7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Superbike, let discuss

ikiey
post Nov 29 2011, 03:53 PM

48 posts

I also before this never rode a bike with clutch... But, set my mind on wanting to start riding a bike, then bought a Ninja 250r without even knowing how to operate the gear n clutch... Even on delivery date, need to set with the shop owner to deliver my bike on a flatbed truck bcuz dunno how to ride blush.gif ..Google how the gearing system, n then learn myself on how to ride... Always during midnight i go out to try out the bike, but after 2 night doing that, the next day already redline it on every streetlight...

I guess 250r will never go wrong with new rider who dont even have experience riding before cuz never will have problem of too much throttle on this bike, except when u drop the clutch from high rpm, only then u can wheelie... N to do that u still need to drop the clutch at 8-9krpm...

But still, this bike on the hands of those knee down kakis, can be very effective... A friend of mine, John Corner (even the nickname speaks i think...), going down hill at genting can cucuk a GSX1000, and also on several corners went pass that guy untill that guy do the "handphone ringing and i need to stop because need to answer my phone" thinggy...

But sure, once Karak, ninja 250r will be left for dead... Hehehe... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ikiey: Nov 29 2011, 03:55 PM
ikiey
post Nov 29 2011, 09:44 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(phobian @ Nov 29 2011, 08:59 PM)
If i recall correctly, ER6N should weight no more than 180kg with fuel. No need to do any weight training, practise the techniques required how to pick a fallen bike would do.
Er6 weighs around 205kg dry weight... Ninja 170kg dry weight Bro
ikiey
post Nov 30 2011, 05:07 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Yashiro @ Nov 30 2011, 04:35 PM)
is ninja250R is a superbike ar..or can say begineer supersports bike? compare to Aprillia RS250 .my favourite bike .hehe lightpower to weight ratio.sweet high pitching sound more higher more nice.
Ninja is just sports touring Bro... Not supersports... I dunno how to categoriez superbike, but i think Ninja250r is not a superbike bcus superbike are usually those supersports/hypersports type of bike... Ass level same level with ur wrist if u view from the side, which means aggresive riding position whereas Ninja the rider sits quite uptight... Furthurmore ninja only 2 cylinder, no vroom vroom sound.... Like mesin jahit one only.. blush.gif

Added on November 30, 2011, 5:13 pmAprilia RS250 is a baby supersports... But it's 2 stroke... Preng preng sound... But damn its fast around the corners...

This post has been edited by ikiey: Nov 30 2011, 05:13 PM
ikiey
post Nov 30 2011, 08:17 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Nov 30 2011, 07:46 PM)
LOL. Dont try to explain what superbike is to others. Because most people simply doesnt want to listen.

In the Europe/USA, superbike is a race bike. Even a 1000cc bike are called "sportsbike" there.

But in racing, "superbike" are a 1000cc bike, "supersport" is 600cc bike. Look at WSBK and our own MSS.

For Malaysian, all loud and look fast bike are a superbike, I always insist on others that my Blade 650 is a "street bike" not a superbike as they always call it.
Yes yes, agree... Sometimes i keep expalining this also, but to the others(non rider peepz), as long as its full fairing, and fat tires, then its super bike... So, wat eva lar... Hehehe
ikiey
post Dec 2 2011, 05:29 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Dec 2 2011, 03:46 PM)
hmmm... Suzuki GSX650f

real big compare to ER6N, I sat on it at the dealer, makes me feel really big, it is a big bike! looks like it providing physical ease and relaxation while cruising at high speed.  drool.gif
Waaa, at first i tout its xj6...
ikiey
post Dec 2 2011, 05:32 PM

48 posts

Why eeeh nowdays alot new touring 600 comes with conventional telescopic forks instead of that USD...???

