456 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V41, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

Max2006
post Sep 25 2023, 02:53 PM

4,099 posts

Guys, regarding the speedtest "sudden boost up" phenomenon.

I am sure they did "upgrade" my port. Usually my speed would be maintained at 500-510mpbs ish. Now the speed is boosted up to 800mbps, then down to 530-540mbps ish. Yup, that extra 20-30mbps is the result of reaching bottleneck. It happens when you are getting a higher speed port while your account is still maintain at lower speed. There's a bad side of this, which is, unstable internet. That's why we always need the correct port to match up with our account package.

I won't be surprised if they call or msg me soon, saying that my speed is getting free upgrade, which I never ask or request.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Sep 25 2023, 02:55 PM
pokemon
post Sep 25 2023, 03:11 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Sep 25 2023, 02:53 PM)
Guys, regarding the speedtest "sudden boost up" phenomenon.

I am sure they did "upgrade" my port.  Usually my speed would be maintained at 500-510mpbs ish. Now the speed is boosted up to 800mbps, then down to 530-540mbps ish. Yup, that extra 20-30mbps is the result of reaching bottleneck. It happens when you are getting a higher speed port while your account is still maintain at lower speed. There's a bad side of this, which is, unstable internet. That's why we always need the correct port to match up with our account package.

I won't be surprised if they call or msg me soon, saying that my speed is getting free upgrade, which I never ask or request.
So 500Mbps free upgrade to 800Mbps, 800Mbps free upgrade to 1Gbps, 1Gbps free upgrade to 2Gbps?
Khan92
post Sep 25 2023, 03:14 PM

To live is to die
552 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Sep 25 2023, 03:11 PM)
So 500Mbps free upgrade to 800Mbps, 800Mbps free upgrade to 1Gbps, 1Gbps free upgrade to 2Gbps?
Possibly.

Since mine upload speed boost up to 250 mbps, probably 300 mbps will bump to 1gbps.

Higher speed might get maximum available package 2gbps
pokemon
post Sep 25 2023, 03:23 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Sep 25 2023, 03:14 PM)
Possibly.

Since mine upload speed boost up to 250 mbps, probably 300 mbps will bump to 1gbps.

Higher speed might get maximum available package 2gbps
Also hope to get price reduction too.
Max2006
post Sep 25 2023, 03:56 PM

4,099 posts

what do I know. it's purely my speculation. Seeing that more and more people are getting those weird boost up speed on their speedtest, something is going on behind the scenes. That's for sure. The only problem is we don't know what they are planning to do and how they gonna execute it. We can only wait and see. Hope for the best but be prepared for the worst.
BenYeeHua
post Sep 25 2023, 03:58 PM

1,873 posts

For me 30M, it burst to 100M then drop 50M and 30M stable, so 30M -> 100M hmm.gif

Sadly the old port speed API removed, else easy check....
phaez
post Sep 25 2023, 04:00 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(ppfoong @ Sep 25 2023, 11:44 AM)
I heard new batches from last week onwards are permanent 500Mbps already. (Source from users sharing in Little Red Book's discussion).

But anyhow, subscribe 300Mbps, get 6 months free and real 600++Mbps at least for 1 year, not good meh?

The Cloudflare test server is located in Singapore too, considered overseas connection already. At least not test using the nearest local test server within 1 loop only.
Received offer via phone last week via call after try to port out to Maxis. Caller mentioned 500mbps for life. I was surprise and made her confirm again, she said true, 500mbps for life for RM119. will confirm again once technician come to upgrade. So far not reflected to my account yet.
Max2006
post Sep 25 2023, 04:06 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(phaez @ Sep 25 2023, 04:00 PM)
Received offer via phone last week via call after try to port out to Maxis. Caller mentioned 500mbps for life. I was surprise and made her confirm again, she said true, 500mbps for life for RM119. will confirm again once technician come to upgrade. So far not reflected to my account yet.
So it's really happening. But under condition that you are planning to port out and they are trying to counter offer you. Please do update us once you settle your upgrade,

Now i need more proof. Prefer those people who switched to SWU 3.0 and successfully getting 500mbps on RM119 permanently. If there are any people who done this and see this in this forum, please do tell us asap.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Sep 25 2023, 04:09 PM
1qaz1qaz
post Sep 25 2023, 04:17 PM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,894 posts

Guys, recently i mean like just now sweat.gif I upgraded to D-link mesh wifi router (DIR-X3060Z)
as im not very good with networking things, Got a few question with this new mesh router
1) Lan port no3 is only for Unifi TV box? cant use for normal internet?
2) Main router connected to BTU, and the mesh at living room, can i connect lan cable to this mesh router?

issac99289928
post Sep 25 2023, 04:17 PM

291 posts

if 500mbps for RM119 ,300mbps and 800mbps will not be sold openly .

This post has been edited by issac99289928: Sep 25 2023, 04:24 PM
joehann
post Sep 25 2023, 04:26 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(phaez @ Sep 25 2023, 04:00 PM)
What is you current speed and how much per month? which speed do you want to upgrade in maxis and monthly fee is? mine is 500mbps+aneka pay at RM159 per month and already end of contract. I will really love it if they can offer me 500mbps at RM119 without the tv pack.

