I know about this! [ 33 ] ** [28.45%]
I have Sleep Apnea or someone around have it. [ 31 ] ** [26.72%]
What the hell is this? [ 52 ] ** [44.83%]
Total Votes: 116

TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 12:57 AM, updated 5y ago

1,749 posts

Is it very common in Asia? Does anyone have it also here can share the experience also?

i have been diagnosed with Sleep Apnea.
now I need to sleep with a pressure machine maybe for my whole life.

Sleep Apnea can lead to:-
1. Obesity
2. Heart attack
3. Diabetes
4. acid influx
5. and many more serious sickness

My info:
173 CM
95KG
BMI - Obese

CPAP machine i currently using:

Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset, cost SGD2000
if import from USA, cost USD 1k exclude shipment. <-- required ENT prescription before can buy it.

currently using Resmed P30i nasal pillow mask and Philips DreamWisp on nasal mask.

Philips DreamWisp on nasal mask = i get <1 AHI average per night
Resmed P30i nasal pillow mask = i get 2 to 8 AHI average per night

Some useful link:
The same test done during my visit ENT. i get score 10.
http://www.apneaboard.com/sleep-apnea-info...sleepiness-test

Share by some bro here.
https://www.mdcalc.com/stop-bang-score-obst...ive-sleep-apnea

What is Sleep Apnea? watch below video

Sleep test
Full Sleep test i have done, the picture is the example.

Partial sleep test Share by PeinEVO

China Sleep Apnea device for a self home test.
https://www.contecmed.com/productinfo/602689.html

attached is an example of my report on the CPAP machine.

This post has been edited by angelgemini: Aug 15 2021, 03:42 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  report.pdf ( 1.75mb ) Number of downloads: 67
i7xQTi
post Aug 15 2021, 12:59 AM

327 posts

sleep apnea is terrible. are you obese?
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:01 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Aug 15 2021, 12:59 AM)
sleep apnea is terrible. are you obese?
yes

and the ENT specialist says,
Obese can cause sleep apnea -> sleep apnea cause obese worst cause metabolism go down, -> which cause sleep apnea more serious.
the cycle keep repeat, treatment is to stop sleep apnea problem first and losing fat, but no cure as, obese is not the main cause but do cause it more serious.
babycry123
post Aug 15 2021, 01:02 AM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

What’s the symptoms?
novblaze
post Aug 15 2021, 01:02 AM

328 posts

Since when you have the symptoms?
red streak
post Aug 15 2021, 01:03 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Cukur I only have insomnia.
i7xQTi
post Aug 15 2021, 01:03 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:01 AM)
yes

and the ENT specialist says,
Obese can cause sleep apnea -> sleep apnea cause obese worst cause metabolism go down, -> which cause sleep apnea more serious.
the cycle keep repeat, treatment is to stop sleep apnea problem first and losing fat, but no cure as, obese is not the main cause but do cause it more serious.
yeah.
take care of your health man. when sleep apnea patients go bad, they go really bad.
nakal_mode
post Aug 15 2021, 01:04 AM

34 posts

I think it is only proper to ask how does anyone knows they have it?
TSangelgemini

1,749 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:02 AM)
What’s the symptoms?
1. Snoring
2. feel tired during the day. when you sit there doing nothing, u feel like wanna sleep.
3. watch a movie, can lead you to sleep also.
4. getting more and more fat/obese
Starbucki

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

Just lose weight will help a lot
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:05 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Aug 15 2021, 01:02 AM)
Since when you have the symptoms?
during Work from home time.
when trap in house and working daily.

feel something not right, then go check and detected this issue.
Captain89

Jiken
3,190 posts

People with weakness of esophagus muscles. Sleep halfway, muscles collapse, obstruct breathing airway and apnea results. In extreme obesity, high cholesterol & LDL narrow breathing airways and apnea
Ashraf Farid

101 posts

I pencil neck sad.gif
Starbucki

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:05 AM)
People with weakness of esophagus muscles. Sleep halfway, muscles collapse, obstruct breathing airway and apnea results. In extreme obesity, high cholesterol & LDL narrow breathing airways and apnea
Lose weight can cure doc?
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:06 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 15 2021, 01:04 AM)
the ENT specialist says it will help reduce the severity but no cure.

