336 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 > » Bottom

LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1

Haruharu37
post Oct 4 2022, 07:20 AM

19 posts

Wonder what is the speed capped for Civic RS e:HEV. I have asked my friends / colleagues to think twice to go for HRV RS spec due to the top speed is capped at 170kmph, if they are okay with that.

For me then definitely I am not okay with it lol
lee82gx
post Oct 4 2022, 08:08 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Haruharu37 @ Oct 4 2022, 07:20 AM)
Wonder what is the speed capped for Civic RS e:HEV. I have asked my friends / colleagues to think twice to go for HRV RS spec due to the top speed is capped at 170kmph, if they are okay with that.

For me then definitely I am not okay with it lol
Watch the clip linked above bro. Still close to 200. But really, 170 not fast enough?

Pls alert me when you are on the road so that I can make way……🤓
Haruharu37
post Oct 4 2022, 08:46 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 4 2022, 08:08 AM)
Watch the clip linked above bro. Still close to 200. But really, 170 not fast enough?

From the video, you can only see the speed but you can't know if the car is modded or tuned (warranty void if do so for most people concern here), and I have watched Civic FC video with 230kmph with ktuner stage 2 before.

Need refer to the official speed capped limit to the car model, and I have just searched for it which is 180kmph for Civic eHEV.

If you ask me 170kmph fast enough? I would said it is pretty fast enough for me as most of time I drive 140kmph max if there is no front car on my lane. If you ask me 170kmph as top speed fast enough? I will definitely say no.

Yes make way for the faster car on fast lane is very good practice and civilized move, and most people would appreciate it.
ayamxxx
post Oct 4 2022, 08:47 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 4 2022, 08:08 AM)

go to SUKE during off peak hours devil.gif
ayamxxx
post Oct 4 2022, 08:48 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Haruharu37 @ Oct 4 2022, 08:46 AM)
From the video, you can only see the speed but you can't know if the car is modded or tuned (warranty void if do so for most people concern here), and I have watched Civic FC video with 230kmph with ktuner stage 2 before.

Need refer to the official speed capped limit to the car model, and I have just searched for it which is 180kmph for Civic eHEV.

If you ask me 170kmph fast enough? I would said it is pretty fast enough for me as most of time I drive 140kmph max if there is no front car on my lane. If you ask me 170kmph as top speed fast enough? I will definitely say no.

Yes make way for the faster car on fast lane is very good practice and civilized move, and most people would appreciate it.
afraid for his CVT gb
Haruharu37
post Oct 4 2022, 09:04 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 4 2022, 08:48 AM)
afraid for his CVT gb
God bless his CVT.
ben3003
post Oct 4 2022, 12:37 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Haruharu37 @ Oct 4 2022, 08:46 AM)

It is more civilized to follow the speed limit i guess?
Haruharu37
post Oct 4 2022, 01:07 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 4 2022, 12:37 PM)
It is more civilized to follow the speed limit i guess?
Definitely following speed limit is civilized too. For me if comparing speeding VERSUS driving slow in fast lane while other cars behind, which 1 is more uncivilized, I would say the latter is worse.

If you're able to follow both practices most of your lifetime on road, then it is the best and you're doing good for the society. I definitely failed to do so as Penang second bridge speed limit is only 80kmph and I believe it is more dangerous to follow the speed limit versus speeding.
ZeneticX
post Oct 4 2022, 02:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

If HM gonna just bring in Thai spec eHEV EL+ and slot it above Turbo RS.... doesnt actually make sense to me. So far all eHEV models in Msia (City and HRV) are RS spec

Bringing in the Civic eHEV and pairing it with lower spec just seems to undermine the model a bit despite it coming with the more powerful powertrain

And really if still no full digital cockpit.... its gonna be in the facelift already. I'll just keep waiting (so hard to add this in meh? Thai, Indon, Phillipines and Vietnam can do it why can't we? We are also one of Honda's largest market in SEA)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 4 2022, 02:51 PM
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2022, 02:54 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 4 2022, 02:40 PM)
If HM gonna just bring in Thai spec eHEV EL+ and slot it above Turbo RS.... doesnt actually make sense to me. So far all eHEV models in Msia (City and HRV) are RS spec

Bringing in the Civic eHEV and pairing it with lower spec just seems to undermine the model a bit despite it coming with the more powerful powertrain
it make sense, since ehev is more complex, and more cost (batteries etc, and hybrids doesn't seem to get the same incentives as pure EVs)
i guess you can go RS eHEV, above RS Turbo both continued to be offered, or just keep RS eHEV and decom RS Turbo

and to correct - eHEV is definitely NOT more powerful than turbo.
despite the paper specs and combined power trains added up power figures and again, EV 0-100 awesome paper specs.
EV component is a huge variable with many conditions and what ifs.
you want motorsports, then turbo is still having a very strong foot hold /firm vice grip over electric power train.

