Jobs exceed RM15k pay in doesn't exist in Msia, Makan gaji cannot go beyond RM15k

TScarboost
post May 29 2022, 12:13 PM, updated 4y ago

40 posts

Still thinking can earn big salary in Malaysia, you may just dreaming? You wont get a salary beyond RM15k in Malaysia.

Why are they paying more to a single person when they can get 2 or 3 persons with the same salary.

A cleaner in SG or US could earn more than those professionals sitting in the office.

thesoothsayer
post May 29 2022, 12:21 PM

954 posts

Of course there are.
Link.
TScarboost
post May 29 2022, 12:30 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ May 29 2022, 12:21 PM)
Of course there are.
Link.
I don't see any which their paid in MYR >15k

Or you're referring to the 0.0001% of those directors making millions? Or those people who steal rakyat money?
SUSdattebayo
post May 29 2022, 12:45 PM

5,366 posts

they are, you just need to look at the correct industry

i believe IT now is the new O&G after pandemic

15k MYR is just the upper range of senior engineer in IT field. For team leads, specialists, SMEs can get from 15k and beyond.

one thing good about IT is the one can put in lesser amount of effort for every buck they earn, some dumb people keep saying oh grab riders can earn rm8k also but they ignore the fact that how many risks and hours grab riders need to spent to earn that amount

TScarboost
post May 29 2022, 01:02 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 29 2022, 12:45 PM)

15k MYR is just the upper range of senior engineer in IT field. For team leads, specialists, SMEs can get from 15k and beyond.

one thing good about IT is the one can put in lesser amount of effort for every buck they earn, some dumb people keep saying oh grab riders can earn rm8k also but they ignore the fact that how many risks and hours grab riders need to spent to earn that amount
Do enlighten me if you are the <1% who make more than RM15k salary a month.

Or maybe I should put >20k? (due to current high inflation caused by US)

L7E
post May 29 2022, 08:42 PM

57 posts

I'm working in IT and personally know 6 persons (friends & acquaintances) in my circle that made 15k and above monthly salary.

Only one of them is director level (i believe he make more than 20k), 2 is manager / chapter lead and remaining are Specialist @ SME. Idk if they are part of 1% but i'm sure a whole lot of ppl out there earn more than that in Professional and corporate world. Business owner is totally out of discussion. Believe me 15k is really achievable
Topace111
post May 29 2022, 11:25 PM

2,102 posts

Quite common if you work in the larger PLCs and MNCs. Head of department or their deputy/assistant should be around there.

My common benchmark is your years of experience. If you have 15 years = RM15k salary.

Not every job can be replaced by quantity especially higher end/ skills based/ decision making / people management job.

For example:
1) You can't replace Lee Chong Wei with 3 players. Skills based.
2) You can't replace Elon musk experience with 3 assistants.
3) You can't just replace Gordon Ramsay with 3 sous chefs as other staffs may not buy-in

I can go on but I am curious what is your objective/ point of interest here?
maidenless
post May 30 2022, 01:19 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(carboost @ May 29 2022, 12:13 PM)
Still thinking can earn big salary in Malaysia, you may just dreaming? You wont get a salary beyond RM15k in Malaysia.

Why are they paying more to a single person when they can get 2 or 3 persons with the same salary.

A cleaner in SG or US could earn more than those professionals sitting in the office.
My manager already 15k

This amount is actually pretty low in select industries

Even 1st year MBB fresh graduate associates already hit this pay scale
Mavik
post May 30 2022, 10:31 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

At a vendor location now and I can see about more than 20 of them earning more than RM15k a month.
teslaman
post May 30 2022, 10:33 AM

1,154 posts

I’m living your dream then
Mavik
post May 30 2022, 10:35 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(carboost @ May 29 2022, 01:02 PM)

You probably need to check out - https://www.instagram.com/malaysianpaygap/

If you want to see even more data - https://datastudio.google.com/u/0/reporting...ge/p_y00cuqsxsc

I know sometimes it is difficult to believe what people might say in forums but here are some data collected.

If you filter the dashboard to more than RM15k, you can see 274 submissions.

Total submissions at this point in time is 4572.

This makes the population in that database to be 6% earning more than RM15k.
SUSifourtos
post May 30 2022, 10:37 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(carboost @ May 29 2022, 01:02 PM)

which gua u lived?

but i guess, poor stays with poor....

15k monthly easi find lah

in sales industry
property, insurance, it sales, too many....
mezanny
post May 30 2022, 11:31 AM

709 posts

there are...jobs > 15k.

just less...

u may be surprise and what I say...

there r loopholes in how the world order in jobs are working..

exploit it...

2 or 3 people same salary are just grunts, they do the raw transactional works. However they need direction.
Just the same with football players, they may be the world best players in the world like Ronaldo or Messi.
But in the end, they need a good football manager to tell them where to move.
Amazing isn't it ?
So that's why they have a dude who controls 5, 10, 15, 30, 50 people.

However, there are good managers and there are bad managers
I've seen managers just set up meeting and tell their staff how to do their job, without even knowing what idea he or she is saying.
But yeah that is reality of life.
mezanny
post May 30 2022, 11:31 AM

709 posts

there are...jobs > 15k.

just less...

u may be surprise and what I say...

there r loopholes in how the world order in jobs are working..

exploit it...

2 or 3 people same salary are just grunts, they do the raw transactional works. However they need direction.
Just the same with football players, they may be the world best players in the world like Ronaldo or Messi.
But in the end, they need a good football manager to tell them where to move.
Amazing isn't it ?
So that's why they have a dude who controls 5, 10, 15, 30, 50 people.

However, there are good managers and there are bad managers
I've seen managers just set up meeting and tell their staff how to do their job, without even knowing what idea he or she is saying.
But yeah that is reality of life.
djlake
post May 30 2022, 11:34 AM

283 posts

adalah. Management Consultant from consulting industry can break RM15k to RM20k a month.
SUSBrookLes
post May 30 2022, 11:47 AM

1,354 posts

15K is pretty cheap actually. Considering that even an IT developer in Singapore can maybe get SGD4-5k.

I am not talking about senior ones.
iammasivers
post May 30 2022, 01:53 PM

361 posts

Lots of HODs in Malaysia's banks earn 15k a month. Definitely not uncommon.
hiroshi87
post May 30 2022, 03:34 PM

206 posts

I am working as an IT engineer and i am getting >15k per month. personally i knows more than dozen of friends working in the same industry getting 20K per month. dont be salty if u cant get it, work harder. we all studies day and night and go for a few exams every year to keep ourself updated.

just to name a few position, Cisco Advanced Services team (average 15K) ..ive got a few friends here. Senior DevOps engieer, Enterprise/Solution Architect from MNC .. Cloud Solution Architect .. there are so many positions that can get over 15K per month. Open your eyes and look around bro ..

