iPod Unleashing the potential of the iPod touch, A step-by-step guide

SUSMike3300
post Mar 16 2008, 11:34 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 16 2008, 11:11 PM)
im thinking of jailbreaking my touch

but im scared of it turning into a brick.

owh noes
It won't brick, I was thinking the same back then. But now, jailbreaking rocks and if you got problems with your iPod just restore it to original state. It'll be fine then.
ihawk98
post Mar 17 2008, 02:34 PM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

anyone know how to recover from the BSD root error? now i can't get my ipod touch to stop repeating the message and go into recovery mode

HELP!

----------------------------

updated. i managed to get it into recovery mode finally and all is good.

This post has been edited by ihawk98: Mar 17 2008, 03:58 PM
+3kk!
post Mar 17 2008, 08:04 PM

8,275 posts

http://iphoneapplicationlist.com/category/games/

this site owns, it tells all the internet itouch/phone sites made specially for the itouch/phone in mind.

SUSMike3300
post Mar 17 2008, 08:24 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2008, 08:04 PM)
http://iphoneapplicationlist.com/category/games/

this site owns, it tells all the internet itouch/phone sites made specially for the itouch/phone in mind.
http://www.apple.com/webapps

This site is more reliable and more sites are covered.
tinkerfy
post Mar 17 2008, 11:16 PM

Look left, look right, shoot shoot shoot
1,317 posts

I don't think I have any luck with iPod Touch.
This is my history:
Feb 27th - Got the iTouch 8GB from my company as a prize.
Feb 27th - Found 13 stuck pixels
Feb 28th - Send to Apple Service Centre for DOA claim.
Mar 3rd - I called Apple Service Centre and only then I found out that they did not find any stuck pixels, claimed it was the screen protector
Mar 3rd - Went to Apple Service Centre, point and show all the dead pixels and got a reply of "Eh, how come all my engineers never saw any earlier? ok, will send in for DOA warranty.
Mar 10th - Call to check on warranty status. No good news.
Mar 12th - Call to check on warranty status. Unit at kastam.
Mar 14th - Call to check on warranty status. Unit is already with DHL.
Today - Unit sent to my office. Happy but did not bring the Sync cable. Reach home, plug to PC, check for stuck pixels, DARN!! 3 very obvious even at 50% brightness. Here we go again.

I tested the stuck pixels using a Black picture @ 100% brightness.
Any of you guys having the same problem?
Moonflown
post Mar 18 2008, 12:35 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Mar 17 2008, 11:16 PM)
I don't think I have any luck with iPod Touch.
This is my history:
Feb 27th - Got the iTouch 8GB from my company as a prize.
Feb 27th - Found 13 stuck pixels
Feb 28th - Send to Apple Service Centre for DOA claim.
Mar 3rd - I called Apple Service Centre and only then I found out that they  did not find any stuck pixels, claimed it was the screen protector
Mar 3rd - Went to Apple Service Centre, point and show all the dead pixels and got a reply of "Eh, how come all my engineers never saw any earlier? ok, will send in for DOA warranty.
Mar 10th - Call to check on warranty status. No good news.
Mar 12th - Call to check on warranty status. Unit at kastam.
Mar 14th - Call to check on warranty status. Unit is already with DHL.
Today - Unit sent to my office. Happy but did not bring the Sync cable. Reach home, plug to PC, check for stuck pixels, DARN!! 3 very obvious even at 50% brightness. Here we go again.

I tested the stuck pixels using a Black picture @ 100% brightness.
Any of you guys having the same problem?
Sorry to hear that but iPod Touch should not have ANY dead pixel at all and most of the iPod Touch I've seen has no dead pixel. Guess you have to go through another round of that.
tinkerfy
post Mar 18 2008, 11:46 AM

1,317 posts

yeah man...
this time i'm gonna personally go there to make sure they give me a 1to1 swap..

SUSMike3300
post Mar 18 2008, 06:03 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Mar 18 2008, 11:46 AM)
yeah man...
this time i'm gonna personally go there to make sure they give me a 1to1 swap..
Hope that you're be getting one cause what you've paid is very much though. I mean over a thousand ringgit device with a crappy customer service is just plain lousy and dumb.

My first time sending my iPod, they claimed it was fine. After using for 1-2 months plus, problem still arise and sent for warranty service again. Luckily got a new unit, some said that most replacement units for the iPods and iPhones are refurbished units... but no choice, at least we get a brand new and most importantly for me, it works!
tinkerfy
post Mar 19 2008, 09:08 AM

1,317 posts

just wondering..
so many iTouch owners here, none of you had stuck pixels?

