SG Savings Bond (SSB) & Treasury Bills (T-bills), Guaranteed by Singapore Government

harmonics3
post Nov 10 2022, 04:41 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 10 2022, 04:28 PM)
MAS seems to have trouble producing the bid results...

Normally it's available between 1 to 2 pm. This time maybe CPF hot money flowing in...

Guess my 4.7% will not make it with those kiasu kiasi CPF monies bidding low... laugh.gif
Did you submit a few competitive bids with different desired yields? At least can get some.
harmonics3
post Nov 11 2022, 11:26 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 10 2022, 10:35 PM)
Wahh, bros,... 4% only,... AND LOCKED FOR 6 MONTHS. Might as well go for SSB,....

And bloody CPI Reading for October was just released. Only 7.7%,... below the 7.9% consensus. So,.. stocks will fly tmrw,.... bad for me. Bad for us,....
Good prediction, the stocks really fly today.. Will this signal the end of interest rate hike cycle or still too early to tell?
harmonics3
post Dec 8 2022, 01:44 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 8 2022, 01:26 PM)
rclxm9.gif

% of Competitive Applications at Cut-off AllottedApproximately 82%
% of Non-Competitive Applications Allotted100%
Bid-to-Cover Ratio2.03
Cut-off Yield (Price)4.4% p.a. (97.806)
Median Yield (Price)3.85% p.a. (98.08)
Average Yield (Price)3.73% p.a. (98.14)

Source: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2022-12-13
Unexpectedly high cutoff... too bad I forgot to join cry.gif
harmonics3
post Dec 21 2022, 02:17 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 21 2022, 01:47 PM)
Missed by 0.02%... cry.gif

% of Competitive Applications at Cut-off AllottedApproximately 82%
% of Non-Competitive Applications Allotted100%
Bid-to-Cover Ratio2.68
Cut-off Yield (Price)4.28% p.a. (97.866)
Median Yield (Price)4% p.a. (98.005)
Average Yield (Price)3.76% p.a. (98.125)

Source: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2022-12-27

BTC ratio has risen to 2.68 from 2.03 last round.
Got some, is it going down hill from this point onwards? last 4.4% to current 4.28%?

This post has been edited by harmonics3: Dec 21 2022, 02:18 PM
harmonics3
post Dec 21 2022, 02:22 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 21 2022, 02:20 PM)
You submitted comp bid? 4.2%?

Since it's close bidding, it's hard to tell. But the US 6 month bond yield has been flat since late November.
got 5k through non-competitive bid, the rest competitive >4.3% sad.gif
harmonics3
post Feb 13 2023, 01:48 PM

637 posts

Anyone knows whether one can uplift/withdraw DBS (SG) eFD on the maturity date itself (like local Malaysian eFD)?
I have my first DBS eFD maturing today and the interests credited to my saving account today but the principal is still intact in the FD account (showing same maturity date).
Unfortunately I don't remember which of the following maturity instructions I opted for when I placed the eFD:
1) Credit interests and principal to saving account
2) Credit interests to saving account and renew the principal at the same tenor
3) Renew the interests+principal at the same tenor.

Do I have to wait until tomorrow, i.e. maturity+1 day to see the update?

This post has been edited by harmonics3: Feb 13 2023, 01:49 PM
harmonics3
post Feb 13 2023, 08:46 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Feb 13 2023, 05:43 PM)
Your fd and interests should reflect in your savings account if you choose option 1.

Else you might have chosen option 2 when u placed the fd.

Last time i got penalised after selecting option 2 and rate renew at board rate. Have to pay penalty fee for early withdrawal since the board rate is bad.
Just checked again after 8:30pm and I can see the principal was also credited to my saving account as well smile.gif
Looks like DBS credit the interests and principal at different time within same day.

Ya, I tried out the steps for premature withdrawal for my other 5-month eFD and saw there's a penalty fees of SG$10.17. However, the higher interest (3.8%pa for 5 months) due for this premature withdrawal seems to make it worthwhile even with this penalty compared to my matured 3.5%pa 3-month FD.
harmonics3
post Feb 13 2023, 09:07 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Feb 13 2023, 05:45 PM)
DBS FD promotion 4.88% 3 months tenure. Code SR1B.

Min 20k to 1M
Expired already sad.gif
QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 13 2023, 08:50 PM)
lol "chinabank" style hard to say. laugh.gif
That's funny. My USD FD at DBS has both principal and interests paid out early morning the same day.

As for the penalty fee, is the 10.17 SGD fixed regardless of amount and maturity date? Or is it principal/maturity-dependent?
Not too sure about the 10.17 SGD penalty fee, based on DBS website below:
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/deposits/fi...s/fixed-deposit

It seems like it's determined case by case basis:

0.0176sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:38 PM