5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Do you really need a degree in order to work? No.

hcmalaya
post Dec 5 2022, 09:39 AM

61 posts

Unker your time was like what 20 years ago???
That time diploma also consider good
Time moves on
10 years ago Degree is already consider basic entry
Of course there always exception of few very oustanding individuals without degree also can be billionaire
But for Average Joe Jane, degree is nowadays minimum ticket entry to executive level job
As for career ladder, even MBA is now required by most MNC for new senior manager above

Manuk1188
post Dec 5 2022, 09:44 AM

257 posts

You have concluded that Singapore doesn't required Degree - because u can go and applied and salary will go on up with number of years of experience - and still doesn't required a degree. (only IT field - that happen to you) what about the rest of the fields?

ycs
post Dec 5 2022, 09:45 AM

4,232 posts

and yet you take degree? laugh.gif
CeDhhVss
post Dec 5 2022, 09:46 AM

92 posts

SPECIFIC JOBS NEED SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS

KEPALA BUTOH TS INGAT BECOME SURGEON NO NEED SKILLS THRU HIGHER EDUCATION
fantasy1989
post Dec 5 2022, 09:48 AM

4,706 posts

44 years old with sgd7.8k at singapore consider middle income right?

your era still have chance as not many ppl having degree (yet) - thats why some company still willing to fund you for diploma and degree [this initiative still happen when i 2" join kuli company ..but now..wait la..]

now if you freshgrad 2" dont have degree (toilet paper) ; your application will automatic filter out ..how to get opportunity if your resume was getting filtered out by BOT?

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Dec 5 2022, 09:50 AM
ixaRA
post Dec 5 2022, 09:48 AM

91 posts

Better if got degree
pokchik
post Dec 5 2022, 09:49 AM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(bengm2019 @ Dec 5 2022, 08:59 AM)
Yes, the answer is no....

I don't even have a degree when I started working in Singapore.... I remember my starting pay was just $1300 as a PC technician.

After that go study part-time, gotten my IT degree only at 36yo..... Then after that go study masters in business management. Completed it at 42yo... Now, 44yo. Next year, going for study phd.... its jsut for personal goal. No doubt I am slower than many pple and even many many singaporeans/malaysians, by my salary is still pretty decent for my age, after including bonus, I get around $7800 a month. Now  assistant maanger managing IT-dept in my company.

I saw a thread about parents sending kids oversea to study blah blah...Do you really need it? NOPE..... IF you intend to let your kids work in SG, then degree is not necessary. Can start working first. Then study part-time later. The best thing is that you can even get company to sponsor your studies (I didn't).

My colleague (Malaysian Work-permit), is doing his diploma at SIM now. ITs fully sponsor by my company. Just that he will be bonded for 6-months (meaning cannot quit within 6-months after completing studies). So, if you are good, there are many companies who are willing to sponsor your studies and groom you. Even help you apply for PR (if you wish to stay in SG for long term).

So, don't need to worry at all......
TS, do you get the SGD7.8k/mth salary without your degree and masters?

SUS~min~
post Dec 5 2022, 09:51 AM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

I have degree, but work kerja2 kampung anything can do as long as got money. Sad lief
DarkAeon
post Dec 5 2022, 09:53 AM

774 posts

do u need to dig a hole with a shovel? no
do u need to hit the nail with a hammer? no

but doesn't mean u shudn't
Momo33
post Dec 5 2022, 09:56 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(bengm2019 @ Dec 5 2022, 09:59 AM)

I don't even have a degree when I started working in Singapore.... I remember my starting pay was just $1300 as a PC technician.

After that go study part-time, gotten my IT degree only at 36yo..... Then after that go study masters in business management. Completed it at 42yo... Now, 44yo. Next year, going for study phd.... its jsut for personal goal. No doubt I am slower than many pple and even many many singaporeans/malaysians, by my salary is still pretty decent for my age, after including bonus, I get around $7800 a month. Now  assistant maanger managing IT-dept in my company.

I saw a thread about parents sending kids oversea to study blah blah...Do you really need it? NOPE..... IF you intend to let your kids work in SG, then degree is not necessary. Can start working first. Then study part-time later. The best thing is that you can even get company to sponsor your studies (I didn't).

My colleague (Malaysian Work-permit), is doing his diploma at SIM now. ITs fully sponsor by my company. Just that he will be bonded for 6-months (meaning cannot quit within 6-months after completing studies). So, if you are good, there are many companies who are willing to sponsor your studies and groom you. Even help you apply for PR (if you wish to stay in SG for long term).

its better to get your first degree if possible before start work ..
you start higher up the ladder with more opportunities..
and salary gap between tech and engineer is wide .

DupeIkan
post Dec 5 2022, 09:58 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Dec 5 2022, 09:48 AM)
44 years old with sgd7.8k at singapore consider middle income right?

your era still have chance as not many ppl having degree (yet) - thats why some company still willing to fund you for diploma and degree [this initiative still happen when i 2" join kuli company ..but now..wait la..]

now if you freshgrad 2" dont have degree (toilet paper) ; your application will automatic filter out ..how to get opportunity if your resume was getting filtered out by BOT?
Boomers bro
knwong
post Dec 5 2022, 10:00 AM

3,560 posts

Of course you don't need a degree or even any college certificate to work

but if you want to jump start your career fast it is still relevant

Better if you know the right people. connection matters
I-Kurosaki
post Dec 5 2022, 10:13 AM

195 posts

To reply your topic, of course you don't need degree to work. E-hailing and food delivery don't even need degree.

But having a degree cert will increase your chances of working with top companies and possibly higher starting pay; ultimately depends on your soft and interpersonal skills.
For example, my brother starting pay in SG already close to $4k.

This post has been edited by I-Kurosaki: Dec 5 2022, 10:13 AM
brkli
post Dec 5 2022, 10:14 AM

592 posts

ya TS you are right, grab driver and food delivery also no need degree. security guard and cleaner also no need degree. open your own business and become boss also no need degree.

just i dun understand why u want get a degree, master, phd, when able to work without those.. if you like to study, you can just go study and not graduate like bill gates and mark zukerberg..

This post has been edited by brkli: Dec 5 2022, 10:16 AM
upcars
post Dec 5 2022, 10:16 AM

95 posts

i spm also dont have. straight before pmr already go work. sales stiker job until now
9m2w
post Dec 5 2022, 10:16 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

To your question TS no then and no now

However you come from a time where there was no proliferation of degree holders and lack of high paying jobs. Competition is tougher now , yes skills are important so if you can't cut it with a degree opt for TVET. But if you can then you should try to enrol in one and excel in it
hellkvr
post Dec 5 2022, 10:21 AM

395 posts

LOL. ME AGE 33 SALARY RM1.8K JE. no problem.
Knnbuccb
post Dec 5 2022, 10:22 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 5 2022, 09:08 AM)
I don't even have a diploma .
Didn't do well in form 5, fail all BM papers.
Cannot enter college.

Look at me today.  What do you say?
I'll say I have to tell my kids to study hard.
darkhunter16
post Dec 5 2022, 10:24 AM

128 posts

Survivorship bias
Knnbuccb
post Dec 5 2022, 10:24 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(CeDhhVss @ Dec 5 2022, 09:46 AM)
SPECIFIC JOBS NEED SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS

KEPALA BUTOH TS INGAT BECOME SURGEON NO NEED SKILLS THRU HIGHER EDUCATION
YouTube Kan ada? KnoWl3dg3 1s ev3rYwher3

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top