Investment Kenanga Digital Investing (KDI), KDI Invest, KDI Save

Davidtcf
post Apr 8 2022, 06:54 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ Apr 8 2022, 06:50 PM)
Damn such an eye opening :thumbsup: If I see the market still in red next few weeks, will definitely top-up. Thanks for bringing up the confidence.
Okay, basically I was already flying when I saw lovelyuser remarks then suddenly your reply slam me back on the road with fun fact. Technically, it's good to share such information so that we can take every steps into consideration  tongue.gif

TBH, I'm still new in this investment thingy. All along, always park my extra in FD which I find very low return these few years (very discouraging 2-2.3% mega_shok.gif ) So no choice has to rely on KDI/ Stashaway until confident enough to DIY.

Any reference for beginner?  laugh.gif  sweat.gif
Investing is a studious thing. Need to keep read, learn from others be it via YouTube, this forum etc.

Also if don’t dip your toes in water how to learn swimming? Same thing with investing. The sooner you start learning the better. Start with small amounts first then slowly increase it.

Once expert like some forumers here can start play with options as well.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 8 2022, 06:54 PM
Davidtcf
post Apr 9 2022, 11:43 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Apr 9 2022, 10:15 AM)
Very good sharing, thank for the long explanation, it's so true that the lower the fees, the higher effective return our portfolio will be. Kudos!

Have you ever thought of how your portfolio can pass down to your love ones if anything happens to you? Estate distribution for each country differs and require lawyer of that country to run the paper work, which cost much more fees and time compare to assets setup in Malaysia (KDI). This could be an example of penny wise pound foolish. Worst is non of your family aware you have account in overseas platform, that will be equivalent to total lost.

Alternatively, make sure you write down your platform login particular with trading code, your phone password somewhere so your next of kin can access to the portfolio you setup with IBKR. Make sure you hide somewhere very hard to find but easy to find when you're gone.

My 2 cents for those who wish to have overseas investment platform, think long term, think about your estate planning, consult your lawyer or estate planner.
I’ve informed my wife about all my login passwords. Face ID identification there are ways to overcome it if got access to the email address or phone. This is in case if anything happens to me then transfer all to savings account or wise before claiming the money. This is also to workaround on the estate tax in the US. They will only charge the tax when you ask for IBKR or other broker to help u access the funds inside with a lawyer letter.

Steps to login without face or fingerprint:
https://ibkr.info/node/3237
https://ibkr.info/node/2278

Not informing any loved ones about your investments is a risk. Even if you use Stashaway or other robos - if they don’t know, how can they claim the money there?

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 9 2022, 11:51 AM
Davidtcf
post Apr 13 2022, 10:44 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(lzy6696 @ Apr 13 2022, 10:37 AM)
anyone here dislikes the app?
yea no face or fingerprint scan makes it hard to login.
also need to wait statement on 1st to see any up or downs for the portfolio.

as long it can make profit on long term hold I'm ok.
Free management fees for first RM3k for KDI invest makes it a sell for me.
I like to have something easy to withdraw.. KDI invest suit this reason. (5 days wait time is standard)

withdrawing from IBKR back to Malaysia will incur higher charges (need to withdraw larger amounts to be worth it).

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 13 2022, 11:24 AM
Davidtcf
post Apr 22 2022, 06:25 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Apr 22 2022, 04:05 PM)
QUOTE(KDI CS)
We have been informed that there is going to be a delay in crediting of this referral fees. As of this moment, we are still not able to send out any notification to affected investors as we are facing some technical difficulties in extracting eligible accounts however rest assured that payouts will be made the eligible investor accounts.
We are truly sorry for the unforeseen inconvenience caused. We've been informed that the latest that you will receive the referral fees is by 30th May 2022.

Our technical teams are working tirelessly to speed up the crediting process. We do hope it would be credited much sooner than 30th May 2022 however right now, this is the promised timeline to credit to all eligible investors whose dateline of 30 days has already passed.

Please do reach out to us, in the event you do not receive the referral fees after 30th May 2022.

