1,197 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Oct 10 2023, 09:41 AM)
none of my frens are the mecha type
heck a keyboard @RM200  also they  rclxub.gif

anyway, plonk down some gaterons yellow switches and  see if that helps

thanks  thumbup.gif
wa../k member

if any switch too 'light weight' can try something linear with heavier weight.
like graywood v3 i using actually causing some double tap or no trigger issue. (maybe due to keyboard pcb or switch loosed time to time)
changed to heavier switch like oil king did solve most of the issue.

but i still got like 100 graywoodv3 in the box sweat.gif
mcchin
post Oct 10 2023, 01:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 10 2023, 11:43 AM)
ok welcome to the club haha

since you have a hotswap board, it's good for you to get familiar with that board, then learn things at your own pace.

stock prebuilts are usually underperformed. it's up to you to make it better for yourself.
its news, see how later on
for now it much better than the dome one

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Oct 10 2023, 12:02 PM)
wa../k member
if any switch too 'light weight' can try something linear with heavier weight.
like graywood v3 i using actually causing some double tap or no trigger issue. (maybe due to keyboard pcb or switch loosed time to time)
changed to heavier switch like oil king did solve most of the issue.
but i still got like 100 graywoodv3 in the box sweat.gif
yeah
but $$$$ non stop....
horns
post Oct 10 2023, 03:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Oct 10 2023, 01:35 PM)
its news, see how later on
for now it much better than the dome one
right. just experience and experimennt stuff at your own pace, starting with basic parts and modifications first.

hotswap boards these days are easier and convenient to tune. it's a good starting point for beginners.
niakulah
post Oct 11 2023, 09:17 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Oct 9 2023, 06:01 PM)
Hi all

been using RK96 for 10 days
it has the red switches

before this I used a HP rubber dome keyboard
and the A key rubber dome crapped out

so my experience is limited, what is and should be

My problem with the RK is that, while all the keys are light (linear reds)
the spacebar seems exceptionally sensitive, to a point where I can featherily glide with my finger on the space bar will activate the switches

So am thinking of changing some switches and looking at Gaterons Yellow

is this enough for an ex-dome user, or do I need to go tactile browns/blues?

or is this the growing pains of changing from rubber to mecha?
As horns mentioned, you can change the switch to something with a heavier spring or swap the spring in your current switch.

Since you are unsure of what you like (linear/tactile/clicky), and you really only need 1 switch for your spacebar(for now), get yourself a tester or sampler. The switches in the tester are functional switches.

https://shopee.com.my/9-key-Cherry-Gateron-...487.21682478439

https://shopee.com.my/Akko-16-key-Switch-Sa...202.16692494655

https://shopee.com.my/Akko-x-MonsGeek-16-Ke...434.18578732848

https://pantheonkeys.com/collections/mechan...tch-sample-pack
mcchin
post Oct 11 2023, 10:21 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 11 2023, 09:17 AM)
As horns mentioned, you can change the switch to something with a heavier spring or swap the spring in your current switch.

Since you are unsure of what you like (linear/tactile/clicky), and you really only need 1 switch for your spacebar(for now), get yourself a tester or sampler. The switches in the tester are functional switches.
https://shopee.com.my/9-key-Cherry-Gateron-...487.21682478439

https://shopee.com.my/Akko-16-key-Switch-Sa...202.16692494655

https://shopee.com.my/Akko-x-MonsGeek-16-Ke...434.18578732848

https://pantheonkeys.com/collections/mechan...tch-sample-pack
was original looking to get my mouse re-button due to double clicking
and this one dude have *some* switches

so i put down some gateron yellows

seems cheap enuff for me to get some out to try
horns
post Oct 11 2023, 11:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

right, just spend wisely and accordingly.

this hobby is always about achieving personal comforts by learning and applying parts/mods based on individual preferences with boards on hand. try to do this to boards that you have first. from there you will realize what you like and do not like, and hopefully you will build up your skill levels.

yes, there are always new and better options. however i suggest that you jump into those after you have enough first-hand experience, because that's when you start to spend the most.

of course, if you always have extras, you can just go ahead hehe
T.Alvin
post Oct 11 2023, 11:44 AM

125 posts

Do u guys game on custom board using wireless ? got any latency or connection issue?
krayden
post Oct 11 2023, 03:07 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(T.Alvin @ Oct 11 2023, 11:44 AM)
Do u guys game on custom board using wireless ? got any latency or connection issue?
2.4 is ok. Bluetooth got noticable latency.
jalaja69
post Oct 12 2023, 12:01 PM

Hi keebs sifu, I have a question as a noob. Does overlubing the stabilizers housing and stems make it sticky? I was using krytox 205g0 and I thought I spread the lube evenly but my stabilizers stems wont slide properly.
niakulah
post Oct 12 2023, 01:42 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(jalaja69 @ Oct 12 2023, 12:01 PM)
Hi keebs sifu, I have a question as a noob. Does overlubing the stabilizers housing and stems make it sticky? I was using krytox 205g0 and I thought I spread the lube evenly but my stabilizers stems wont slide properly.
With thicker grease maybe but not with 205. It sounds more like you've assembled it wrongly. Stems are wrong way around, or wire is in the wrong hole, or wire not clipped in/seated properly
horns
post Oct 12 2023, 04:20 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(jalaja69 @ Oct 12 2023, 12:01 PM)
like niakulah pointed out, krytox gpl 205g0 is usually not the cause of sluggishness of stabs. you should check that the stabs are installed properly first.

you can clean the stabs up, and redo if necessary.

jalaja69
post Oct 12 2023, 08:30 PM

I just double checked and the stems are definitely install the right way. The 2 holes are facing the 'front'. I compared it with the other unlubed, out of factory stabilizers. After I cleaned off the krytox, the stems can move up and down now.