This post has been edited by hiroshi87: May 30 2022, 03:37 PM
Win Win Inspiration
post May 30 2022, 07:25 PM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(djlake @ May 30 2022, 11:34 AM)
adalah. Management Consultant from consulting industry can break RM15k to RM20k a month.
Experienced consultants with how many years to hit this range?
ongss
post May 30 2022, 07:31 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ May 29 2022, 11:25 PM)
Quite common if you work in the larger PLCs and MNCs. Head of department or their deputy/assistant should be around there.

My common benchmark is your years of experience. If you have 15 years = RM15k salary.

Not every job can be replaced by quantity especially higher end/ skills based/ decision making / people management job.

For example:
1) You can't replace Lee Chong Wei with 3 players. Skills based.
2) You can't replace Elon musk experience with 3 assistants.
3) You can't just replace Gordon Ramsay with 3 sous chefs as other staffs may not buy-in

I can go on but I am curious what is your objective/ point of interest here?
Agree with your points.

There are plenty of non-IT jobs with monthly salary more than RM 15K. A supply chain planner with experience in bulk shipment / marine can get up to RM 18K. A plant maintenance manager can get up to RM 22K.

But, anyone wants to work as a sanitary worker and get 15K, then have to go to Singapore or US.
knumskul
post May 30 2022, 07:35 PM

784 posts

TS really katak dibawah tempurung.

I have 3 close friends earning >15k and not even in IT industry, director level, nor daddykasi cable.
1 of them from B40 background during school years.
SUSdattebayo
post May 30 2022, 08:59 PM

5,366 posts

Anyhow, there are plenty of civil engineers and architects are underpaid in Malaysia

So I guess is really dependent on industry and your luck
maidenless
post May 31 2022, 02:28 AM

89 posts

Branch managers easily 15k
TScarboost
post May 31 2022, 08:13 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 30 2022, 10:35 AM)

If you want to see even more data - https://datastudio.google.com/u/0/reporting...ge/p_y00cuqsxsc

I know sometimes it is difficult to believe what people might say in forums but here are some data collected.

Great sharing, but the question is how true and is anyone validate those data?? Congrats to those 6% of people who achieve >RM15k pay?

Many people just said who and who making this and that... but how sure are you they're just try to show off? Please delight me if you're one of the Elite.

Pretty sad huh? A junior guy in SG can earn 5k and make more or same than those Malaysia senior manager with >10 yrs experience.

Topace111
post May 31 2022, 09:31 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(carboost @ May 31 2022, 08:13 PM)
Great sharing, but the question is how true and is anyone validate those data?? Congrats to those 6% of people who achieve >RM15k pay?

Many people just said who and who making this and that... but how sure are you they're just try to show off? Please delight me if you're one of the Elite.

Pretty sad huh? A junior guy in SG can earn 5k and make more or same than those Malaysia senior manager with >10 yrs experience.
You can download from headhunter salary survey as well:
https://www.hays.com.my/salary-guide

If you want further benchmark, can check robert Walters and Kelly. You can see rm15k is quite normal for many experienced skillful roles.

You do know the concept of foreign currency? If that's the case a Singaporean worker will always earn lesser than its UK and US counterpart? You do know the concept of purchasing power parity as well? SG is highly competitive as they have expats as well competing with their citizens there. You see plenty of SG citizens working at fields that mys will scoff at such as at food court centers, dockyard and hotel services. In MYS, most of these are outsourced to South Asians. Just go and see their national zoo workers.

I see no reason/ purpose to show off. Again I can't see what are you trying to achieve here. Are you:
1) Looking to get into the RM15k club but you not there yet and want to know how? Get promoted/ change company. Cannot find opportunity? Keep searching and network. Plenty of people fail before they get to where they want to go. Everyone wants the glamour of a CEO, not everybody willing to have a meeting at 11pm on a Saturday night though or sleep at production plant during crunch time.

2) You are not in the RM15k club and you are unclear why people are paid such high salary? I can recommend few books/ articles but in summary you create value, you will get paid. You can create value by work hard, smart, cheat, manipulate, hustle, ...etc.

3) You are not in the RM15k club and you are frustrated and unwilling to work to get there. Feel free to find articles to support your mental well being at bored panda whichever makes you feel better.

Redshelf411
post May 31 2022, 09:44 PM

818 posts

Our currency small, thats why covenrt to sgd or usd it looks small.
But if you earn 15k in usd or sgd ofc convert back to myr big lah
mazai5100
post May 31 2022, 10:13 PM

39 posts

Deleted in request ID fd43ec7d-aaef-4e0d-a705-ec2c6b273b69

This post has been edited by mazai5100: Jun 29 2023, 11:18 PM
SUSdattebayo
post May 31 2022, 10:46 PM

5,366 posts

https://loanstreet.com.my/learning-centre/m...ion-b40-m40-t20

actually Malaysia Gini coefficient is damn high, that's the truth also

if you earn more than 11k, then you are in the nationwide T20 classification, while in WPKL, you need to earn at least 20k if you are single to qualify for T20 in KL, meanwhile in poor states like Kelantan, not even 8k can enter into T20

at the end of the day its just a number game

with the current inflation, many SME will have another wave of salary adjustments, which further driving the inflation up

to sum the thread, 6% of the survey population making more than 15k kind of reflecting our economy objectively, its just a bell shaped curve

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 31 2022, 10:48 PM
TScarboost
post May 31 2022, 10:57 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ May 31 2022, 09:31 PM)
You can download from headhunter salary survey as well:
https://www.hays.com.my/salary-guide

If you want further benchmark, can check robert Walters and Kelly. You can see rm15k is quite normal for many experienced skillful roles.

You do know the concept of foreign currency? If that's the case a Singaporean worker will always earn lesser than its UK and US counterpart? You do know the concept of purchasing power parity as well? SG is highly competitive as they have expats as well competing with their citizens there. You see plenty of SG citizens working at fields that mys will scoff at such as at food court centers, dockyard and hotel services. In MYS, most of these are outsourced to South Asians. Just go and see their national zoo workers.

I see no reason/ purpose to show off. Again I can't see what are you trying to achieve here. Are you:
1) Looking to get into the RM15k club but you not there yet and want to know how? Get promoted/ change company. Cannot find opportunity? Keep searching and network. Plenty of people fail before they get to where they want to go. Everyone wants the glamour of a CEO, not everybody willing to have a meeting at 11pm on a Saturday night though or sleep at production plant during crunch time.

2) You are not in the RM15k club and you are unclear why people are paid such high salary? I can recommend few books/ articles but in summary you create value, you will get paid. You can create value by work hard, smart, cheat, manipulate, hustle, ...etc.