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 2 2011, 05:32 PM
ikiey
post Dec 3 2011, 10:44 PM

48 posts

Just wondering, R1 already equiped with slipper clutch rite Bro...?? Still need to blip throtle when down shift...? Sorry Bro, newbie here
ikiey
post Dec 10 2011, 11:21 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Dec 10 2011, 10:03 PM)
still dont quite understand about the downshift throttle blipping technique  rclxub.gif  does it mean that instead of hitting the brakes (rear or front), you downshift ur gear for it to slow and make a cornering? lol some sifus pls enlighten me  rclxms.gif
also, is Komine and RS-Taichi a quality riding gear? such as their jacket and pants? anyone using it?
If u dont blip throttle and release the clutch quickly, ur rear tyre will lock and hop around because the engine speed and the gearbox speed is not the about same, so to minimize this effect, what is required is for u 2 blip the throttle (to momentarily increase the engine speed to help engine speed and gearbox speed to be about the same just before totally releasing the clutch), if want to reduce this lock/tyre hop, can also release the clutch out really2 slowly... But, in spirited riding when u want all to be extra quickly, releasing the clutch out slowly will be not as efficient, so that is when this throttle blipping technique really important,... Esp like my bike, no slipper clutch, so if dont blip throttle, will confirm lock or rear tyre hop n this is especially dangerous when u want to reduce speed quickly just before corner entry and want to be at lower gear...

And actually, what u do is (in sequence); brake, clutch in, blip throtle+gear down) clutch out... And if braking with 2-3 gear change down, repeat all that as u go down the gears...

Hope this helps Bro icon_rolleyes.gif

I prefer komine and RS taichi anytime over alpinestars, cuz alpinestars so many immitations... sad.gif

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 10 2011, 11:23 PM
ikiey
post Dec 13 2011, 04:39 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Dec 13 2011, 03:54 PM)
I don't know what's wrong with me, i prefer full fairing bike with handle naked sweat.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9twUAi1Q4o0

Like this u mean Bro...?? Supersports with naked bike handle bar brows.gif

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 13 2011, 04:40 PM
ikiey
post Dec 16 2011, 05:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Dec 16 2011, 09:18 AM)
Thumper FTW!! Looking at some videos of supermoto overtaking road bikes on trackdays...how i wish i can ride like them.lol
Hehehe, ofcourse can.. Bike what most important is not the machine, but the rider... If rider like me on litre bike, n compete with rossi on a 150cc at genting, for sure rossi can tapaw me...

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 16 2011, 05:06 PM
ikiey
post Dec 16 2011, 06:55 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Dec 16 2011, 06:09 PM)
Rossi can ride a bike and do a wheelie better than we can breath... Hopefully Rossi return to Yamaha rolleyes.gif
Yes Bro, he really should be at yamaha... But, m sure hez very happy there at duc cuz n italian rider riding an italian machine... Sure pride is very high n its a disgrace for ducati if rossi do return to yamaha... Ducatti need to buck up, or else... Heheh
ikiey
post Dec 18 2011, 07:00 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 18 2011, 01:14 AM)
guys ..

anyone here own naza blade 250R?... it looks so cool! .. i am thinking of getting it lah .. but yet to decide between kawasaki 250 .. dont know which one to choose .. smile.gif ..

any recommendation?
Bro, blade yesh, it looks alot better n more like superbike than the ninja... But, handling wise ninja wins hands down.. N also it wins in price... But, what it doesnt really fare well is it's resale value.. Really hard to let go.. But, if u r thinking to ride it sampai kaput, n dont wanna let go later, i think its a good buy.. N make sure u live sumwer in klang valley, cuz if it do go kaput, easy to send to SC for repairs.. But, newer generation of the blade is alot more reliable than the previous ones...

But, if u already planning to upgrade in a short while after ur 250cc machine, i strongly recommend u to take 2nd hand 250cc bike, cuz atleast it's depreciation is not so bad compared with brand new bike when u sell ur bike to upgrade.. thumbup.gif
ikiey
post Dec 18 2011, 02:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 18 2011, 08:21 AM)
thanks for the respond bro ... I have no plan how long will I ride this bike but the looks of 250R is so awesome! I dont have money to buy 600cc machine .. LOL .. the only downside is the sound of this bike is like mesin jahit ..

how about maintenance of these 2 bikes? Power? Sound? I really dont know but white Naza 250R is favour me now .. hehe .. biggrin.gif ..
Mesin jahit problem surely can be adjusted... I put on akra slip on, now no more mesin jahit at all... drool.gif And have cracking noise when downchange n blip throtle and also when half throtles... Hehehe, oweys put a smile in my fullface helmet... Damn, if on 4dapur, sure my smile keluar the fullface already...

