AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V3), Phenom... Here AMD goes

rainingzero
post Oct 20 2007, 11:30 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

here i'm back. after a looong hari raya holiday.hahah.....wah~!! so many got their f3 already...really good result la... thumbup.gif
rainingzero
post Oct 22 2007, 10:32 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

so many USM student here arr?? me too~!! laugh.gif
anyway, everybody manage to hit 3.0ghz and above. really kecik ati la now...dun wanna kawan u all lg.. laugh.gif
rainingzero
post Nov 17 2007, 10:59 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

last night my vista ultimate got prob after multiple try on testing the capability of my ram.,laugh.gif i bought 667mhz micron rams a couple of month ago but never got chance to test it. my D9DPN capable of reaching 850++mhz with 1.95v Vdimm...due to my stupid mobo, which limiting my ocing, thats the highest i can go...

guys, ever heard of chips FP-Y5?? is this got good overclocability??
coz with D9DPN, i can oc untill 2.8ghz for my proc.but with FP-Y5, can get 2.45ghz only..

is this caused of my D9DPN which need lower Vdimm to oc higher??

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 17 2007, 11:01 AM
rainingzero
post Nov 17 2007, 12:36 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Nov 17 2007, 11:28 AM)
i just realize something on my system. x2 3600+ with ram div 533, isn't it suppose to be /7? currently displayed in everest ultimate and latest cpu-z as /8
ur rams is 667 right?? if u set cpu/6, the speed will be 667. if u set cpu/8, then it will be 533mhz...
rainingzero
post Nov 18 2007, 03:13 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

my ocing result.
i know my ocing result not as good as u all with F3 which manage to hit 3.0ghz and above... blush.gif
(superPI result, mistakenly klik "ok" button after done doh.gif )

rainingzero
post Nov 18 2007, 04:52 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

@seanlimys
u got same mobo with me there...that mobo got limited Vdimm. but still ur proc can be oced....

me using D9DPN, overclockability still ok...
after oced, try to tighten my rams timing:

Latency at 5-5-5-15:

Latency at 4-4-4-12:

The diff just transparable during benchmark. in daily usage, can't be differentiate actually between these two setting...nod.gif

@ ~pws~ plz update my speed and cooler (Thermalright XP90) at 1st page plz...thx..smile.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 18 2007, 05:00 PM
rainingzero
post Nov 18 2007, 07:32 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

now my temp idle around 38-40'c. is it normal? coz b4 this, i oc my proc to 2.4ghz, need 1.36V for Vcore. now oc to 2.7ghz, 1.40 Vcore fail super PI. so i increse it to 1.45v...seems like the temp abit higher than usuall..

but thats normal right, coz i increasing my Vcore anyway...sweat.gif

@seanlimys
yeah, u can pm me regarding ur ocing issue..there are a lot of sifus here also can help u..nod.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 18 2007, 07:33 PM
rainingzero
post Nov 18 2007, 07:58 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Nov 18 2007, 07:51 PM)
Thanx Alive88,ill try it later.Which 1 is better,change timing in BIOS or MEMSET?

Does increasing vDIMM and vCORE effect the temperature of the GPU temp..? Sorry noobie.

All i realize is,after i clocked to 2.6GHZ,my GPU temp increased when i run 3D mark 06. sweat.gif

When i downclock to default 2.01,the temp of my GPU also go down to normal like load 41C
of course by increasing Vcore and Vdimm, ur procs and rams will be hotter...thats depends on the increament u made...nod.gif
for Rams, anythings beyond 2.2v, may need proper cooling. maybe good airflow between those rams also enough to cool the rams..
rainingzero
post Nov 20 2007, 01:35 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Nov 20 2007, 01:32 AM)
maybe i just wait for the phenom to be revealed..huhu... Can phenom fit in AM2 mobo?
can be fit, suppose after updating bios no prob..but some features will no available if used with AM2 mobo...
rainingzero
post Nov 20 2007, 12:46 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 20 2007, 11:13 AM)
Very nice for an F2 smile.gif
Last time i doin 2.5GHz @ 1.475 near 1.5 d  sad.gif
-pWs-
My F2 can hit 2.5ghz @ 1.40v... nod.gif
at 2.7ghz, need around 1.45v and 2.8ghz need almost 1.5v... doh.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 20 2007, 12:50 PM
rainingzero
post Nov 20 2007, 02:23 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Nov 20 2007, 01:55 PM)
wow, why not do some burn in.. maybe can achieve 3..
i think this proc got potential to achieve 3.0ghz. but need better mobo la...

