Superbike, let discuss

icecolddamncold
post Dec 9 2011, 02:15 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Dec 9 2011, 01:24 PM)
sorry off topic for a while.

seriously what you doing in Cambodia anyway? are you Malaysian? any business opportunity brows.gif ?
haha yes definitely im a malaysian else i wont know about this forum right? lol working here only la at the same time looking at some potential biz opportunity tongue.gif interested in venturing here eh bro? hahaha..
masz94
post Dec 9 2011, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(T600 @ Dec 9 2011, 10:36 AM)
actually shifting from 1st to 2nd gear is a bit tricky, depending on how you let out the clutch, I think generally shifting between 1st to 3th gear where you should add sufficient gas before completely let out the clutch, in forth gear or more I just completely let off the clutch and add gas, smoother and less clunky?.... ermmm... or it is just me?

about clunk when shifting, last time I heard a BMW GS have a really loud clunky sound when putting into first  biggrin.gif , louder that the previous Kawa that I owned, I think it is just the way the bike behave, noticeably at low speed, your CBR1000RR 1st gear goes 140kmh, noneed to change gear often what? hahahaha.... biggrin.gif

Not much we can do here I think, first thing to do to reduce clunky noise I think is change the engine oils, it may reduce the noise a little and have a slight change, it is an advise from elite forumer.

Give it a try if it bothers you.

btw I just change my engine oil to Silkolene fully synthetic, sometimes I heard some ticking noises around the engine while at slow speed, say 3k rpm, hope it is not from the cam chain tensioner lol.
I like how u always experiment with riding techniques such as throttle blipping...
Salute u .... nod.gif

Added on December 9, 2011, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Dec 9 2011, 12:38 PM)
haha i just checked with my mech, he was mentioning that due to the bigger clutch system (i dont know what is it technically called hahaha) in which all 1000cc bikes used and especially Hondas, they do produce louder clunking sound. i realised all sportsbike certainly has big clunk sound when engaging first gear. however 2nd and 3rd not so loud already.

for my CBR, 2nd gear is still relatively loud and yeah this is when i go in low speed say 3-4krpm.. going high speed i didnt notice the loud clunk sound probably adrenaline rush already hahahaha...

haha honestly i havent touch redlines before yet.. so im not sure whether it can touch 140km/h or not during first gear itself tongue.gif i will try and let u all know soon hahaha..
Ooo.. Ic ... Good to know this.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by masz94: Dec 9 2011, 03:27 PM
yed
post Dec 9 2011, 03:56 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Dec 9 2011, 08:03 AM)
Cbr 1000rr I don't know but u can ask some mech, maybe they know.... From my observation kawasaki zephyr 1100, z1000, zxr 750 & gpz 550, they all have loud clunk sound... Maybe u should hear it urself....
But my mech oso said that no need to worry..no harm done.. It is the system...

Btw Roda-Roda magazine also confirm this when testing the new ZX-10R.... They said that  this bike still have the same loud clunk as before...  icon_rolleyes.gif
hello guys

talking about this clunk sound i think it is normal for superbike..as long as it does not damage your clutch , gears etc...when you ride hard..you will hardly hear the sound...smile.gif
icecolddamncold
post Dec 9 2011, 04:09 PM

140 posts

clunking sound only when u ride slow coz sportsbike aint meant to be riden slow hahaha... so when u go fast and ride hard.. u pretty much wont be aware of the clunking sound?
sanosizo
post Dec 9 2011, 05:02 PM

4,553 posts

try lifting the gear lever a little bit then pull the clutch and change gear as usual, thats what I do to get smooth gear change.
phobian
post Dec 10 2011, 01:29 AM

172 posts

On my Z, only engaging from neutral to 1st gear would have clunking sound. From 1st to 2nd - use to have it as I have the habit of shifting without clutch-ing in at low rpm, below 5K. Above 5K is fine. Hence, if I am on a "santai ride" mode - I would just clutch in.

Anyone has personally experience and tried the difference of a dual can vs single can full exhaust system. I am keen to know the difference for inline4 bikes that originally comes with a dual exhaust setup.
dinraxxx
post Dec 10 2011, 02:54 AM

Ex-Intern Editor for Lowyat.NET.
1,836 posts

Bikers, I invite you guys to come to the Alpinestars outlet launching in Setapak.

Today, 3pm-9pm
No G/17 P1/128, Genting Kelang
53300 Setapak, Kuala Lumpur.

By Iktikadraya.Come on and celebrate with us the grand opening!

post Dec 10 2011, 03:04 AM

473 posts

Bump!!! Good news that i want to buy a alphinestar jacket already...XD Can more choice...Hope the price won't too high...>< And wish they got Rm200-Rm300 d jacket for sale..
dinraxxx
post Dec 10 2011, 03:22 AM

Ex-Intern Editor for Lowyat.NET.
1,836 posts

QUOTE(0163119779 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:04 AM)
Bump!!! Good news that i want to buy a alphinestar jacket already...XD Can more choice...Hope the price won't too high...>< And wish they got Rm200-Rm300 d jacket for sale..
Well, I hope so.Come look and browse throughout our collection.
masz94
post Dec 10 2011, 01:06 PM

I tried the downshift throttle blipping technique.... Addicted to it now.... No more rear tyre lock-up......laugh.gif
EyraYus
post Dec 10 2011, 02:06 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

Guys, would like you to invite anyone who are free on 17th and 18th December (Saturday and Sunday) next week. Come join us Eidaman Bikers for our family day at Cameron Highland!

Please visit here as our forum are having problem today..

EBC Family Day Cameron Highland!

Quick detail here :

17/12/2011

7.00AM - RV POINT RESTORAN JEJANTAS SG.BULOH
AKTIVITI :-

1.PENUHKAN TANK PETROL MASING-MASING
2.BREAK FAST (JGN MAKAN MAKANAN YANG TERLALU BERAT TAKUT MENGANTUK)
3.TAKLIMAT RINGKAS
8.00AM - TAYAR GOLEK MOTOR KECIL
8.30AM - TAYAR GOLEK MOTOR BESAR
9.30AM - R&R TANJUNG MALIM

MOTOR KECIL ISI PETROL
9.45AM - TAYAR GOLEK MOTOR KECIL
10.15AM - R&R TAPAH

1.ISI MINYAK MOTOR KECIL
2.REHAT (MINUM/ROKOK)
10.45AM- TAYAR GOLEK
11.30AM - PETRONAS SIMPANG PULAI

MOTOR BESAR & KECIL ISI PETROL
12.00PM - TAYAR GOLEK
1.00PM - LERENG BUKIT WELCOME TO CAMERON HIGHLAND

BERGAMBAR (10MIN/15MIN SAHAJA)

1.15PM - TAYAR GOLEK

2.00PM - BANGLO NORAINI
AKTIVITI:-

1.DAFTAR MASUK BANGLO NORAINI
2.KEMAS BARANG PERIBADI
3.LUNCH (DI KAWASAN SITU)
4.SOLAT JAMAK/REHAT
4.30PM - STRAWBERRY PARK

1.BERGAMBAR
2.MEMBELI - BELAH
3.AKTIVITI BEBAS
6.00PM - BANGLO NORAINI

1.AKTIVI BEBAS
2.PERSEDIAAN BBQ
3.ICE BREAKING/PERKENALAN DIRI MASING-MASING
4.MAKAN PETANG DAN MALAM
9.00PM - PASAR MALAM

1.MEMBELI-BELAH
2.BERGAMBAR
3.AKTIVITI BEBAS

11.00PM - BANGLO NORAINI

1.SOLAT JAMAK
2.AKTIVITI BEBAS
12.00PM - BANGLO NORAINI

TIDUR

________________________________________________________________________________

18/12/2011
6.00AM - BANGLO NORAINI

1.BANGUN PAGI
2.SOLAT

7.30AM - BANGLO NORAINI

1.SARAPAN PAGI
2.MANDI
3.KEMAS BARANG
4.ISI MINYAK DI SHELL SEBELAH BANGLO NORAINI
8.30AM - TAYAR GOLEK

9.10AM - LADANG TEH/KILANG TEH

1.MELAWAT SAMBIL BELAJAR DI DALAM KILANG MEMPROSES TEH
2.MINUM TEH DI CAFE KILANG TEH
3.BERGAMBAR

12.00PM - TAYAR GOLEK

1.00PM - LATAR ISKANDAR

1.ALAS PERUT (GORENG PISANG/KELEDEK GORENG)
2.BERGAMBAR
3.REHAT/AKTIVITI BEBAS
1.30PM- TAYAR GOLEK MOTOR KECIL & BESAR

MOTOR KECIL DAN BESAR AKAN TERPISAH SEHINGGA PERHENTIAN SETERUSNYA DI TAPAH.

3.00PM - R&R TAPAH

1.MOTOR KECIL ISI MINYAK
2.PENUNGGANG MOTOR BESAR & KECIL MAKAN TENGAH HARI
3.SOLAT JAMAK/REHAT/AKTIVITI BEBAS

5.00PM - TAYR GOLEK

MOTOR KECIL DAN BESAR AKAN TERPISAH SEHINGGA PERHENTIAN SETERUSNYA DI ULU BERNAM.
6.00PM - R&R ULU BERNAM

1.MOTOR KECIL DAN BESAR ISI PETROL
2.MOTOR KECIL & BESAR CONVOI BERSAMA SEHINGGA PERHENTIAN RESTORAN JEJANTAS SG.BULOH

7.10PM - RESTORAN JEJANTAS SG BULOH

1.SOLAT
2.TAKLIMAT RINGKAS
3.BERSURAI

________________________________________________________________________________
Kepada yang berminat sudah boleh meletak nama mereka..Sila ikuti contoh dibawah tq.. Kiss
PERHATIAN CONVOI TERBAHAGI KEPADA 2 KUMPULAN IAITU :-

KELAJUAN MAXIMA 150KMJ
MINIMA 120KMJ
1-KICK IN GOAL(KIPS 150)(PILOT)
2-MOHD DARWIS(CBR250R)
3-EIDAMAN_Z(Z1000)
4-SYAWAL(KIPS 150)
5-TUFAGAR(ZX6R)
6-NAN(VERSYS)(SWEEPER)
7-POLIS(RUNER)
8-POLIS(RUNER)
9-FIFI(KIPS)
10-DONI(KAWASAKI 250R)
11-

KUMPULAN MOTOR KECIL
HI-WAY

KELAJUAN MAXIMA 110KMJ
MINIMA 90KMJ
1-RASCALKILLER(FZI150) (PILOT)
2-RAMADHAN(CBR 150)(CENTER RUNER)
3-ROKKUSAN(FZ150)(BACKUP PILOT)
4-AMIRUL(KSR)
5-WAN(FZ150)
6-MARIATUL SYUHADA(135LC)
7-HAKIMI(WAVE S)
8-NABIL NAIMAT(LC 135)
9-UMARZUKI(KIPS 150)
10.YUS (NAZA BLADE 650)(SWEEPER)
11.AMIRAH(135LC)
KUMPULAN KERETA

1-EIDA + EIDAMAN JR & AS(WIFE ROKKUSAN)+ANAK(KERETA)(PILOT)
2-WIFE CIKGU DEL+ANAK(KERETA)&CIKGU DEL
3-FAMILY MAN
4-
5-
Ok tempoh bayaran rm 110 seorang bermula 25 - 14 /12/2011!!!

