post Oct 21 2007, 11:03 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 21 2007, 08:04 AM)
The new bios is released at 9 oct tongue.gif

Update Description:
1. Update CPU Microcode.

-pWs-
CPU microcode is like a mini BIOS in the CPU. Usually processor manufacturers will send out microcode updates to motherboard manufacturers who will include it in the mobo BIOS updates. When the system is booted after the mobo BIOS update, it will update the CPU microcode. Quite a lot of CPU bugs we're fixed this way, mostly those dealing with calculation accuracy.
lohwenli
post Oct 21 2007, 11:45 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 21 2007, 11:10 PM)
wow, know hw to fix bios  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

may i know what is ur job??  brows.gif
USM student (& also screw up PCs during my free time laugh.gif ) But I dunno how to program bios doh.gif I read about that in an old book on PCs. Published back in the day when the first K8 processors came out (socket 940, not 939).

My AM2 OC result is long overdue..been too busy tweaking my legacy setup (built for win 98 applications). Managed 2.7GHz on my Windsor F2, but not stable at all (not enough cooling to pump enough voltage). Gonna work on it after exams, anyway my AM2 is always at home while I'm always at campus except during holidays, its destined to be my HTPC/home server eventually.
lohwenli
post Oct 22 2007, 11:39 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 22 2007, 10:00 AM)
off topic question.

USM student? where are you staying now? don't tell me your are staying in E park or N park laugh.gif

If yes can go find you and OC ur rig kaw kaw brows.gif

p/s: my watercooler back to work  brows.gif
I'm an applied physics student, staying at the new hostel at the back of USM (across yeah chor ee road). Give me a call (016-4936208) if you wanna meet me, bt my am2 set is at home, not in my hostel.
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 06:32 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Damn, I 1 week not online tambah 7-9 pages..read until pening rclxub.gif

QUOTE(baok @ Oct 22 2007, 11:42 AM)
uiks.. dont post phone no here laarr.. later everyone call you want to tease your pc.. wink.gif
No prob..I memang got no harapan to have the best PC..what I want is to be very inovative in making the most out of what I can get..

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Oct 23 2007, 01:14 AM)
bro i want to ask you something...i should trust cpu-z or my T-utility overclock software to check the voltage...coz both seems to be different

after i OC, my temp max goes to 30+ only
I've long since lost my trust in any board-based voltage monitoring, whether its bios, everest, speedfan or any other program..whenever I take out my digital multimeter and test the board directly I get very different results from what I see in software. Either the value is outright wrong, it fluctuates when its supposed to be fairly constant. Even if most of the values are vaguely correct, there is always at least one which is completely screwed up. Can't find any reason except that the monitoring chip on the motherboard has f***ed accuracy.

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 23 2007, 09:57 PM)
Arrr...dun poison me la.  laugh.gif
IIANM, higher wattage supported PSU do save electric right?? hmm.gif

-pWs-
Not really, depends on the PSU design. Typically most (80-90%) of reliable PSUs have good efficiency (75-80%) from 20% load to 80% load. Below 20% and above 80%, efficiency is typically worse, around 65-75% Which means,

450W PSU
Efficient range 90-360W

600W PSU
Efficient range 120-480W

1000W
Efficient range 200W-800W

Of course this may vary, highly depends on the design of the PSU. Some rare ones have good efficienty (70-85%) at even very low (=<10%) and very high load (90-120% -120 is overloaded) while some have abyssmally bad (<60%, I've even seen one as bad as 40 something %) efficiency at those high and especially low loads. To be sure, check out reviews by jonnyguru and silentpcreview, they record the efficienty of PSUs thoughout the operating range.

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 23 2007, 11:18 PM)
OT meant??
I see. The power consumption will be high or not?
Who here got the wattage reader device? Pinjam guna kejap?

-pWs-
I have a friend who has a Kill-a-watt meter, and another meter which is slighly better. I haven't tried either yet, currently I'm just using my digital multimeter's AC current measurement function to measure my PC'sower consumption. One day I'll borrow his meters and make a comparision, if possible with an osciloscope as well (have to drag PC to physics lab; heavy le..).

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 25 2007, 05:16 PM)
Black Edition X2 for anyone ?