3) You are not in the RM15k club and you are frustrated and unwilling to work to get there. Feel free to find articles to support your mental well being at bored panda whichever makes you feel better.
Clearly everyone just refer to their friend or manager or site/salary report who earn >RM15k

Thanks for the link, myself also can gfgi
TScarboost
post May 31 2022, 10:59 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 31 2022, 10:46 PM)

if you earn more than 11k, then you are in the nationwide T20 classification, while in WPKL, you need to earn at least 20k if you are single to qualify for T20 in KL, meanwhile in poor states like Kelantan, not even 8k can enter into T20

with the current inflation, many SME will have another wave of salary adjustments, which further driving the inflation up

to sum the thread, 6% of the survey population making more than 15k kind of reflecting our economy objectively, its just a bell shaped curve
thanks for the insight, sad but true, its just a bell curve
LuckyBai
post May 31 2022, 11:01 PM

424 posts

Sendiri cannot achieve 15k salary then blame there is no job that pays 15k ... Kek
SUS2feidei
post May 31 2022, 11:03 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

Even if me show my salary slip that above RM15k also you won't believe if you choose not to believe tongue.gif

btw, I am not director level, not daddykasi nor IT/ Oil & Gas industry...you just need to be good, or be above what your peers and withstand the stress that come with it.

If you ask me worth it or not, I would say, short term yes, long term no. I am planning my exit plan, rather taking lower pay, lesser stress
maidenless
post May 31 2022, 11:43 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ May 31 2022, 11:01 PM)
Sendiri cannot achieve 15k salary then blame there is no job that pays 15k ... Kek
TS: Earning 15k? Dream on
Replies: Shows proof of 15k

I can already see that pikachu gif here
kesvani
post Jun 1 2022, 12:01 AM

955 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 29 2022, 12:45 PM)

Lool, i feel grab driver better than those IT staring at PC whole day and night till eye bengkak everyday and risking eye sight. used to work in security system. Those sales and IT specialist you can see their eye is so different from those normal people. Their eye so bengkak one of my superior salesman actually his eyelid have some flesh growing.

This post has been edited by kesvani: Jun 1 2022, 12:03 AM
renmejustin
post Jun 1 2022, 01:39 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Jun 1 2022, 12:01 AM)
Lool, i feel grab driver better than those IT staring at PC whole day and night till eye bengkak everyday and risking eye sight. used to work in security system. Those sales and IT specialist you can see their eye is so different from those normal people. Their eye so bengkak one of my superior salesman actually his eyelid have some flesh growing.
Huh in what way different?
holypredator
post Jun 1 2022, 01:47 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 31 2022, 10:46 PM)

Dude.... that is household income la dey.... comprehension and reading skill ain't your strong point eh??

Based on EPF data...

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/epf-...drawal-facility

T20 nationwide for single person is literally just earning above RM4,900...

If apply the same percentage logic of household income....which is 55% more than the national income...WPKL T20 for single person should be >RM7,595

This post has been edited by holypredator: Jun 1 2022, 01:48 AM
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 1 2022, 12:52 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 1 2022, 01:47 AM)
Dude.... that is household income la dey.... comprehension and reading skill ain't your strong point eh??

Based on EPF data...

If apply the same percentage logic of household income....which is 55% more than the national income...WPKL T20 for single person should be >RM7,595
if that's the case

then the barrier for T20 is even lower

besides that, assuming most ppl are still single, therefore household income = solo income, we can't possibly include the income for parents and siblings as well, right?
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 1 2022, 12:53 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Jun 1 2022, 12:01 AM)
not all of them are like this

alot of factors to decide

most obvious being the environment and the bosses, eg European MNC defintiely not the same as local SME chinaman
Mavik
post Jun 1 2022, 02:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I am curious about your intentions, what is it about the delighting that you are looking at? If you want to know more and want to be delighted, by all means, drop me a PM and I can help you out.
holypredator
post Jun 1 2022, 05:12 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 1 2022, 12:52 PM)
if that's the case

then the barrier for T20 is even lower

besides that, assuming most ppl are still single, therefore household income = solo income, we can't possibly include the income for parents and siblings as well, right?
Unless you are saying EPF is lying... I trust that is the case....

Single is indeed according to EPF is only >RM4.9k to qualify for T20 nationwide..
toiletwater
post Jun 4 2022, 10:08 AM

531 posts

Uhhh, open any annual report.
teslaman
post Jun 4 2022, 10:11 AM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(carboost @ May 29 2022, 12:30 PM)
I don't see any which their paid in MYR >15k

Or you're referring to the 0.0001% of those directors making millions? Or those people who steal rakyat money?
Woi, people earn big not stealing, dont tell people stealing just because your dirt poor
ZZMsia
post Jun 4 2022, 01:29 PM

3,491 posts

You are definitely living in your own world thinking that jobs above 15k don't exist in malaysia.
ZZMsia
post Jun 4 2022, 01:30 PM

3,491 posts

30 - 31 years old in Management consulting earning way above this salary.

ZZMsia
post Jun 4 2022, 01:32 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ May 30 2022, 07:25 PM)
Experienced consultants with how many years to hit this range?
4-5 years.. One I personally know only 1.5 years in this industry and he is 30 this year.. no joke above 15k.

Vinci777
post Jun 6 2022, 04:18 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

15k is pretty common nowadays especially IT. Any senior full stack engineer or data scientist will get that. Engineering managers easily 20+K. If you’re not at this bracket, it must be your industry is not innovating or outdated skill set
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 6 2022, 08:01 AM

227 posts

In SG and US you only get that kind of salary IF YOU CONVERT TO MYR. But that is an unfair comparison since you eat, rent and spend in SG or US. You are barely getting by.
bigquoc
post Jun 6 2022, 08:05 AM

24 posts

80% of my team makes more than 15k per month. If you calculate bonus, then all them make more than 15k per month. I am not in IT line but working for MNC

This post has been edited by bigquoc: Jun 6 2022, 08:06 AM
VinluV
post Jun 6 2022, 08:18 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 30 2022, 10:35 AM)

I saw one on incident manager.
Quite true, the salary is around RM15-20k for a manager level one.

undentifiedKC
post Jun 7 2022, 09:56 AM

413 posts

i believe to hit a 15k salary, at least u have to be a senior manager or above in medium size(200 staff) or above, otherwise small company dun think can afford that since their annual revenue not enough to keep u

personally i'm a technical team lead and my earning is around 17k(gross before epf and income tax), and few of my college fren thats in the same field earn around the same, while few of them have higher income cause they started their own business

so i believe the theory of onli the top tier (5%) of worker (exclude bosses and self employed) can earn 15k and above, and it depends on field/industry too of course
kidmad
post Jun 7 2022, 10:07 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(undentifiedKC @ Jun 7 2022, 09:56 AM)
i believe to hit a 15k salary, at least u have to be a senior manager or above in medium size(200 staff) or above, otherwise small company dun think can afford that since their annual revenue not enough to keep u

personally i'm a technical team lead and my earning is around 17k(gross before epf and income tax), and few of my college fren thats in the same field earn around the same, while few of them have higher income cause they started their own business

