135 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Bottom

Unlimited 5G plan

shaun_kok
post Oct 23 2023, 12:55 PM

1,068 posts

I do change to Yes with device (24 mo contract) (and I am somehow ready to poorer in building coverage) - mainly because of 5G which the coverage is equal and Rahmah device offer but still maintaining some backup with Maxis and Unifi Mobile (call forwarding is activated whenever I go to buildings/malls to Maxis or Unifi in case some do contact me - there seems to be no charge on call forwarding).

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Oct 23 2023, 12:57 PM
shaun_kok
post Oct 23 2023, 01:10 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Oct 20 2023, 09:38 AM)

malaysia joint the mmwave club

The growing pains of the mmWave device ecosystem

The South Korean example offers a cautionary tale regarding 5G mmWave readiness.

In 2018, three operators — SK, KT, and LG U+ — spent 620 billion Won ($435 million) on a five-year license for the 28 GHz spectrum. As part of the license conditions, operators had to deploy 15,000 base stations by the end of 2021. Following an audit by the Ministry of Science and IT (MSIT), KT and LGU+ had their licenses revoked, and SK Telecom was reduced by six months. One key challenge operators pointed to was the need for a mature mmWave devices ecosystem in the market.
https://www.ookla.com/articles/mmwave-spect...eeds-us-q1-2023
mmWave is not widely supported (except US, Japan) and the coverage is really poor in areas where it is implemented. I read an article where more than 40000 mmwave sites are needed to cover just 95% of New York City! It is N77 development that really raise the internet speeds across USA. Prior to that, US used mmWave and low band 5G - which meant that many can't enjoy the true 5G speeds! Low band 5G only provide slight improvement to 4G as it has to be shared with 4G LTE bands.

Flagship Samsung phones sold in Korea doesn't really have mmwave support! This is also applicable to iPhones, which all models (except those sold in US) doesn't support mmwave. So this kinda explains why the telcos dosent want to develop 5G mmWave.

Even if Malaysia do ended up developing mmWave - we would only see developments in high density areas such as malls, stadiums and high traffic areas. More than 99% of 5G coverage area will remain Mid band 5G or low band 5G.

fruitie
post Oct 23 2023, 04:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,789 posts

Any recommended 5G routers to be used with YES 5G Flexi? Preferable, it can be used for other telcos too. I'm thinking to subscribe one for my hometown and when I'm on the move. If can suggest that can buy from Taobao also ok. tongue.gif
hopperz_pro92
post Oct 23 2023, 04:49 PM

36 posts

is there any certain network band to lock for 5G?
TSGold_Moderator
post Oct 23 2023, 04:51 PM

3,099 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2023, 04:35 PM)
Any recommended 5G routers to be used with YES 5G Flexi? Preferable, it can be used for other telcos too. I'm thinking to subscribe one for my hometown and when I'm on the move. If can suggest that can buy from Taobao also ok. tongue.gif
i cant tahan cheap modem. its kinda hard to grab yes 5G and keep 5G service. i use samsung fold 4 as modem.
fruitie
post Oct 23 2023, 05:03 PM

Rise and Shine
72,789 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Oct 23 2023, 04:51 PM)
i cant tahan cheap modem. its kinda hard to grab yes 5G and keep 5G service. i use samsung fold 4 as modem.
I thought Yes 5G Flexi is a broadband plan and can only be used with routers?