Thats really nice, but damn its out of my reach (financially) cry.gif

QUOTE(betaiso @ Oct 25 2007, 11:27 PM)
which of the following is better..? all about two years old  tongue.gif

1) artic silver 2
2) artic silver ceramic
3) thermalright SI97 supplied compound

ok..

i bought:-
- AMD x2 6000+
- ASUS M2A-VM HDMI
- 2x 1GB 667 Corsair ValueSelect

i adjust the chipset vcore to 1.4v, ddr2 vcore to 2.0v and processor vcore to 1.5v and set the bus speed to 220mhz and the system run at 3300mhz beautifully, the only problem is the CPU temp hovering around 56-58, is it a bit high?

i am using AMD stock cooler with the stock compound, will the above mentioned compound help? pls advise..  notworthy.gif
Those compounds will help, but only a few degrees at most. From best to worst, Artic silver ceramique, Artic silver 2, thermalright supplied compound.

Added on October 27, 2007, 6:39 pmDamn, just read through the Black edition review..I want a brisbane G2 for my HTPC (must be cheap la)..no need fast to hold any performance records..even at 3.1GHz the power consumption is damn low..can passive cool if necessary..

Added on October 27, 2007, 7:00 pmFound out how to idenify the new Brisbane G2 processors, OPN ends with DO.

Someone faster find the price..

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Oct 27 2007, 07:00 PM
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 08:04 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

That tomshardware review of the 5000 Black Edition counts as a Brisbane G2 review. Read it in full detail. G2 has improved overclockability and greatly lowered power consumtion even at high frequencies. 3.0GHz on stock voltage should be possible for most G2, and if the voltage is kept that low it will only take 7* watts at most, which allows it to compete with C2D even in full load power consumption and performance (it pulls up even with the E6550 when OC to 3.1GHz). Things are looking good for AMD's 65nm processors, even Barcelona has a new stepping, B2 (original release is A0), hopefully it might resolve the clockspeed issues that plagued the original Barcelona release.

Btw, before you fire me about the known fact that Brisbane is slower than Windsor, there hasn't been any comparision between the G1 and G2 stepping in terms of clock for clock performance. In the tomshardware review though, at 3.1GHz it beats the 3.0Ghz Windsor F3 by roughly 1.5% in non-cache size sensitive applications with a 3.33% difference in clock speed(in cache sensitive applications it gets pawned by the 6000's and the E6550 large caches;1MBx2 and 4MB respectively). So yes, its most likely it will never beat the Windsor F3s in overclocked performance, but it now can be clocked up to high enough speeds while remaining really cool.
lohwenli
post Oct 28 2007, 09:31 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 28 2007, 12:30 AM)
Yea...Phenom coming out soon in parallel w ATI new card brows.gif
IMO, i think F3 still win G2.

-pWs-
Yes, I doubt G2 can possibly win F3 for now. But There's one thing, at 3.0GHz a F3 is putting out 100W+ while a G2 is only 7*W. Technically its possible to reach 3+GHz on stock heatsink, which makes it an absurdly easy chip to overclock. No need fancy cooling or even heavy PSU.

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 28 2007, 09:58 AM)
oc just now, finally make it to 21s zone  rclxm9.gif
also , able to hit 3981MHz clock speed  rclxm9.gif
thanks to CV6149 for the fish pump suggestion  laugh.gif

@ongbs
you are right about something , one step to 4GHz brows.gif
almost a 100% oc ..what a wonderful day

Pi 1M 21.953s
cpu-z validation: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=260412

clock speed 3981MHz cpu-z validation: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=260411
finally i make it  cry.gif
Congrats bro..
If only K8 can match C2D on clock for clock performance, you'll be a serious contender with C2D overclockers.. Hopefully K10 will also be able to clock up high.
lohwenli
post Nov 5 2007, 12:08 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 30 2007, 08:55 PM)
well, i heard that black 5000+ max at 3.2GHz , another typical brisbane
are you still going with it? laugh.gif
The thing is, though it maxes out similar to brisbane, reaching 3.0Ghz is now dirt easy even with the stock cooler..
In fact you could even slow down the fan and it'll still be cool enough to be stable..

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 31 2007, 03:11 PM)
Yup...you are right. smile.gif
Hahaa....I think AMD still lose.  wink.gif

-pWs-
Sadly, I think your statement is likely to turn out correct. Just saw tomshardware's review of their Penryn engineering samples, Phenom will have to pull out a miracle (like clock 4+Ghz)to beat it. There might be some hope with Deneb (45nm version of Agena), which will be out in the middle to end of next year. Shanghai (45nm of Barcelona) will be out within the first half of next year.

