How to kickstart your fitness journey? Come ask!

olay biscuit barrel
post Nov 8 2022, 10:21 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Nov 8 2022, 10:01 AM)
got do jogging/running on weekdays if no rain... usually for 5km
Start with 5 burpees inside a minute then rest, 2nd minute kicks in, repeat. Do this 10x. Gradually add the number of burpees that you can do in 30 seconds. The standard would be 10 burpees in 30 seconds then 30 seconds rest.
zhou.xingxing
post Nov 8 2022, 10:23 AM

:3
1,691 posts

QUOTE(olay biscuit barrel @ Nov 8 2022, 10:21 AM)
Start with 5 burpees inside a minute then rest, 2nd minute kicks in, repeat. Do this 10x. Gradually add the number of burpees that you can do in 30 seconds. The standard would be 10 burpees in 30 seconds then 30 seconds rest.
will incorp some burpees after the run
fuzzy
post Nov 8 2022, 10:28 AM

*pew pew pew*
6,659 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Nov 8 2022, 10:13 AM)
do you agree that there is no relative benefit to walking on treadmill?

running on treadmill on the other hand helps protect knee due to better cushioning.

walking anywhere is just the same je since low impact exercise
You can get a consistent incline if you do walking on threadmill.

Some even advocate LIIT over HIIT for better weight loss and less knee impact.
Nagashiro
post Nov 8 2022, 10:29 AM

392 posts

I saw the anti treadmill walking guy here ... Haha
waka14
post Nov 8 2022, 10:35 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(Kylow @ Nov 5 2022, 03:02 PM)
Weird, i eat whatever i want as long as under 1800calories + badminton once or twice a week i lost 10kg in 6 months.

Maybe should up intensity of exercise.
metabolism+genetics also plays a part, if i did that at best I can only loose like 2-4kg then maintain.

These days, to maintain I just skip rice all together, mostly eat veggies and some meat for dinner.

Cant really go for long distance jogging...my stamina can keep up but my knees easy sore ( has to do with my weight im sure), so im just brisk walking, push-ups and squats for now...topkek
zhou.xingxing
post Nov 8 2022, 10:42 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(waka14 @ Nov 8 2022, 10:35 AM)
metabolism+genetics also plays a part, if i did that at best I can only loose like 2-4kg then maintain.

These days, to maintain I just skip rice all together, mostly eat veggies and some meat for dinner.

Cant really go for long distance jogging...my stamina can keep up but my knees easy sore ( has to do with my weight im sure), so im just brisk walking, push-ups and squats for now...topkek
do you think you would need the knee support thing? am considering one for own use especially will feel something (not pain) on knees when/after descending from hiking. but not sure what to look for in a good knee support
waka14
post Nov 8 2022, 10:49 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Nov 8 2022, 10:42 AM)
do you think you would need the knee support thing? am considering one for own use especially will feel something (not pain) on knees when/after descending from hiking. but not sure what to look for in a good knee support
im not so sure also...but would also like like advise from the sifus here
Prometric
post Nov 8 2022, 10:57 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Nov 8 2022, 10:42 AM)
QUOTE(waka14 @ Nov 8 2022, 10:49 AM)
im not so sure also...but would also like like advise from the sifus here
The knee guard is useless. I have similar issue. First it was my right knee feeling slight discomfort when descending from hiking. Gradually i started training intensely, doing squats everyday / deadlifts etc. Then i started to feel pain on the same knee whenever i tried to do squats / bend my knees (with load/stress). Eventually my PT advise me to consult a specialist.

Went and see a physiotherapist, and found out my pelvis / knee / ACL alignment out. So have to do treatment and adjust back.
zhou.xingxing
post Nov 8 2022, 11:02 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Nov 8 2022, 10:57 AM)
The knee guard is useless. I have similar issue. First it was my right knee feeling slight discomfort when descending from hiking. Gradually i started training intensely, doing squats everyday / deadlifts etc. Then i started to feel pain on the same knee whenever i tried to do squats / bend my knees (with load/stress). Eventually my PT advise me to consult a specialist.

Went and see a physiotherapist, and found out my pelvis / knee / ACL alignment out. So have to do treatment and adjust back.
ok will monitor after including more deadlift/squats in weight trainings. previously do weight training then now more on cardio running outside (not much weight training). but have not felt any pain on knees yet during weight training. after/during descend in hiking, felt a bit of discomfort but not pain. but goes away the next day.

no sound on knee/kneecaps when doing extensions too, luckily sweat.gif
Prometric
post Nov 8 2022, 11:06 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Nov 8 2022, 11:02 AM)
ok will monitor after including more deadlift/squats in weight trainings. previously do weight training then now more on cardio running outside (not much weight training). but have not felt any pain on knees yet during weight training. after/during descend in hiking, felt a bit of discomfort but not pain. but goes away the next day.

no sound on knee/kneecaps when doing extensions too, luckily  sweat.gif
Careful, if started to feel pain better stop training and consult a specialist otherwise slip disc will guarantee happen

This post has been edited by Prometric: Nov 8 2022, 11:06 AM
zhou.xingxing
post Nov 8 2022, 11:08 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Nov 8 2022, 11:06 AM)
Careful, if started to feel pain better stop training and consult a specialist otherwise slip disc will guarantee happen
will start low and slow weight training for reps first. not doing anything heavy for sure. sweat.gif priorities still running/jogging first for me. but thanks man.

monsoon season cant do hiking also now
galkelly
post Nov 8 2022, 11:32 AM

619 posts

My targeted weight is below 70kg.
Now I am plateau at 73... Very difficult to see further improvement...advise ?
olay biscuit barrel
post Nov 8 2022, 11:52 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Nov 8 2022, 10:23 AM)
will incorp some burpees after the run
I stopped running after just doing burpees but if you're so inclined, I would suggest doing the burpees first as they are more intense then cool down with running.
olay biscuit barrel
post Nov 8 2022, 11:53 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Nov 8 2022, 11:32 AM)
My targeted weight is below 70kg.
Now I am plateau at 73... Very difficult to see further improvement...advise ?
What's your workout and diet plan?
galkelly
post Nov 8 2022, 08:41 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(olay biscuit barrel @ Nov 8 2022, 11:53 AM)
What's your workout and diet plan?
Running 5k x3/week
Not really on diet...only intermittent fasting ..
olay biscuit barrel
post Nov 8 2022, 10:00 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Nov 8 2022, 08:41 PM)
Running 5k x3/week
Not really on diet...only intermittent fasting ..
I say you've plateau'd. If you're on a decent diet and hitting your macros the only solution is to ramp up your activity. Either you do 8km 3x a week or do 5km 2x a week with a 15km on a weekend. Or change it up every week to shock your body. Do tabata sprints 3x a week, then go back to your 5km 3x a week the next. Me personally, I would do 100 burpees 3x a week for cardio and tabata sprints the next week.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0185sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:10 AM