So please share what you do as I also want to try and get counter offer. biggrin.gif
yenchenje
post Sep 25 2023, 04:29 PM

932 posts

Chiming in my two cents here.

1gbps here, yesterday been trying to setup bufferbloat countermeasures on my OPNSense router.

Was doing speed test on waveform website, my speed test instantly shot up to about 1200mbps when testing before coming back down to 700-800 sustained, upload test only risen to a peak of 600mbps+.

If this is the case, then maybe SWU 3.0 subscribers all get a free speed upgrade as well?

P/S: This 1gbps plan was signed at the start of Sept approximately and my port is still at 1GBe (Stock D-Link DPN-FX3060V router) no custom 2.5/10G port, or SFP ONU

Will maybe try to run a speed test tonight in the D-Link app to see the sustained speed and see

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 25 2023, 04:33 PM
1qaz1qaz
post Sep 25 2023, 04:33 PM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,894 posts

just want to share abit of my recent experience with TM/Unifi. Usually TM/Unifi got many bad review/comments/rep by their user compare to other ISP.
So far i been using Streamyx > Unifi for over 10+ years now with no big issues or downtime (maybe <10 times). iirc, started with 1 Mbps > 30 Mbps > 100 Mbps > 300 Mbps.
All the speed upgrade is offered by TM with the same price or some with extra rm10 and the last 300 Mbps thanks to YB Gobind Singh rclxms.gif

My 300 mbps package was with some Unifi TV that no one watch RM159 + 6%. I saw Unifi offering 300 mbps(500 mbps Speed upgrade for 6 months) internet only for RM149 + 6%, plan to "upgrade" to this.
Went to a TM/Unifi Point, talk with them on what i wanted. They offer me higher speed with lower price compare to what they officially offering but im not interested.
In the end, they offer me same 300 mbps with 6 months payment waived for RM119 + 6% but with 2 years renew contract haha (its okay not other ISP at my area)
So if your contract ended can go see see ask ask maybe can get good offer.
Max2006
post Sep 25 2023, 04:40 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Sep 25 2023, 04:29 PM)

If this is the case, then maybe SWU 3.0 subscribers all get a free speed upgrade as well?

I think this is the case, after i saw the comments where those who switched to SWU 3.0 300mbps get free upgrade to 500mbps permanently (still need to be verified though). May be they already received the instruction last week that all users will get free upgrade after fahmi's announcement, hence they just go ahead to tell those who asked for SWU 3.0 about the newest price in advance.

Again. this is my own speculation based on my observation at the comments in this forum. But it does make sense.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Sep 25 2023, 04:45 PM
pokchik
post Sep 25 2023, 04:46 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Sep 25 2023, 04:33 PM)
My 300 mbps package was with some Unifi TV that no one watch RM159 + 6%. I saw Unifi offering 300 mbps(500 mbps Speed upgrade for 6 months) internet only for RM149 + 6%, plan to "upgrade" to this.
Went to a TM/Unifi Point, talk with them on what i wanted. They offer me higher speed with lower price compare to what they officially offering but im not interested.
In the end, they offer me same 300 mbps with 6 months payment waived for RM119 + 6% but with 2 years renew contract haha (its okay not other ISP at my area)
So if your contract ended can go see see ask ask maybe can get good offer.
TL;DR :

SWU 3.0 Internet only, 300Mbps (500Mbps free upgrade for 1yr), RM119 + SST, 6mths bill waiver.

This post has been edited by pokchik: Sep 25 2023, 04:47 PM
phaez
post Sep 25 2023, 04:48 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(joehann @ Sep 25 2023, 04:26 PM)
What is you current speed and how much per month? which speed do you want to upgrade in maxis and monthly fee is? mine is 500mbps+aneka pay at RM159 per month and already end of contract. I will really love it if they can offer me 500mbps at RM119 without the tv pack.

So please share what you do as I also want to try and get counter offer.  biggrin.gif
currently 100mbps at RM129. Planned to port to Maxis 300mbps at RM149 with rebate RM100 + free 6m bills. Did my port out request via chat then after few hours received the call for the offer. She said process should take 5 working days. So I cancelled the plan to move to Maxis.
pokchik
post Sep 25 2023, 04:49 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

My speedtest doesn’t show a jump now for DL, but for UL it’s always a spike up to 400Mbps (only for a short time at the beginning).

I could’ve sworn that I see the DL spikes previously..
Max2006
post Sep 25 2023, 04:51 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Sep 25 2023, 04:49 PM)
My speedtest doesn’t show a jump now for DL, but for UL it’s always a spike up to 400Mbps (only for a short time at the beginning).

I could’ve sworn that I see the DL spikes previously..
Probably a glitch. I just tested mine. Still got the DL spike.
zero5177
post Sep 25 2023, 04:53 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

Anyone have issue with the new Unifi TV Box HDMI result in black screen at startup after showing "Unifi Logo" ?

During setup it was working well, I think the tech did some update to the firmware then I did not check again before he left doh.gif

After that find out the TV box show black screen, startup still have Unifi Logo appear
soonwai
post Sep 25 2023, 04:57 PM

11,455 posts

Hope it's not like Gobind upgrade. Some got it perpetually and some got it for 24months.

456 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:40 AM