so i believe the theory of onli the top tier (5%) of worker (exclude bosses and self employed) can earn 15k and above, and it depends on field/industry too of course
brah not really. senior with professional role in my organization are all taking home > RM15k. lead is just by name. Also there's few company which is digging our staff/colleagues to their organization with a blardy hefty increase like 40-60% increase. All 20k range and it isn't even a managerial role. BHP, Standard Charted IT arm (can't recall the subsidiary name).
kidmad
post Jun 7 2022, 10:09 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jun 6 2022, 08:18 AM)
I saw one on incident manager.
Quite true, the salary is around RM15-20k for a manager level one.
incident manager isn't really a manager role as per say. Their main duty is to handle all critical incident going on in your organization. A bridge between the end user and also the team/multiple team who are investigating / doing the recovery of the service.
undentifiedKC
post Jun 7 2022, 10:11 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 7 2022, 10:07 AM)
brah not really. senior with professional role in my organization are all taking home > RM15k. lead is just by name. Also there's few company which is digging our staff/colleagues to their organization with a blardy hefty increase like 40-60% increase. All 20k range and it isn't even a managerial role. BHP, Standard Charted IT arm (can't recall the subsidiary name).
correct, but just because ur surrounding is taking home > RM15k, doesnt means it happen in all the other industry, and also dont forget majority in msia

just because u stay in 20th floor, dun forget there's always 19th floor below u, what above is still minority compare to who's below, it's a pyramid shape

and both my brother in law and sister in law is manager in banking field, their base salary is still around 10k+-, what benefit them is the bonus and company benefit, so i believe not all industry is the same
kidmad
post Jun 7 2022, 10:13 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jun 6 2022, 08:01 AM)
In SG and US you only get that kind of salary IF YOU CONVERT TO MYR. But that is an unfair comparison since you eat, rent and spend in SG or US. You are barely getting by.
again.. you underestimated the firms in SG. My cousin a newbie junior SE working in a mid size firm. His already being paid with SGD 5k. and that's junior.

The few big names are paying up to SGD 7k currently in SG and as far as i know these companies are currently bleeding paying employee numeration. The competition to hire tech staff in SG had became so competitive that you can easily find a tech related job for SGD > 10k.

On top of that another cousin sister is just doing recruitment for techies in SG.

Question is... is this sustainable? i think that's the big question in the upcoming years for them.
VinluV
post Jun 7 2022, 11:13 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 7 2022, 10:13 AM)
again.. you underestimated the firms in SG. My cousin a newbie junior SE working in a mid size firm. His already being paid with SGD 5k. and that's junior.

The few big names are paying up to SGD 7k currently in SG and as far as i know these companies are currently bleeding paying employee numeration. The competition to hire tech staff in SG had became so competitive that you can easily find a tech related job for SGD > 10k.

On top of that another cousin sister is just doing recruitment for techies in SG.

Question is... is this sustainable? i think that's the big question in the upcoming years for them.
Grab the IT jobs while its hot, salary shot up in the last 2 years because lack of overseas supply and lack of local and MY IT talent.
If you are looking for IT job in SG can pm me and i see what is available in my company.
kidmad
post Jun 7 2022, 12:07 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jun 7 2022, 11:13 AM)
Grab the IT jobs while its hot, salary shot up in the last 2 years because lack of overseas supply and lack of local and MY IT talent.
If you are looking for IT job in SG can pm me and i see what is available in my company.
For now i'm not really looking out. but yeah with all these kind of pay package i'm hearing me myself has the urge to move.
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 7 2022, 03:25 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 7 2022, 10:13 AM)

Yes there is a mad rush for talents on the tech front in SG currently but that is only for those who are local or PR or EP permit holders already in Singapore. If you are outside of those, tough luck. Salaries will moderate once Singapore open the floodgates and thousands upon thousands of indian IT workers come flooding in
BS8110
post Jun 7 2022, 03:40 PM

128 posts

There are out there, but really depends on:

1. Industry
2. Experience
3. Position

For some industry, that would be reserved for top management level but for several niche industry it can be mid-level manager pay.
Thrust
post Jun 7 2022, 03:42 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

When you start to earn 15k, you will feel it is peanut and will look for jobs that are paying 18k - 20k.
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 7 2022, 05:27 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jun 7 2022, 03:42 PM)
When you start to earn 15k, you will feel it is peanut and will look for jobs that are paying 18k - 20k.
20k gross rakes in about 14.5k in nett

that's about rm3.5k paid as PCB monthly

even for entry five figure salary, that's 4 figures PCB being deducted, which can be used on maybe a 100k car installments

which makes people wonder

is our gomen even deserve that kind of money from us??
Thrust
post Jun 7 2022, 05:34 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2022, 05:27 PM)

even for entry five figure salary, that's 4 figures PCB being deducted, which can be used on maybe a 100k car installments

Yes.. and gomen is taking away fuel subsidy for the very people who had paid 10s of thousands in taxes every year. Not including car tax, consumption tax and etc.

Mavik
post Jun 7 2022, 07:13 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Paying taxes is the noble thing to do, whether they deserve it, at the current times, I don't think so as they keep on abusing it
jwrx
post Jun 7 2022, 07:20 PM

515 posts

Lol...any HOD in FMCG MNC would be above 20k let alone 15k. Dont even need to talk about the outliers in O&G or Consulting. Just normal FMCG like Unilever, Nestle, F&N. If you look at ciggie/alcohol/Telco MNC, its even higher
dudewhatisthis
post Jun 8 2022, 08:53 PM

103 posts

So the takeaway of this thread here is to pursue career in IT.
JustAWorker
post Jun 9 2022, 12:15 AM

Any bank VP's are getting this amount or more with benefits added in and its quite common payscale.
Topace111
post Jun 9 2022, 08:56 AM

2,102 posts

Just to add that not all industry pay structure are similar:
1) Sales/ Deals/ Front-end jobs have lower basic salary than others but compensate with higher bonuses in good market ranging from 6 months on average to 1 year plus.
2) Contract Vs permanent structure. Higher level or C-Level normally operate under 2-3 year contract. Hence they will normally look at yearly remuneration (US) than monthly or weekly remuneration (UK).
3) Profit sharing or dividend based. If you work under startup/ entrepreneurship or project driven work, your basic may be even zero/ negligible and 100% performance driven. Same applies to certain property agents that are mainly commission based.
4) Consulting driven. Some firm's charge per hour while some when you win the case. How you get paid depends on how large and how high up you on the hierarchy.

In summary, salary comparison itself is not really meaningful without considering all the relevant factors.
Jdite
post Jun 9 2022, 09:19 AM

374 posts

If you are talking about fresh grad, then yes.
If experienced staff 15k is not uncommon.

This post has been edited by Jdite: Jun 9 2022, 09:21 AM
LeoLee0201
post Jun 10 2022, 03:16 PM

42 posts

i also got a few friend working in non IT industrial earning more then 15k per month.

warehouse manager in japanesse company
Hr manager in cena company
shipping mamager in Japanese company
EHS manager in cena company

all job out there can hit 15k,not just IT field can hit 15k...
fyi if lower grade IT technician maybe just earn not more then 2.5k per month even thoo they already work for 3or5 years in the same company

my another friend earning more then 60k per month as a safety officer(green book holder) in MNC Company.

abc2005
post Jun 12 2022, 05:41 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

that's what they say about taxing the rich (T20).
But come to think of it, our income tax rates are kinda like in the lower-medium range compared to other countries, especially the European and American ones.

