tax for oversea trading /dividend, its become more complicated

SUSxander83
post Nov 13 2021, 03:03 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 10 2021, 09:15 PM)
I don't trust crypto.
You worry about exchange manipulation right?
abcn1n
post Nov 13 2021, 03:50 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2021, 10:50 AM)
No. It's account where you can received and send foreign currency like a local in that country. You will even have a virtual bank account with your own account number.
Ramjade Hmmm... I have some USD in my Wise account. And my USD has an account # (checking account). So I guess I have borderless?
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2021, 06:22 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Nov 13 2021, 03:50 PM)
Ramjade Hmmm... I have some USD in my Wise account. And my USD has an account # (checking account). So I guess I have borderless?
Most likely. But if you want to confirm, check and see if you have banks cciunt inside wise or not. If you can view your bank account, it is confirm you have borderless account.
SUSTOS
post Nov 13 2021, 06:30 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...xation-malaysia
Hansel
post Nov 13 2021, 08:56 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 13 2021, 06:30 PM)
Initiative partially defeated ??
SUSxander83
post Nov 13 2021, 10:33 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2021, 08:56 PM)
Initiative partially defeated ??
Most likely will failed because cross border workers will be affected the most doh.gif
dwRK
post Nov 14 2021, 12:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Nov 13 2021, 10:33 PM)
Most likely will failed because cross border workers will be affected the most  doh.gif
maybe they purposely target these ppl... and those migrate overseas then come back to retire because cheap... laugh.gif

anyways it's stupid and I wish it fail...
oe_kintaro
post Nov 16 2021, 01:43 PM

2,222 posts

Right now I have funds tied to a foreign equities (US) brokerage. I happen to have a SG bank multicurrency account. Would it make sense to just leave it all outside the country? I was thinking of just directing my profits to Singapore after I sell my US stocks instead of bringing it back
dwRK
post Nov 16 2021, 04:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Nov 16 2021, 01:43 PM)
Right now I have funds tied to a foreign equities (US) brokerage. I happen to have a SG bank multicurrency account. Would it make sense to just leave it all outside the country? I was thinking of just directing my profits to Singapore after I sell my US stocks instead of bringing it back
depends how much and what you need it for... unless you migrate, eventually excess you probably want it back...

decision is move some now... or wait n hope the law changes in future in your favor

oe_kintaro
post Nov 16 2021, 07:03 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 16 2021, 04:54 PM)
depends how much and what you need it for... unless you migrate, eventually excess you probably want it back...

decision is move some now... or wait n hope the law changes in future in your favor
Don't really need in a hurry. Maybe I'll just leave it there for the time being
ozak
post Nov 16 2021, 07:20 PM

17,025 posts

I have a foreign debit Visa card and if I take cash from ATM here, do I need to declare? or buy something here.
SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2021, 08:15 PM

8,667 posts

It's confirmed.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20211116/%e7%a8%...8d%8a%e5%b9%b4/

https://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/KM_LHDNM...LUAR_NEGARA.pdf

1st half of 2022 rate is 3%, no auditing done during that period.

Another "article"

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/look...nsourced-income

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 16 2021, 08:19 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 16 2021, 08:55 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 16 2021, 08:15 PM)
Thanks. I am not remitting my money back. All the more reasons for me not to bring my money back to Malaysia.
elea88 now you can plan ahead.
Hansel well bro, now it's confirm. For incoming remittance.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 16 2021, 08:56 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2021, 08:57 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 16 2021, 08:55 PM)
Thanks. I am not remitting my money back. All the more reasons for me not to bring my money back to Malaysia.
elea88 now you can plan ahead.
Me too. In fact I want to sell more ASNB funds and bring out to look for better opportunities. laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 16 2021, 09:01 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 16 2021, 08:57 PM)
Me too. In fact I want to sell more ASNB funds and bring out to look for better opportunities. laugh.gif
I found out that I don't need to depend on EPF or asnb anymore. I can generate basically min double what they give me every year without fail. Even more so know with my options.

Actually asnb is good as in local income. But yoy declining is a "bad dividend counter". Lol.
dwRK
post Nov 16 2021, 09:33 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

I'm happy to pay tax for new money that hasn't been taxed...

but force me to pay tax twice is too much lah...
dwRK
post Nov 16 2021, 10:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 16 2021, 07:20 PM)
I have a foreign debit Visa card and if I take cash from ATM here, do I need to declare? or buy something here.
atm cash is remittance lah in a way

local purchases... imho can argue not remittance or money received locally... but who knows idiots at MOF what they thinking
wotvr
post Nov 19 2021, 09:46 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 16 2021, 07:20 PM)
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 16 2021, 10:31 PM)
atm cash is remittance lah in a way

local purchases... imho can argue not remittance or money received locally... but who knows idiots at MOF what they thinking
I think shouldn't be an issue. I don't think they are able to enforce anything on foreign banks. I don't think we are able to trace the from the numerous foreign bank card ATM withdrawals here in Malaysia.
ozak
post Nov 19 2021, 10:01 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(wotvr @ Nov 19 2021, 09:46 AM)
I think shouldn't be an issue. I don't think they are able to enforce anything on foreign banks. I don't think we are able to trace the from the numerous foreign bank card ATM withdrawals here in Malaysia.
Sure bo? drool.gif

Like that I can bring back hundred k back. tongue.gif
wotvr
post Nov 19 2021, 10:10 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 19 2021, 10:01 AM)
Sure bo?  drool.gif

Like that I can bring back hundred k back.  tongue.gif
Not very sure for large amts like that. You may consider to check with a tax consultant. The foreign bank like those in SG might report your behavior to authorities in SG and MY.

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0254sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:29 PM