Not enough income from Save and Invest to cover the referral fees kut.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 22 2022, 06:26 PM
Davidtcf
post Apr 27 2022, 09:29 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

My KDI invest positive return 10. My own holdings in US all red. So far pleased with their balanced portfolio.
Davidtcf
post Apr 27 2022, 09:44 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(runningdash @ Apr 25 2022, 06:28 PM)
Let's say I deposit rm250 into kdi invest today since share price drop, will KDI buy the share at today's price or the price 3 to 4 days later since it takes them 3 to 4 days to give you your share unit.
Any sifu pls help clarify?
Myself had deposit some money today. Feel it's a good time to top up with bear market in the US. Yes will take 3-4 days before holdings reflected in your account. smile.gif

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 26 2022, 05:48 PM)
u would be surprised how many people out there are not aware of fintech and how lag behind are they in the digitalization world
Agree. My mum also same only trust FD and need cert from bank.
Haha that day she went Hong Leong put FD, they gave her normal paper as receipt she complain why the cert just a piece of A4 paper and not better xD

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 27 2022, 01:07 AM)
Younger gen look down on 3%. They want more and prefer bitcoin
Bitcoin I feel nowadays more for buy low sell high short term. I not into such trading but I know many ppl do this (check crypto main thread in LYN).

Stablecoins is better for savings investment. Recently put some money at Finblox for USDC earning 15% apy (interested can pm me for referral code). But yea can't put too much here since it involves crypto.. Got some uncertainties such as if kena hacked, company run away, USDC under gov regulation suddenly etc. Total crypto stablecoins and others should not exceed 10% of your portfolio.. General safe rule.

I know Anchor Protocol give 20%, but after reading it deep I have trust issues with UST. So decided to hold USDC instead since it's tied to real dollars and US treasuries.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 27 2022, 09:47 AM
Davidtcf
post Apr 27 2022, 11:20 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 27 2022, 09:06 PM)
positive return 10% so high?

My KDI Invest Growth now under water already.
Aggressive portfolio surely also same or worse.

If Balance portfolio so good gain 10%, we must switch liao...
Lol just checked again.. Now -11. Not percent bro but RM.

Chill la in stock market when there's down there will be up. The gains will be much more later. I trust in KDI's choices.

As long got set aside emergency money e.g. KDI Save will be fine. Don't touch the money in investing part until you make profit or really need it.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 27 2022, 11:22 PM
Davidtcf
post Apr 28 2022, 12:58 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 28 2022, 12:18 AM)
I think you might have seen my nickname in FD thread & I was a staunch believer prior to last month & don't really dare to invest in shares or unit trusts.
But after knowing Kenanga, Touch n Go GO+ (at promo rates) & crypto savings, it is too hard to resist putting FD funds there.
There's higher risk in crypto savings although juicy interests.. Even if stablecoins. Best read up to know what you're investing in fully and don't put all the money into them. I only dare invest up to 10% of my portfolio in crypto.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 28 2022, 01:00 AM
Davidtcf
post Apr 29 2022, 09:58 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 29 2022, 07:57 AM)
robo is for ppl who don't want to spend time to learn how to invest. the fact that you are here posting means you are willing to learn so you can skip robo already

btw, someone did 1 full year of 6 robo experiment. so can expect KDI to be have the same "passive investing" performance
this year stock market got hit hard that's why can pull all the previous earnings down.
It's 1 year test, show us 5-10 years result, that is how long most people should invest anyway. smile.gif

QUOTE(runningdash @ Apr 29 2022, 01:35 AM)
Want to put long term but when see it dropping, heart and mind don't feel good.
Investing is about controlling your emotions also. icon_question.gif
what if you earn total of 50% after 5 years? How will you feel that time?

If you always feel upset when check the numbers, then stop checking that often. Discipline yourself to check maybe like once every few months instead.
Some people on Reddit never check what they invested in as they want to avoid feeling emotional.. you can read about this on the web too about what other experts say for long term investors. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 29 2022, 10:03 AM
Davidtcf
post Apr 29 2022, 11:40 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Apr 29 2022, 11:24 AM)
It is foolhardy to ask about investment decision on forum, anyone can give you crap advise, no one will be responsible on the advise given.
if one is to invest in spare money, then they wouldn't feel so pain or worry also when the stock dives..

always have emergency money with you too, those you can put in safe deposits such as KDI Save, Go+.. best have 1-3 months of your salary ready (some say 6 mths emergency money in case jobless).

don't expect invest everything into stocks and think you can make it big next month. The opposite can happen.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Apr 29 2022, 11:40 AM
Davidtcf
post May 1 2022, 07:15 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 1 2022, 11:44 AM)
May I know why the final amount is not RM250.30? I think there's no fee charging for funds below RM3k for KDI Invest?
Market price might fluctuate after they process the cash out for KDI Invest.

Even Stashaway takes 3-5 days to complete a withdrawal.

