QUOTE(matrix88 @ Nov 23 2021, 02:25 PM)
in business no one likes price increase, but if RM price keep increasing, you do not have a choice as you are unable to absorb the cost any further. It is not only effecting H, T and others including our local P will be effected and all will have no choice but to pass on the increase to consumers.
still remember few year back, camry was only selling at 150k, today it is 190+k, accord was also about 140k, now 190k too C segment Mazda 3 selling price already 160k.
it is unavoidable because almost all cost have increased, it will probably be hyper inflation this round.
if cannot effort C segment then need to downgrade to B segment or lower lo.....
dealer either have to cut spec to save costs, or offer full spec with high price. More so if it's CBU
in the end consumer lose
this is the reality with our car market thanks to our policy and lousy currency
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 23 2021, 08:23 PM)
I think E starting from 120k is still perhaps palatable. Anywhere near 130k as a starting point is telling everyone to take a hard look at Corolla (CBU), Corolla cross, Subaru, or Mazda 3, CRV, cx-5 for the RS.
I would've easily chose the Corolla over Civic if its not because of the shit interior
Mazda 3 everything is nice but I somehow can't stomach the fact its the most expensive but still using torsion beam at the rear when both Civic and Corolla have independent setup and double wishbones
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 23 2021, 09:16 PM)
so, suppose E spec with 1.5T, manual seats, 7in display with no android auto, 16in, and FABRIC seats, no auto wiper, likely weak sauce speaker system
vs 1.8G electric seat, 9in display, 17in alloy, leather seats, auto wiper, not so weak sauce speakers and "shitty" interior both same price, which one will you buy? Hypothetically, Rm130k upper estimate for the E spec.
Or would you still feel justified to spend 10k more and uptrim the FE Civic to get everything comparable to the Altis, while keeping the interior that you like? (Which for the purpose of this hypothetical question means 140k for V spec).
I'm inclined to spend more just for the Civic
But if UMW release the Corolla Hybrid that might change my decision. Not a fan of SUVs so Corolla Cross is out of the question
My only gripe with the Corolla is the head unit and also the centre console design/layout. And its quite a big one since you spend most of your time in the car. Drive and ride wise I prefer it over the current FC Civic, not sure how much improvement will the new Civic bring. And oh yeah.... that lackluster 1.8 engine, that's why I'm also waiting for the hybrid
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 23 2021, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 23 2021, 09:26 PM)
on the subject of torsion beam vs multi link or even A-Arm or fully independent suspension - I don't really care as long as it works. What i mean by works of course is it sits people comfortable, handles reasonably and won't roll too much.
I mean, you have wira with rear multilink suspensions and they are not exactly known for much. Neither will I be subjecting my family sedan to the 3.5G corners at 100km/h.
Given everything else is the same (spring firmness, tuning etc), torsion beam will still be less comfortable than an independent or double wishbone setup when u go over rough roads
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 23 2021, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 23 2021, 10:21 PM)
to me the 1.5t is quite a far bit more powerful than the 1.8NA corolla. Its like comparing a horse and a donkey. But sad to say I've driven prius and the atkinson cycle 1.8 with electric assist is also just as sleepy as 1.8NA. I have no hope for it.
Either way I know what I need - a safe, C segment (size), some form of carplay and reliability. After that, as low a price as possible.
I think anything else goes to the price vs feature column.
On paper is already obvious the honda 1.5t is more powerful than the toyota 1.8 na. Numbers are higher and the torque comes in much earlier at lower RPM
I haven't test driven the Corolla Cross hybrid yet but that should give a clear picture on that power train and Corolla sedan is supposed to be slightly lighter. Correct me if I'm wrong but this 1.8 hybrid setup is supposedly from a new generation unlike the previous one in Prius.
Another wishful thinking is UMW pairing the 2.0 Dynamic Force engine with the Corolla
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 23 2021, 10:31 PM
Honestly was dissapointed RS not gonna come with the 10.2 inch driver display also.... that was one of the main highlights for new civic
As mentioned by someone previously I rather they downgrade the rims and give us the display. Someone who is not happy with the stock rims is gonna change it aftermarket anyway...