But we still lose out to SG in terms of income taxes. And it is no surprise that it makes SG so competitive for job seekers from around the world besides the currency rates.
Red_rustyjelly
post Jun 12 2022, 05:53 PM

867 posts

Sme company also have employer paying a sales position 15k+. Not those high tech fancy start up or self proclaimed modernized new era of entrepreneur who like to criticize traditional business.

Just depending on how you want to look at it.
ykj
post Jun 12 2022, 05:59 PM

Mission on educating on Hibah Takaful importance
837 posts

Sad to say, different industry different payscale
ahjummma
post Jun 13 2022, 10:07 AM

115 posts

Just because you are not getting it, doesn't mean that it doesn't exist.
soules83
post Jun 13 2022, 11:01 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

EHS pay was pretty good. The last thing you might want to avoid is to become electronics engineers or firmware engineers. Work till no life and low pay
TryingToSurvive
post Jun 25 2022, 03:51 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ Jun 8 2022, 08:53 PM)
Honestly yes.
Even if you don't get 15-20k.
Start off at any company in IT, jump every 2 years by the 4th year you will AT LEAST make 6k.

It will be a comfortable pay if you don't strive to be T10.
Much better than any engineering course honestly.
Took me only 7 years to break the 5 digit mark.
Don't think anyone in electronic or manufacturing or civil can chase this pace of growth. And I was just above average in my job
SUSceo684
post Jun 26 2022, 08:30 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 1 2022, 01:47 AM)

Based on EPF data...

Hahaha T20 at RM4900 is just sad.

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 1 2022, 05:12 PM)
Unless you are saying EPF is lying... I trust that is the case....

Single is indeed according to EPF is only >RM4.9k to qualify for T20 nationwide..
That doesn't really take into consideration if you hv to feed more mouths i.e. parents?

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jun 4 2022, 01:29 PM)
You are definitely living in your own world thinking that jobs above 15k don't exist in malaysia.
They do but its not easy to get those 15k+ jobs especially if cert isn't exactly the right one e.g. my case i do IT Product Management but I'm Marketing/Int'l business cert.
Even related field higher rank, the salary range indicated is lower than whatever I was pulling.

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jun 6 2022, 08:01 AM)
Still there's more to it. Portion of food is bigger for the same dollar amount at least for SG - no need magnifying glass to see where's the meat.
RM5 can eat what? Nasi tulang (2017).

S$5 can eat sliced fish noodles with "more fish than noods" (2022)

Effectively even I B25 in my role here (which MY thinks I'm T20 what a joke) - the tax bracket is super cheap.
Unlike MY I was already paying C-level taxes as a senior exec - that's really unfair.

And tbh.. good side of earn proper currency is the buying power. No need to sell kidneys.

The taxes are very expensive in MY for the sub-par services rendered by the govt.

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 7 2022, 07:13 PM)
Paying taxes is the noble thing to do, whether they deserve it, at the current times, I don't think so as they keep on abusing it
That is true.. cannot run from the tax dept
I still don't regret moving overseas a.k.a. declaring RM0 taxes to LHDN
IAmLejen
post Jun 26 2022, 11:37 AM

367 posts

If you are the creme de la creme even during your fresh grad days, MBB consulting firms pays Ivy League tiers fresh grads >16k.
feekle
post Jun 26 2022, 01:24 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(TryingToSurvive @ Jun 25 2022, 03:51 AM)
Honestly yes.
Even if you don't get 15-20k.
Start off at any company in IT, jump every 2 years by the 4th year you will AT LEAST make 6k.

It will be a comfortable pay if you don't strive to be T10.
Much better than any engineering course honestly.
Took me only 7 years to break the 5 digit mark.
Don't think anyone in electronic or manufacturing or civil can chase this pace of growth. And I was just above average in my job
At the rate of chasing 5 digit salary, one better off starting on their own and put out that extra effort while in young age.
At the end of they day you will still work under people and always be disposable.
TryingToSurvive
post Jun 26 2022, 02:07 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 26 2022, 01:24 PM)
At the rate of chasing 5 digit salary, one better off starting on their own and put out that extra effort while in young age.
At the end of they day you will still work under people and always be disposable.
Easy to type your ideals out on the internet.

Had 1 friend opened up a vege farm.
Making income 350k a month.
Got another that opened a fish farm.
Bankrupt with 2.5mil in debt.

Obviously easy to say wow at a young age should pursue own dreams.
But 99% of the people telling their story is of who succeeded.
Definitely never hear the story of those who failed.

I don't see what's wrong with working a stable corporate life.
If you think a corporate job is unstable and easily disposable.
I'm very sure you surely have not ran a business before.

feekle
post Jun 26 2022, 05:30 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(TryingToSurvive @ Jun 26 2022, 02:07 PM)
Easy to type your ideals out on the internet.

Had 1 friend opened up a vege farm.
Making income 350k a month.
Got another that opened a fish farm.
Bankrupt with 2.5mil in debt.

Obviously easy to say wow at a young age should pursue own dreams.
But 99% of the people telling their story is of who succeeded.
Definitely never hear the story of those who failed.

I don't see what's wrong with working a stable corporate life.
If you think a corporate job is unstable and easily disposable.
I'm very sure you surely have not ran a business before.
Im a part time civil works contractor part time working under class A contractor.
Yeah i never run any business before.

I agree, nothing wrong working a stable corporate life. Don't expect the whole population to be entrepreneur.

This post has been edited by feekle: Jun 26 2022, 05:31 PM
Jojolin
post Jun 27 2022, 11:25 AM

86 posts

Perhaps TS may want to widen his circle of friends? I know of many folks who exceed that income level. It's just that for Asians, we do not normally boast or publicise our incomes. Because if we happen to meet a friends from SG, HK or Shanghai, they will laugh at our meagre RM15-20K salaries. So advisable to keep quiet about our incomes.

twiteroll
post Jun 27 2022, 11:42 AM

91 posts

Fortinet Level 2 Support 9k++
pub_yu
post Jun 27 2022, 10:50 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Jojolin @ Jun 27 2022, 11:25 AM)
Perhaps TS may want to widen his circle of friends? I know of many folks who exceed that income level. It's just that for Asians, we do not normally boast or publicise our incomes. Because if we happen to meet a friends from SG, HK or Shanghai, they will laugh at our meagre RM15-20K salaries. So advisable to keep quiet about our incomes.
Those who managed to get opportunities overseas probably deserve the price as well sad.gif
archief
post Jun 28 2022, 12:04 AM

106 posts

i'm doing IT, RM25k here
razorozar
post Jun 30 2022, 03:19 PM

105 posts

Yes there are.
c00lbeans P
post Jun 30 2022, 03:35 PM

Probation

i once spoke to headhunter for AWS tech position, he said my asking salary about 15k too low hence didnt think im suitable!! really char lan dou...
c00lbeans P
post Jun 30 2022, 03:37 PM