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 20 2007, 02:19 PM)
good try dude~~

maybe do some burn in can archieve 3.0~  rclxms.gif
this proc is the one taiko tachlio sell to me... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 20 2007, 02:24 PM
rainingzero
post Nov 20 2007, 03:39 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Nov 20 2007, 02:26 PM)
why with ur mobo?
limited voltage on wut?
limited Vdimm....1.95v only... doh.gif
my D9DPN only can oc untill 850++mhz... sweat.gif
rainingzero
post Nov 22 2007, 01:34 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 22 2007, 12:22 PM)
what is the price in Malaysia??

rclxms.gif
suppose u manage to get those ..u are doing FYP at AMD right?? icon_idea.gif
rainingzero
post Nov 22 2007, 02:48 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 22 2007, 02:37 PM)
icon_idea.gif i inside AMD factory nw~

FYI my project really is doing improvement on latest AMD processor~  laugh.gif
then u should ask them to make the proc more oc-able and cheap2 price.... icon_idea.gif laugh.gif
rainingzero
post Nov 23 2007, 10:33 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 23 2007, 10:01 PM)
DDR2 Vdimm is always 1.8v. smile.gif
For the Vdimm which advertised, that is the Vdimm you needed to achieve that particular speed and timing.

-pWs-
to make it simple, oc between 1.8-2.2v is save and covered by crucial warranty. above than that, bye2~ laugh.gif
rainingzero
post Nov 25 2007, 11:50 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Nov 25 2007, 10:55 AM)
value ram? depend.. go for 800.. same cheap edi.. but dont use value to oc.. not nice at all
depends on the chips used also...my value rams, Yp-F5 can oc from 667 till 900mhz also..
my other value rams, using micron D9DPN, can hit 900mhz (2.1v Vdimm) - 1000mhz...
rainingzero
post Nov 30 2007, 08:08 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Nov 30 2007, 12:32 AM)
Not we all just left..I just got back a short while ago.

Not gonna overclock mine yet, but will do some serious underclocking..wanna see how much performance I can squeeze out of it at ultra low voltage..
u are the god of underclocking which is in the different class of ur own.... wub.gif
very envy ur skill la.... thumbup.gif
rainingzero
post Nov 30 2007, 10:08 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 30 2007, 08:32 AM)
yaya different  class~  rclxms.gif  but still godlike  notworthy.gif

Anywhere last night u told me beside 3M tape another tape i should use is?? icon_question.gif

later i need buy it tonight will OC kaw kaw my new toy~ F3 + D9GKX
that one u need to check at bro trowa....coz 3M tape too thick and the glue too strong, not recommended for ur heatspreader...
rainingzero
post Nov 30 2007, 11:21 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 30 2007, 10:11 AM)
retired from s939, now oc'ing my dad's new C2D & ddr2... the vdroop problem (refer to the vdimm) for P35-DS3 really serious  sweat.gif ... I need to set 2.2v in bios to get 2.03v... btw, now priming 443 @ 4-4-4
still ur godlike toledo in ur hands right... brows.gif
my friends also got 3800+ toledo, any tips from u arr??coz he is using asus an8-sli..
updating my ocing result. since i'm the only one still active in ocing F2 proc, then just posting for fun... laugh.gif

3800+ @ 2800mhz, 1.5v Vcore.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 30 2007, 11:21 AM
rainingzero
post Nov 30 2007, 12:34 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 30 2007, 11:33 AM)
rclxms.gif u really play kaw kaw my previous proc~
haha....today not going to factory. nothing to do, so just play2 only...nod.gif

how's ur ocing result arr??F3 sure kaw2 oced... thumbup.gif

edit: