453 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V40, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

zhishuen00 P
post Mar 22 2022, 05:06 PM

Probation

Hello good people. My internet connection has been really bad lately, it would work fine for a bit until it decides to snap and be completely unusable. I am talking completely no connection kind of unusable. Sometimes the service would come back within minutes, sometimes it takes hours, but the problem keeps reoccurring.

It actually happened once in November 2021, and lasted for about two weeks until it just somehow went away on its own.

Then this February it came back and has been happening until even right now, and their live chat agent can never solve my problem. Every time I go to them, they would reset the port, which would restore the internet for a bit and then the problem comes right back. Requested for them to send technicians over to check, and they did it three times. First time the technician says there's nothing wrong, but the issue came back right after he left. Second time (same technician btw) said that it's because my router (TP-Link AX50) is running in Wifi6 but my mesh is running on Wifi5, which is total bullshit because unplugging the mesh completely still caused the same issue. I have also been using the same setup all this while and the issue only happened recently. Third time I told them that I suspected something is wrong with the fibre box, then they sent the same guy over and he said "oh, the fibre box was left open all this while" and he closed it.

After that I thought the issue would be gone, which did happen for one night until the problem came back again.

Thought of switching over to Maxis instead but they told me that it wouldn't make a difference because they also use the same fibre box.

Any advices? Is it possible to get TM to replace the fibre box?

On a side note, when I went to the live chat again yesterday they suggested me to "upgrade to a faster plan so I won't face any lags" lmao. What a joke.
Oltromen Ripot
post Mar 22 2022, 05:09 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(supergen3 @ Mar 22 2022, 05:01 PM)
I feel your emotions. I got the same thing trying to get Digi fibre on TM HSBB. TM refused to register my home address unless it's for Unifi. Digi don't have power to register unless I was migrating from Unifi. So I end up subbing for Unifi. I plan to move out to another ISP after my Unifi contract expires.
Kek.... HSBB is supposed to be ISP agnostic even if TM manages it. Government funds laying it, right? Supposed to be no barrier of entry, right?

SKMM tidur.
heLL_bOy
post Mar 22 2022, 05:22 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(zhishuen00 @ Mar 22 2022, 05:06 PM)
Hello good people. My internet connection has been really bad lately, it would work fine for a bit until it decides to snap and be completely unusable. I am talking completely no connection kind of unusable. Sometimes the service would come back within minutes, sometimes it takes hours, but the problem keeps reoccurring.

It actually happened once in November 2021, and lasted for about two weeks until it just somehow went away on its own.

Then this February it came back and has been happening until even right now, and their live chat agent can never solve my problem. Every time I go to them, they would reset the port, which would restore the internet for a bit and then the problem comes right back. Requested for them to send technicians over to check, and they did it three times. First time the technician says there's nothing wrong, but the issue came back right after he left. Second time (same technician btw) said that it's because my router (TP-Link AX50) is running in Wifi6 but my mesh is running on Wifi5, which is total bullshit because unplugging the mesh completely still caused the same issue. I have also been using the same setup all this while and the issue only happened recently. Third time I told them that I suspected something is wrong with the fibre box, then they sent the same guy over and he said "oh, the fibre box was left open all this while" and he closed it.

After that I thought the issue would be gone, which did happen for one night until the problem came back again.

Thought of switching over to Maxis instead but they told me that it wouldn't make a difference because they also use the same fibre box.

On a side note, when I went to the live chat again yesterday they suggested me to "upgrade to a faster plan so I won't face any lags" lmao. What a joke.
lodge report to MCMC

more likely your area TM infrastructure got issue. either from the DP or their local backend issue.

those so called technician are not from TM they are sub-con for TM for mainly installation or do some easy technical troubleshoot.
they are not professional enough to deal higher level technical issue.

rmb to ask for compensation on your downtime as well.

This post has been edited by heLL_bOy: Mar 22 2022, 05:22 PM
Darren
post Mar 22 2022, 05:24 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Mar 20 2022, 12:23 PM)
Free Smart TV 42" powered by Android TV,
for those who move from another ISP to Unifi by using Transfer ID.

Not sure if this promo is still available or not
the promotion still available?
cant get any information online.....

i though only maxis new new customer got offer.....rm20 rebate for 24month.....
will be interested to apply unifi 100mbps if gt free tv....more worth it....
YoungMan
post Mar 22 2022, 07:27 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(zhishuen00 @ Mar 22 2022, 06:06 PM)

Actually what happen when the internet connection is lost? Do you have any picture of how the BTU lights look like when no internet? This is quite a complex issue and it needs the technician to check the fibre cable from your home until outside poll. Does your neighbour suffer the same issue or is it just your house?
Your best solution now is to lodge report to MCMC.

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Mar 22 2022, 06:09 PM)
Kek.... HSBB is supposed to be ISP agnostic even if TM manages it. Government funds laying it, right? Supposed to be no barrier of entry, right?

SKMM tidur.
In theory that's true. But in practical, HSBB should be by entity which are prohibited to involve in wholesale of internet to avoid conflict of interest.

QUOTE(Darren @ Mar 22 2022, 06:24 PM)

Sometimes those promo only available through agent. Go to facebook look for those Unifi agent to check.
aniq8676
post Mar 22 2022, 07:33 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Mar 22 2022, 05:24 PM)

This promotion is only valid through TMpoint and selected agents only.
zad78
post Mar 22 2022, 09:11 PM

Remember... Remember
1,237 posts

Just got offered RM269 to upgrade to 800mb package. Internet only. Well, It's better then nothing.
d100200
post Mar 22 2022, 09:52 PM

232 posts

Hi All Sifu, need advice. (posted this question on another Wifi Router thread this morning and only notice this thread in the afternoon)

I am using Time Internet.
Huawei Modem + D-LINK AC1200.

I plan to buy TP-LINK ARHCER AX72 AX5400 to replace the D-Link router.

Question.

I plan to move to another place which has TM Unifi Fibre Broadband.

For 100Mbps, probably I will get AC1200 Router. (No mesh support)
Question: Can I use the TP-Link AX72 setup as Wifi Extender?

For 300Mbps, probably I will get Certified Wifi 6 Router assuming Deco series. (with mesh support). Then I can set up the Mesh with AX72.
Question: What if TM provide other Wifi 6 brand, like D-Link, can I setup mesh with both D-link and TP-link ?

Please correct me whether the Router provided is correct or not.
Basically, I want to buy a new router for my Time Internet for now and plan for future expansion with TM Unifi plan.
PRSXFENG
post Mar 22 2022, 10:15 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Mar 22 2022, 09:52 PM)
Hi All Sifu, need advice. (posted this question on another Wifi Router thread this morning and only notice this thread in the afternoon)

I am using Time Internet.
Huawei Modem + D-LINK AC1200.

I plan to buy TP-LINK ARHCER AX72 AX5400 to replace the D-Link router.

Question.

I plan to move to another place which has TM Unifi Fibre Broadband.

For 100Mbps, probably I will get AC1200 Router. (No mesh support)
Question: Can I use the TP-Link AX72 setup as Wifi Extender?

For 300Mbps, probably I will get Certified Wifi 6 Router assuming Deco series. (with mesh support). Then I can set up the Mesh with AX72.
Question: What if TM provide other Wifi 6 brand, like D-Link, can I setup mesh with both D-link and TP-link ?

Please correct me whether the Router provided is correct or not.
Basically, I want to buy a new router for my Time Internet for now and plan for future expansion with TM Unifi plan.
1. Why use AX72 as extender, just use it as main router
2. TP-Link Deco mesh is not compatible with TP-Link OneMesh for AX72
3. nope, unless it has Wifi Alliance EasyMesh support, but rarely seen (so far only seen on Maxis stock router, D-Link COVR and some Huawei)

If you want a carefree mesh system, can consider Asus AiMesh, any router with AiMesh support can mesh together
but Asus routers come at a premium cost
d100200
post Mar 22 2022, 10:46 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Mar 22 2022, 10:15 PM)
1. Why use AX72 as extender, just use it as main router
3. nope, unless it has Wifi Alliance EasyMesh support, but rarely seen (so far only seen on Maxis stock router, D-Link COVR and some Huawei)

If you want a carefree mesh system, can consider Asus AiMesh, any router with AiMesh support can mesh together
but Asus routers come at a premium cost
1. Why use AX72 as an extender, just use it as the main router
ANS: Agreed and thanks. Didn't think that.

Ans: Thanks for the info. Now I know. If not compatible then probably have to go solution 1 which is set up as Extender/Repeater.
(I will have a LAN cable from the Ground floor to 1st floor for this)
OR
Modem->AX72 (Wifi Off)-> Main Deco ->Deco
Will this work since TM is providing Deco series?

but Asus routers come at a premium cost.
Ans: Don't want to spend too much money on this. That's why I choose AX72 instead AX73. Below 400 is still OK.
The idea is to buy one that I can use later. Mesh is an option but not really mandatory. The new place is a double-story house so 2 Access Point should be able to cover both floors.

This post has been edited by d100200: Mar 23 2022, 12:07 AM
crackedbox
post Mar 23 2022, 01:00 AM

119 posts

Need input from fellow members here,

Have a CCTV DVR on the ground floor and the wifi router/fiber modem is on the first floor. Pulling a cat6 cable is out of the equation.

How can I connect the DVR to the network, it requires an ethernet cable (no WiFi built in).

Isit possible to use the tplink WiFi extender or I'll have to use a wireless router as access point. Any specific setup?

Please give input. All. I want is to have ethernet connection via WiFi to the DVR.

Advice is appreciated.

This post has been edited by crackedbox: Mar 23 2022, 01:00 AM
go626201
post Mar 23 2022, 01:26 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(crackedbox @ Mar 23 2022, 01:00 AM)

Have a CCTV DVR on the ground floor and the wifi router/fiber modem is on the first floor. Pulling a cat6 cable is out of the equation.

How can I connect the DVR to the network, it requires an ethernet cable (no WiFi built in).

Isit possible to use the tplink WiFi extender or I'll have to use a wireless router as access point. Any specific setup?

Please give input. All. I want is to have ethernet connection via WiFi to the DVR.

Advice is appreciated.
Maybe powerline(Homeplug)?
But u need to ensure the power connection is same.
Oltromen Ripot
post Mar 23 2022, 07:45 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(crackedbox @ Mar 23 2022, 01:00 AM)

Advice is appreciated.
mesh nodes have ethernet port.

1. if you already have existing mesh network, you can add new mesh node right next to the DVR rack, connected by ethernet cable.

2. if you have not an existing mesh network, your can set up a new mesh network which includes a node next to your DVR (like above), and another node next to your fibre router.
(a) your can switch off existing wifi service by your standalone Access Point and let the new mesh network take over the same wireless SSID and password (your existing user devices might need help to rejoin wifi network), DVR and user will share same wifi network, OR,
(b) retain existing wifi service and Access Point; set up the new mesh as a separate network using different wireless SSID (and password), DVR will use separate wifi than user devices.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Mar 23 2022, 07:47 AM
YoungMan
post Mar 23 2022, 08:19 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Mar 22 2022, 11:46 PM)
1. Why use AX72 as an extender, just use it as the main router
ANS: Agreed and thanks. Didn't think that.

Ans: Thanks for the info. Now I know. If not compatible then probably have to go solution 1 which is set up as Extender/Repeater.
(I will have a LAN cable from the Ground floor to 1st floor for this)
OR
Modem->AX72 (Wifi Off)-> Main Deco ->Deco
Will this work since TM is providing Deco series?

but Asus routers come at a premium cost.
Ans: Don't want to spend too much money on this. That's why I choose AX72 instead AX73. Below 400 is still OK.
The idea is to buy one that I can use later. Mesh is an option but not really mandatory. The new place is a double-story house so 2 Access Point should be able to cover both floors.

