AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V3), Phenom... Here AMD goes
dblooi
Dec 16 2007, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(naz @ Dec 16 2007, 11:02 PM) im not using the f3 from the 2nd bulk. gain~ does anyone using the same mobo with me encounter it before? or is it my RAM that holding me back from OC? btw,does anyone knows,why my pc cant be switched on? even cant load the bios. im facing a problem of my pc keep on switch on-off-on-off till i switch off the plug. last time,lohwenli told me,am2 mobo is very sensitive with the memory timing... is the timing that he meant is for FSB or for RAM?? yesterday,i've OCed till 2.5ghz with 1.35v, ram to 533 with 2.15v. orthos run for 2 hours,stable. then i switched off my pc during nite. just now morning turn it on,got the problem. need to clear CMOS back a btw, im using Corsair valueram & mobo Biostar TA690G  value ram on TA690G? change ur trfc in dram configuration (in bios) to 195NS and pls show SS if can
kellefe
Dec 16 2007, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Dec 16 2007, 07:51 PM) Windsor F3 is easier to OC, but takes up far more power and puts out more heat than Brisbane G2. Both will reach 3.2-3.3Ghz at least on good aircooling without too much trouble, with extreme cooling 3.5-3.7 is possible. At the same clockspeed, Brisbane G2 loses out to Windsor F3 by roughly 0.1Ghz, meaning Brisbane must clock an extra 0.1Ghz to be even with a Windsor. ooh that mean both proc is the same lo izzit ?? but the L2 ---> windsor is much bigger than brisbane~~ will this effect ?? And i see some review that AMD 5000+ with 2.6Ghz brisbane 512X2 L2 , its cache is in high latency ... Is this happen to 5200+ brisbane also ?
TS-pWs-
Dec 16 2007, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(kellefe @ Dec 16 2007, 11:23 PM) ooh that mean both proc is the same lo izzit ?? but the L2 ---> windsor is much bigger than brisbane~~ will this effect ?? And i see some review that AMD 5000+ with 2.6Ghz brisbane 512X2 L2 , its cache is in high latency ... Is this happen to 5200+ brisbane also ? It happens to all Brisbane core. But it is improved in Brisbane G2 core -pWs-
kellefe
Dec 16 2007, 11:26 PM

And also currently is confusing about this proc~~ why the core speed keep varying~~ from 1027 to 2612 MHZ~~ And What stepping is this proc ?? F2 ?? Added on December 16, 2007, 11:29 pmQUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 16 2007, 11:24 PM) It happens to all Brisbane core. But it is improved in Brisbane G2 core -pWs-oooh~~ comparing windsor n brisbane , its L2 is much bigger~~ will the effect the performances ? so which one is more better ?? currently using 2.7Ghz brisbane~~ i was hope to get 2.6ghz windsor ~~ coz there will be no additional charge if im goin to change~~ is this worth to make the changes ?? This post has been edited by kellefe: Dec 16 2007, 11:29 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
rainingzero
Dec 16 2007, 11:31 PM
kellefe, yours is F2 stepping. the corespeed keep changing due to effect of AMD CoolnQuite function. no worries, it keep ur proc at low speed while low cpu usage and max speed when max cpu usage. it help u on lowering power consumption too...