QUOTE(sempronic @ Oct 31 2007, 11:18 PM)
phenom ar??

Phenom X2
Phenom X3
Phenom X4

wahh???? rclxub.gif

the rare thing is the phenom X3....heheh...maybe one of the core is disable.... blush.gif
Yup, one of the cores is disabled. Official statement by AMD, though I can't find the page.

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Nov 1 2007, 12:06 AM)
just hope it kills c2d =.=
Wait for the next architecture - Bulldozer.

QUOTE(coolblade @ Nov 2 2007, 09:20 PM)

Independent core clocking with Phenom? Very nice indeed!

Sorry if it not related to this thread...

But I see the potential of independent overclocking of each core especially to these overclocker freaks such as dblooi  blush.gif
Forgot about that..yup, its one of the really cool features of Phenom. And unfortunately it will be sorely needed to compete with Penryn where power consumption is concerned (the quad core Penryn uses only 7x watts-measured by tomshardware).

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 5 2007, 12:09 AM
lohwenli
post Nov 5 2007, 07:49 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Its not the black edition that I'm looking out for, but for cheap brisbane G2. The black edition is really out of my budget (economically, and common sense wise). And unfortunately I also missed out on your lovely F3s. But then again, a G2 for me is more suitable for where its going to end up-inside my HTPC (an overclocked and underclocked one at that).
lohwenli
post Nov 5 2007, 10:55 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Nov 5 2007, 09:23 AM)
oic, looking forward to see G2 oc result from you soon. wondering issit comparable to F3 laugh.gif
Thats if I can find any at a price I can afford (around RM250 or less). I doubt i can beat F3 in performance even if its a miraculous overclocker, it'll need to clock 4.2GHz to have any chance of beating F3. But it might still overclock better than 3.2GHz, tomshardware isn't well known for pushing their procs to the max.

But that worries me..they don't push to the max and yet penryn can clock 4ghz on aircooling.. cry.gif AMD, hurry up with Deneb already..
lohwenli
post Nov 7 2007, 03:45 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 6 2007, 11:11 PM)
No problem bro. Last time i oso struggle, but at last, give it a try tongue.gif
Yea...almost 1k.
IIANM, it is cheaper than Q66.  wink.gif

-pWs-
It should be. I seriously doubt it will outperform a overclocked C2Q even when its overclocked. cry.gif I suspect it will only clock up to 3.x at most, probably not even as good as the F3 Windsors. I hope they will improve from the Barcelona A0 (or was it A1?), the B* stepping seems to be better but found no overclocking results yet. Hope Phenom will launch on a C* stepping or better.

Oh yeah, those of you who love memory benchmarks and superpi records will love phenom..can easily pwn C2Q like kacang putih only..this is from Barcelona results, Phenom should be very similar.
lohwenli
post Nov 11 2007, 08:37 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(nik0ns @ Nov 11 2007, 06:10 AM)
i heard from one of my friend that work for intel that phenom is not stable enough for oc...is it true???or just a speculation
It was true for the first stepping, A0, of barcelona, 2.4GHz also damn hard to achieve. But according to AMD its also because the dual processor setup (8 core total) affects the max stable clock speed. The current stepping is B0 (not sure about its overclocking results), BA and B2 revisions wll be available next month, which are anticipated to allow barcelona to reach 3.0GHz.

Just read the news reports, seems Phenom is also clockspeed limited (up to 2.4-2.5GHz)for the initial stepping, which is B0. There was supposed to be a 2.6GHz model, but seems they had the same problems as barcelona. Hopefully Phenom will update to a better stepping quickly. Price looks interesting though, the X4 is roughly the same price as current mainstream (non-high end) 65nm C2Q. But means it will still be out of my reach for prehaps another half year. Probably I'll skip straight to Deneb.

QUOTE(dblooi @ Nov 11 2007, 01:22 PM)
wanna ask something ,
anyone knows how to further reduce the temperature of iced water cooling?
what i should add in the water? salt? alcohol ?
dry ice is out of consideration  laugh.gif
need help  icon_question.gif

edited: -3C is not cold enough laugh.gif
[attachmentid=328311]
Adding salt will allow the ice to melt a few degrees below zero, which will allow for cooler melt-off to reach your processor (below 0 water is ice, which won't reach your processor). Adding other substances won't help much, you can only drop the melting point of ice be a few degrees at most by adding stuff to it.

Here's one way you can go lower on your current WC set with minimal effort (though like ice its only for a short time). Run alcohol (methylated spirit is an easy source) instead of water in your WC set. Then you can use dry ice to chill it (below zero if necessary, that's why you can't use water, it'll freeze). Control the temp by the amount of dry ice, or you may hve condensation problems. Also, if you're tempted to go overboard and run an extreme subzero run, be careful that sudden temp changes can cause the plastic parts of waterblocks to crack, especially when its already at very cold temps (plastic becomes more brittle the colder it gets).

QUOTE(dblooi @ Nov 11 2007, 01:50 PM)
wei suggest something useful la laugh.gif
can use salt or not?
any chemical guy here?  icon_question.gif
I'm not a chemistry guy, I'm a physics guy, but I hope what I said above helps.

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Nov 11 2007, 02:20 PM)
i think abit is ok la..not too much...if you dont know why, try gargle your mouth with concentrated salt =D

can i know how u make the cpu temp go to -3? just ice with water meh?..or u blend it?
Only peltiers, phase change, dry ice and LN2 can get you below zero C. I have a possible subzero experiment planned for during my year end hols, I'll update when I get around to doing it.
lohwenli
post Nov 11 2007, 10:07 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

You don't have to use so much dry ice until the temp drops so much. Just enough till you achieve the desired temp. Up til around -10 to -20 should not be a problem. Its -50 and below that would be worrying, but by then condensation would have hit you first.

Forgot that you're in Penang..my exams end in a weeks time, then perhaps I can meet you and we can have some OC fun..perhaps even do a little test run of my planned experiment..
lohwenli
post Nov 12 2007, 09:56 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Nov 11 2007, 10:42 PM)
hmmm..about condensation, what if you put those...insulator then oc with all those stuff under very cold aircond with high fan blowing...still will have condensation?
If the temp is low enough, condensation will happen no matter what unless you're running in a moisture free environment. Doing what you said will help, but only up till a certain temp.
lohwenli
post Nov 16 2007, 10:30 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Nov 12 2007, 05:52 PM)
so if i put the cpu in a box, with some fitting holes for the hose n stuff la..then i put calcium chloride in the box with the cpu, then condensation wont happen?

Added on November 12, 2007, 5:54 pm

mine also at load will decrease the voltage =/ dont know whats happening
Putting dessicants will help, but as long as there is even 1% moisture there will be condensation at some point. However the temp range where water remains in liquid form will become very small, as the dew point will be close to the freezing point; few degrees more and become ice already (which is non conductive).

Its normal for voltage to drop during load, most motherboard power regulators will suffer from some vdroop, forcing OCers to need to set higher voltages than usual. Btw, if your processor voltage is fluctuating, don't blame the PSU first, the power regulator for the processor is on the motherboard, not the PSU.

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 14 2007, 08:18 PM)
I see. My bad  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Just know today that my pc eat a lot of electric  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I notice that the electric meter runs more faster if i on my pc.

-pWs-
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Nov 15 2007, 01:22 AM)
1.568v ?  sweat.gif

Why set it that high ? Some more ur not using duck brand PSU right ? Shud be around 1.45 u can already reach 3ghz.
If using duck brand PSU, more vcore will cause the duck to get roasted..
Cos processor now sucking more power from 12v rail..

QUOTE(dblooi @ Nov 15 2007, 02:09 PM)
USM student? can COD with me during that time  laugh.gif

heard that this batch of proc, the temp is higher..
but easier to oc
i dunno it's true or not, i will figure it out next week  icon_rolleyes.gif
It's weird no, often the high power consuming chips overclock well, like the Intel Netburst based processors and the HD2900.

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Nov 16 2007, 02:26 AM)
my hse electric bill is 3xx now =x normally is 1xx or 2xx only...i think coz i oc ....
Hard to say, lets do the math

Estimate your PC uses 150W(actually less, I run almost the same system as yours, and I run just over 100W on full load OC to 2.3GHz), and another 70W for a CRT monitor.

220W x 24hours x 30days = 158.4 KWH
1KWH is more or less 0.25 sen, so total is RM39.60 to run the PC at full load with monitor on 24/7.

