LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1

lee82gx
post Mar 13 2022, 05:00 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(SatayBoy @ Mar 13 2022, 02:38 PM)
Not sure why you are being so defensive. Ppl are expecting better quality when they are paying > RM100k for a car. Is normal to have a % of lemon units due to the high sales. As we all know civic is king of c segment in Malaysia. So just admit that Honda can do a better job at here.

Ppl often compare between civic, altis and mazda3. There are ppl at here visiting thread about civic, altis and mazda3 back and forth before placing order. They want to get the best value out of it.
I wasn’t being defensive, I am acknowledging that the panels are flimsy. Hopefully you read / see the links I put to demonstrate my point that it is not a “Melaka” problem. It’s easy to say CKD problem or whatever, but I’m saying that even the North American manufactured version also same. Which leads me to say it’s more of a design choice made by Honda designer to leave it easy to flex?

But, now that I think of it, maybe the extreme case shown in FB due to screw not even fastened? Now that could be Melaka assembly issue.

Either way, I’ve never defended Honda since I haven’t get paid for it, and I’m well sensitive to the fact that you want your money’s worth. Just don’t be so paranoid that every localised OEM is out there to cheat you while a Japanese or European does not. They are all sama saja, ie trying to maximise profit, bro.
gsan
post Mar 13 2022, 06:37 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 12 2022, 10:54 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/32087842859...22489715102210/

The ceiling one I can look past it.... since you are not really gonna poke it everyday like that. But the door panel is kinda unacceptable for a car in this price range. Hope you all agree with me....
relax bro... my m3 pun macam ini laugh.gif
fa1ix
post Mar 13 2022, 08:21 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 13 2022, 08:30 AM)
You got FE or Ketam?

Seat in FE is raised in both passenger and rear

Rear for FE also may have a bit more inclination for better comfort
I have FE. But kinda funny FE passenger seat can't be raise manually . Even a 40k myvi's seat can be raise manually. Why can't civic
Quazacolt
post Mar 13 2022, 08:33 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(fa1ix @ Mar 13 2022, 08:21 PM)
I have FE. But kinda funny FE passenger seat can't be raise manually . Even a 40k myvi's seat can be raise manually. Why can't civic
Honda Malaysia shit cost cutting

To be fair I lower my driver seat lowest (awesome head room! Lol!) And it ended up lower than the passenger seat.

Wife was ok on the FE passenger only cuz there's a worse seat on my own car laugh.gif

Rear seats are higher at the hip/edge, and have much better recline (way better than HRV seats lol) but you tend to "sink" in which may or may not bode well to some people
isr25
post Mar 13 2022, 09:30 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 13 2022, 08:33 PM)
Honda Malaysia shit cost cutting

To be fair I lower my driver seat lowest (awesome head room! Lol!) And it ended up lower than the passenger seat.

Wife was ok on the FE passenger only cuz there's a worse seat on my own car laugh.gif

Rear seats are higher at the hip/edge, and have much better recline (way better than HRV seats lol) but you tend to "sink" in which may or may not bode well to some people
That “sink” in at rear seats was way worse on the 2016 FC. I had issues going in and out since i’m a big guy. Rear door opening still small though lol.
bhcs20 P
post Mar 13 2022, 10:15 PM

Probation

Anyone knows the price for v-spec with sst? As long as I book before 30th June I'm able to get one without sst?
PoisonSoul
post Mar 13 2022, 10:25 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(bhcs20 @ Mar 13 2022, 10:15 PM)
Anyone knows the price for v-spec with sst? As long as I book before 30th June I'm able to get one without sst?
No. You need to register with JPJ BEFORE 1st July 2022 to obtain price without SST. Booking b4 1st July doesnt count.

Lol if can, I go book Merc, BMW, Porsche, Lambo, Ferarri etc and tell them for my future purchase 10-20 years down the road.
lee82gx
post Mar 13 2022, 10:46 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 13 2022, 03:53 PM)
Ours can't say Japan also. Depending on how the CKD portion and manufacturing goes, our plastic may be worse material (quality) and become softer?

Plastic becoming “softer” by moulding means annealing it after moulding, it is an expensive process that does not really add value in this case. A longer cooling time in the mold could also soften the part, but again at the expense of cycle time and money….