TS-pWs-
Dec 16 2007, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(kellefe @ Dec 16 2007, 11:26 PM) oooh~~ comparing windsor n brisbane , its L2 is much bigger~~ will the effect the performances ? so which one is more better ?? currently using 2.7Ghz brisbane~~ i was hope to get 2.6ghz windsor ~~ coz there will be no additional charge if im goin to change~~ is this worth to make the changes ?? Larger cache better but only small difference in performance. -pWs-
naz
Dec 16 2007, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(dblooi @ Dec 16 2007, 11:19 PM) value ram on TA690G? change ur trfc in dram configuration (in bios) to 195NS and pls show SS if can  my latest SS is at post #2084. errmm,i'll try to change that 1st... btw,why with valueram on TA690G??? cannot meh??? This post has been edited by naz: Dec 16 2007, 11:44 PM
ocz
Dec 16 2007, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(dblooi @ Dec 16 2007, 10:08 PM) ha, better check properly IMHO , if your balistix cannot make it, 10th probably can't make it as well so what's your problem actually? I cant set the the tCL and tRTC to 4. QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Dec 16 2007, 10:21 PM) try increase A BIT ram voltage... omg...i really want to change to 690 already...who wana buy hard disks????? also,i tried 2.35v cant enter windows,always stucked at bios and no power. put 2.45v can enter windows but then my screenie will shack and stuck.
TS-pWs-
Dec 16 2007, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 16 2007, 11:47 PM) I cant set the the tCL and tRTC to 4. What ram speed you wan to set tCL to?? -pWs-
ocz
Dec 16 2007, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 16 2007, 11:52 PM) What ram speed you wan to set tCL to?? -pWs-Its 667 running @ 1140mhz.
TS-pWs-
Dec 16 2007, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 16 2007, 11:54 PM) Its 667 running @ 1140mhz.  I think it is too high for CAS4 How much Vdimm you pump?? -pWs-
ocz
Dec 17 2007, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 16 2007, 11:59 PM) I think it is too high for CAS4 How much Vdimm you pump?? -pWs-2.25V. 2.35V cannot. 2.45V stucked and hang at bios.
ongbs
Dec 17 2007, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 17 2007, 12:33 AM) 2.25V. 2.35V cannot. 2.45V stucked and hang at bios.  i belif that 2.45 still not enough to do CL4@1100+, If u really wanna try, use active RAM cooler and pump in 2.5 to 2.6V  > 2.6V, prepare to take the risk of DDR damage! This post has been edited by ongbs: Dec 17 2007, 12:58 AM
ocz
Dec 17 2007, 01:51 AM
QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 17 2007, 12:51 AM) i belif that 2.45 still not enough to do CL4@1100+, If u really wanna try, use active RAM cooler and pump in 2.5 to 2.6V  > 2.6V, prepare to take the risk of DDR damage!  Will it be the same to 10th anny?
ongbs
Dec 17 2007, 03:03 AM
QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 17 2007, 01:51 AM) Will it be the same to 10th anny? i didn't own 10th...maybe bro db will help to answer as he always pump Vdimm till max
TS-pWs-
Dec 17 2007, 03:06 AM
QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 17 2007, 01:51 AM) Will it be the same to 10th anny? I think more or less the same.  I tried DDR1280 @ 2.5v set @ bios. -pWs-
ongbs
Dec 17 2007, 03:14 AM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 17 2007, 03:06 AM) I think more or less the same.  I tried DDR1280 @ 2.5v set @ bios. -pWs-dun think it is CL4 at that setting right
TS-pWs-
Dec 17 2007, 03:18 AM
QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 17 2007, 03:14 AM) dun think it is CL4 at that setting right  Yup...it is CL5. That why i said earlier that it is quite impossible to have 1100MHz++ w CAS 4 -pWs-This post has been edited by -pWs-: Dec 17 2007, 03:38 AM
ongbs
Dec 17 2007, 03:51 AM
1000+ maybe OK with higher Vdimm
ocz
Dec 17 2007, 05:10 AM
QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 17 2007, 03:03 AM) i didn't own 10th...maybe bro db will help to answer as he always pump Vdimm till max  Thanx bro.. QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 17 2007, 03:06 AM) I think more or less the same.  I tried DDR1280 @ 2.5v set @ bios. -pWs-Bro,i think its more to luck,even u can get 1280 @ 2.5V I cant even boot @ 2.5v. QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 17 2007, 03:51 AM) 1000+ maybe OK with higher Vdimm Maybe ill get myself a good ram cooler and try out.