, 12:41 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Mar 1 2024, 12:20 AM)
When a panel is rated at 575w or 600w, this is the STC value.

The best is referring to noct value.

Like ev, one is nedc value , another is wltp value.

So to achieve full panel outpu as per stc value, u need to see certain criteria met.

So clipping is considered minimal with the pairing while the spread is higher during non peak hours. Which is quite optimum.
For my case, my inverter rated 2000W, clipping at 536W

My panel is rated 600W, but max input to the inverter is 536W due to clipping

But 4 X 536W will get 2144W, more than the inverter 2000W rating, so output of inverter will be clipped again to 2000W or still remained at 2144W?
bee88
post Mar 1 2024, 03:11 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Mar 1 2024, 12:41 AM)
For my case, my inverter rated 2000W, clipping at 536W

My panel is rated 600W, but max input to the inverter is 536W due to clipping

But 4 X 536W will get 2144W, more than the inverter 2000W rating, so output of inverter will be clipped again to 2000W or still remained at 2144W?
One is in dc and one is in ac.

That’s the difference.

The panel output that you see is in dc, while the inverter rating is in ac. That’s why if u check your app, you will notice a slight difference between the overall capacity (big figure) and toto panel figure. Microinverter has about 95% efficiency. Same thing goes to string too.

255 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:20 PM