This is how i detect stuck pixels.
Create a black, navy blue, blue, yellow, red, green jpeg file, and sync it into the iTouch.
Then turn on the brightness to maximum and scroll thru the color jpegs..
Doing this in total darkness will help.

Oops.. should I be even talking about this in this thread?
TS: Sorry if its not allowed.
auronthas
post Mar 19 2008, 09:58 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Mar 19 2008, 09:08 AM)
just wondering..
so many iTouch owners here, none of you had stuck pixels?

This is how i detect stuck pixels.
Create a black, navy blue, blue, yellow, red, green jpeg file, and sync it into the iTouch.
Then turn on the brightness to maximum and scroll thru the color jpegs..
Doing this in total darkness will help.

Oops.. should I be even talking about this in this thread?
TS: Sorry if its not allowed.
Thanks for your tips.

I have done accordingly, no stuck pixels discovered.
No0KieF
post Mar 20 2008, 03:38 AM

235 posts

mine got no stuck/dead pixel.. just bought it last week. hahaha.
bought 13th march, 14th march, got a very looooooong scratch at the back.
i dun realize when i did it. so fragile~

p/s : does the warranty covers screen faulty? a friend of mine told me that the screen is not included in the warranty.
Revamperz
post Mar 20 2008, 08:06 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

Yo guys. Just got meself an iPod touch.. This thing awsome level is off the chart! So how do I edit album cover cox I can't log in to iTunes.. Not availble in this country bla bla bla..
No0KieF
post Mar 20 2008, 08:36 PM

235 posts

you go to the music, right click "get info", go to " artwork". u can edit it there. I just did it myself yesterday.. hahahaha.. put my face as the cover ( for my podcast laaa )
Revamperz
post Mar 20 2008, 09:20 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(No0KieF @ Mar 20 2008, 08:36 PM)
you go to the music, right click "get info", go to " artwork". u can edit it there. I just did it myself yesterday.. hahahaha.. put my face as the cover ( for my podcast laaa )
woot!! thanks... duh..

now.. to find all the album covers! this is too cool.. its would bee cooler if we got the itunes store tho..

No0KieF
post Mar 20 2008, 09:42 PM

235 posts

huhu, youre welcome.
i just put pictures that are significant with the song thou.
doesnt follow its original album.. cuz there are too many song to edit..
but, some song, i dunno why, we cant put id3 on it.

most of them are the malay song. dunno y?
Revamperz
post Mar 20 2008, 09:58 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

@No0KieF lol.. curently me add album cover one.. by.. one.. doh.gif hassle but worth it

so me fellow touchers.. i mean ipod touch users

i now got tonnes of space, other then mp3's and mp4's.. what other stuff can i sync in / install? apps perhaps?

ihawk98
post Mar 21 2008, 11:22 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Mar 20 2008, 09:58 PM)

i now got tonnes of space, other then mp3's and mp4's.. what other stuff can i sync in / install? apps perhaps?
jailbreak if you like and check installer for loads of stuff to add to your "revitalized" iPod touch.
SUSMike3300
post Mar 21 2008, 02:55 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Mar 20 2008, 09:58 PM)
@No0KieF lol.. curently me add album cover one.. by.. one.. doh.gif hassle but worth it

so me fellow touchers.. i mean ipod touch users

If for the same album, you can select all and copy only an artwork. iTunes then assign to all songs.

Replied using iPod touch.
Revamperz
post Mar 21 2008, 08:29 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:22 AM)
jailbreak if you like and check installer for loads of stuff to add to your "revitalized" iPod touch.
Jailbreak? what in the world is that? sweat.gif

maybe i should google it out..

btw, guys.. what with itunes support on adding pictures(me using iTunes 7.6.1.9 on iPod Toouch ) ? why there no "specific" folder like Music , Movies, Podcast ect? unsure.gif

SUSMike3300
post Mar 21 2008, 09:21 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Mar 21 2008, 08:29 PM)
Jailbreak? what in the world is that? sweat.gif

maybe i should google it out..

btw, guys.. what with itunes support on adding pictures(me using iTunes 7.6.1.9 on iPod Toouch ) ? why there no "specific" folder like Music , Movies, Podcast ect? unsure.gif
Jailbreak=means hack in iPod touch/iPhone community.

In iTunes at your iPod menu, for example: Revamperz iPod, click the arrow at the name and it'll show you the music/videos/podcast/audiobook menu.

34 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:00 PM