120 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Military Thread V29

Mai189
post May 6 2023, 10:50 AM

By the way, I do not think anyone has noticed this yet.

This is the new combined launch platform for vl Mica Ng and aster 30 missiles.

It is designed to be compact and allows for the flexible arrangement of the slyver and mica launchers in a compact space to maximize the missile loadout. This makes the combine system more competitive to rival systems with quad packed missiles such as camms or essms.

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 6 2023, 10:54 AM
Mai189
post May 6 2023, 11:35 AM

More info on the new compact combined launcher above (note how the Slyver module is flushed with the deck now):

https://www.armadainternational.com/2022/10...g-control-unit/
Mai189
post May 6 2023, 12:33 PM

One of the more unique features of the Blue Spear is its CWIS-fire resistant hardened casing. In case of CWIS fire, it is expected to continue on its path before slamming into its target.

Open source shows a modular design I.e. it can take different sensors, warhead type/size, engines, etc. Israel claims it is truly revolutionary. I note some designs show sensor arrays on the sides of the missile, possibly AESAs. As Sg and Israel are building it domestically, we will never truly know what Sg puts in it beyond genetic specifications or whether it differs from the same missile sold to customers. Maybe that's one of the intents at the outset as opposed to buying something off the shelf and configuration-fixed i.e. total control over what they put in that missile.

It is currently one of the biggest Western anti ship missile available so there is certainly prospect for future growth.

Earlier iteration of the Blue Spear/Gabriel 5/Sea Serpent

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 6 2023, 12:54 PM
Mai189
post May 6 2023, 01:06 PM

Iron beam being marketed to Singapore at Imdex 2023. Both land and naval.

This is a CWIS system. It is an alternative to gun based systems. Theoretically it is one of few systems that can shoot down hypersonic missiles let alone supersonic or subsonic missiles.

The land version is for customers with....Iron Dome C-RAM system. It is integrated with iron dome on a systems-level and is expected to manage leakers.. Iron Dome has an efficiency of about >97% hit capability. Iron beam can tackle the rest.

By the way, the Spyder SAM also functions as a C RAM system.

Overlapping layers of counter fires...
KLthinker91
post May 6 2023, 01:20 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 6 2023, 12:33 PM)

It is currently one of the biggest Western anti ship missile available so  there is certainly prospect for future growth.

Blue Spear is about the size of Harpoon and carries a similar warhead

Tomahawk Block Vb is the most capable NATO ship-launched antiship missile in service

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 6 2023, 10:33 AM)

The Micas are in self sustaining containerized launchers. They missile and individual launchers are smaller than the slyver and the asters for sure. 

As I said, at least 36 x 54cm, and that won't fit into what's left of deck space even if you budge the existing silos a little

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 6 2023, 10:24 AM)

the gap between the rows of Slyver launchers are even tighter - tighter than the Formidable.

I think your point is that I am suggesting for an integrated module akin to the US MK 41 system.

The gap is deceptively small because of the size of the ship
If you compare with the people on deck, there's still at least a foot if not more of space between

My point is simply that even the standalone cell is not small enough to do what you propose
Mai189
post May 6 2023, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 6 2023, 01:20 PM)
Blue Spear is about the size of Harpoon and carries a similar warhead

Tomahawk Block Vb is the most capable NATO ship-launched antiship missile in service
As I said, at least 36 x 54cm, and that won't fit into what's left of deck space even if you budge the existing silos a little
The gap is deceptively small because of the size of the ship
If you compare with the people on deck, there's still at least a foot if not more of space between

My point is simply that even the standalone cell is not small enough to do what you propose
Wrong. The blue spear is a larger missile at 5+ metres long. Harpoon is at about 4+ metres length.. Why are you even talking about a very very long range land attack missile that cannot be carried by the majority of the world's navies. Yes, it has recently been retrofitted to strike ships but it was not designed to do anti ship attack at the beginning or that was not the intent.

Do your home work.

Blue Spear: 5.3+ metres, weight: 760kg

Not including the booster, the 760-kg (1,675-lb.) missile is 5.34 m (17.5 ft.) long, and possesses a 150-kg high explosive insensitive munitions warhead. The missile is propelled by an air-breathing turbojet engine fed with liquid jet fuel, enabling a 290-km (180-mi.) range at subsonic speeds.

https://aviationweek.com/shownews/singapore...m%20(180%2Dmi.)

Harpoon missile: 4.6 metres, 680+ kg.

