QUOTE(blahbleh @ Oct 20 2025, 01:06 PM)
replaced entire steering rack... billed close to 3k if not becoz of warranty...LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1
LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1
Oct 20 2025, 02:38 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sector 1921B, Delta Quadrant |
QUOTE(blahbleh @ Oct 20 2025, 01:06 PM) replaced entire steering rack... billed close to 3k if not becoz of warranty... |
Oct 20 2025, 03:04 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,117 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Oct 20 2025, 01:04 PM) Though I have a different car but I'll probably chime in about steering rack. I drove the current GN2 City now on its 4th year, and my steering developed clicking sound last year. Went to SC, they say the clicking sound too soft to be able to claim warranty from HQ. Fast forward this year when I raised the issue again after the clicking sound grew louder, they said claim warranty straight away, no questions ask. Both instances same SC. The City is my 2nd Honda, and warranty is ending next month. When ppl fall in love with the car. We tend to ignore the bad things. My bro in law accord also kena and I ignore. A few of my friends city also kena steering rack, I also ignore. Now the affair ended . Tbh I don’t mind the clicky sound. But the sticking steering is dangerous, as it does not return to center when released. Will make you sh!tbrix for 0.2s during corners.Seeing that steering rack issue is so prevalent in most Honda models, seems like I have to look elsewhere for my next car. Thanks for the input guys... |
Oct 20 2025, 03:29 PM
4,330 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 20 2025, 03:04 PM) When ppl fall in love with the car. We tend to ignore the bad things. My bro in law accord also kena and I ignore. A few of my friends city also kena steering rack, I also ignore. Now the affair ended . Tbh I don’t mind the clicky sound. But the sticking steering is dangerous, as it does not return to center when released. Will make you sh!tbrix for 0.2s during corners. Yes it’s the sticky steering which I cannot see pass.. |
Oct 21 2025, 09:21 AM
5,365 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Oct 20 2025, 01:04 PM) I'll be honestIf you don't want EV, especially China EV Don't want China ICE cars Don't want local cars Don't have budget for Conti brands like BBA in the market for B C Segments (*in toddler voice* D for dead Sad to say Honda has pretty much monopolized that segment with their CKD Melaka production Corolla cross maybe can pull some Toyota loyalist, or Vios, but my god that Perodua quality and overall P2 interior. Personally, I'd take the steering rack issue any day compared to the other competition. I , too, have sold the Civic FE e spec, as bro in law threw in an offer we couldn't resist for his pristine HRV EHEV hybrid, and my wife wanted a taller car as it was difficult to carry our newborn into the very low positioned Civic rear seats (and into the baby seat) This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 21 2025, 11:26 AM |
Oct 21 2025, 11:11 AM
12,411 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2025, 09:21 AM) I'll be honest China is not just EV, there's plenty of choices for ICE as well eg: from Chery or JaecooIf you don't want EV, especially China EV Don't want local cars Don't have budget for Conti brands like BBA in the market for B C Segments (*in toddler voice* D for dead Sad to say Honda has pretty much monopolized that segment with their CKD Melaka production Corolla cross maybe can pull some Toyota loyalist, or Vios, but my god that Perodua quality and overall P2 interior. Personally, I'd take the steering rack issue any day compared to the other competition. I , too, have sold the Civic FE e spec, as bro in law threw in an offer we couldn't resist for his pristine HRV EHEV hybrid, and my wife wanted a taller car as it was difficult to carry our newborn into the very low positioned Civic rear seats (and into the baby seat) but if strictly looking for sedan, then yeah your options are very limited. I'll just bite the bullet and go Model 3 or Seal This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 21 2025, 11:20 AM Quazacolt liked this post
Oct 21 2025, 11:28 AM
6,617 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2025, 09:21 AM) I'll be honest True on not liking EV frm C or others n yes H with Hybrid is good n pwrful and really fuel efficient.If you don't want EV, especially China EV Don't want local cars Don't have budget for Conti brands like BBA in the market for B C Segments (*in toddler voice* D for dead Sad to say Honda has pretty much monopolized that segment with their CKD Melaka production Corolla cross maybe can pull some Toyota loyalist, or Vios, but my god that Perodua quality and overall P2 interior. Personally, I'd take the steering rack issue any day compared to the other competition. I , too, have sold the Civic FE e spec, as bro in law threw in an offer we couldn't resist for his pristine HRV EHEV hybrid, and my wife wanted a taller car as it was difficult to carry our newborn into the very low positioned Civic rear seats (and into the baby seat) As for me I'm like stuck with H frm FC n G10 also GM6 now(son's but using it most of the time for wrk) thinking of next H like FL1 or even the FE HeV .I gt like Stockholm syndrome with H as now familiar with the issues and can anticipate wat to repair Quazacolt liked this post
Oct 21 2025, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 21 2025, 11:11 AM) China is not just EV, there's plenty of choices for ICE as well eg: from Chery or Jaecoo Ok I edit to include China ICE lolbut if strictly looking for sedan, then yeah your options are very limited. I'll just bite the bullet and go Model 3 or Seal Their cars seem to have completely different driving dynamics lol (to my limited experience on the X70, lol yes I do admit, very very limited) Model 3 referring to Tesla? and seal being BYD? Both EV sedan right? |