Probation

QUOTE(archief @ Jun 28 2022, 12:04 AM)
i'm doing IT, RM25k here
rough age? sales or tech? MNC right..good for u thumbup.gif

archief
post Jun 30 2022, 10:42 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Jun 30 2022, 03:37 PM)
rough age? sales or tech? MNC right..good for u  thumbup.gif
35-ish, sales in tech
mohdyakup
post Jul 1 2022, 05:22 AM

4,351 posts

Ada. Sapa cakap tak ada.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 1 2022, 10:50 AM

5,366 posts

I think it is who you mingle with that shape your horizon and perspective

I used to think that earning 10k ish was big, until I know more and more people earning this at younger age

Pay disparity occurs between different industry, eg a chef in a restaurant hardly can achieve 10k but an exec in IT can easily fetch 10k

Also Salary range in IT do increase significantly post Covid, due to the drastic increase in demands over supply
Mavik
post Jul 1 2022, 05:57 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Jun 30 2022, 03:35 PM)
i once spoke to headhunter for AWS tech position, he said my asking salary about 15k too low hence didnt think im suitable!! really char lan dou...
It is a pity that it was the headhunter that reached out instead of the recruiter from the company. I know American companies have rules now that negates these types of biasness.
beebee1314
post Jul 3 2022, 02:32 AM

1,683 posts

Lol TS sour grape. My company openly shares the position grade and salary range. 15k seems normal in my company.

I'm earning close to 10k as Finance Team Lead now. AM is until 13k, Manager is up to 17k. Head of Department is until 22k. More or less this. If you're asking how many years to manager, my manager only 37.

I wonder what industry TS working and salary how much. Why so sour.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 3 2022, 11:13 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Jul 3 2022, 02:32 AM)
Lol TS sour grape. My company openly shares the position grade and salary range. 15k seems normal in my company.

I'm earning close to 10k as Finance Team Lead now. AM is until 13k, Manager is up to 17k. Head of Department is until 22k. More or less this. If you're asking how many years to manager, my manager only 37.

I wonder what industry TS working and salary how much. Why so sour.
Tbh your company pay range is abit on the lower end already laugh.gif
beebee1314
post Jul 3 2022, 09:48 PM

1,683 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 3 2022, 11:13 AM)
Tbh your company pay range is abit on the lower end already laugh.gif
For finance. We're shared service. And true, quite low but ya nvm la. Can survive. So a bit weird TS say can't get to 15k.
p4n6
post Jul 4 2022, 09:55 PM

5,970 posts

Actually 15k is not considered high in most industry, with specialization in what you do, it is an achievable salary range. However do note that 15k is actually not a lot but comfortable ... it can be exchanged with time and experience.
15cm
post Jul 4 2022, 10:06 PM

422 posts

senior management in MNC got

if you are really really technically gifted, possible too
Avenger_2012
post Jul 6 2022, 12:24 AM

197 posts

I’m earning more than twice of your dream then.
O&G industry. >30k/month.
thankyou
post Jul 6 2022, 11:28 PM

1,941 posts

Definitely there are even IT... Just look for MNC

if not... look for overseas company who required local presence in Malaysia... Usually this type of company doesn't follow local rate... they follow USD/EUR...
pub_yu
post Jul 7 2022, 03:55 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wringle.wringle @ Jul 6 2022, 11:23 PM)
Oil last till when ?
Well, I'm sure you heard that many times for the past 10 years and it's still going strong now.
frontierzone
post Jul 7 2022, 06:18 PM

735 posts

Sarawak can 15k?
Darkcloudz
post Jul 8 2022, 08:52 AM

940 posts

QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Jun 30 2022, 03:35 PM)
dude, AWS position can easily reach 300k pa
Darkcloudz
post Jul 8 2022, 09:26 AM

940 posts

15k mark is easy to reach. But 20k is the hard part.
Mavik
post Jul 8 2022, 03:46 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Jul 8 2022, 08:52 AM)
Wow! Are you currently working there?
taufoo
post Jul 8 2022, 03:50 PM

147 posts

Hmm, i am about to hit the 15k mark.. so dont know what you talking.
In the Customer service line.
maxburnz
post Jul 8 2022, 03:56 PM

698 posts

have 10 years experience. masuk consultant in audit firm. easily 15k. next jump. easily near 20k.

widen your connection. ini baru macai. Belum C level. SME C level also hover around 20-30k. Belum MNC. Belum direct masuk director jabatan/kementerian.
Darkcloudz
post Jul 8 2022, 03:58 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 8 2022, 03:46 PM)
Wow! Are you currently working there?
im not working there but i know someone working there and earning that much
SUSifourtos
post Jul 8 2022, 04:01 PM

2,256 posts

Legal, alot

Healthcare, alot

Highlevel Programmer, alot

hell, even design also got >15k

Sales manager alot....

i assume you are not C-Race?
Mavik
post Jul 8 2022, 06:00 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Jul 8 2022, 03:58 PM)
im not working there but i know someone working there and earning that much
Ah i see, do you know what role are they working in?
farscope
post Jul 8 2022, 11:04 PM

3,427 posts

reminds me of a conversation i had with a friend many years back.

he was claiming he was quite proud to earn 5k and claimed that his peers all earned less than him.. i'm younger than him and quietly sipping my teh o limau ais with 7k pay check..

so yeah.. 15k is abundant.. u r just not there yet or not looking far enuf.. upskill yourself and make yourself more valuable than the 15k.
lawrencesha
post Jul 8 2022, 11:13 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Jul 8 2022, 08:52 AM)
RM300k/pa is easy but not based in MY la. Headcount should be in SG.
Darkcloudz
post Jul 9 2022, 12:59 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Jul 8 2022, 11:13 PM)
Not really, the pay in Msia also high range. Source from an employee who work there
Mavik
post Jul 9 2022, 05:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Jul 8 2022, 11:13 PM)
Actually RM300k per annum is just RM25k a month which a lot of heads of teams in banks already earn.
lawrencesha
post Jul 9 2022, 11:00 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 9 2022, 05:34 PM)
Actually RM300k per annum is just RM25k a month which a lot of heads of teams in banks already earn.
I'm in the cloud industry too. I agak2 know their pay scale.
Mavik
post Jul 10 2022, 08:03 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(wringle.wringle @ Jul 9 2022, 09:07 PM)
How many bank in Malaysia?
Most of the local banks here in Malaysia. Quite a lot of them actually.
Mavik
post Jul 10 2022, 08:03 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Jul 9 2022, 11:00 PM)
I'm in the cloud industry too. I agak2 know their pay scale.
Wow that is awesome, didn't know they pay so much!
maidenless
post Jul 10 2022, 11:21 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(maxburnz @ Jul 8 2022, 03:56 PM)
have 10 years experience. masuk consultant in audit firm. easily 15k. next jump. easily near 20k.

widen your connection. ini baru macai. Belum C level. SME C level also hover around 20-30k. Belum MNC. Belum direct masuk director jabatan/kementerian.
Jusar?
realityyffr
post Jul 10 2022, 03:34 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(wringle.wringle @ Jul 9 2022, 11:06 AM)
Why companies willing to pay more in sg ?