Using a softer material is possible but it is not necessarily cheaper. PP is PP, you wanna cheap out just use recycle grade (non virgin petrochemical) but it will fail mostly through stress aging, fresh out of mold the stiffness is normally same imn my semi value analysis it is design.

Btw those clips have a cyclic life, you can typically open and close them say maybe 30 to a few hundred time. If it breaks just buy a pack of hundred in spare part shop…not very expensive haha.
Quazacolt
post Mar 14 2022, 02:38 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Mar 13 2022, 09:30 PM)
That “sink” in at rear seats was way worse on the 2016 FC. I had issues going in and out since i’m a big guy. Rear door opening still small though lol.
that's why i said may, since i am 179cm and i think it is improved over FC, and my wife having same sentiments (she is under 160cm)
and that is also maybe we're used to semi bucket seats that will be in similar fashion laugh.gif

the rear door opening is actually "wider", because of the seats being taller, you can easily get your hip to support you (at edge of seats) as you go in, again this is similar to our previous car HRV. and globally i think they are doing this to improve rear passenger comfort and ingress/egress of the car. just sorta assumption based that some wouldn't suit it due to the rather weird nature of design (accommodating everything/everyone, and you will still fail!) and i guess i hit a jackpot laugh.gif

the FC rear issue (to me) is due to the sleeker slope (sportier looks!) at the rear glass/c pillar, taller guys will have little to no head room, and you need to slouch at the back and get your legs under the front passenger seats to make due.
definitely a thing of the past in the FE.

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Mar 13 2022, 10:46 PM)
Plastic becoming “softer” by moulding means annealing it after moulding, it is an expensive process that does not really add value in this case. A longer cooling time in the mold could also soften the part, but again at the expense of cycle time and money….

Using a softer material is possible but it is not necessarily cheaper. PP is PP, you wanna cheap out just use recycle grade (non virgin petrochemical) but it will fail mostly through stress aging, fresh out of mold the stiffness is normally same imn my semi value analysis it is design.

Btw those clips have a cyclic life, you can typically open and close them say maybe 30 to a few hundred time. If it breaks just buy a pack of hundred in spare part shop…not very expensive haha.
oh no i was pondering on the idea of using cheaper/less durable plastic materials, not going as far in details such as annealing.

but yes like you've mentioned, fail through stress aging and at this point, as the car is brand new released (yes globally the rest have gotten their cars slightly earlier) aging stress is still too early to tell. i'm more on the possibility that say, recycle grade material may be softer as opposed to what you're saying is that they are the same stiffness, but the lesser material softens/breaks sooner.

yeah aware of the clips, which highlights your point of stress aging in a way too! laugh.gif

=edit=
oh ya, some panels, like in our HRV (we know because we removed a few rear trunk/5th door to route rear camera wiring) have built in clips that are not easily replaceable! god forbid those clips is what used in the Civic FE doors doh.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 14 2022, 02:39 AM
kelvinti P
post Mar 14 2022, 07:18 PM

Probation

I booked a V already.

Originally, I booked the RS but the RS's black theme is not to my liking! I still preferred a a chromy finished car!

For my V. I will add:

1. Front Grille Garnish
2. Exhaust Pipe Finisher
3. Illuminated Side Step
4. Foot Light
5. Reflective Film
cfa28
post Mar 14 2022, 07:59 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(kelvinti @ Mar 14 2022, 07:18 PM)
I booked a V already.

Originally, I booked the RS but the RS's black theme is not to my liking! I still preferred a a chromy finished car!

For my V. I will add:

1. Front Grille Garnish
2. Exhaust Pipe Finisher
3. Illuminated Side Step
4. Foot Light
5. Reflective Film
Congratulations Bro.

Did you get any rebate and what is your interest rate if you don't mind sharing

Also when is your promised delivery date
Jusstatic
post Mar 15 2022, 12:05 AM

188 posts

headunit has an option "upgrade software"

has anyone tried that yet? i loved the FC and now FE. while both the FC and FE have their flawless (no one no car is perfect), their pros far outweigh the cons. loving every min of it. i am getting every penny worth cool2.gif laugh.gif icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Jusstatic: Mar 15 2022, 12:07 AM
Jusstatic
post Mar 15 2022, 12:06 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(kelvinti @ Mar 14 2022, 07:18 PM)
I booked a V already.