(Note: The latest harpoon carries an even smaller warhead of about 130kg and weighs lesser. Advances in munitions allows the overall weight to be lesser but the magnitude of the blast impact can be about the same. E.g. A newer generation 115kg warhead can have the same blast impact of a previous generations 220kg warhead.)

https://missilethreat.csis.org/missile/harpoon/

On fitting in individual Mica launchers - Wrong again. I've pointed to you and as you have so generously shared via the photo of the horizon class that the slyver modules can be packed closer together. That leaves room behind for individual Mica launchers. More than enough space. Further, I've shown how 12 or more vls Mica launchers can be fitted into the tight space in front of the lmvs bridge.

Further, the newer MMFU by MBDA confers even greater flexibility in terms of deploying these launchers in compact settings.

If you want to continue to live in your lala land - by all means.

This post has been edited by Mai189: May 6 2023, 05:20 PM
KLthinker91
post May 6 2023, 05:40 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 6 2023, 02:37 PM)
Wrong. The blue spear is a larger missile at 5+ metres long. Harpoon is at about 4+ metres length..

Why are you even talking about a very very long range land attack missile that cannot be carried by the majority of the world's navies. Yes, it has recently been retrofitted to strike ships but it was not designed to do anti ship attack at the beginning or that was not the intent.

Do your home work.

Blue Spear: 5.3+ metres, weight: 760kg
you said "larger" but in reality it is "longer"
the additional length is where Blue Spear gets its range, plus other features
in terms of size, Blue Spear and Harpoon carry similar warheads

Tomahawk can be carried by any ship that can put its launch box on deck
I couldn't give a used shit what it originated as, so long as it does its job, and Tomahawk Block 5 does its job very well
I particularly like the 5b model with the Joint Multi Effects Warhead

On fitting in individual Mica launchers - Wrong again. I've pointed to you and as you have so generously shared via the photo of the horizon class that the slyver modules can be packed closer together. That leaves room behind for individual Mica launchers. More than enough space. Further, I've shown how 12 or more vls Mica launchers can be fitted into the tight space in front of the lmvs bridge.

If you want to continue to live in your lala land - by all means.
and I've shown you that your "closer together" will not end up gaining much space, and shown you measurements why. you claim the LMV's bridge is "tight" but you're not looking at any objective measure at all, merely your impression of a photograph.

I'm not the one living in la la land here.
azriel
post May 9 2023, 07:40 AM

MilitaryMadness
post May 10 2023, 09:59 AM

1,302 posts

UAE cancels purchase of Airbus H225M helicopters

The United Arab Emirates has pulled out of a deal with Airbus to procure a dozen H225M Caracal multirole helicopters for about 800 million euros ($880.6 million), Breaking Defense magazine reported on Tuesday.

The Washington-based publication quoted Muammar Abdulla Abushehab, an official at the UAE's defence and security acquisitions authority, as saying the decision was not political but was based on financial and technical reasons.

These included high lifecycle costs, limitations in adapting to mission requirements and a complex technical proposal, the official was quoted as saying in a May 8 interview.

The UAE government media office did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Airbus Helicopters declined detailed comment.

"We have been serving the armed forces of the UAE for more than 40 years. We're proud of our relationship which also serves the bilateral relations between France and the UAE," an Airbus spokesperson said.

"We do not comment on discussions we are having with our customer."

The H225M is a long-range tactical transporter similar to the Super Puma VIP, offshore and search-and-rescue helicopter.

The order was placed during a visit to Abu Dhabi by French President Emmanuel Macron in December 2021 alongside a contract for 80 Rafale fighter jets, and was seen as a boost for the assembly line in southern France amid lower oil and gas demand.

sos

azriel
post May 11 2023, 07:17 AM

MilitaryMadness
post May 11 2023, 08:04 AM

1,302 posts

Chinese 'Maritime militia' ships disrupt ASEAN-Indian Navy exercises in South China Sea

Boats belonging to a Chinese maritime militia approached an area where navies of India and Asean (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries were taking part in drills in the South China Sea (SCS), two Indian sources said on Monday.

An independent expert in Vietnam said Beijing appeared to be using the militia to intimidate and disrupt the naval exercise.

Beijing has not responded to Reuters’ queries about the alleged incident and its possible motives. The Indian and Vietnamese governments declined to comment.

The two-day sea phase of the Asean-India Maritime Exercise (AIME 2023) began on Sunday with naval ships and aircraft from India, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, Indonesia and Brunei taking part.

They were in the Vietnamese Exclusive Economic Zone when the Chinese boats moved toward them, the Indian sources said.

However, the militia boats and naval vessels crossed each other without any face-off, they said.