Running on onboard graphics, its unlikely your PC would cost more than RM50 to run 24/7. With single GFX, then the cost goes up another 25-100%, depending on what card (also assuming the card is under load for at least 50% of the time). SLi/crossfire is what would really break the bank, I'm not sure even how to estimate for that.
lohwenli
post Nov 17 2007, 12:33 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

1.5v Vcore should not be a problem for Windsor F2 if cooling is good enough. The Athlon FX that uses Windsor F2 runs on a stock vcore of 1.4-1.45v, it does come with a heatpiped cooler though.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 17 2007, 12:33 AM
lohwenli
post Nov 18 2007, 04:40 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 18 2007, 02:07 AM)
No.... If you buy DDR800 ram, it will run @ 800  smile.gif

-pWs-
Depends on processor, if there is no divider that will give exactly 800 while on stock CPU speed then it will run slightly below 800 unless you overclock the processor.

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 18 2007, 04:08 PM)
i want to oc..so what can i do?ram ok for oc?juz a vs ram btw...f2 stepping can go further or f3?
F3 can go waaaay higher..even better than Brisbane G1..
Ram go get anything using D9GMH, D9GKX chips. D9GCT also ok if you're on a budget.
lohwenli
post Nov 19 2007, 10:09 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 19 2007, 12:08 AM)
Phenom GP-9600 is almost on par w Intel Kentfield QX6700 (2.3GHz Underclocked) except Multimedia Applicationi which Intel wins by a lot sweat.gif

-pWs-
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 19 2007, 04:44 AM)
I think it does not matter it is lowest phenom or what. smile.gif
The comparison is done by same clock speed.

-pWs-
Phenom loses in gaming and some multimedia apps due to the smaller cache ( L1, L2 and L3 combined). Lucky the K10 memory controller is a real killer, thats why its hitting some murderous superpi records (when running a dual/octa barcelona, each processor counts as an additional dual channel DDR2, so you can get 4-16 channel memory access-my god the memory benchmark looks more like a cache benchmark shocking.gif ). Unfortunately for a single processor this advantage is minimal, and not enough to offset the lack of cache (which is even worse when compared with Penryn).

Which brings me thinking. How badly wil a Q9xxx get pawned by a Phenom FX dual processor system? Since there will be more cache (though not really shared), and the memory bandwidth will increase drastically due to a 2nd dual channel controller, the weakness may be overcome (also assuming that the programs won't actually use all 8 cores, to be realistic).

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 19 2007, 06:44 AM)
Not really la bro. AMD still got advantages tongue.gif

One more news  sad.gif
Phenom highest end processor which is clocked @ 2.4GHz is delays due to TLB errata.

More details:
Phenom 2.4GHz Delay

Do not know it is true or not.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

-pWs-
Its true, reported on Tom's Hardware Daily, the Inquirer, Digitimes and a few others. At least one includes an official statement by AMD stating that there are availability issues. Hope its got nothing to do with low yield of high clockable chips, that would be very bad news for overclockers.
lohwenli
post Nov 20 2007, 04:07 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Nov 20 2007, 01:02 PM)
Impressive overclocking (3Ghz) on stock voltage (1.225v), not as good as Windsor F3, but defintely pwns Brisbane big time. Unfortuntately its still not clocking fast enough to pull up on par with C2Q, more so the lack of cache really hurts in gaming and multimedia. But the price is brows.gif Some more can just drop into any AM2 board, its a damn simple upgrade compared with any Intel system (which will be obsolete in a year anyway), and the rest of the components are cheaper too icon_rolleyes.gif Even Crossfire/SLI is easier, and there are fewer trade offs.
lohwenli
post Nov 21 2007, 04:18 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Nov 21 2007, 12:51 AM)
then ask people here lor..most of them already bought new hsf...still got stock hsf..ask them to sell cheap2 lor
Fyi, 754/939 stock hsf also fits perfectly on AM2.
lohwenli
post Nov 22 2007, 12:08 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 21 2007, 05:37 PM)
Here another review made by Hardware Canuck

Another review for Agena 9600 and Kentfield q6600

-pWs-
There's something missed out in this review, the ram is running at 5-5-5-15. Everyone knows that AM2 at that timings can barely outperform an equivalent 939 in any memory/cache related task. Memory latency is much much more important than bandwidth for K8/Stars processors because of the low latency advantage of the integrated memory controller, which is needed to offset the disadvantage of its pathetic cache size.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 22 2007, 12:19 AM

0.0679sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:54 AM