For my V. I will add:

1. Front Grille Garnish
2. Exhaust Pipe Finisher
3. Illuminated Side Step
4. Foot Light
5. Reflective Film
congrats.. any plan to install modulo bodykit too? have you research on what sort of coating + ppf you wish to do? researching which brand is a headache... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jusstatic: Mar 15 2022, 12:06 AM
ayamxxx
post Mar 15 2022, 08:23 AM

4,056 posts

QUOTE(Jusstatic @ Mar 15 2022, 12:06 AM)
congrats.. any plan to install modulo bodykit too? have you research on what sort of coating + ppf you wish to do? researching which brand is a headache...  smile.gif
Tbh as same mentioned in this, the Honda paint is kinda thin. In my experience owning a 2015 Honda, the paint kinda lost out its glossy heading 4th year onwards. I prefer to send the car to reputable paint shop which using a better paint materials. So skip for the ppf price due to questionable factory honda paint.
Quazacolt
post Mar 15 2022, 09:02 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 15 2022, 08:23 AM)
Tbh as same mentioned in this, the Honda paint is kinda thin. In my experience owning a 2015 Honda, the paint kinda lost out its glossy heading 4th year onwards. I prefer to send the car to reputable paint shop which using a better paint materials. So skip for the ppf price due to questionable factory honda paint.
Something is bad doesn't mean you just give up immediately.

You could just provide better protection to compensate for the bad paint quality.
chnwng
post Mar 15 2022, 09:03 AM

23 posts

Totally agree with you. Why waste a few thousands to wrap car instead of repaint car few years later. After all honda paint is nothing extraordinary compare to, like mazda soecial colour.
Was considering full wrapping which cost 6-10k and warranty is like 7 years only. Considered hybrid ppf which cost half but noting that after removing ppf there will be 2 tone of colour due to UV.
Just my 2 cents.
ayamxxx
post Mar 15 2022, 09:18 AM

4,056 posts

QUOTE(chnwng @ Mar 15 2022, 09:03 AM)
Totally agree with you. Why waste a few thousands to wrap car instead of repaint car few years later. After all honda paint is nothing extraordinary compare to, like mazda soecial colour.
Was considering full wrapping which cost 6-10k and warranty is like 7 years only. Considered hybrid ppf which cost half but noting that after removing ppf there will be 2 tone of colour due to UV.
Just my 2 cents.
the main issue is yellowish after daily parking under the hot sun. even with the reputable ppf brand, they will suggest to parking it under a covered area to prolong the ppf life.
Jusstatic
post Mar 15 2022, 12:32 PM

188 posts

the glossy part has nothing to do with having thin paint or thick paint. it is irrelevant if you ask me

how well a car's paint hold up depends on weather, the place you park, the way you maintain. if you do not take care of your car, the glossy will be gone no matter how thick it is. i have a friend's car that looks like brand new eventhough the car is almost 8 years. a toyota. but another's friend car mazda 2 red that looks like shit after 2.5 yrs. so can i assume the mazda 2 has "thinner" paint? laugh.gif

as for ppf, i agree. re-paint or wrap would be a better way to go

This post has been edited by Jusstatic: Mar 15 2022, 12:33 PM
Jusstatic
post Mar 15 2022, 12:35 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 15 2022, 09:02 AM)
Something is bad doesn't mean you just give up immediately.

You could just provide better protection to compensate for the bad paint quality.
yup. bad paint can re-paint, put in extra protection

no interior space you cant modify laugh.gif

by the way, quazacolt, were you previously from FC thread? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jusstatic: Mar 15 2022, 12:36 PM
Quazacolt
post Mar 15 2022, 12:48 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Jusstatic @ Mar 15 2022, 12:35 PM)
yup. bad paint can re-paint, put in extra protection
no interior space you cant modify  laugh.gif

by the way, quazacolt, were you previously from FC thread?  smile.gif
just double checked myself laugh.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4421703?author=Quazacolt

nah wasn't in Civic thread(s) besides this new FE and only cuz wife bought this car.

336 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:09 PM