Operation UPPP = 85% successful rate.
CPAP = 95% successful rate
Captain89
post Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 15 2021, 01:05 AM)
Lose weight can cure doc?
Yes, ayam no doc wub.gif
Mostly in extreme obese individuals apnea will be prominent

This post has been edited by Captain89: Aug 15 2021, 01:08 AM
i7xQTi

327 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:02 AM)
What’s the symptoms?
fatigue despite sufficient sleep, somnolence, waking up at night due to breathlessness, snoring. these are the usual red flag early symptoms

sleep study appointment is hard to get, and once youre diagnosed the cpap machine is expensive.
SUSceo684

Component Burner
11,667 posts

is sleep apnea same as chronic insomnia?
dino5aurus

39 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:05 AM)

How the doctor diagnosed you? Give u a device to wear during sleep at home?
Starbucki
post Aug 15 2021, 01:08 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM)
Yes, ayam no doc wub.gif
Soon ma
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:08 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:05 AM)
the still an unknown reason why this happens.
cause Sleep Apnea happens on a normal person, children or anymore.
Obese people have a higher chance to have it, as the fat at the neck will effectively help to block the airway.
no permanent cure yet now.

CPAP machine can help it effectively.

i7xQTi
post Aug 15 2021, 01:10 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(dino5aurus @ Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM)
sleep study/polysomnography
you sleep with leads attached and they graph a bunch of things
Captain89
post Aug 15 2021, 01:12 AM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM)
Apnea related to breathing problems can occur both day and night. Insomnia is sleeping problem could be less melatonin produce by body occur when you want to sleep but cannot .Insomnia symptoms like daytime sleepiness, tiredness, loss concentration to work
dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 01:13 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Aug 15 2021, 01:10 AM)
sleep study/polysomnography
you sleep with leads attached and they graph a bunch of things
Where is the sleep study be conducted? At home or hospital? Need to sleep for how long?
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:13 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM)
fatigue despite sufficient sleep, somnolence, waking up at night due to breathlessness, snoring. these are the usual red flag early symptoms

sleep study appointment is hard to get, and once youre diagnosed the cpap machine is expensive.
sleep study is expensive.

The machine is expensive, if import from USA, machine alone cost around USD1000 and warranty only cover in USA.
in singapore, the machine cause SGD2000 with 2 years warranty.

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM)
this i no idea,.

need to do a nose scope to check any blockage during awake.
then sleep test to check the AHI and O2 level. <-- overnight sleep test in hospital single room while like been an experiment by a mad scientist in the movie. full of wire around you,.

after that, rent the machine to try 2 weeks to see i able to accept the machine or not before go buy the machine.

i did the sleep scope test also to check where really blocking the airway.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:14 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(dino5aurus @ Aug 15 2021, 01:13 AM)
Where is the sleep study be conducted? At home or hospital? Need to sleep for how long?
mine done in Hospital (must be single room to prevent any noise to the data).

at least 6 hours of data are required, so best to take a sleeping pill prescribed by the doctor.

kayent
post Aug 15 2021, 01:15 AM

213 posts

A friend also got diagnosed recently.

Had to try with the machine or wear an oral appliance.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:17 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 15 2021, 01:15 AM)
A friend also got diagnosed recently.