that said, you do get quicker ~0.5 second 0-100 kph when the battery is well charged and ready to go, and you do get battery instant torque from stop-go's, at the cost of more weight (even more so than that compact turbocharger that i already bitch about lol) and a weaker 2.0 NA that's Atkinson cycle based and an "even more fake" eCVT.
that's why it gets a weaker top end and top speed as it was never meant for that application. it'll win on city/urban driving and of course fuel conservation which the downsized turbo civic pales in comparison.

ultimately, it depends on what you want.
ZeneticX
post Oct 4 2022, 03:01 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 4 2022, 02:54 PM)
it make sense, since ehev is more complex, and more cost (batteries etc, and hybrids doesn't seem to get the same incentives as pure EVs)
i guess you can go RS eHEV, above RS Turbo both continued to be offered, or just keep RS eHEV and decom RS Turbo

and to correct - eHEV is definitely NOT more powerful than turbo.
despite the paper specs and combined power trains added up power figures and again, EV 0-100 awesome paper specs.
EV component is a huge variable with many conditions and what ifs.
you want motorsports, then turbo is still having a very strong foot hold /firm vice grip over electric power train.

that said, you do get quicker ~0.5 second 0-100 kph when the battery is well charged and ready to go, and you do get battery instant torque from stop-go's, at the cost of more weight (even more so than that compact turbocharger that i already bitch about lol) and a weaker 2.0 NA that's Atkinson cycle based and an "even more fake" eCVT.
that's why it gets a weaker top end and top speed as it was never meant for that application. it'll win on city/urban driving and of course fuel conservation which the downsized turbo civic pales in comparison.

ultimately, it depends on what you want.
Valid points

The battery pack will definitely add more weight to the car but since its placed below the rear passenger seat, I'm thinking it might help a bit on the weight distribution of the car. So the eHEV Civic might end up better to handle and more composed on the road? Just speculation without hands on testing

Also the fake 'eCVT' might also be better than the standard CVT since its technically not a transmission, the engine and motor infront drives the front wheel directly (you can say kinda similar to Koenigsegg's direct drive technology), so probably less power loss there? Again probably just my arm chair engineer mind speaking here.

Haruharu37
post Oct 4 2022, 03:06 PM

19 posts

Civic FE might be the last civic RS spec to have the turbo engine, next gen onward might be only eHEV RS model instead I guess.
ayamxxx
post Oct 4 2022, 03:11 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 4 2022, 02:40 PM)

And really if still no full digital cockpit.... its gonna be in the facelift already. I'll just keep waiting (so hard to add this in meh? Thai, Indon, Phillipines and Vietnam can do it why can't we? We are also one of Honda's largest market in SEA)
due to tax, the hybrid sure gets an advantage from it? so if yes, maybe same or slightly increase price from RS but plenty more features that miss on RS
ZeneticX
post Oct 4 2022, 03:21 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 4 2022, 03:11 PM)
due to tax, the hybrid sure gets an advantage from it? so if yes, maybe same or slightly increase price from RS but plenty more features that miss on RS
Dont think hybrids still get any tax insentives, only full EVs now

But some banks like RHB offer something called Green loans nowadays. U get lower interest rate for hybrid and EVs
vkashin
post Oct 4 2022, 03:24 PM

335 posts

best case scenario they keep the current line up but bring in both Thai EL+ and RS e:HEV models, with EL+ just below/just above the current RS..

or HM might replace V and current 1.5T RS with EL+ and RS e:HEV only?
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2022, 03:29 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 4 2022, 03:01 PM)
Valid points

The battery pack will definitely add more weight to the car but since its placed below the rear passenger seat, I'm thinking it might help a bit on the weight distribution of the car. So the eHEV Civic might end up better to handle and more composed on the road? Just speculation without hands on testing

Also the fake 'eCVT' might also be better than the standard CVT since its technically not a transmission, the engine and motor infront drives the front wheel directly (you can say kinda similar to Koenigsegg's direct drive technology), so probably less power loss there? Again probably just my arm chair engineer mind speaking here.
hahaha noooooo you think honda too up la.
you need to factor in rear passenger seat space, fuel tank and also rear luggage space.

yeah you may think the battery's weight at the rear would help a bit on weight distribution, but the additional components in the front, and electric motors strictly being in the front, completely negates whatever benefit provided by the rear battery location (in addition to eating up rear passenger/boot space.
and again, i don't care if you achieve 50:50, added weight is still added weight.
assuming all else being equal (power/power to weight ratio/suspensions etc etc) a much lighter 60:40 car will always be better than a much heavier 50:50 car.
EV and motorsports and ride and handling is still very far fetch and currently, only off set by more premium /luxury engineering and components (read: rich man toy)

if you say standard cvt is not a transmission, electric motor stepping eCVT is even far fetched from being a transmission.

