AMD® Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V3), Phenom... Here AMD goes

ongbs
post Dec 15 2007, 04:08 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(tapirus @ Dec 15 2007, 11:22 AM)
it's stable yet...

what happen if when i shutdown my pc and restart back all my cmos data clear to default...it's possible that my battery almost dead...just using this board not more that 1 and half year..battery already out...
it may cause by system not stable then mobo BIOS setting reset to default, not necessary caused by low CMOS battery.

This post has been edited by ongbs: Dec 15 2007, 04:10 PM
ongbs
post Dec 15 2007, 04:10 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Dec 15 2007, 01:14 PM)
my board limited 2.3 too! icon_rolleyes.gif
not enought for hungry oc'er sweat.gif
If you happy with this mobo and only limit by the Vdimm, kasi Vdimm mod then... sweat.gif tongue.gif

Even Abit AN9 32X fata1ily max Vdimm around 2.35 - 2.4V, i Vmod it till 2.65V b4 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Dec 15 2007, 04:20 PM
naz
post Dec 15 2007, 04:11 PM

315 posts

lohwenli, thanks again for the explanation. notworthy.gif

i've switched off the Cool & Quiet features. and its now stable. thumbup.gif this is my current setting,

Speed = 2.5Ghz with 1.35v
FSB = 240Mhz
Multiplier = x10.5
RAM speed = 533 with 2.15v

As stated in the ss below, for 2 hours, test it with Orthos, everything's fine. Temp at most is at 58C and lowest is at 56C during the test. thumbup.gif

And i think, im not gonna push it more as im still using stock cooler for the proc and using only valueram. sweat.gif

ongbs
post Dec 15 2007, 04:12 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Dec 15 2007, 10:07 AM)
bro ongbs, max vdimm i used
i'm only interested with stock voltage and max voltage brows.gif
those figures at the middle all can skip  laugh.gif

edited: 2.6v is max vdimm on my mobo
huhu, forgot you are diehard OCer tongue.gif
make sure u won't Vmod the Vdimm till 3V or else....kaboom...asap keluar! sweat.gif tongue.gif
xixo_12
post Dec 15 2007, 04:28 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 15 2007, 04:12 PM)
huhu, forgot you are diehard OCer  tongue.gif
make sure u won't Vmod the Vdimm till 3V or else....kaboom...asap keluar!  sweat.gif tongue.gif
buy new then
tapirus
post Dec 15 2007, 05:10 PM

(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮ a�tE(R)isk
1,237 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 15 2007, 04:10 PM)
If you happy with this mobo and only limit by the Vdimm, kasi Vdimm mod then...  sweat.gif  tongue.gif

Even Abit AN9 32X fata1ily max Vdimm around 2.35 - 2.4V, i Vmod it till 2.65V b4  tongue.gif
the most thing i want learn.. brows.gif how to vmod ????
rainingzero
post Dec 15 2007, 05:57 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(tapirus @ Dec 15 2007, 05:10 PM)
i think Vmod or hardmod need us to properly study the electronic layout of our mobo.
then have to be good in soldering skill too.and the most improtant thing, u know what u do..smile.gif
lohwenli
post Dec 15 2007, 05:57 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Here's how..but must be rajin..go download the datasheets for the ICs near the voltage regulator modules and read though them..from there you need to find the line where the IC reads the voltage of the component in question (vCore, vDimm, vNB, ect) then start making small adjustments to the resistors on that line (and I mean small, like less than 10 ohm at a time-digital multimeter is compulsory). Then check and see if there's any difference to the voltage. The whole idea is to fool the regulator IC to think the voltage is lower than it really is, so it will push up the actual voltage to compensate.

Be warned-voltmodding is not for the faint hearted or those with shaky hands. Messing around with solder, pencil mods or even just measuring voltages on tiny board components with a multimeter takes a steady hand. I've already messed up a few times myself, I'll post my story on the POC thread when I can.
mizivincible
post Dec 16 2007, 06:15 AM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(naz @ Dec 15 2007, 04:11 PM)
lohwenli, thanks again for the explanation.  notworthy.gif

i've switched off the Cool & Quiet features. and its now stable.  thumbup.gif  this is my current setting,

Speed = 2.5Ghz with 1.35v
FSB = 240Mhz
Multiplier = x10.5
RAM speed = 533 with 2.15v

As stated in the ss below, for 2 hours, test it with Orthos, everything's fine. Temp at most is at 58C and lowest is at 56C during the test.  thumbup.gif

And i think, im not gonna push it more as im still using stock cooler for the proc and using only valueram.  sweat.gif
Bro, are u using the automatic oc features ?

And 1.35v for only 2.5ghz seems too high. Me and bro nadeng1987 can get 2.8ghz with stock vcore 1.23v.
cyberloner
post Dec 16 2007, 06:39 AM

1,560 posts

dun let me claim and return your board with human damage ler.. =P
mod99
post Dec 16 2007, 07:01 AM

Hello guys.
im noob here and i need your help guys.
cud sumbody help me here? icon_question.gif
I just learnt how to overclock.
i managed to overclock my amd 4200+ till 2.6Ghz. and use this speed daily.But eventually my hard disc tetiba kong. Is this bcoz of overclocking? I post how to lock sata port here but nobody really answered that question.
Please help guys. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

cyberloner
post Dec 16 2007, 10:01 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(mod99 @ Dec 16 2007, 07:01 AM)
Hello guys.
cud sumbody help me here?  icon_question.gif
i managed to overclock my amd 4200+ till 2.6Ghz. and use this speed daily.But eventually my hard disc tetiba kong. Is this bcoz of overclocking? I post how to lock sata port here but nobody really answered that question.
Please help guys.  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
overclock won't kill da harddisk... laugh.gif
xixo_12
post Dec 16 2007, 10:08 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

want to share only.. different when u just play simple timing(in column timing at memset) or with tweak other timing..
speed= 3.3ghz, HTL 1650mhz using single channel 1gb crucial 10th

the result faster 0.391s after tweak..