Had to try with the machine or wear an oral appliance.
what is you question is?
the sleep test or CPAP machine for prevent sleep apnea?
i7xQTi
post Aug 15 2021, 01:18 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(dino5aurus @ Aug 15 2021, 01:13 AM)
you need to see an ENT specialist, i think in my theyre the only subspecialties certified for this. us uses a different system

its notoriously hard to get, OSA is very common so the queue is long

if you suspect you have OSA, this is a good time to invest in a spo2 monitor with a logging app like apple watch. also, audio record yourself sleeping.

if your monitor shows drop in spo2 >4 during your snoring bout, thats suspicious.
hihihehe
post Aug 15 2021, 01:20 AM

13,776 posts

normal weight guy can have it too?
dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:13 AM)

The machine is expensive, if import from USA, machine alone cost around USD1000 and warranty only cover in USA.
this i no idea,.
then sleep test to check the AHI and O2 level. <-- overnight sleep test in hospital single room while like been an experiment by a mad scientist in the movie. full of wire around you,.

after that, rent the machine to try 2 weeks to see i able to accept the machine or not before go buy the machine.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

1) The reason i asked is because occasionally i will wake up from sleep gasping for air. Maybe once a month. Do you experienced this as well prior to your diagnosis?

2) overnight at hospital for the test how much is the total cost?

3) how much is the cpap machine?

Thanks!

adren1

137 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 15 2021, 01:20 AM)
nope
naTTan

1,138 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:13 AM)

this i no idea,.

Sleep study is not that expensive call up the local private hospital or you can arrange one at home should cost around RM 300 to RM 500.

The machine is expensive but it's around RM 3.5K

TSangelgemini

1,749 posts

yes, even children.

anyone can get it.
is about the muscle relax and block the airway.

also can be tonsil blocks the airway.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:23 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM)
Sleep study is not that expensive call up the local private hospital or you can arrange one at home should cost around RM 300 to RM 500.

The machine is expensive but it's around RM 3.5K
i think need an ENT specialist for the sleep test.

mine has been done in Singapore hospital.

the sleep test cost me SGD4500. but covered by insurance.

the scope cost SGD450 during the first consultation.

check with the insurance agent to ensure is it covered.

i7xQTi
post Aug 15 2021, 01:24 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM)
nope
yes they can
hihihehe
post Aug 15 2021, 01:25 AM

13,776 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM)
nope
QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM)
yes, even children.

anyone can get it.

quick google shows mostly happen to obese people

but sometime i get the choke especially during nap
dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 01:26 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM)
yes, even children.

anyone can get it.

Ya I'm not obese. I was told by ENT once i have long tonsil
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:26 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(dino5aurus @ Aug 15 2021, 01:21 AM)
Thanks for sharing your experience.

1) The reason i asked is because occasionally i will wake up from sleep gasping for air. Maybe once a month. Do you experienced this as well prior to your diagnosis?

2) overnight at hospital for the test how much is the total cost?

3) how much is the cpap machine?

Thanks!
1. no, i feel tired during the day and snoring.

2. i did the test in Singapore hospital, which cost SGD4500 for the test.

3. i pay SGD2000 for the machine with 2 years warranty. i have option to buy grey unit aka import from USA (without warranty or need to send back to USA for warranty) with price of SGD1500.
i using Resmed airsense 10 autoset,.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:27 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 15 2021, 01:25 AM)
quick google shows mostly happen to obese people

but sometime i get the choke especially during nap
my friend which is not obese having severe sleep apnea also.

is the muscle relax cause the blockage, obese just make it even worst only.

jin^manusia
post Aug 15 2021, 01:29 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Aug 15 2021, 01:07 AM)

1.4k only in shopee
dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 01:29 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:26 AM)
1. no, i feel tired during the day and snoring.

2. i did the test in Singapore hospital, which cost SGD4500 for the test.

