Australia Visa, Need Advice

haya
post Jun 10 2024, 01:47 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 25 2024, 07:38 PM)
https://www.kalzumeus.com/2010/06/17/falseh...ve-about-names/

This should be mandatory reading for everyone.

Anyone who has ever dealt with people from around the world will bang their heads at every single country's naming systems

Japan: everyone's name is maximum 5 characters, like 喜多村英梨. What do you mean there's someone named アンワル・ビン・イブラヒム?

Malaysia: My name Tan Ah Beng. First name = Tan. Middle Name = Ah. Last name= Beng.
Here's Tan Ah Seng. First name = Tan Ah. Last name = Beng.
Meet Chow Yun Fatt. First name = Fatt. Middle Name = Yun. Last name = Chow

Australlia: What do you mean your surname is Loke? Your passport says "Anthony Loke Siew Fook", so it must me "Fook"

UK: Welcome "Dayang Rosnah Abang Madeli". Your name is now 'Dayang' in your email, your name card, and your logon

USA: Thanks for putting your life on the line in Afghanistan for us. Your name is now FNU
https://www.texasstandard.org/stories/why-f...ies-in-the-u-s/
http://www.houstonchronicle.com/news/local...-in-6881252.php
https://www.sacbee.com/news/investigations/...le85861507.html
https://news4sanantonio.com/news/local/its-...ban-taking-over

Sorry slight digression from topic, but on the topic of names: https://fedi.worf.win/notice/Ady0CnOa8KxG49l7aK

Names are hard
kakikopiluwak
post Jun 15 2024, 06:41 PM

70 posts

May I check for those submitting EPF Statements, did you get it translated? EPF statement is in BM
haya
post Jun 15 2024, 06:47 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(kakikopiluwak @ Jun 15 2024, 06:41 PM)
May I check for those submitting EPF Statements, did you get it translated? EPF statement is in BM
Is this for the ETA (subclass 601)? Are they asking for EPF statements now? Or are you submitting on your own accord?
ahkit123
post Jun 15 2024, 06:49 PM

2,550 posts

Apply online
bonkers28
post Jun 15 2024, 07:21 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(kakikopiluwak @ Jun 15 2024, 06:41 PM)
i submit without translation but that was 2 years ago lah
hksgmy
post Jun 15 2024, 09:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 15 2024, 06:47 PM)
Is this for the ETA (subclass 601)? Are they asking for EPF statements now? Or are you submitting on your own accord?
I suspect he is just being pre-emptive.

This so-called ETA is becoming more and more of a charade.
kakikopiluwak
post Jun 15 2024, 09:24 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 15 2024, 06:47 PM)
Yes, for ETA. One of the items listed as proof of financial standing is superannuation (which is EPF in Malaysia)

This post has been edited by kakikopiluwak: Jun 15 2024, 09:26 PM
hksgmy
post Jun 15 2024, 10:23 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kakikopiluwak @ Jun 15 2024, 09:24 PM)
Yes, for ETA. One of the items listed as proof of financial standing is superannuation (which is EPF in Malaysia)
Wow… that’s really digging into our financial history
Jack Separuh
post Jun 15 2024, 11:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kakikopiluwak @ Jun 15 2024, 09:24 PM)
i didn't bother to get mine translated.
It still got approved smile.gif

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 15 2024, 10:23 PM)
I know right? I wasn't too comfortable to submit my EPF statement but what to do?
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 12:21 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Jack Separuh @ Jun 15 2024, 11:32 PM)
i didn't bother to get mine translated.
It still got approved  smile.gif
I know right? I wasn't too comfortable to submit my EPF statement but what to do?
Not only that, I find it distasteful that they are almost labelling every Malaysian as guilty of plane jumping until proven otherwise…