Most of the mesh from TM is Fibrehome brand now.

mytaffeta
post Mar 23 2022, 08:55 AM

1,325 posts

QUOTE(supergen3 @ Mar 22 2022, 05:01 PM)
I feel your emotions. I got the same thing trying to get Digi fibre on TM HSBB. TM refused to register my home address unless it's for Unifi. Digi don't have power to register unless I was migrating from Unifi. So I end up subbing for Unifi. I plan to move out to another ISP after my Unifi contract expires.
whats the reason you not staying with unifi? may i know what telco u going after contract?
d100200
post Mar 23 2022, 09:41 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 23 2022, 08:19 AM)
Most of the mesh from TM is Fibrehome brand now.
Was reading this. So hope to get the TP-Link.

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/260258/unifi-ho...i6-router-mesh/

Argghh..I probably just get a cheap router to replace the D-Link 850L for now and use it as backup in future.

This post has been edited by d100200: Mar 23 2022, 09:58 AM
aniq8676
post Mar 23 2022, 10:51 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Mar 23 2022, 09:41 AM)
Was reading this. So hope to get the TP-Link.

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/260258/unifi-ho...i6-router-mesh/
Argghh..I probably just get a cheap router to replace the D-Link 850L for now and use it as backup in future.

30Mbps & 100Mbps

NETIS DL4480V
NETIS DL4480V1
AZtech DS244WSGV
AZtech WR744WSGV
TP-LINK Archer C1200
TP-LINK Archer EC221-G3V
D-LINK DIR-842
D-LINK DIR-825M
D-LINK DIR-830M
D-LINK DVG-F2452
Fiberhome SR120-A
ZTE ZXHN H267A

300Mbps & Above
Fiberhome SR-1041Y

If you want Deco Mesh, you need to add-on

Deco M4 - RM15/month
Deco M9 Plus - RM35/month
Deco X60 - RM55/month

This post has been edited by aniq8676: Mar 23 2022, 10:51 AM
crackedbox
post Mar 23 2022, 11:17 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Mar 23 2022, 07:45 AM)
mesh nodes have ethernet port.

1. if you already have existing mesh network, you can add new mesh node right next to the DVR rack, connected by ethernet cable.

2. if you have not an existing mesh network, your can set up a new mesh network which includes a node next to your DVR (like above), and another node next to your fibre router.
(a) your can switch off existing wifi service by your standalone Access Point and let the new mesh network take over the same wireless SSID and password (your existing user devices might need help to rejoin wifi network), DVR and user will share same wifi network, OR,
(b) retain existing wifi service and Access Point; set up the new mesh as a separate network using different wireless SSID (and password), DVR will use separate wifi than user devices.
Have no mesh as current WiFi for this particular house is good enough. Can I add a WiFi router to connect to WiFi and use the lan port on the WiFi router to connect the dvr?
supergen3
post Mar 23 2022, 11:39 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Mar 23 2022, 08:55 AM)
whats the reason you not staying with unifi? may i know what telco u going after contract?
in my case, I need a port from TM HSBB which TM refused to give to Digi with the excuse was no port available. The only way to get in is through Unifi. I wasted 10 working days trying to get Digi fibre installed in my home with no result. TM installed Unifi within 5 working days and the installation contractors came on a public holiday. My contract expires next year, I still undecided on my next ISP, probably either Digi or Maxis.
QuantumEdge
post Mar 23 2022, 11:45 AM

1,592 posts

QUOTE(supergen3 @ Mar 23 2022, 11:39 AM)
in my case, I need a port from TM HSBB which TM refused to give to Digi with the excuse was no port available. The only way to get in is through Unifi. I wasted 10 working days trying to get Digi fibre installed in my home with no result. TM installed Unifi within 5 working days and the installation contractors came on a public holiday. My contract expires next year, I still undecided on my next ISP, probably either Digi or Maxis.
Just a quick reminder, if you kept having routing issues with TM
Avoid getting Digi as their routing is pretty much the same...
Consider either Celcom or Maxis

453 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:34 PM