Maybe its wise to wait a bit, who knows Honda might do what they did by adding Honda Sensing to City V. Civic might get full display for later batches
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 24 2021, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 24 2021, 02:52 PM)
so unfortunately with City, you are forced to pay for everything, when all you may want is safety. (That's what I meant by its expensive). I don't mean that the safety features are not worth it, I mean I don't know what its actually worth when you force me to buy the whole premium package. I'd really like for them to give me the option to choose what kind of stupid trim (the things I may want) while maintaining a minimum, highest safety rating base model (the thing I need). If they don't or cannot then you know they are trying to earn more by assuming it is worth more than the sum of its parts.
This is actually very normal for other countries where you choose a base model or spec, then you can add on features or packs that you need or what not
Unfortunately its not the norm here. Although recently I've noticed the premium Germans (BMW for example) start to offer such options
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 7 2021, 10:55 AM)
Thanks! I rechecked, you are not wrong there bro. I also just told mentioned if its the same as Prius (Atkinson 1.8) it will be sluggish.
1. Is definitely not the 2L Toyota hybrid Force from Corolla. 2. The bloody salesman (again) from toyota told me it is 170PS and 350Nm. Looks like completely UNTRUE, it is nearer to 122PS/140Nm...I asked the fella is this the same system performance as a Prius and he told me no...anyway kena tipu again. Oh well it is more of less off my list for now. Whats the point in buying an expensive engine that is lower in performance, only to end up spending all that petrol savings into a new battery in 8-10 years.....Nett is more money out of pocket, who counts that carbon? 3. I don't even want to test drive a 122hp / 140Nm version of the thing I already tested at 139hp/170Nm....
The one thing that is not so accurate is that all hybrid batteries run out of charge if you don't decelerate, there is not much change in that regard. I think it is generally counted in minutes of capacity. Not hours.
Its still worth test driving though because sometimes its not just every on paper
Theoretically the hybrid should still give better off the line performance because of the electric motor giving assistance rather than just the sole 1.8 engine
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 7 2021, 12:09 PM)
I suppose that's reasonable advice. But I believe I will only test drive AFTER Civic is announced (knowing more information).
I'm wondering if all the customers test drive 5min, randomly depending on luck the damn battery may be in zero charge also....lol...and there is no plug in....Is it they have to keep the engine running all the time to ensure the battery is charged?
Unless they keep using the ev or eco mode, i doubt the battery will be flat. But ya its one thing to take note when testing a hybrid
I would say spec and kit - Everything has a price. You can't satisfy everyone and potentially many will be disappointed that either its too expensive (too much kit) OR too cheap (not enough kit).
Perhaps RS should have it all. And price it accordingly. RM165k maybe?
165k is too much probably
I'm pretty sure they are able to include the 10.2 inch cluster for the RS and keep the price below 150k
But oh well I'm not working for Honda so there must be a reason they exclude it. Maybe due to the chip shortages as well. It will probably appear for later batches or the facelift in this case
Pauline released a first impression review. You guys can check it out from the website
At Sepang, Honda Malaysia wheeled out both an FC Civic 1.5 TC-P as well as a Corolla 1.8G for us to make a back-to-back comparison with the FE. Accelerating hard out of the gate, the first thing that struck me was just how refined the new car was compared to the outgoing model. Yes, with the CVT, the engine was still screaming at the redline, but it was quieter and had a much smoother sound compared to the previous mill, which was really rather raucous on the throttle.
Despite the extra power and torque, the FE didn’t feel noticeably more muscular than the FC. As before, the engine lacked the distinct shove in the back of a boosted European mill, instead building speed in a linear fashion – almost as if it was a much bigger naturally-aspirated engine. Both the FE and FC had the measure of the Corolla in straight-line performance, despite the latter’s larger cubic capacity.
The revised CVT made more of a difference to the way the new Civic drove. It responded marginally quicker to throttle inputs, but the biggest improvement was the simulated gear changes using the paddle shifters. Instead of excessively slurring its “shifts”, the transmission moved up and down the virtual ratios in a much snappier and more natural manner, acting like a modern automatic or even a dual-clutch transmission.
The dreaded CVT whine was still there, of course, but it was much more muted compared to the (admittedly tired) FC example, the transmission of which protested audibly at higher revs. The big speeds that we were carrying on the straights (in excess of 150 km/h) meant that assessing road and wind noise was difficult, but for what it’s worth, the FE didn’t feel any noisier than the FC, which was already one of the more refined cars in its class – if you excluded the engine and CVT, of course.