9M-MAS
Nov 18 2024, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(tng55 @ Nov 18 2024, 12:14 PM) DNB Shared telco tower if telco own tower 5g chance to get upload go high 4g why easy upload go high as 50mbos above because TELCO 4G own tower DNB Tower = 5 telcos share that getting capped Speedtest shows different speeds like I said. 5G upload test on speedtest.net is consistently high, but is not reflected in actual 5G upload on Youtube. I have also tried uploading a 1GB file via transfernow on 5G - can get in excess of 30Mbps. You'd think they'd throttle everything if really go by telco. This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Nov 18 2024, 08:31 PM
andrekua2
Nov 18 2024, 11:01 PM
It seems like tplink x50 5g is slightly faster but I think I'm starting to hate it because of the software. I can't separate 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz wifi band. Also it caused the 5Ghz wifi to slow down when I'm connecting more devices with different standard. It felt a lot like Apple devices that felt dumb and hidden a lot of features from users. I don't know if I should love it or hate it.
cloudwan
Nov 19 2024, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 18 2024, 11:01 PM) It seems like tplink x50 5g is slightly faster but I think I'm starting to hate it because of the software. I can't separate 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz wifi band. Also it caused the 5Ghz wifi to slow down when I'm connecting more devices with different standard. It felt a lot like Apple devices that felt dumb and hidden a lot of features from users. I don't know if I should love it or hate it.  U can't separate 2.4ghz and 5ghz band? Does the router have any band steering option? I turn that off on my Tplink NX510v to separate the bands.. Kinda weird if X50 doesn't have it when both router are basically the same except for things like 2.5gb LAN and IP phone support..
andrekua2
Nov 19 2024, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 19 2024, 10:54 AM) U can't separate 2.4ghz and 5ghz band? Does the router have any band steering option? I turn that off on my Tplink NX510v to separate the bands.. Kinda weird if X50 doesn't have it when both router are basically the same except for things like 2.5gb LAN and IP phone support..  Yeah, no kidding. Maybe product categorization. This X50-5G is under Deco, probably thats why. I thought the app was the problem but when I access the webgui, also no difference.
ad2000
Nov 19 2024, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 18 2024, 11:01 PM) It seems like tplink x50 5g is slightly faster but I think I'm starting to hate it because of the software. I can't separate 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz wifi band. Also it caused the 5Ghz wifi to slow down when I'm connecting more devices with different standard. It felt a lot like Apple devices that felt dumb and hidden a lot of features from users. I don't know if I should love it or hate it.  IINM the latest firmware is 1.2.0 Build 20241011 Rel. 32926.. yeah the inability to separate wifi band is a bane other than that it is very reliable and stable..some 2.4 Ghz device not stable while some are okay. I had to use my old router as AP mode so that my autogate system, zigbee hub , smart switch and cctv can function flawlessly on 2.4Ghz This post has been edited by ad2000: Nov 19 2024, 12:18 PM
cloudwan
Nov 19 2024, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 19 2024, 11:17 AM) Yeah, no kidding. Maybe product categorization. This X50-5G is under Deco, probably thats why. I thought the app was the problem but when I access the webgui, also no difference. Whatthe.. Thats just plain stupid sia.. Luckily didn't get the X50 like that.. If not confirm i would be having problem with my MI cctv right now..
andrekua2
Nov 19 2024, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 19 2024, 12:35 PM) Whatthe.. Thats just plain stupid sia.. Luckily didn't get the X50 like that.. If not confirm i would be having problem with my MI cctv right now..  All my tapo cam, plug, power strip, led strip plus some smartlife switch still works though...
cloudwan
Nov 19 2024, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 19 2024, 12:52 PM) All my tapo cam, plug, power strip, led strip plus some smartlife switch still works though... I donno lah, i got an old 1080p MI ipcam which dai dai donwan connect unless u set it on 2.4ghz wifi.. At first i thought it was because i was using an AC router last time, change to AX also the same apparently..
andrekua2
Nov 20 2024, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 19 2024, 04:50 PM) I donno lah, i got an old 1080p MI ipcam which dai dai donwan connect unless u set it on 2.4ghz wifi.. At first i thought it was because i was using an AC router last time, change to AX also the same apparently..  You should just hard reset the cam... Most wifi based cam, switch, plug, whatever also uses 2.4GHz wifi... thats why it is cheap and also 2.4GHz easier to get signal due to better signal penetration.