Rental high
Pay high

Why ?

Because msia is most corrupted country in Asia?
And public servant don't know English and slow
if you think malaysia is the most corrupted Asian country and also think public servants here have poor englisgh compared to other countries then you must be a kid with little life experience.
amirproit P
post Jul 10 2022, 07:43 PM

Probation

this is interesting topic. i want to get high paying jobs too. I tot only politician pay higher. hahaha
SUSTanahGagal
post Jul 10 2022, 07:44 PM

146 posts

Depends on your field
fath82
post Jul 11 2022, 07:33 PM

69 posts

Work in IT, jump every 2 years confirm can get this amount within 10 years or less
wawasan2200
post Jul 17 2022, 06:57 PM

189 posts

middle mgmt can get 15k

if mnc lagi senang

soules83
post Jul 18 2022, 12:30 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(wringle.wringle @ Jul 9 2022, 11:06 AM)
Why companies willing to pay more in sg ?

Rental high
Pay high

Why ?

Because msia is most corrupted country in Asia?
And public servant don't know English and slow
government policy. for example, the undersea fiberoptics repair face issue in the malaysia but not in sg.

government must adapt open policy, which is not possible for malaysia gov.

if u want high salary, better look outside of msia.
soules83
post Jul 18 2022, 08:08 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(wringle.wringle @ Jul 18 2022, 08:00 AM)
Been outside for msny2 years...
lari kuat kuat
DuFfz
post Jul 18 2022, 09:02 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(frontierzone @ Jul 7 2022, 06:18 PM)
Sarawak can 15k?
Unless you work with oil companies.
and of course this is an online forum, any tom dick harry can claim they earn 50k even. Just take comments here as a pinch of salt.

This post has been edited by DuFfz: Jul 18 2022, 09:04 PM
SUSsinkiebaharu
post Jul 19 2022, 10:15 AM

74 posts

Lol you can't get RM15k doesn't mean others can't get. What do you mean by don't exist anyway?
SUSBlackagar Boltagon
post Aug 19 2022, 12:07 AM

67 posts

You have to be very good in IT and no work life balance.
pillage2001
post Aug 19 2022, 12:20 PM

1,991 posts

Pick any Engineering company in Bayan lepas. With enough years of experience. 15k is easy bro.
intensecooling
post Aug 19 2022, 03:00 PM

76 posts

why not, any listed company anytime >20k salary per month.

Problem is, what can you deliver with such pay? as a cleaner?
Mavik
post Aug 19 2022, 05:58 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(intensecooling @ Aug 19 2022, 03:00 PM)
why not, any listed company anytime >20k salary per month.

Problem is, what can you deliver with such pay? as a cleaner?
Cleaner toilets! laugh.gif
Enigma7484
post Aug 23 2022, 09:57 AM

85 posts

Currently my pay is 10k per month , if include bonus around 12k per month and im currently 26 years old. I definitely believe 15k is very possible and my goal is 15k before 30 years old. So keep searching around and dont give up! Good luck. Malaysia has a lot of opportunity!
ctys2012
post Aug 23 2022, 10:31 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ Jun 8 2022, 08:53 PM)
i think it is more suitable to say look for industries that uses your skill to make money rather than join just another cost center...
acrylic_26
post Aug 23 2022, 10:48 AM

267 posts

lol ts bitter habis. IT & telco easily can get 10-15K edi. If you specialize in cyber security can get much higher.
Joe2Joe
post Aug 24 2022, 01:52 PM

36 posts

I feel 15k is still a crossable threshold. Going beyond 20k is hard & to go above 30k, you have to either be the top management level or get second/third job simultaneously.
Michael_Light
post Aug 24 2022, 02:02 PM

473 posts

-

This post has been edited by Michael_Light: Aug 24 2022, 02:04 PM
Zer0 c00L
post Aug 25 2022, 04:56 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

it exists, like many said, IT is the new O&G

and technical people especially are in demand, was in a bank previously drawing easily above 15k and don't even have any team member to report to me, merely a kuli level
MeToo
post Aug 25 2022, 05:42 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(Joe2Joe @ Aug 24 2022, 01:52 PM)
I feel 15k is still a crossable threshold. Going beyond 20k is hard & to go above 30k, you have to either be the top management level or get second/third job simultaneously.
15k is not hard, i think a few colleague sitting within shouting distance of me broke that threshold.

Myself is several times above 15k, and no... I'm not in IT/O&G/Telco...
tadashi987
post Sep 7 2022, 09:21 AM

2,106 posts

i think TS is just trying to jebait those high-incomer to expose their salary and job role tongue.gif
chromatino_hex
post Sep 7 2022, 04:23 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(Enigma7484 @ Aug 23 2022, 09:57 AM)
Currently my pay is 10k per month , if include bonus around 12k per month and im currently 26 years old. I definitely believe 15k is very possible and my goal is 15k before 30 years old. So keep searching around and dont give up! Good luck. Malaysia has a lot of opportunity!
what type of job? finance or law? medicine?
oranjes
post Sep 7 2022, 04:26 PM

59 posts

i can confirm some senior engineers/managers in sapura earn well above 15k, not counting angmoh as their package is really lopsided
DontClick
post Sep 7 2022, 06:27 PM

21 posts

15K nowadays is not much, if you have the skill and talent for it and you have built up certain reputation within you industry or professional circle, it is very doable to meet that by early 30s
Enigma7484
post Sep 7 2022, 10:57 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ Sep 7 2022, 04:23 PM)
what type of job? finance or law? medicine?
Ecommerce
sp3d2
post Sep 7 2022, 10:59 PM

471 posts

In my company, if want get 15K need to jilat boss and find other people mistake.

Can get 15K easily.
Zyrise5465
post Sep 8 2022, 09:14 PM

62 posts

-

This post has been edited by Zyrise5465: Sep 10 2022, 04:48 AM
bcombat
post Sep 8 2022, 11:48 PM

998 posts

ada. senior manager, head of dept and above….
FLampard
post Sep 9 2022, 03:47 PM

590 posts

insurance claims assesor / manager can get 15k or not?
archief
post Sep 12 2022, 08:13 PM

106 posts

it exist... but not for u saja TS.. mostly IT ppl salary minimum 10k... by age 30 oledi 20k.

This post has been edited by archief: Sep 12 2022, 08:16 PM
brianw87
post Sep 13 2022, 12:53 PM

341 posts

So many comments, who has rm15k salary here?
taitianhin
post Sep 13 2022, 01:00 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(brianw87 @ Sep 13 2022, 12:53 PM)
So many comments, who has rm15k salary here?
From a person from 1987
I can tell you MNC easily get 15K....
senior banker also can get

20K is rare thou
dudewhatisthis
post Sep 13 2022, 02:16 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(archief @ Sep 12 2022, 08:13 PM)
it exist... but not for u saja TS.. mostly IT ppl salary minimum 10k... by age 30 oledi 20k.