Rm 110 seorang adalah untuk -

*T-Shirt 2 HELAI
*Penginapan
*Bbq
*Sarapan pagi
*Stiker Club

P/S -
KONVOI HENDAKLAH TIDAK MELAKUKAN PERKARA DIBAWAH:-
1.MEMOTONG RAKAN KONVOI DI DEPAN.
2.TIDAK MENGIKUT KELAJUAN RAKAN KONVOI DI DEPAN AGAR KONVOI TIDAK TERBAHAGI KEPADA 2 KUMPULAN
3.MELENGAH-LENGAHKAN MASA DI SETIAP PERHENTIAN.(PATUHI TANTATIF PROGRAM)
4.TIDAK BOLEH MENDIAMKAN DIRI SEKIRANYA MENGALAMI MASAALAH BERIKUT -
-MENGANTUK
-KEHABISAN PETROL
-INGIN MEMBUANG AIR
-MENGALAMI KEROSAKAN PADA MOTORSIKAL
-TIDAK BEKERJA SAMA SEMASA RAKAN BIKERS LAIN MEMBERI ISYARAT TANGAN
(SEKIRANYA MENGALAMI MASAALAH BERIKUT SILA LAPORKAN KEPADA MARSYAL DENGAN MENGGUNAKAN ISYARAT TANGAN)
KUMPULAN KERETA AKAN MENGIKUT KERETA TOYOTA VIOS MILIK EIDA MENGGUNAKAN JALAN TAPAH PADA HARI PERTAMA UNTUK MENGELAKKAN KESESAKAN JALAN RAYA.KUMPULAN KERETA JUGA DIJANGKA SAMPAI LEBIH AWAL KE BANGLO NORAINI DAN MENDAFTARKAN BILIK UNTUK PARA KONVOI MOTOSIKAL.

SEBUAH TOYOTA HILUX YANG DILENGKAPI BANTUAN KECEMASAN DIPANDU OLEH NIZAM 2525 AKAN MENGIKUTI KONVOI MOTOSIKAL DARI BELAKANG SEHINGGA SAMPAI KE BANGLOW NORAINI.

BIKERS BOLEH MENUMPANGKAN BAG2 DI BELAKANG HILUX AGAR BIKERS AKAN LEBIH SELESA SEMASA BERKONVOI.

*SEMASA HARI KEDUA DI BANGLO NORAINI HENDAKLAH MEMBERI KEUTAMAAN KEPADA PIHAK PEREMPUAN UNTUK MENGGUNAKAN BILIK AIR.
Come join us you guys! My fiancee will be riding my LC up Cameron thumbup.gif

masz94
post Dec 10 2011, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(T600 @ Dec 10 2011, 01:49 PM)
lolzzz and do you dump the clutch?
I tried exactly as u mention...
Btw today I entered a corner too fast... Got severe understeer....
Thankfully, this technique can kill understeer.... laugh.gif
wong ching ku
post Dec 10 2011, 07:09 PM

180 posts

sorry tumpang thread sekejap, not superbike but I need help from anyone hu is familiar with this bike, honda chaly:

I promised my uncker im gonna restore his bike, but now I got a headache, alot of wiring rusted off already. Also, the whole system is 6v, I was thinking if i can change the electrics n wiring to 12v, honda ex5 one with CDI? Where can I find a wireman around PJ/jalan klang lama area?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by wong ching ku: Dec 10 2011, 07:10 PM
icecolddamncold
post Dec 10 2011, 10:03 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Dec 10 2011, 01:06 PM)
I tried the downshift throttle blipping  technique.... Addicted to it now.... No more rear tyre lock-up......laugh.gif
still dont quite understand about the downshift throttle blipping technique rclxub.gif does it mean that instead of hitting the brakes (rear or front), you downshift ur gear for it to slow and make a cornering? lol some sifus pls enlighten me rclxms.gif

also, is Komine and RS-Taichi a quality riding gear? such as their jacket and pants? anyone using it?
ikiey
post Dec 10 2011, 11:21 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Dec 10 2011, 10:03 PM)
still dont quite understand about the downshift throttle blipping technique  rclxub.gif  does it mean that instead of hitting the brakes (rear or front), you downshift ur gear for it to slow and make a cornering? lol some sifus pls enlighten me  rclxms.gif
also, is Komine and RS-Taichi a quality riding gear? such as their jacket and pants? anyone using it?
If u dont blip throttle and release the clutch quickly, ur rear tyre will lock and hop around because the engine speed and the gearbox speed is not the about same, so to minimize this effect, what is required is for u 2 blip the throttle (to momentarily increase the engine speed to help engine speed and gearbox speed to be about the same just before totally releasing the clutch), if want to reduce this lock/tyre hop, can also release the clutch out really2 slowly... But, in spirited riding when u want all to be extra quickly, releasing the clutch out slowly will be not as efficient, so that is when this throttle blipping technique really important,... Esp like my bike, no slipper clutch, so if dont blip throttle, will confirm lock or rear tyre hop n this is especially dangerous when u want to reduce speed quickly just before corner entry and want to be at lower gear...