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 23 2023, 05:03 PM
bios123
post Oct 23 2023, 05:27 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2023, 04:35 PM)
may consider the following modems:
(1) Tplink x50 5G
(2) ZTE MC 8010 or 8020
(3) ZTE MC 888

if you need a mifi unit, can consider ZTE 5002 or 5120. Netgear one is pricey.
Hope that will help you. Thanks.
TSGold_Moderator
post Oct 23 2023, 06:26 PM

3,099 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2023, 05:03 PM)
I thought Yes 5G Flexi is a broadband plan and can only be used with routers?
Nope. Flexi plan got no limit to device
fruitie
post Oct 23 2023, 06:45 PM

Rise and Shine
72,789 posts

QUOTE(bios123 @ Oct 23 2023, 05:27 PM)
may consider the following modems:
(1) Tplink x50 5G
(2) ZTE MC 8010 or 8020
(3) ZTE MC 888

if you need a mifi unit, can consider ZTE 5002 or 5120. Netgear one is pricey.
Hope that will help you. Thanks.
Thanks! Let me read into these options. I found on Shopee Zyxel 5G routers too and I heard they are not bad.

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Oct 23 2023, 06:26 PM)
Nope. Flexi plan got no limit to device
Cool, learnt something new.
sadlyfalways
post Oct 24 2023, 03:27 PM

1,185 posts

Same location, 6 months apart 😢. It’s been like this for a week, speed only goes back to normal after midnight

Minimum 100mbps?

Sam Leong
post Oct 24 2023, 06:18 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Oct 24 2023, 03:27 PM)
Same location, 6 months apart 😢. It’s been like this for a week, speed only goes back to normal after midnight

Minimum 100mbps?
for me its more like N78 dead when you tested in 3PM
Can report to U Mobile and ask them escalate report to DNB I guess?
ahwai
post Oct 24 2023, 09:21 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2023, 06:45 PM)
Thanks! Let me read into these options. I found on Shopee Zyxel 5G routers too and I heard they are not bad.
Cool, learnt something new.
i'm using the Zyxel on Yes 5G flexi so far speed is ok but its wifi not as good as my old TPlink router
fruitie
post Oct 24 2023, 09:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,789 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Oct 24 2023, 09:21 PM)
i'm using the Zyxel on Yes 5G flexi so far speed is ok but its wifi not as good as my old TPlink router
Thanks for the feedback. WiFi is important. laugh.gif
uhlaw
post Oct 25 2023, 08:52 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 24 2023, 09:52 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. WiFi is important. laugh.gif
Zyxel NR5103E equipped with With WiFi 6 AX1800
Tp-Link Deco X50-5G, AX3000

I have both devices wink.gif

This post has been edited by uhlaw: Oct 25 2023, 08:54 AM
bios123
post Oct 25 2023, 04:48 PM

81 posts

And tplink x50 5g also has mesh system built in. Not sure about zyxel.

This post has been edited by bios123: Oct 25 2023, 04:49 PM
Solskjaer66
post Oct 25 2023, 06:46 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(bios123 @ Oct 25 2023, 05:48 PM)
And tplink x50 5g also has mesh system built in. Not sure about zyxel.
i also using Deco X50..... is Deco model only compatible with Deco mesh device? can pair with other brand? i try to connect it to Asus mesh router seems not workable.
uhlaw
post Oct 25 2023, 08:10 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 25 2023, 06:46 PM)
i also using Deco X50..... is Deco model only compatible with Deco mesh device? can pair with other brand? i try to connect it to Asus mesh router seems not workable.
Deco Mesh is technology only used in TP-Link Deco products for Mesh networking.

In my case, i use Deco X50-5G as main, connected to 3 units of Deco M5.
BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 25 2023, 09:16 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,146 posts

QUOTE(ahwai @ Oct 24 2023, 09:21 PM)
u can always turn off zyxel wifi and connect to other stronger wifi router bro
bios123
post Oct 25 2023, 11:40 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 25 2023, 06:46 PM)
Even connecting the deco x50 with asus system through LAN also cannot get them working? Deco x50 can be used to connect wirelessly with other deco mesh unit.
Solskjaer66
post Oct 26 2023, 10:23 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Oct 25 2023, 09:10 PM)
Deco Mesh is technology only used in TP-Link Deco products for Mesh networking.

In my case, i use Deco X50-5G as main, connected to 3 units of Deco M5.
can connect to M3 or M4?

135 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:19 PM