Edit: double post

This post has been edited by dudewhatisthis: Sep 13 2022, 02:25 PM
dudewhatisthis
post Sep 13 2022, 02:16 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(archief @ Sep 12 2022, 08:13 PM)

Everyday I regret not studying IT
archief
post Sep 13 2022, 11:57 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ Sep 13 2022, 02:16 PM)
i still remember 20 yrs ago those makcik said dont study IT no future fix komputer at lolyat plaza...got 1 even boast his kid study accounting at Aussie
togekiss
post Sep 14 2022, 09:41 AM

429 posts

how about a sales job?
Topace111
post Sep 14 2022, 03:29 PM

2,102 posts

Every profession got different spectrum for pay range. You have sales job promoting credit card at aeon and the sales director driving lambos to meet datos. Same with IT, you have those doing low end data programming to those that design the whole infrastructure and network.

Every profession got different route and timetable so don't judge. You can laugh at a farmer stink with manure until you see his 100 acre land and 10 mers at home. Those IT professionals you see can also lose their job once technology become obsolete overnight like how cloud affects traditional data centers if they cannot adapt.
autodriver
post Sep 15 2022, 08:45 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ Sep 13 2022, 02:16 PM)
No need regret. I advise people don't study IT actually. I was working in few IT MNC companies like Orxcle, HP and others, every few years sure got retrenchment. When the time I first join IT, hardware like networking and server are in high demand while apps is not popular (no smart phone that time). But now most hardware IT hard to get job or good salary because people moving to cloud, wifi, smart phone rather than laptop etc. Yes there are many people said should go for software or apps development, but do you know there are tens of thousand if not hundreds of thousand people are in software and apps development line. My time people who work for software 3 years experience can easily get RM 6k, but nowadays the pay out is RM 3-4k. If you ask for more the hiring company can choose other candidates since the market is flooded with IT guys. There are IT jobs posting around job portal in high salary, but there are thousands of people are applying for a post. And those who can get high salary mostly are project manager, process manager / IT architecture, not really the programmer who solely doing coding.
mezanny
post Sep 15 2022, 09:25 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 13 2022, 01:00 PM)
From a person from 1987
I can tell you  MNC easily get 15K....
senior banker also can get

20K is rare thou
local co also can get 15k or above easily.

Just that nowadays job market a bit slow, i think now september fewer, must wait Jan-Mar period.
mezanny
post Sep 15 2022, 09:27 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Sep 15 2022, 08:45 AM)
No need regret. I advise people don't study IT actually. I was working in few IT MNC companies like Orxcle, HP and others, every few years sure got retrenchment. When the time I first join IT, hardware like networking and server are in high demand while apps is not popular (no smart phone that time). But now most hardware IT hard to get job or good salary because people moving to cloud, wifi, smart phone rather than laptop etc. Yes there are many people said should go for software or apps development, but do you know there are tens of thousand if not hundreds of thousand people are in software and apps development line. My time people who work for software 3 years experience can easily get RM 6k, but nowadays the pay out is RM 3-4k. If you ask for more the hiring company can choose other candidates since the market is flooded with IT guys. There are IT jobs posting around job portal in high salary, but there are thousands of people are applying for a post. And those who can get high salary mostly are project manager, process manager / IT architecture, not really the programmer who solely doing coding.
is it true ? I heard in some companies, coders kena bully by no-idea not knowledgeable project IT manager ?

not only you have to content with the messy coding but also the messy instruction and politic from project manager ?
autodriver
post Sep 15 2022, 09:45 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Sep 15 2022, 09:27 AM)
is it true ? I heard in some companies, coders kena bully by no-idea not knowledgeable project IT manager ?

not only you have to content with the messy coding but also the messy instruction and politic from project manager ?
Not some but in many companies coders are being bully by senior, business analyst and project manager. Coder is farmer doing the ground work while manager take credits for their business unit or thier clients.
mezanny
post Sep 15 2022, 09:54 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Sep 15 2022, 09:45 AM)
Not some but in many companies coders are being bully by senior, business analyst and project manager. Coder is farmer doing the ground work while manager take credits for their business unit or thier clients.
coder get paid well or not ?

I wonder if coder get all this stress but do they earn more than the project manager ?
taitianhin
post Sep 15 2022, 05:01 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Sep 15 2022, 09:54 AM)

I wonder if coder get all this stress but do they earn more than the project manager ?
Have to see What language la...
Senior Programmer dont really do coding thou...just instruct
Software architect is Senior post also...
But not Fresh Coder...
Fresh coder Salary can easily be found in many places, Not 15K thou...unless go Andriod/iOS code, freshie might touch 10K for this

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Sep 15 2022, 05:30 PM
mezanny
post Sep 15 2022, 05:28 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 15 2022, 05:01 PM)
Have to see What language la...
Senior Programmer dont really do coding thou...just instruct
Software architect is Senior post also...
But not Fresh Coder...
Fresh coder Salary can easily be found in many places, Not 15K thou...unless go Andriod/iOS code, freshie might touch 10K
not surprise their job stress

every minute every hour counts.
taitianhin
post Sep 15 2022, 05:32 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Sep 15 2022, 05:28 PM)
not surprise their job stress

every minute every hour counts.
You will surprise how simple coder can Relax their mind....
They are just a bunch of dude of the dude....
sunami
post Sep 15 2022, 05:33 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Sep 15 2022, 09:45 AM)
hardware? lol...
someone from hardware giving opinion on programmers pay...
and it is well know most US com retrench ppl every few years...

Zot
post Sep 15 2022, 05:39 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Sep 15 2022, 05:33 PM)
hardware? lol...
someone from hardware giving opinion on programmers pay...
and it is well know most US com retrench ppl every few years...
Western style of running business is like than. Hire more when needed and fire them when no business. The Japanese is different. Workers are willing to have pay cut to help company during hard time. We follow Western laugh.gif
mezanny
post Sep 15 2022, 09:22 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 15 2022, 05:32 PM)
relax ?

i have coder friend must work night shift.
Mavik
post Sep 15 2022, 10:18 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Sep 15 2022, 08:45 AM)
Wow I would like to know where to find those hundreds of thousands of software and apps development line! Last time want to hire them also cannot find those skillsets. Usually only get 2-3 resumes. Need to find your source and get thousands of people to apply!
Stamp
post Sep 18 2022, 12:48 AM

4,864 posts

Though the salaries in oil&gas still remains stagnant, there are people earning more than RM15k pm.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Sep 18 2022, 12:48 AM
autodriver
post Sep 19 2022, 08:46 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Sep 15 2022, 09:54 AM)

Unfortunately not, most coders are earn lesser than project manager unless the coders got do part time job.
BonBonvoyage
post Sep 20 2022, 11:19 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 15 2022, 05:32 PM)
Right.. coding feels good when you get into the flow

thats why many coders like to WFH, fewer interruptions

0.0784sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:27 PM