46 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

SG Savings Bond (SSB) & Treasury Bills (T-bills), Guaranteed by Singapore Government

TSikanbilis
post Nov 11 2022, 10:02 AM

Trusted member since 2003
2,543 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 11 2022, 09:55 AM)
The difference this time compared to the last round is,.. the allocated amt this time is $1bil,... correct me if I'm wrong,... last mth,... this amt to be 'given out' was just $800mil,... So,.. maybe can get allocated 10K units again, because more people might be applying.

Yeah,... I'll use 15K to enter too,...
I got alloted 10.5k for last month SSB. Total alloted was 900mil, not 800mil. Hence got 100mil increase for this coming SSB.

Hansel
post Nov 11 2022, 10:12 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Nov 11 2022, 10:02 AM)
I got alloted 10.5k for last month SSB. Total alloted was 900mil, not 800mil. Hence got 100mil increase for this coming SSB.
Ok bro,... tq for the correction,... thumbsup.gif

I got alloted only 10K last round.
harmonics3
post Nov 11 2022, 11:26 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 10 2022, 10:35 PM)
Wahh, bros,... 4% only,... AND LOCKED FOR 6 MONTHS. Might as well go for SSB,....

And bloody CPI Reading for October was just released. Only 7.7%,... below the 7.9% consensus. So,.. stocks will fly tmrw,.... bad for me. Bad for us,....
Good prediction, the stocks really fly today.. Will this signal the end of interest rate hike cycle or still too early to tell?
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2022, 11:54 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Nov 11 2022, 11:26 AM)
Good prediction, the stocks really fly today.. Will this signal the end of interest rate hike cycle or still too early to tell?
My SG friend said yesterday next round he gonna bid 3% only...

I think T-bills are no longer "investible" going forward with retail money influx. sad.gif

We can tell going forward if divergence is spotted in yields between MAS bills and T-bills auctions.

For interest rate hikes, we will need to see CPI numbers in the future. If next month the number exceeds consensus all profits now will surely be erased.
Hansel
post Nov 11 2022, 01:15 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 11 2022, 11:54 AM)

I think T-bills are no longer "investible" going forward with retail money influx. sad.gif

Ans : I already said this earlier,... now only you know-ar ???  biggrin.gif

We can tell going forward if divergence is spotted in yields between MAS bills and T-bills auctions.

Reply : I think if you compare the diff's earlier,... you wpuld have seen the trend already.

For interest rate hikes, we will need to see CPI numbers in the future. If next month the number exceeds consensus all profits now will surely be erased.

Reply : Other numbers matter too.

I'll reply my bro here against every sentence,... biggrin.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2022, 02:06 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 11 2022, 01:15 PM)
I'll reply my bro here against every sentence,...  biggrin.gif
The spread wasn't that terrible last few rounds. It's always been 50bps behind US 6 month, last round (2 weeks ago) 20 bps above US 6 month. Now suddenly 60-70 bps behind US 6 months. That's too volatile a change.

As for divergence in yields. If you compare 3M to 6M, it wasn't too bad in the previous few rounds. All differences are reasonable to within few bps to 20 bps.

MAS 3MT-bill 6M

And that's even with retailer coming in and started spoiling the party since August... This round is really unprecedented.

The Fed is wholly focused on getting inflation down. Uhmm... what other numbers matter more than CPI/PCE readings? smile.gif

TSikanbilis
post Nov 11 2022, 04:42 PM

2,543 posts

This is out of topic but for the benefit of those who missed the T-bill with short term idle funds.

DBS eFD : 3 month 3.5% use code SR4M

DBS eFD : 5 month 3.8% use code SR7M

Minimum SGD20,000

Applicable only on the DBS app

I have placed the 3 month 3.5% eFD myself.

This post has been edited by ikanbilis: Nov 11 2022, 08:34 PM
sgh
post Nov 11 2022, 10:50 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 11 2022, 11:54 AM)

Reason also party cuz Spore investor dump in CPF OA to buy T-bill also. You know CPF monies a lot stuck inside now take and invest wow new ball game.
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2022, 10:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Nov 11 2022, 10:50 PM)
Reason also party cuz Spore investor dump in CPF OA to buy T-bill also. You know CPF monies a lot stuck inside now take and invest wow new ball game.
Ya, can you please ask your "cheng hu" to revise their age-old CPF OA rates determination system? laugh.gif

GIC is more than pleased to borrow 2.5% p.a. from you guys to invest...

Anyway, some Sporeans think this is national service... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 11 2022, 11:09 PM
sgh
post Nov 11 2022, 11:07 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 11 2022, 10:59 PM)
Ya, can you please ask your "cheng hu" to revise their age-old CPF OA rates determination system? laugh.gif

GIC is more than please to borrow 2.5% p.a. from you guys to invest...