I also change the dogbone of my ninja, now rear of the bike is alot higher n the front i uses adjustable clip on handle bar to makes the handle bar more lower, and also drop the triple T clamp on the front fork, so now can get that supersports riding pos a bit with butt and handle grip almost the same level when see from side... But, sure no go like supersports... blush.gif But handling sure change direction faster now because of the reduces rake angle.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 18, 2011, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(masz94 @ Dec 18 2011, 12:55 PM)
Amongst 250's now, Blade got the best sound note, as if it was imitating a Ducati....

Maintenance, most single & twin 250's are the same....

If u'r interested in 4 cylinder 250's (Most are ZX-2), I strongly advice u against them....
Maintenance is quite a killer & the engine can't withstand high revving eventough it can rev up to 18.5 k rpm....
Parts are also very expensive...

The piston size is smaller than Honda C70.... The valve which is 16 in total, are around the size 10 cent coins....
This year I almost wanna buy this bike, but my mech advise me against them....

He said for inline 4, the minimum 'safe' capacity will be 400cc..

Just my 2 cent advice....  laugh.gif
+1

So true... 1-2-3 gear cannot go near redline, so need to change higher gear early... It sounded high already rite change gear to gear 4 at 15k rpm, but when u consider it can actually rev to 20k rpm, now 15k doesnt sound much really...

N, even LC can tapau at streetlight drag race until speed 60kmh... But the sound really is music...

Maintenance damn expensive, when koyak throtle at 1-2-3 gear, sure valve bengkok, n sure repair cost around 3-4k... N redo again the koyak throtle at early gears after change valve, again masuk workshop change valve again...

Solution...?? Change to titanium valve, but need to source overseas shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 18 2011, 02:19 PM
ikiey
post Dec 18 2011, 02:16 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(udinmd @ Dec 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
Get r1. A litre bike is the best to cruise on highway! smile.gif
Litre bike munch speed from low speed to high speed on 6th gear like a 250cc fullthrotle on 2nd gear... Really need skill to master these beast... For a new rider, no matter how rich n spoil brats they are, better go learn on 250cc twin or atleast 650 twin first... It's engine power hard to overwhelmed the rider on most occasions...

If just wanna buy to eat highway only, better get goldwing.,.. Hehehe... Have radio sumore and seat like sofa

Added on December 18, 2011, 2:22 pm
QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Dec 18 2011, 02:15 PM)
Seriously asking this?? I WONT RECOMMEND ANY OF THE BIKE ABOVE SINCE U NEVER OWN ANY BIKE BEFORE..

*sigh*

I hope you will see my point for not supporting any of ur choices...

What kind of bike u REGULARLY ride for the past 24 months? now if you say u regularly ride someone else supersport/litre bike or even something like ER6.. then I guess it shouldn't be a problem for you..

R1 is a beast.. make a mistake.. It wont hesitate to bite...

CBR600 and ZX6.. now this two is a superb bike for someone who already familiar on what gear to use during corners.. 600's are high revving machine..

ok.. ER6n/f are just nice for a beginner.. BUT only if you have a proper experience handling bikes that are generally heavy.. so my best say is that.. dont chase on the LOOKS and HOW PEOPLE LOOK AT YOU... at the end.. It is you who will be riding and if you fall.. it is you who will endure the pain... and not to forget the waste of money for repairs and recovery...

so save yourself from those unnecessary stuff and get yourself something smaller...

first.. IDENTIFY your preference.. DO u like a SPORTY riding or more like RELAX riding.. if sporty is your choice.. there are lots of bike to start with...

there are:
APRILIA RS250 (2 Stroke) (NOT IN MANUFACTURE [2nd hands only]) (RM15K + -) (3* on looks)
APRILIA RS125 (2 Stroke) (RM20k++) (4* on looks)
KAWASAKI NINJA 150 (KIPS) (2 Stroke) (RM10K + -) (3 * on looks)
KAWASAKI NINJA 250 (4 Stroke) (RM20K ++) (3.5* on looks)
NAZA BLADE (NAKED/FULL FAIRING) (V twin [4 Stroke]) (RM15K-20K + -) (3.5* on looks)
HONDA CBR250r (4 Stroke) (RM20K ++) (3* on looks)

now these bikes are what I can say a proper beginner's bike.. I myself own the 150 Ninja Kips... and it's my first bike too..

So.. ur Budget is around 40k.. well that is a very2 GOOD BUDGET... so now.. choose whether u want a sporty handling or a more Easy handling..