Oct 21 2025, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 21 2025, 11:28 AM) H with Hybrid is good n pwrful and really fuel efficient. Honda latest hybrid is good, just, pricing not so good. (Or the funny meme that it's not Honda expensive, it's I poor As for me I'm like stuck with H frm FC n G10 also GM6 now(son's but using it most of the time for wrk) thinking of next H like FL1 or even the FE HeV .I gt like Stockholm syndrome with H as now familiar with the issues and can anticipate wat to repair FL1 as in Civic hatchback, non type R? I know a LYN forumer who just gotten his unit! Maybe he can contribute some UOA lol Lol @ Stockholm syndrome |
Oct 21 2025, 11:58 AM
12,411 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2025, 11:48 AM) Ok I edit to include China ICE lol ride and handling had always been an issue with China cars. but this is slowly changing now for certain brands once they start shifting their RnD focus, they have the budget to do so as wellTheir cars seem to have completely different driving dynamics lol (to my limited experience on the X70, lol yes I do admit, very very limited) Model 3 referring to Tesla? and seal being BYD? Both EV sedan right? yes Tesla M3 and BYD Seal. tbh other than them being EV (this is up to everyone to decide whether they're ok with it), no sedan come close to their driving feel in the same price range (at least until the taxes return next year) Quazacolt liked this post
Oct 21 2025, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2025, 11:57 AM) Honda latest hybrid is good, just, pricing not so good. (Or the funny meme that it's not Honda expensive, it's I poor The En1Hrv drop alot n yes He cost more to maintain so the RV also drops alot.FL1 as in Civic hatchback, non type R? I know a LYN forumer who just gotten his unit! Maybe he can contribute some UOA lol Lol @ Stockholm syndrome Ya FL1 is hatchback ,looks closer to Type R . Thought of getting the manual type . Quazacolt liked this post
Oct 21 2025, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 21 2025, 12:41 PM) The En1Hrv drop alot n yes He cost more to maintain so the RV also drops alot. ah that HRV EV? E:N1 ?Ya FL1 is hatchback ,looks closer to Type R . Thought of getting the manual type . RM150k (retail price, before HM throw price lol) bro, how to compare? and even so, tax free! imagine once 2026 and excise duty back, pushing it up to maybe 200-300k. how? LOL then, imagine Tesla Model 3, and BYD Seal, between 300-400k. how? still damn good driving feel? pocket already no feel lol. $ 404 manual have my support! but i only have some driving exp. for FD2R / very vague FK8 (only stand still at dealer lot) feel on those 2 FF type R cable shifter. no info on FL5 much less FL1 manual at all. |
Oct 21 2025, 08:05 PM
1,690 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Oct 21 2025, 08:54 PM
Oct 22 2025, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 21 2025, 12:41 PM) The En1Hrv drop alot n yes He cost more to maintain so the RV also drops alot. I wonder how to support the steering independently for this model without factory service?Ya FL1 is hatchback ,looks closer to Type R . Thought of getting the manual type . I have 2 of these examples in my condo and I always curious to ask. But shy l of course I always loved the hatch form factor Quazacolt liked this post
Oct 22 2025, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 22 2025, 08:27 AM) I wonder how to support the steering independently for this model without factory service? Then hv to do it outside, nowdays they refurbished it it's mostly at the plastic gearing.I have 2 of these examples in my condo and I always curious to ask. But shy l of course I always loved the hatch form factor My FC done once outside for less than 1.9k,4yrs back Quazacolt liked this post
Nov 12 2025, 02:24 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Your Neighbour |
Anyone encounter rattling sound from B pillar?
My driver side seat belt been giving issue. 5-6 times in SC already , they tested ok but once i drive out , sound came back. All they did was just adding foam. Anyone can advise any long term solution ? Which SC solve your issue? Cheers! |
Nov 12 2025, 03:34 PM
4,030 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(honkit @ Nov 12 2025, 02:24 PM) Anyone encounter rattling sound from B pillar? Long time ago when faced rattling, Global Amity Bangi resolved my case. Other SC kinda as u, wrote solve via etc2My driver side seat belt been giving issue. 5-6 times in SC already , they tested ok but once i drive out , sound came back. All they did was just adding foam. Anyone can advise any long term solution ? Which SC solve your issue? Cheers! |
Nov 12 2025, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(honkit @ Nov 12 2025, 02:24 PM) Anyone encounter rattling sound from B pillar? I am a very DIY person, My driver side seat belt been giving issue. 5-6 times in SC already , they tested ok but once i drive out , sound came back. All they did was just adding foam. Anyone can advise any long term solution ? Which SC solve your issue? Cheers! https://www.civic11forum.com/threads/solved...ew=1#post-64984 |
Nov 13 2025, 03:50 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Your Neighbour |
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 12 2025, 03:34 PM) Long time ago when faced rattling, Global Amity Bangi resolved my case. Other SC kinda as u, wrote solve via etc2 wow nice. thanks for the heads upQUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 12 2025, 04:09 PM) This is exactly the thing. Thanks for sharing this. Will give it a try. |
Nov 14 2025, 06:44 PM
10,061 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Sheffield |
Tested the RS and felt so bumpy, the V will be much better in term of comfort ?
Almost every showroom only can test RS |
| Change to: | 0.0176sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:04 AM |