[attachmentid=360822]
using 5-4-4-3-11-2T

[attachmentid=360823]
with some tweaking other timing

so, do play other timing to join here:

DDR2 challenge

hope many ppl can join it.. i use single stick, so for dual channel, sure no prob at all rite laugh.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Dec 16 2007, 10:09 AM
xixo_12
post Dec 16 2007, 10:15 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

[attachmentid=360825]

finally enter 23s zone wub.gif
alive88
post Dec 16 2007, 10:38 AM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

bro, tu pki WC ke on air jek
mod99
post Dec 16 2007, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Dec 16 2007, 10:01 AM)
overclock won't kill da harddisk... laugh.gif
Then what killed my harddisk bro? sad.gif
cyberloner
post Dec 16 2007, 11:57 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(mod99 @ Dec 16 2007, 11:29 AM)
Then what killed my harddisk bro?  sad.gif
hardware can damage ... normal use won't damage it unless u go hit/smack it when it is running... or not running ...
send warranty for it
lohwenli
post Dec 16 2007, 12:17 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Dec 16 2007, 06:39 AM)
dun let me claim and return your board with human damage ler.. =P
Tapirus, you've been warned..do hard-modding at your own risk..any hard modding project, you better consider first if you can accept accidentally frying something.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(mod99 @ Dec 16 2007, 07:01 AM)
Hello guys.
cud sumbody help me here?  icon_question.gif
Please help guys.  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Overclocking won't kill your HDD directly, but possible for it to kill it indirectly. If your PSU can't handle the overclocking and blows up, it can also take out some of your hardware. Theoretically, its impossible to kill a hard disk via the data lines as long as the power is stable, but I had a similar experience to yours which left me confounded-I was using a reliable PSU (which rules out the PSU blowing up scenario) and I was trying to find my max overclock when I forgot to turn down the HT multiplier, after that windows got corrupted and then the hard disk would experience errors every now and then, enough to make windows crash consistently at boot after about a week or 2 or usage. I checked the hard disk and it turned out to be suffering from read errors, fortunately almost all of my data could still be copied out. Sent the HDD directly back to seagate for RMA and got back a replacement unit a few days later, by then I bought another HDD and sold the Seagate to verz84.

I'm completely at a loss to describe how that HDD failed, it was never allowed to overheat and until the overclocking incident it had passed all HDD tests with no problems. The only explaination that I found reasonable is that is happened by sheer coincidence, after all hard disks fail eventually, some earlier and some later.
mod99
post Dec 16 2007, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Dec 16 2007, 12:17 PM)
Tapirus, you've been warned..do hard-modding at your own risk..any hard modding project, you better consider first if you can accept accidentally frying something..  hmm.gif
Overclocking won't kill your HDD directly, but possible for it to kill it indirectly. If your PSU can't handle the overclocking and blows up, it can also take out some of your hardware. Theoretically, its impossible to kill a hard disk via the data lines as long as the power is stable, but I had a similar experience to yours which left me confounded-I was using a reliable PSU (which rules out the PSU blowing up scenario) and I was trying to find my max overclock when I forgot to turn down the HT multiplier, after that windows got corrupted and then the hard disk would experience errors every now and then, enough to make windows crash consistently at boot after about a week or 2 or usage. I checked the hard disk and it turned out to be suffering from read errors, fortunately almost all of my data could still be copied out. Sent the HDD directly back to seagate for RMA and got back a replacement unit a few days later, by then I bought another HDD and sold the Seagate to verz84.

I'm completely at a loss to describe how that HDD failed, it was never allowed to overheat and until the overclocking incident it had passed all HDD tests with no problems. The only explaination that I found reasonable is that is happened by sheer coincidence, after all hard disks fail eventually, some earlier and some later.
my PSU is silverstone strider 560W. So it's not psu problem la. What happened to you sama mcm what happen to me bro. I forgot to change HT link as well. Since then, HD becomes pelik. It crashes and gave BSOD. And everytime i format, it only lasts a week or two then it crashes again. I used this hd for 2 years (western digital btw) no more warranty. sad.gif

This post has been edited by mod99: Dec 16 2007, 12:39 PM
naz
post Dec 16 2007, 01:03 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Dec 16 2007, 06:15 AM)
Bro, are u using the automatic oc features ?

And 1.35v for only 2.5ghz seems too high. Me and bro nadeng1987 can get 2.8ghz with stock vcore 1.23v.
Nope. I used manual OC in the BIOS.. nod.gif

can I get 2.8ghz speed with my stock cooler,stock vcore and also valueram? please advise me...if can,i'll try it. thumbup.gif

im using this setting as advised by mr. ^666^ nod.gif

This post has been edited by naz: Dec 16 2007, 01:04 PM

108 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:11 PM