skywardsword
Nov 20 2024, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 17 2024, 04:53 PM) Celcom is not worth it but it was one of the earliest one available. You feel UM is not worth but it only cost RM68. In comparison, Celcom cost RM149. Why do I choose Celcom is because of doubt. I use XOX and Yoodo which gave good 4G speed (before the merger with Digi). Just in case 5G suck, I still can rely on Celcom 4G. The other choice was YES but YES said they are limiting the speed to 120Mbps back which affected my decision. Not only that, if 5G suck, YES 4G is terrible since I trial their sim on my phone for 2 months. You can get a good 5G router between RM600-800. It is still much cheaper than Celcom offering (could be a different math now if you are a celcom postpaid subscriber but not me). Im very much still waiting for April 2025 to come faster so that I can terminate the Celcom 5G and move over to UM. Which UM plan you recommend? I am thinking of setting up a traveling internet office in a van.
andrekua2
Nov 20 2024, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(skywardsword @ Nov 20 2024, 09:52 AM) Which UM plan you recommend? I am thinking of setting up a traveling internet office in a van. I cant recommend you anything since all these are based on my own location. If you want some peace of mind ie. if 5G sucks then you still got 4G, then it would have to be between Celcom and Maxis. UM still lag very far behind with 4G coverage. They do sign some sort of 4G tower sharing deals with Maxis and Celcom but no one can be sure which area they are signing these deals for.
xswatch
Nov 20 2024, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(skywardsword @ Nov 20 2024, 09:52 AM) Which UM plan you recommend? I am thinking of setting up a traveling internet office in a van. for van traveling u can't rely on one mobile provider only. because 4g coverage is inconsistent & will vary everywhere. personally I'm using the combination of umobile (home 68) + celcom prepaid (5g rm65 500gb for my car due to always travel with family every weekends. I'm using gteniq iq03x55 with battery detached & direct connection to car ciggy port for power. reason for this is my kids have four tablets & all is wifi model (non LTE/5g). but there is an instance when I found UM & celcom is slow at particular camp site. but maxis sim on my phone is faster by 3x. since the mifi is modified, I just simply buy any suitable daily/weekly pass for my maxis sim & insert it inside the mifi. This post has been edited by xswatch: Nov 20 2024, 12:23 PM
1234kingbling
Nov 21 2024, 01:38 PM
Need a recommendation for a 5G router that is the most bang for the buck. appreciate all and any recommendations please. Thanks in advance
acid427
Nov 21 2024, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Nov 21 2024, 01:38 PM) Need a recommendation for a 5G router that is the most bang for the buck. appreciate all and any recommendations please. Thanks in advance Nokia fastmile 3
ccgoay
Nov 21 2024, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Nov 21 2024, 01:38 PM) Need a recommendation for a 5G router that is the most bang for the buck. appreciate all and any recommendations please. Thanks in advance Specify for traveler or station usage, as they difference size...
1234kingbling
Nov 21 2024, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(ccgoay @ Nov 21 2024, 03:09 PM) Specify for traveler or station usage, as they difference size... Station.
Krieger22
Nov 22 2024, 12:29 PM

Does anyone have any experience with using an Asus router as a repeater or access point for the MC888S router?
I've tried setting my AX55 up as a repeater for it, but it only works for about 3 minutes after being set up before devices connected to it stop being able to connect to the internet.
Additionally, the MC888S doesn't seem to be broadcasting in 5GHz at all
tmc
Nov 22 2024, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(Krieger22 @ Nov 22 2024, 12:29 PM) Does anyone have any experience with using an Asus router as a repeater or access point for the MC888S router? I've tried setting my AX55 up as a repeater for it, but it only works for about 3 minutes after being set up before devices connected to it stop being able to connect to the internet. Additionally, the MC888S doesn't seem to be broadcasting in 5GHz at all Maybe you should try testing the MC888s and Ax55 closed by first.
blacktubi
Nov 22 2024, 02:09 PM
-
QUOTE(Krieger22 @ Nov 22 2024, 12:29 PM) Does anyone have any experience with using an Asus router as a repeater or access point for the MC888S router? I've tried setting my AX55 up as a repeater for it, but it only works for about 3 minutes after being set up before devices connected to it stop being able to connect to the internet. Additionally, the MC888S doesn't seem to be broadcasting in 5GHz at all I think the better option is to just connect RT-AX55 to the modem using LAN cable and disable WiFi function on the 5G modem The WiFi function on most 5G modem are pretty bad
ccgoay
Nov 22 2024, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Nov 21 2024, 03:56 PM) If you purchase Legit Broadband SIM YESFlexi 58/U Home 5G, can :- if Budget constrain, can consider ZLT X28 and Fastmile 3, both can lock band. If want better get Olax G5018 or Telstra AW1000... all can lock band but there are pro and con... and if very very budget limited, get VN700+ cheap can lock band, but not very good in speed test (due to CPU is IV500).