Indian authorities were tracking the movements of at least five militia boats, according to the sources, who did not wish to be identified as they are not authorized to speak to the media.

A Chinese research vessel was also following these boats toward the same area, they said.

ohmy.gif

takbodoh722
post May 11 2023, 08:46 AM

lol. china sail some boats, the rest scared sh*tless.

this also can be "military" thread. low bar on news or slow news day?
MilitaryMadness
post May 11 2023, 08:56 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(takbodoh722 @ May 11 2023, 08:46 AM)
lol. china sail some boats, the rest scared sh*tless.

this also can be "military" thread. low bar on news or slow news day?
The incident does involve the naval ships of other countries, so put in "military" thread is justified
Lanchio
post May 11 2023, 12:05 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ May 10 2023, 09:59 AM)
UAE cancels purchase of Airbus H225M helicopters

The United Arab Emirates has pulled out of a deal with Airbus to procure a dozen H225M Caracal multirole helicopters for about 800 million euros ($880.6 million), Breaking Defense magazine reported on Tuesday.

The Washington-based publication quoted Muammar Abdulla Abushehab, an official at the UAE's defence and security acquisitions authority, as saying the decision was not political but was based on financial and technical reasons.

These included high lifecycle costs, limitations in adapting to mission requirements and a complex technical proposal, the official was quoted as saying in a May 8 interview.

The UAE government media office did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Airbus Helicopters declined detailed comment.

"We have been serving the armed forces of the UAE for more than 40 years. We're proud of our relationship which also serves the bilateral relations between France and the UAE," an Airbus spokesperson said.

"We do not comment on discussions we are having with our customer."

The H225M is a long-range tactical transporter similar to the Super Puma VIP, offshore and search-and-rescue helicopter.

The order was placed during a visit to Abu Dhabi by French President Emmanuel Macron in December 2021 alongside a contract for 80 Rafale fighter jets, and was seen as a boost for the assembly line in southern France amid lower oil and gas demand.

sos
Interesting development. Doubt UAE has financial problems. Geopolitical more likely but they denied it (of course). Be interesting which heli will be chosen as replacement.

Found more official info here
https://www.al-monitor.com/originals/2023/0...official%20said.

Abushehab stressed that the cancellation was not for political reasons but rather for financial and technical reasons.

“The company (Airbus) lacked the serious motivation to respond to our demands in order to meet the pressing requirements of the government. The failure to achieve in-country value goals was another factor in the decision to terminate the contract, ” the government official said.

icemanfx
post May 15 2023, 09:54 PM

21,456 posts

After ukraine, russia may loss far east region.

azriel
post May 17 2023, 07:48 AM

Indonesian pilot boarded Korean-made KF-21 4 for the first time today

Yonhap News 2023-05-16 21:28:17

(Seoul = Yonhap News) Reporter Kim Seung-wook Park Soo-yoon = It was confirmed that a pilot from Indonesia, a co-developer of the Korean supersonic fighter KF-21 (Boramae), boarded prototype 4 for the first time on the 16th.

A military source said that an Indonesian pilot participated for the first time in the test flight of the KF-21 prototype No. 4, which took place at the 3rd Training Wing in Sacheon, South Gyeongsang Province, on the afternoon of the same day.

Unlike the previous prototype, which was a single-seat aircraft, the prototype No. 4 is a two-seat aircraft with a cockpit divided into front and rear seats, allowing two pilots to board.

In this test flight, a Korean pilot held the steering wheel while an Indonesian pilot sat in the rear seat. Prototype 4 made its first flight on February 20th.

An Indonesian official posted a photo and a post on social media that day, revealing that "An Indonesian Air Force test pilot flew the first KF-21/IF-X Boramae today." IF-X is the Indonesian name for KF-21.

A military official said, "According to the agreement between the two countries, Indonesian pilots dispatched to Korea are supposed to participate in some flight training."

https://m.newspic.kr/view.html?nid=2023051621281739288

This post has been edited by azriel: May 17 2023, 07:49 AM
azriel
post May 17 2023, 07:53 AM

Maiden flight of KF-21 Boramae 5th prototype.

Frozen_Sun
post May 17 2023, 10:57 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ May 17 2023, 07:53 AM)
Maiden flight of KF-21 Boramae 5th prototype.

5th prototype will be transferred to PT DI right?
azriel
post May 17 2023, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ May 17 2023, 10:57 AM)
5th prototype will be transferred to PT DI right?
Yes in 2026 according to Indonesian Air Force twitter.

This post has been edited by azriel: May 17 2023, 05:59 PM
azriel
post May 18 2023, 08:36 PM

120 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:23 AM