Now the issue is I'm not sure what I did wrong with the lubing in the first place.

Edit: I have alcohol swab cleaned the stabilizers again and re-lubed it with A LOT less krytox. It is working a lot better now.

This post has been edited by jalaja69: Oct 12 2023, 09:47 PM
horns
post Oct 13 2023, 07:51 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(jalaja69 @ Oct 12 2023, 08:30 PM)
I just double checked and the stems are definitely install the right way. The 2 holes are facing the 'front'. I compared it with the other unlubed, out of factory stabilizers. After I cleaned off the krytox, the stems can move up and down now.

Now the issue is I'm not sure what I did wrong with the lubing in the first place.

Edit: I have alcohol swab cleaned the stabilizers again and re-lubed it with A LOT less krytox. It is working a lot better now.
i just realized that the term, 'overlubed' is subjective, and there was no image that showed how overlubed the stabs were. in your first attempt, i think you really applied 'a lot'.

with 205g0, i usually lube all sides of walls for housing (thin layers), all sides for sliders, including holes for wires, and wire tips (relatively thicker layers for these). after i install key switches and caps, i will start spamming for a while. the slider movements are not sluggish. when i turn the stabs upside down, the sliders will not move up freely and automatically. still, key travels are fine when i type.

the main idea of stabilizer tuning is to make those long keys feel like 1u keys, without rattle/ticking/sluggishness. beside tuning, you must also make sure the installation is proper, at least making sure the stabs are sitting flush on plate/pcb. well-tuned stabs can still cause issues if this is not done properly.
belialjo
post Oct 17 2023, 11:45 AM

42 posts

Hi experts, I'm currently using Tecware Phantom but some of the keys are intermittently non-responsive or have to press harder. Is this a switch issue or board? If it is switch, where can I get replacements?
horns
post Oct 17 2023, 12:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(belialjo @ Oct 17 2023, 11:45 AM)
Hi experts, I'm currently using Tecware Phantom but some of the keys are  intermittently non-responsive or have to press harder. Is this a switch issue or board? If it is switch, where can I get replacements?
tecware phantom should be a hotswap board. you can check by replacing a good switch from the same board with the one that you think is faulty. if the issue is the same then it's likely an issue with pcb.

if it's working, then you can consider getting new switches to replace faulty ones. (or, you can tear them down, do cleanup, then reassemble them to see if it helps)
belialjo
post Oct 17 2023, 04:13 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 17 2023, 12:31 PM)
tecware phantom should be a hotswap board. you can check by replacing a good switch from the same board with the one that you think is faulty. if the issue is the same then it's likely an issue with pcb.

if it's working, then you can consider getting new switches to replace faulty ones. (or, you can tear them down, do cleanup, then reassemble them to see if it helps)
Ok noted. They actually provided a couple of spare switches out of the box but I need more. Any idea where to buy more from? Shopee/Lazada?

krayden
post Oct 17 2023, 07:24 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(belialjo @ Oct 17 2023, 04:13 PM)
Ok noted. They actually provided a couple of spare switches out of the box but I need more. Any idea where to buy more from? Shopee/Lazada?
If you stil have the box, check what switches they are.
Because phantom came with outemu switches, which is compatable with outemu, boba and i think akko.
Phantom elite came with gaterons, so almost everything fits.

Maybe you can bring your board to mkb ss15.
MKB Malaysia (SS15)
012-272 8248

https://www.google.com/search?client=ms-and...1&shem=lbsc,lsp
basara93
post Oct 22 2023, 10:45 AM

34 posts

Hi Sifus,

I would like to ask which kind of tape is safe for tape mod?
I have been lurking on the internet and all of them mentioned either painter tape or masking tape, 3M Painter tape to be exact.

I check the 3m Painter tape in Ace Hardware, that thing cost around RM 60 ~ RM90, its too freaking expensive..

Will this Nippon paint works? Or what are the recommended branch to go with?

zzzz52
post Oct 22 2023, 11:04 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,176 posts

QUOTE(basara93 @ Oct 22 2023, 10:45 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I would like to ask which kind of tape is safe for tape mod?
I have been lurking on the internet and all of them mentioned either painter tape or masking tape, 3M Painter tape to be exact.

I check the 3m Painter tape in Ace Hardware, that thing cost around RM 60 ~ RM90, its too freaking expensive..

Will this Nippon paint works? Or what are the recommended branch to go with?

I just use those RM5 masking tape and it works like a charm if you are looking for that tape mod popping sound. If 1 layer is not enough, u can use 2 layers.

Experiment with cheaper material first. I don't think 3M will have any benefit in the tapemod vs those cheaper masking tape.
basara93
post Oct 22 2023, 11:17 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Oct 22 2023, 11:04 AM)
I just use those RM5 masking tape and it works like a charm if you are looking for that tape mod popping sound. If 1 layer is not enough, u can use 2 layers.

Experiment with cheaper material first. I don't think 3M will have any benefit in the tapemod vs those cheaper masking tape.
Ah thanks for the info, i keep seeing post on reddit about ppl shorting their PCB when doing the tape mod so i want to be sure before i do it myself.
Actually i saw Mecha was also using the nippon paint washi tape for the tape mod service.
I guess if they are using it for their customer board, it should be good enuf for me.

87 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:05 PM