Unlimited 5G plan

tmc
post Nov 26 2023, 11:07 PM

1,185 posts

The Malaysian 5g network is the same network irregardless which service provider you get it from, is that right ? Meaning if one can get 800 Mbps from one service provider, likely if you get from other provider, the speed will be more or less the same. Is that correct ?
fruitie
post Nov 26 2023, 11:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Nov 26 2023, 11:07 PM)
The Malaysian 5g network is the same network irregardless which service provider you get it from, is that right ? Meaning if one can get 800 Mbps from one service provider, likely if you get from other provider, the speed will be more or less the same. Is that correct ?
I thought so but UM works better than YES in my case and for others too.
For me, the download speed for UM is about 20Mbps more than YES and higher upload speed.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Nov 26 2023, 11:13 PM
tmc
post Nov 26 2023, 11:25 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 26 2023, 11:12 PM)
I thought so but UM works better than YES in my case and for others too.
For me, the download speed for UM is about 20Mbps more than YES and higher upload speed.
Perhaps the difference comes from the juice of the routers, Yes probably have older and less powerful routers. wink.gif

What speed do you get from umobile? I was with my phone in a mamak shope, can get 800 Mbps for download, more than the 600 Mbps that I get from my house.
fruitie
post Nov 26 2023, 11:34 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Nov 26 2023, 11:25 PM)
Perhaps the difference comes from the juice of the routers, Yes probably have older and less powerful routers. wink.gif

What speed do you get from umobile? I was with my phone in a mamak shope, can get 800 Mbps for download, more than the 600 Mbps that I get from my house.
I’m using them in the same Zyxel 5G router.

Around 520Mbps indoor for U Mobile. Good enough for a backup line because I have fiber and for me to travel to my hometown which has no fixed broadband subscription.
tmc
post Nov 26 2023, 11:56 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 26 2023, 11:34 PM)
I’m using them in the same Zyxel 5G router.

Around 520Mbps indoor for U Mobile. Good enough for a backup line because I have fiber and for me to travel to my hometown which has no fixed broadband subscription.
I don't mean the router at your end. The 5g network is shared, but fan out to the provider specific routers before heading to internet. So the juice on the routers of each provider makes a difference.

fruitie
post Nov 27 2023, 01:15 AM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Nov 26 2023, 11:56 PM)
I don't mean the router at your end. The 5g network is shared, but fan out to the provider specific routers before heading to internet. So the juice on the routers of each provider makes a difference.
Oh you mean those at the base towers.
JLA
post Nov 28 2023, 09:47 AM

2,773 posts

I think so
5G just a wireless connection from user device - 5G tower - nearest telco POP
5G part are the same
*local* speedtest server auto detect your pop region
internet connection depend of telco up down stream

https://browserleaks.com/ip
click Network

tmc
post Nov 28 2023, 02:22 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Nov 28 2023, 09:47 AM)
I think so
5G just a wireless connection from user device - 5G tower - nearest telco POP
5G part are the same
*local* speedtest server auto detect your pop region
internet connection depend of telco up down stream

https://browserleaks.com/ip
click Network
Maybe there is such a thing called a tier based bundle or package, which one provider gets the amount it subscribes to ? In which case, then depending on the tier, each provider will perform very differently than the other.
fruitie
post Dec 1 2023, 10:06 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

It seems U Mobile 5G has issues with Apple server? I cannot update apps or it’s very slow when updating them. Once I switched to UniFi Fiber, the speed flies. Am I the only experiencing this issue?
Raymond T.
post Dec 2 2023, 03:23 AM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 1 2023, 10:06 PM)
It seems U Mobile 5G has issues with Apple server? I cannot update apps or it’s very slow when updating them. Once I switched to UniFi Fiber, the speed flies. Am I the only experiencing this issue?
Not only u mobile, using maxis / celcomdigi also slow
fruitie
post Dec 2 2023, 09:37 AM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(Raymond T. @ Dec 2 2023, 03:23 AM)
Not only u mobile, using maxis / celcomdigi also slow
I see. Something is wrong then.

Edit: It seems ok now. I can update apps and it’s fast.

Edit 2: Only for certain apps. Some still slow.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 2 2023, 09:44 AM
mlamlam
post Dec 2 2023, 09:56 AM

652 posts

How come TRX mall no 5G.... and some more YTL whole mall no signal
MyProLife
post Dec 2 2023, 01:19 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,068 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 2 2023, 09:56 AM)
How come TRX mall no 5G.... and some more YTL whole mall no signal
The reason why I will never port my main line into ytl

Ytl can use as backup line only
mlamlam
post Dec 2 2023, 02:46 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Dec 2 2023, 01:19 PM)
The reason why I will never port my main line into ytl

Ytl can use as backup line only
YTL likely no more invest on 4G , new mall open and no line at all, other CDMU full bar 4G signal
luqman98x
post Dec 3 2023, 08:10 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 2 2023, 02:46 PM)
YTL likely no more invest on 4G , new mall open and no line at all, other CDMU full bar 4G signal

They did, but to lesser degree (only a handful of sites) and seems limited to Selangor and KL area from what I know
mlamlam
post Dec 12 2023, 06:04 PM

652 posts

Yes and No

although the signal strength and the available from your terminal to tower (or even the service provider server) is similar, the end user experience is still different.
each service provider has different bandwidth from their server to outside network..

for example Unifi may be more oversea bandwidth.
your experience will be different finally by using different telco..

at least I am using Yes 5G and felt that it has big difference of browsing compared with Maxis 5G..
Use Yes 5G and have a team call, the screen sharing can go blur while I never experienced this using Maxis 5G or Unifi 4G before.
Sam Leong
post Dec 12 2023, 09:26 PM

665 posts

SA coming soon?
NagaK
post Dec 13 2023, 12:07 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 12 2023, 09:26 PM)
SA coming soon?
Which location brader?? And what is app name?
Maybe NR SA for 2nd entity lead by Telcos...

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 13 2023, 12:09 PM
Sam Leong
post Dec 13 2023, 01:08 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 13 2023, 12:07 PM)
Which location brader?? And what is app name?
Maybe NR SA for 2nd entity lead by Telcos...
Metro Prima
Network Signal Guru requires Root
also its uses N78 so I assume it's DNB one

This post has been edited by Sam Leong: Dec 13 2023, 01:09 PM
adamw
post Dec 18 2023, 03:07 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 13 2023, 01:08 PM)
Metro Prima
Network Signal Guru requires Root
also its uses N78 so I assume it's DNB one
HTC 5G hub very cheap in China but without N28 so is N78 widely available?

135 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 >Top

0.0307sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:41 AM