Only go long term for Invest. Recommend a few years at least to see growth.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: May 1 2022, 07:16 PM
Davidtcf
post May 2 2022, 10:12 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 2 2022, 01:21 PM)
That means if your current value rise >RM3000 they also won't charge you right?

Posting my Aggressive portfolio for comparison (April statement), it seems like the biggest difference is SHV followed by GLD only..

Yup, I am just testing water to see if I wanna DCA until an amount that im comfortable to lose.
If it rises near to 3k then transfer some to KDI save or withdraw. That will avoid the management fee.
Davidtcf
post May 2 2022, 10:14 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(_kilakila_ @ May 2 2022, 11:48 AM)
Balanced KDI Invest Portfolio as of April. Initial investment 10k.

I also prefer balance. Right now market red yet it didn’t go down too much.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: May 2 2022, 10:17 PM
Davidtcf
post May 3 2022, 10:07 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ May 2 2022, 10:49 PM)
IBKR offer fractional shares so if worry capital huge can use this feature to buy a bit after all 35 cents fee per trade is easily affordable. GOOGL TSLA news on 20-1 split so many ppl buying I think
Just parking a bit in KDI invest for easy withdrawal.

Wanna have some money closer to me. IBKR one I will not touch for many years to come.
Davidtcf
post May 9 2022, 11:22 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 9 2022, 12:18 AM)
2.5 months fluctuation showing now at the lowest again, the 2nd time , just whacked RM1k each hopefully wont suddenly shoot up next few days...
I wacked 1k for KDI invest last week also when the market fell sharply.. hope will gain from it.
now total at 2.2k.. will wait another good time to deposit the remaining few hundred.
Davidtcf
post May 12 2022, 02:55 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(babysotong @ May 12 2022, 12:46 PM)
Contacted KDI Save with the increase of OPR by 25 bps :

1) No change to the 3% since it is a promotion rate (till 31 Dec 2022)

2) No plan to change to the 2.25% pa rate for amount above rm200k.

Though, I can accept the (1) item but I don't really agree with the (2) item as effective their MMD placements and etc will yield higher returns for them
next year baru check2 see who offer highest yield.
If Versa then everyone will switch to it. If KDI Save still gooding then stay here lor.
Go+ how good also support up to RM3k only for the extra rates.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: May 12 2022, 02:55 PM
Davidtcf
post May 12 2022, 03:42 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ May 12 2022, 03:05 PM)
This time TnG is a tad slow, their GO+ promo ended with the "coming soon" banner hanging for a while already... struggling to be competitive? tongue.gif
I withdrew from Go+ stack in KDI Save liao..

wait them confirm then see how biggrin.gif
Davidtcf
post May 12 2022, 05:02 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

already passed 100mil AUM (assets under management) for KDI Save and Invest.. they better improve the app:

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...gital-investing

1. give us face id / fingerprint scanning.
2. detailed breakdown of the ETFs, before we invest in KDI invest for every risk profile.

just these 2 big things and we will happy liao.
Davidtcf
post May 13 2022, 05:23 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ May 12 2022, 05:08 PM)
1. Since day 1 I been using fingerprint with the password saved in password vault

2. No likely will get the latest updared ETF portfolio from day to day, if not someone will just copy buta buta
I’m using iPhone.. login via password vault auto fill doesn’t work. The login button will be dimmed out. Need to delete 1 character and renter only can.

Stashaway also got show all ETF, is for transparency sake. KDI got statement where other companies can look into and copy.. is not that hard just that need a lot of capital to set this up. Need to have other selling points to make ppl trust it. Kenanga public listed and long time in market liao that’s why people will use it.

Also KDI invest using AI to choose which ETFs to buy. I saw my statements having certain allocations switched also suddenly. As long they can continue avoid losing money and make more I’m ok with this. Hence good if we can see currently today, right now what ETFs they are into.

Davidtcf
post May 18 2022, 10:49 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ May 18 2022, 10:39 AM)
Obviously my explanation not clear enough for you.

If it's a new portfolio with new investment into KDI Save RM 210k, then 1st 200k @ 3%, 10k @ 2.25%

If you have invested sometime ago, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow my previous post.

*Conclusion, investor on advantage, but I found myself silly to proof this and try to explain. The return wont make us rich neither make us poor, just move on stay invested till the end-Dec 2022.
It is meant to be a place to park emergency fund. 2-3 mths of salary up to a year.

People who deposit in few hundred k or millions, lets hope they know how to invest also rather than just rely on these MMF funds. sweat.gif
3% not enough to cover our Malaysia's yearly inflation.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: May 18 2022, 10:50 AM

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0916sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:12 PM