nooooo this is FAR from Koenigsegg 's direct drive LOL
https://www.carthrottle.com/post/engineerin...hout-a-gearbox/
this thing literally have no gear box, no transmission. not your idea of how "CVT is not a transmission" (lol... that's a bit snobbish if you ask me assuming you REALLY hate CVT)

linked you many resources from non arm chair engineers so you will be less of an arm chair engineer. (no i'm not an engineer by any means, just passionate in automotive/motorsports.
ZeneticX
post Oct 4 2022, 03:38 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 4 2022, 03:29 PM)
hahaha noooooo you think honda too up la.
you need to factor in rear passenger seat space, fuel tank and also rear luggage space.

yeah you may think the battery's weight at the rear would help a bit on weight distribution, but the additional components in the front, and electric motors strictly being in the front, completely negates whatever benefit provided by the rear battery location (in addition to eating up rear passenger/boot space.
and again, i don't care if you achieve 50:50, added weight is still added weight.
assuming all else being equal (power/power to weight ratio/suspensions etc etc) a much lighter 60:40 car will always be better than a much heavier 50:50 car.
EV and motorsports and ride and handling is still very far fetch and currently, only off set by more premium /luxury engineering and components (read: rich man toy)

if you say standard cvt is not a transmission, electric motor stepping eCVT is even far fetched from being a transmission.

nooooo this is FAR from Koenigsegg 's direct drive LOL
https://www.carthrottle.com/post/engineerin...hout-a-gearbox/
this thing literally have no gear box, no transmission. not your idea of how "CVT is not a transmission" (lol... that's a bit snobbish if you ask me assuming you REALLY hate CVT)

linked you many resources from non arm chair engineers so you will be less of an arm chair engineer. (no i'm not an engineer by any means, just passionate in automotive/motorsports.
I think you misunderstood my sentence. I'm saying 'eCVT' is not a transmission, not the standard CVT
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2022, 03:43 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 4 2022, 03:38 PM)
I think you misunderstood my sentence. I'm saying 'eCVT' is not a transmission, not the standard CVT
then it would be my opinion that it would be even worse.
it would still be subjected to power loss as it's hybrid motors powering the eCVT then towards wheels.

and that's kinda why Honda has yet to settle on a particular hybrid system for long term.
if you team Honda/positive light, then you can say they are always innovating.
if you non team Honda/negative light, then you can say they have no confidence in their hybrid system.

but again if you want hybrid as something fresh and new, got the money to spend, prefer the urban/city driving advantage, hey sure why not.
constant_weight
post Oct 5 2022, 09:59 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 4 2022, 03:43 PM)
then it would be my opinion that it would be even worse.
it would still be subjected to power loss as it's hybrid motors powering the eCVT then towards wheels.

and that's kinda why Honda has yet to settle on a particular hybrid system for long term.
if you team Honda/positive light, then you can say they are always innovating.
if you non team Honda/negative light, then you can say they have no confidence in their hybrid system.

but again if you want hybrid as something fresh and new, got the money to spend, prefer the urban/city driving advantage, hey sure why not.
the term eCVT has be abused, lol.

Honda i-MMD is not a eCVT, there is no variable speed/torque conversion in transmission box.
Motor -> single speed reduction gear -> final drive
Engine -> clutch pad -> single speed overdrive gear -> final drive

So you can see on high speed when engine is engaged, the engine and motor are on hard connection, thus the motor works both way.
It provides power or charging the battery controlled electronically (yes, at high speed the battery is not charged via motor generator)

Koenigsegg is different monster, there is no overdrive on the engine, it connected to final drive directly. This design is only possible with a high rev engine. Otherwise the top speed is limited by engine rpm.
Although even if we cut the rev limit from 8250rpm to 6000rpm, it still will be doing 185mph, plenty fast for us mere mortal.
2 Motors are mounted on drive shaft, and double as E Diff.
P/S: the 718 GT4RS also has similar perk top gear max rpm = top speed, with shorter gears ratio than regular 718 GT4.

I talked too much as usual, LOL. The key is neither designs are actual eCVT like Toyota HSD, that variate the MG1 rpm (sun gear), couple with engine rpm (planetary gear) for output ratio (ring gear + also MG2).
MG1 can be generator, motor, spin forward, backward (overdrive) at times. All these conversions have higher parasitic loss vs other hybrid designs that leverage hard direct mechanical connection (in order to get around Toyota pattern in the past, there were sucks in the past, but since been really smooth with modern computer, high precision sensors).
http://prius.ecrostech.com/original/Unders...gOnAsIDrive.htm

Chris90
post Oct 5 2022, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(Haruharu37 @ Oct 4 2022, 09:04 AM)
God bless his CVT.
break to have a good reasom transplant type r power train.

336 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 > » Top

0.0298sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:23 AM