Anyway, some Sporeans think this is national service... laugh.gif
This is why I prefer Msia EPF but then give more monies small same story in the end
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2022, 11:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Nov 11 2022, 11:07 PM)
This is why I prefer Msia EPF but then give more monies small same story in the end
Just curious, did you transfer your OA to bid for the most recent 6M T-bill as well? The process is still paper-based right? (from what I read on HWZ).
sgh
post Nov 12 2022, 10:09 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 11 2022, 11:21 PM)
Just curious, did you transfer your OA to bid for the most recent 6M T-bill as well? The process is still paper-based right? (from what I read on HWZ).
No I did not but read a lot of hwz readers try need visit branch paper based indeed
Hansel
post Nov 12 2022, 01:14 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Nov 11 2022, 04:42 PM)
This is out of topic but for the benefit of those who missed the T-bill with short term idle funds.

DBS eFD : 3 month 3.5% use code SR4M

DBS eFD : 5 month 3.8% use code SR7M

Minimum SGD20,000

Applicable only on the DBS app

I have placed the 3 month 3.5% eFD myself.
Tq bro,...

I keyed-in the codes 'SR4M' and 'SR7M', said the codes are not valid, bro,...

These codes are the promo codes under the screen called : 'Place Fixed Deposit', right ?
SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2022, 01:25 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2022, 01:14 PM)
Tq bro,...

These codes are the promo codes under the screen called : 'Place Fixed Deposit', right ?
Try to apply on phone. M (in SR4M and SR7M) is for mobile. If use ibanking portal on desktop, I think the code is SR4D and SR7D. (D for desktop).

https://www.foodiesg.com/archives/52459?fbc...dvCM5EPZHkUEudE

I received similar FD promotion when I login to ibanking desktop as well a few days back. It was something like SR4D or SR3D back then. But alas, no 20k SGD... laugh.gif

Take note though, for DBS and POSB early withdrawal will incur penalty charges, as confirmed in HWZ. https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-144734423

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 12 2022, 01:28 PM
TSikanbilis
post Nov 12 2022, 01:36 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2022, 01:14 PM)
Tq bro,...

Did you use the web instead of the app? Another forummer also asked me the same issue. To use the promo code you have to use the dbs app.
Hansel
post Nov 12 2022, 01:45 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Nov 12 2022, 01:36 PM)
Did you use the web instead of the app? Another forummer also asked me the same issue. To use the promo code you have to use the dbs app.
Firstly,.. wanna thank bros TOS and Ikanbilis here for the help,...

Yes, I used my iPhone app,... keyed-in your code just now and got the 'Not Valid' reply,... maybe becos it's Saturday today, bros ? I saw somewhere,.. can't put FDs for Saturdays and Sundays,...

Ahh,... if early withdrawal, got penalty,... then dangerous,... biggrin.gif ,... THANK YOU for the heads-up, bro TOS.....
TSikanbilis
post Nov 12 2022, 01:59 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2022, 01:45 PM)

Yes, I used my iPhone app,... keyed-in your code just now and got the 'Not Valid' reply,... maybe becos it's Saturday today, bros ? I saw somewhere,.. can't put FDs for Saturdays and Sundays,...

Ahh,... if early withdrawal, got penalty,... then dangerous,...  biggrin.gif ,... THANK YOU for the heads-up, bro TOS.....
Saturday and PH can place the eFD. I just tried and able to do so.

SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2022, 02:02 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2022, 01:45 PM)

Ahh,... if early withdrawal, got penalty,... then dangerous,...  biggrin.gif ,... THANK YOU for the heads-up, bro TOS.....
I can now confirm SR4D and SR7D are the right promo codes. Can do it on desktop ibanking portal over weekend. See screenshots below.

Hansel
post Nov 12 2022, 02:22 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 12 2022, 02:02 PM)
I can now confirm SR4D and SR7D are the right promo codes. Can do it on desktop ibanking portal over weekend. See screenshots below.

Emm, bro TOS,... how is the penalty calculated ? Or is it a flat rate the moment we withdraw before the due date ?
SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2022, 02:30 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2022, 02:22 PM)
Emm, bro TOS,... how is the penalty calculated ? Or is it a flat rate the moment we withdraw before the due date ?
Can't find the info on HWZ, but on DBS's official website, they say:

Source: https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/deposits/fi...s/fixed-deposit

--------------

Extra info: https://zh-tw.facebook.com/dbs.sg/posts/dbs...05885026192384/

DBS India charged 1% of the effective rate of interest: https://www.dbs.com/digibank/in/articles/sa...interest%20rate.

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 12 2022, 03:08 PM

46 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:09 AM