Australia Visa, Need Advice
hksgmy
Nov 21 2023, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Nov 20 2023, 02:39 PM) thank you for the heads up right there! How's the weather over there, i've been monitoring for the past week its around 15-19ish . can i pack for summer clothing? A light jacket for the day should be enough but maybe something more substantial for night?
hksgmy
Nov 21 2023, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(Lanchio @ Nov 21 2023, 07:19 AM) Asking for a friend. Do you need to show flight ticket during visa application? I can speak from experience of applying for a visa for my helper - the answer is "no" (at least not for my helper's case - she's from the Philippines), and I applied for a 600.
hksgmy
Nov 21 2023, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 21 2023, 08:00 AM) It’s not that warm yet, so definitely pack a jacket. It’s been very mild the past week, no extreme heat or cold, just nice. If you’re heading out to places like great ocean road, it could be very windy so pack something more substantial I only made it as far as Torquay for the Great Ocean Road drive ... didn't have time, as I would have missed the Ferry boarding over at Geelong. Will definitely do it again. It's one of the must do items on my bucket list!
hksgmy
Nov 21 2023, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 21 2023, 09:05 AM) Yeah definitely do that. It’s one of the most beautiful places in Australia IMO. I’ve been to the 12 apostles maybe half a dozen times already, and I’ve still not gotten used to it. Yeah.... It's just the thought of having to do the drive from Sydney down to Geelong all over again sigh .... I could always do the inland route and "race" down there, but that also defeats the fun of the coastal drive.
hksgmy
Nov 21 2023, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 21 2023, 09:21 AM) You live in Sydney? I’ve never done the coastal route before. Did the inland a few times. I have 2 kids now and I’m just not brave enough to have them scream at me for 12 hours in the car  Hahah.. funny! I spend 3 to 4 months of the year back in Sydney. I'm based in Singapore.
hksgmy
Nov 21 2023, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Lanchio @ Nov 21 2023, 10:22 AM) Welcome bro, and good luck with your application! But, I think as Malaysians, we are slightly better - in the sense that we can apply for ETA instead of requiring a Visa.
hksgmy
Nov 28 2023, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(singgung @ Nov 28 2023, 08:41 PM) Guys, I'm directed to immi website for additional documents. What do i need to attach for family register and composition? You can list how each applicant is related to you/each other to show that you’ll be travelling together as a family. Also, if you have family members with valid visas and residing in Australia may aid in showing ties to Australia and may well be worth listing as well. Good luck and let us know how it goes.
hksgmy
Nov 28 2023, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(singgung @ Nov 28 2023, 09:19 PM) Thanks for your reply. For this particular category Document type is "Family Book/Household Booklet/Family Composition Evidence". Further info when I click "?" is "You can provide a copy of your family register book (if your country issues one)."  Really confused. There's a link for Form 54 but that form is only required for applicants applying from China. You can list how each applicant is related to you/each other to show that you’ll be travelling together as a family. This info is provided in Form 1554 which also to be attached together with this application. I honestly don’t think Malaysia has a family book. China has their 户口 which is what I think the site is referring to. Not Malaysia, IINM. Sorry bro, this one is above my pay grade to answer.
hksgmy
Jan 12 2024, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(lionelchia1986 @ Jan 12 2024, 07:32 AM) because i got confused there's an instruction to filled exactly like how it shows in our IC. Unlike US/UK national ID they do show Surname and Given name separately in the ID.  The instructions are very clear. If your MyKad shows Lionel Chia Ah Beng (following standard Malaysian naming nomenclature) then: FAMILY NAME is Chia GIVEN NAMES are Lionel Ah Beng Angmoh style will write your name as Lionel Ah Beng CHIA Hope that clarifies
hksgmy
Jan 12 2024, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(lionelchia1986 @ Jan 12 2024, 10:04 AM) Thank you for the clarification. I have submitted my application so i can't modify it. So i put in Notification of incorrect information form, hopefully it helps. Yes, that will definitely help. Good luck.
hksgmy
Feb 7 2024, 12:48 AM
Seriously? I’ve always filled in the address of either my classmate or my house in Sydney. Lucky I’ve never been stopped haha
hksgmy
Feb 7 2024, 10:01 AM
From reading the email, yes. The link is to the ETA. Good luck !
hksgmy
Feb 8 2024, 08:29 AM
My helper is with us in Australia at the moment and she had to apply for a 600 which cost me $190. So yeah, the fact that Malaysians still have an ETA arrangement is a real cost saver for visits to Australia.
Edited to reflect correct code for visa
This post has been edited by hksgmy: Feb 8 2024, 02:21 PM
hksgmy
Feb 8 2024, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 8 2024, 01:30 PM) The 601 is the ETA. You would have applied for the 600 if done though the immiAccount and paid AUD190. Citizens of countries not eligible for ETA (601) or eVisitor (651) must apply for the 600. In addition, if you want to stay longer than 3 months each entry, you also need to use the 600. Thanks for the correction - that’s what I meant. Cheers.
hksgmy
Feb 20 2024, 07:08 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 20 2024, 12:20 AM) You will be surprised how many plane jumpers are Malays.... particularly those who seek asylum... Can still apply for the 600 visa, which is the standard tourist visa for those not in the ETA (601) or eVisitor (651) visa. Apply via immiaccount pay AUD190. But if they think you are B40, high risk of jumping plane, they will say no....After they take your AUD190
hksgmy
Feb 21 2024, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(roy_zu @ Feb 21 2024, 12:45 PM) I just did mine with family 2 weeks ago. Only uploaded payslip, flight and hotel (fully paid non refundable). Trip for total of 11 days. Approved within 7 business days. Was there a reason given for rejection? Usually no reason for rejection is given
hksgmy
Feb 21 2024, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Feb 21 2024, 02:58 PM) Yes bro and already did that. What was missing in my first application was my letter from company hence requesting it from my boss as we speak Thanks for the info but ur delivery can be softened a bit maa. U want to scold scold that illegal strawberry picker that makes our lives hard 😂 Yeah, it’s really these fruit pickers plane jumpers that rosak Malaysia’s good name
hksgmy
Feb 23 2024, 08:52 PM
After reading all of this, I’m forever grateful my RRV has been faithfully approved for renewal for the past 15 years. Saves me such a headache!
hksgmy
Feb 24 2024, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 24 2024, 07:33 AM) From experiences here, it appears a significant portion of applications still get blocked for more information. In 2022, it was 74% (actual data from a freedom of information request). I got my visa in 2 minutes when I applied in January. The lucky quarter. The worldwide average is just about 2%. The red dot included. Perhaps think like them...pretend you are the immigration officer looking at your application. Do you think based on the documents, this guy will jump plane? What other evidences would you want? Bro, those are depressing stats for Malaysians! 2% from Rest of the World corralled for vetting vs 74% flagged from Malaysia... WTF did we do to piss them off so much!?
hksgmy
Feb 25 2024, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 24 2024, 08:50 AM) 60k visa overstayers in 2019 statistics. Covid delayed the response. When they reopened in 2022, the policy to vet Malaysians kicked in. Because of shortage of humans processing this, the turnaround time balloon to 6-7 weeks. Many were caught out, missing important events like children's graduation (a colleague), weddings, birthdays etc. The backlog is now cleared and you can get an answer as fast as 1 working day now Worst case scenario, they will remove Malaysia from ETA, and we join the Indonesians and Indians applying for the 600 with AUD190. Plus medical examination for those over 60. Oh dear. Was there ever a recent precedent where a country lost its visa free status? Or will Malaysia again make the news for being the first of an unwanted achievement?