HONDA CBR250r is an easy riding bike.. same goes to the NAKED NAZA BLADE... so from there on.. you may progress to a bigger bike like the ER6/XJ6/MONSTER and so on..

But then.. if you want to have a feel like a racer then.. the rest of the of the bike listed are the way to go.. especially the 250's cos from there you can get yourself ready for a SUPERSPORT like the one u mentioned...

Now.. the most important thing before getting a bike is to get your gears ready too.. Now that you saved 20k from ur budget for bike.. you now may spend for riding gears like a FULL FACE HELMET... Rdiing jacket.. Riding boots.. Gloves.. well all the necessity...

Then lets talk about your long term maintenance of these bikes.. THESE BIKES are perfect for you to see how you would be spending for a bigger capacity bike..

TIRE.. this is important.. most of the bike listed above wont be equipped with a good stock tire.. so I would suggest.. the first thing you do is to change the tires.... ESPECIALLY the front tire (that is where 80% of your braking power need to be transfer on the road surface)

So dont be a cheapo when it comes to bike maintenance.. I will only suggest two brand of tire.. BRIDGESTONE BATTLAX or PIRELLI..

learn how to control your bike.. learn how to lean a bit.. learn ur body positioning.. basically equip yourself with lots of experience and then move on to a bigger bike..

So.. Good luck.. and WELCOME TO THE WORLD OF BIKES... hihi
Best explanation Bro... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 18 2011, 02:22 PM
ikiey
post Dec 18 2011, 04:52 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Dec 18 2011, 04:51 PM)
I'm target this bike as my first bike, but the price tag in malaysia is pure killer. Can buy new z750 sweat.gif
Singapore plated maybe...?? 10k can get..
ikiey
post Dec 18 2011, 05:35 PM

48 posts

Then if u prefer malaysian reg, cb400 is a very rare choice Bro... Ul be very unique then.. biggrin.gif
ikiey
post Dec 19 2011, 09:51 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Dec 19 2011, 09:38 AM)
Excuse my rant....

Just started working in JB since last July while wife and kids in Kajang... weekend I'll be driving back to Kajang.. so jealous of those bikers on the highway overtaking me even though I'm driving my old Waja over the speed limit...

Experience wise, used to have Virago 535 for more than 4 years long time ago... In my heart, I want a sportbike, but beyond my reach... now there is a good reason to get a bike.  Cheaper bike like ER-6, Versys and XJ6 are really affordable for people like me.. Even though I dream of Z750 and Z1000....

After reading and watching youtube, I know Versys suit me nicely, but I hate the look. icon_question.gif  I really love the look of ER-6n naked.. but I will be blasted by wind along the highways (still remember the Virago days...)  Versys look like a bit forgiving and the look of it with 2 Givi box on each sides is good and practical too...

I've never seen XJ6 in real life.. most people said the look "tak stim"... (my history with Yamaha is not good at all.. still remember the Virago issues)

What do you guys think?  If you were in my situation, what will you choose???
XJ6... 4 cylinder... Sound wise vrooom vroom compared with those 2 cylinders no vrooomm vrooom sound... Just make sure change to aftermarkets exhaust, otherwise hard to differentiate the sound with versys/er6... er6f have fairing, so wont have so much wind blasting u directly... er6n than will have problem of wind blasts, but to me, looks better than the er6f...
ikiey
post Dec 20 2011, 03:52 PM

48 posts

Hehehe, i seen vids of a goldwing doing wheelie... Scary stuff to watch..
ikiey
post Dec 22 2011, 12:47 PM

48 posts

S1000RR... Brute force.. drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
ikiey
post Dec 29 2011, 07:22 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Dec 29 2011, 02:11 AM)
even daily ride(short range) also wear jacket with padding?
My safety gear are basicly gloves, and RS taichi stealth knee and elbow guard, and RS taichi BOA riding shoes... But, best to wear full padding jacket etc, because most of the accidents happens is when we do daily ride, n rarely those convoy etc... But, im so leceh n malas, so just wear those, n even with only t-shirt and jeans... So, if other rider see me, they will say im like no safety gear, but infact i have those, just not visible... Hehehe

Me n my gears--->

The riding gears image --->

Knee guard;

Elbow guard;

This post has been edited by ikiey: Dec 29 2011, 07:42 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top