5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Do you really need a degree in order to work? No.

TSbengm2019
post Dec 5 2022, 08:59 AM, updated 4y ago

71 posts

Yes, the answer is no....

I don't even have a degree when I started working in Singapore.... I remember my starting pay was just $1300 as a PC technician.

After that go study part-time, gotten my IT degree only at 36yo..... Then after that go study masters in business management. Completed it at 42yo... Now, 44yo. Next year, going for study phd.... its jsut for personal goal. No doubt I am slower than many pple and even many many singaporeans/malaysians, by my salary is still pretty decent for my age, after including bonus, I get around $7800 a month. Now assistant maanger managing IT-dept in my company.

I saw a thread about parents sending kids oversea to study blah blah...Do you really need it? NOPE..... IF you intend to let your kids work in SG, then degree is not necessary. Can start working first. Then study part-time later. The best thing is that you can even get company to sponsor your studies (I didn't).

My colleague (Malaysian Work-permit), is doing his diploma at SIM now. ITs fully sponsor by my company. Just that he will be bonded for 6-months (meaning cannot quit within 6-months after completing studies). So, if you are good, there are many companies who are willing to sponsor your studies and groom you. Even help you apply for PR (if you wish to stay in SG for long term).

So, don't need to worry at all......
KineticKill
post Dec 5 2022, 09:00 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(bengm2019 @ Dec 5 2022, 01:59 AM)

I don't even have a degree when I started working in Singapore.... I remember my starting pay was just $1300 as a PC technician.

After that go study part-time, gotten my IT degree only at 36yo..... Then after that go study masters in business management. Completed it at 42yo... Now, 44yo. Next year, going for study phd.... its jsut for personal goal. No doubt I am slower than many pple and even many many singaporeans/malaysians, by my salary is still pretty decent for my age, after including bonus, I get around $7800 a month. Now  assistant maanger managing IT-dept in my company.

I saw a thread about parents sending kids oversea to study blah blah...Do you really need it? NOPE..... IF you intend to let your kids work in SG, then degree is not necessary. Can start working first. Then study part-time later. The best thing is that you can even get company to sponsor your studies (I didn't).

My colleague (Malaysian Work-permit), is doing his diploma at SIM now. ITs fully sponsor by my company. Just that he will be bonded for 6-months (meaning cannot quit within 6-months after completing studies). So, if you are good, there are many companies who are willing to sponsor your studies and groom you. Even help you apply for PR (if you wish to stay in SG for long term).

Mods please move tered to jobs & careers tq
Chanwsan
post Dec 5 2022, 09:02 AM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Stool cory dupe
ikankering
post Dec 5 2022, 09:02 AM

42 posts

if want work for someone else. yes. need.
TSbengm2019
post Dec 5 2022, 09:04 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Dec 5 2022, 09:02 AM)
Stool cory dupe
Up to you whether you want to bleive or not... Plenty of examples here.... You can go ask around how many malaysians work and study in Singapore, then eventually gotten citizenship. Way too many to count.

Btw, its not just malaysians. OTher coutnries too. Back then when I was studying, there are pple from philippines, India and Myanmar. During my masters, there are a few ang mohs too.... Company send them to study and its fully sponsored.

This post has been edited by bengm2019: Dec 5 2022, 09:06 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Dec 5 2022, 09:08 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(bengm2019 @ Dec 5 2022, 08:59 AM)

I don't even have a diploma .
Didn't do well in form 5, fail all BM papers.
Cannot enter college.

Look at me today. What do you say?

SUSguest16888
post Dec 5 2022, 09:08 AM

135 posts

Parents is correct.
Pump the kid max while still young.

lukaka
post Dec 5 2022, 09:09 AM

30 posts

Depends... If u want to be lawyer, doctor, accountant, certified engineer, teacher or university lecturer... Definitely you need it. The rest... I don't think required
TraderPatel
post Dec 5 2022, 09:09 AM

There are many ways to get to the top of the mountain. Can't say that your way is the best. I have taken professional exams whilst working and i can say, studying while working is really tough. Second, a degree is now entry requirement into the workforce.
ZerOne01
post Dec 5 2022, 09:10 AM

124 posts

got my degree and my salary is almost the same as yours at younger age
you don't need degree, but it's certainly made things easier
anndroid
post Dec 5 2022, 09:13 AM

148 posts

your time and now is different. now you will be competing with oversupply of fresh grads.
square2
post Dec 5 2022, 09:14 AM

227 posts

After that go study part-time, gotten my IT degree only at 36yo..... Then after that go study masters in business management. Completed it at 42yo... Now, 44yo. Next year, going for study phd.... its jsut for personal goal. No doubt I am slower than many pple and even many many singaporeans/malaysians, by my salary is still pretty decent for my age, after including bonus, I get around $7800 a month. Now  assistant maanger managing IT-dept in my company.

if you have a degree, you can be assistant manager at the age of 28-29. provided you have the skill and knowledge
MKCL
post Dec 5 2022, 09:17 AM

333 posts

zaman dulu and zaman sekarang boleh compare ? and depend on industry too, you apply software dev and engineering jobs, you say no degree, just take course, I doubt you will pass the HR filter
loserguy
post Dec 5 2022, 09:17 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(ikankering @ Dec 5 2022, 09:02 AM)
if want work for someone else. yes. need.
I thought you are strong supporter of SPM ....
Ayambetul
post Dec 5 2022, 09:25 AM

336 posts

Go tell that to ur kids

TrialGone
post Dec 5 2022, 09:30 AM

603 posts

Is this the rumored labour scam in sg I been hearing?
Chaud
post Dec 5 2022, 09:33 AM

1,119 posts

i have already done that
hackinz
post Dec 5 2022, 09:33 AM

135 posts

Degree certificate is your ticket to get a better job prospect during entry level. If you can perform well in your job, it serve as a ticket to secure a place for internal promotion.

jaycee
post Dec 5 2022, 09:35 AM

45 posts

you have good attitude.

for me, the moral of the story is to work hard, persevere, don't give up.

parents spend money to give their kids a good education is a good thing. parents cannot afford to give kids a good education, doesn't mean it's an excuse one can give for not being successful.
SUSNew Klang
post Dec 5 2022, 09:36 AM

4,998 posts

7800 is not minimum ktards levels of 20k

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0150sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:41 PM