And actually, what u do is (in sequence); brake, clutch in, blip throtle+gear down) clutch out... And if braking with 2-3 gear change down, repeat all that as u go down the gears...

Hope this helps Bro icon_rolleyes.gif

I prefer komine and RS taichi anytime over alpinestars, cuz alpinestars so many immitations... sad.gif

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 10 2011, 11:23 PM
phobian
post Dec 11 2011, 11:00 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Dec 10 2011, 10:03 PM)
still dont quite understand about the downshift throttle blipping technique  rclxub.gif  does it mean that instead of hitting the brakes (rear or front), you downshift ur gear for it to slow and make a cornering? lol some sifus pls enlighten me  rclxms.gif
Hats off to ikiey for the clear and easy to understand explanation.

RS Taichi FTW! I have 2 pairs of their gloves and a leather jacket of theirs. For me, it is much a better product compared to Komine, but at a higher price point.
icecolddamncold
post Dec 11 2011, 02:16 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ikiey @ Dec 10 2011, 11:21 PM)
If u dont blip throttle and release the clutch quickly, ur rear tyre will lock and hop around because the engine speed and the gearbox speed is not the about same, so to minimize this effect, what is required is for u 2 blip the throttle (to momentarily increase the engine speed to help engine speed and gearbox speed to be about the same just before totally releasing the clutch), if want to reduce this lock/tyre hop, can also release the clutch out really2 slowly... But, in spirited riding when u want all to be extra quickly, releasing the clutch out slowly will be not as efficient, so that is when this throttle blipping technique really important,... Esp like my bike, no slipper clutch, so if dont blip throttle, will confirm lock or rear tyre hop n this is especially dangerous when u want to reduce speed quickly just before corner entry and want to be at lower gear...

And actually, what u do is (in sequence); brake, clutch in, blip throtle+gear down) clutch out... And if braking with 2-3 gear change down, repeat all that as u go down the gears...

Hope this helps Bro  icon_rolleyes.gif

I prefer komine and RS taichi anytime over alpinestars, cuz alpinestars so many immitations...   sad.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif indeed well said.. i'll try it out next week during my bike trip rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Added on December 11, 2011, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(phobian @ Dec 11 2011, 11:00 AM)
Hats off to ikiey for the clear and easy to understand explanation.

RS Taichi FTW! I have 2 pairs of their gloves and a leather jacket of theirs. For me, it is much a better product compared to Komine, but at a higher price point.
yes realized that RS Taichi has higher price point compared to Komine. but does Komine has the quality it needed in a riding pants? am planning to get a Komine riding pants tongue.gif

This post has been edited by icecolddamncold: Dec 11 2011, 02:20 PM
EyraYus
post Dec 11 2011, 10:39 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

going to Bukit Tinggi tomorrow. Anyone wanna go?

Going to Awana via Ulu Yam first.
Quazacolt
post Dec 11 2011, 10:44 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

btw, whats the difference between braking with front or rear brakes? do you ever need to use both at the same time? use which (front or rear) in what situation?
Quazacolt
post Dec 12 2011, 02:29 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Dec 11 2011, 11:28 PM)
for me I'm using both brake at the same time, apply more front then rear, when I'm new I mostly using rear, hit it too hard a few times and rear tire skid and almost crash doh.gif, nowadays I'm using more engine braking instead of using brakes.

now rarely using brake at all, don't know why  rclxub.gif
hmm since manual its easier to use engine braking than say, an AT car... hmm scare cant get used to it. what 2nd cheap cheap clutch + manual bike i can buy and practice with it till i get my own superbike?

159 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:35 AM