I guess we have our fruit picking illegal overstayers to thank for this.
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 09:49 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ Jun 15 2024, 06:49 PM)
Apply online
They will still ask for documents
jojolicia
post Jun 16 2024, 10:45 AM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 15 2024, 10:23 PM)
Well that's the most reliable piece of paper proofing employment, a true filter for reasons to return to home country (in a way)

I say, right move and probably DHA can make do omitting all other submittals ie payslips, co letter, co leave confirmation etc

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 16 2024, 10:46 AM
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 10:58 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 16 2024, 10:45 AM)
Well that's the most reliable piece of paper proofing employment, a true filter for reasons to return to home country (in a way)

I say, right move and probably DHA can make do omitting all other submittals ie payslips, co letter, co leave confirmation etc
Food for thought - what about those Chinaman companies that declare directorship and dividends post tax? Their EPFs might be measly or non existent but their wallets are bursting… and they are fat cats … so a bit hard to hop like a kangaroo and jump planes hahaha
jojolicia
post Jun 16 2024, 01:00 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 16 2024, 10:58 AM)
Food for thought - what about those Chinaman companies that declare directorship and dividends post tax? Their EPFs might be measly or non existent but their wallets are bursting… and they are fat cats … so a bit hard to hop like a kangaroo and jump planes hahaha
Well, one segment to each.

EPF is manly for those under employment which I believe is the largest segment. It's statement is self explanatory to many other docs.

Those you mentioned can always substantiate the likes of tax doc, audit, DHA also accept any form of assets declaration in your home country ie fd print-out etc etc

My niece ape pun taklak, just submitted 3 docs. 1)her current local postgraduate admission w/ next semester date 2)letter of invite 3)a small saving acc balance as her source of travel expenses.

DHA just wants to be convinced of 'reasons to return' to your home country

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 16 2024, 01:07 PM
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 01:03 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 16 2024, 01:00 PM)
Well, one segment to each.

EPF is manly for those under employment which I believe is the largest segment. It's statement is self explanatory to many other docs

Those you mentioned can always substantiate the likes of tax doc, audit, DHA also accept any form of assets declaration in your home country ie fd print-out etc etc

My niece ape pun taklak, just submitted 3 docs. 1)her current local postgraduate admission w/ next semester date 2)letter of invite 3)a small saving acc balance as her source of travel expenses.

DHA just wants to be convinced of 'reasons to return' to your home country
Your niece got secret weapon… uncle is a PR hahaha

jojolicia
post Jun 16 2024, 01:11 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 16 2024, 01:03 PM)
Your niece got secret weapon… uncle is a PR hahaha
Her bibi's letter of invite actually, not me 😆😆

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 16 2024, 02:41 PM
haya
post Jun 16 2024, 02:53 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 15 2024, 09:04 PM)
this so-called ETA is becoming more and more of a charade.
It is still better than the visa subclass 600 process

Go and talk to people holding passports from the other ASEAN countries on what they need to do for a subclass 600 to visit Australia as a tourist

But can you fault Australia when Malaysian's abuse the system?
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 03:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 16 2024, 02:53 PM)
It is still better than the visa subclass 600 process

Go and talk to people holding passports from the other ASEAN countries on what they need to do for a subclass 600 to visit Australia as a tourist

But can you fault Australia when Malaysian's abuse the system?
Actually I helped my helper apply for a 600 Visa and that approved after 3 days
haya
post Jun 16 2024, 03:23 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 16 2024, 03:04 PM)
Actually I helped my helper apply for a 600 Visa and that approved after 3 days
The information required to be submitted for a 600 vs a 601 pulled for additional processing for Malaysian holders, compare the 2.

Also the cost of a 601 vs 600.
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 03:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 16 2024, 03:23 PM)
The information required to be submitted for a 600 vs a 601 pulled for additional processing for Malaysian holders, compare the 2.

Also the cost of a 601 vs 600.
Yeah, but at least the processing time (at least for my helper who really didn’t have an option for an ETA) was determinable and didn’t require further input.

42 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:31 AM