3. i pay SGD2000 for the machine with 2 years warranty. i have option to buy grey unit aka import from USA (without warranty or need to send back to USA for warranty) with price of SGD1500.
i using Resmed airsense 10 autoset,.
Ya forget to mention i snore as well
i7xQTi
post Aug 15 2021, 01:30 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(jin^manusia @ Aug 15 2021, 01:29 AM)
1.4k only in shopee
thats not how "medical grade" equipment works
whyamiblack
post Aug 15 2021, 01:30 AM

70 posts

Matt Ogus has sleep apnea. Sleeps with a bane mask machine. Can google image him if don't know who he is. Nothing much to do with obesity IMO, mostly birth defects. Of course, obesity would only make it worse.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:33 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Aug 15 2021, 01:30 AM)
Matt Ogus has sleep apnea. Sleeps with a bane mask machine. Can google image him if don't know who he is. Nothing much to do with obesity IMO, mostly birth defects. Of course, obesity would only make it worse.
Sleep apnea cause people become obese cause of metabolism reduce when lack of O2, and obese will cause sleep apnea even more worst,.
dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 01:34 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:33 AM)
Sleep apnea cause people become obese cause of metabolism reduce when lack of O2, and obese will cause sleep apnea even more worst,.
Is it difficult to sleep with the cpap mask on?
fireballs
post Aug 15 2021, 01:35 AM

5,646 posts

https://youtu.be/wlmm_HR7kY4
Tennis ball tshirt
hihihehe
post Aug 15 2021, 01:35 AM

13,776 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:27 AM)
my friend which is not obese having severe sleep apnea also.

is the muscle relax cause the blockage, obese just make it even worst only.
any treatment?
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:36 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Aug 15 2021, 01:30 AM)
thats not how "medical grade" equipment works
yes, All Philips CPAP machine has been recalled, cause got a form that reduces the machine noise deform and cause cancer to the patient.

the deform form has all been inhaled into the lung of the user over time..
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:36 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 15 2021, 01:35 AM)
any treatment?
use CPAP machine only,

to prevent it happen, no cure.
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Aug 15 2021, 01:52 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 02:51 AM)
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5181619/

hope you are able to update your info from the research paper.
Post gambar la.... Prove u not fatty BOM BOM
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:54 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Aug 15 2021, 01:52 AM)
Post gambar la.... Prove u not fatty BOM BOM
if you can't trust scientific study results, no point explain to you.

kamfoo
post Aug 15 2021, 02:14 AM

845 posts

rip
SUSbunyip
post Aug 15 2021, 02:15 AM

125 posts

In worse condition, they fall asleep during driving. Most of the time when call at the traffic light
Chisinlouz
post Aug 15 2021, 03:09 AM

848 posts

Im obese and always tired. Not to extend wanna sleep any time in day time. Guess unemployment messing with my mental.
stupiak07
post Aug 15 2021, 07:09 AM

397 posts

hereditary

The worst and loudest snoring in 4 generation that I know

Obese
Tired all day round
stop breathing during sleep and suffocate
Vocal problem

There is no cure for it

Surgery come will come side effect with it depend on where you operate it.
kayent
post Aug 15 2021, 10:35 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:17 AM)
what is you question is?
the sleep test or CPAP machine for prevent sleep apnea?
Yea he had to use the cpap machine. Also from sg.

Btw sleep apnea can affect ppl who are not obese too. It's a common misconception that people who are fat only can develop sleep apnea. My friend gyms regularly, super fit bt yet diagnosed with it
rauma
post Aug 15 2021, 10:38 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 12:57 AM)
1. Obesity
2. Heart attack
3. Diabetes
4. and many more serious sickness

I thought it was the other way round?
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 12:35 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 15 2021, 10:35 AM)
Yea he had to use the cpap machine. Also from sg.

Btw sleep apnea can affect ppl who are not obese too. It's a common misconception that people who are fat only can develop sleep apnea. My friend gyms regularly, super fit bt yet diagnosed with it
yes, but a normal BMI person gets sleep apnea issue but never detected it then the person becomes obese over time cause metabolism go down.

at the end, when the person is already obese then only detected sleep apnea and blame obesity for it.

TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 12:37 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(rauma @ Aug 15 2021, 10:38 AM)
I thought it was the other way round?
any person including healthy children can get sleep apnea.

is the tonsil and/or tongue muscle relax and collapse that blocks the airway.
no matter thin or obese, you have that muscle as well.

many obese people don't have sleep apnea also,

This post has been edited by angelgemini: Aug 15 2021, 12:37 PM
Xsence
post Aug 15 2021, 12:45 PM

734 posts

Change your lifestyle mate, still got hope
What's your height and weight? Start from there
cursetheroad01
post Aug 15 2021, 12:45 PM

55 posts

Usually sebab gemok.

cursetheroad01
post Aug 15 2021, 12:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 12:35 PM)
yes, but a normal BMI person gets sleep apnea issue but never detected it then the person becomes obese over time cause metabolism go down.

at the end, when the person is already obese then only detected sleep apnea and blame obesity for it.
Nah bra sleep apnea usually have complaints one.
If obesity doesn't directly cause it, it definitely exacerbates the condition.
Being gemok is never healthy.
SUSskyblu3
post Aug 15 2021, 01:25 PM

157 posts

And cultivate active lifestyle.

Not just eat sleep.

Gyazo
post Aug 15 2021, 01:31 PM

20 posts

Had it almost every single night despite normal bmi.

Quit smoking and it aint no more.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 01:34 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Xsence @ Aug 15 2021, 12:45 PM)
Change your lifestyle mate, still got hope
What's your height and weight? Start from there
173cm
95KG

QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Aug 15 2021, 12:45 PM)
Usually sebab gemok.
QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Aug 15 2021, 12:48 PM)
Nah bra sleep apnea usually have complaints one.
If obesity doesn't directly cause it, it definitely exacerbates the condition.
Being gemok is never healthy.
This is what ENT specialist told me,
Research papers say the same also. (if die die can't accept this, nothing can say or discuss already)

but obese do bring a much higher risk to have sleep apnea.

the ENT specialist calculated,
Current has 62 AHI,
even my weight drop to 70kg, i will still have 32 AHI which i will still have Sleep Apnea problem.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Aug 15 2021, 01:25 PM)
And cultivate active lifestyle.

Not just eat sleep.
some ENTs specialists on youtube share that tongue and tonsil exercise could help relieve sleep apnea problems.

This post has been edited by angelgemini: Aug 15 2021, 01:35 PM
PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 01:45 PM

488 posts

normal weight also can get ..

could be due to tonsil , facial configuration also can plays a part

i have seen someone that is normal weight or got a little bit of stomach(like just love handle) have AHI of over 100.. scary
PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 01:47 PM

488 posts

Easy way to see if u have high risk of sleep apnea is to do STOP BANG questionairre.. just google it.

to conclusively confirm it,

do a partial sleep study (level 3) or if u banyak duit or complicated case get a polysomnography(psg or full sleep study which is level 1/2)

from there can conclusively know what is ur condition
niakulah
post Aug 15 2021, 01:57 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:06 AM)
the ENT specialist says it will help reduce the severity but no cure.

Operation UPPP = 85% successful rate.
CPAP = 95% successful rate
This. CPAP is the gold standard treatment already. Others like surgery and losing weight may help, but unless your apnea is very mild, you will still need to use CPAP after surgery and losing weight.
adren1
post Aug 15 2021, 02:16 PM

137 posts

which cpap machine TS is getting and how much does it cost?
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 02:20 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 15 2021, 02:16 PM)
which cpap machine TS is getting and how much does it cost?
Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet
SGD2000
Xsence
post Aug 15 2021, 02:29 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:34 PM)
173cm
95KG
This is what ENT specialist told me,
Research papers say the same also. (if die die can't accept this, nothing can say or discuss already)

but obese do bring a much higher risk to have sleep apnea.

the ENT specialist calculated,
Current has 62 AHI,
even my weight drop to 70kg, i will still have 32 AHI which i will still have Sleep Apnea problem.
some ENTs specialists on youtube share that tongue and tonsil exercise could help relieve sleep apnea problems.
Drop till 75kg
Even if it still persist, trust me your health will be much better and as u say 62 vs 32.

TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 02:32 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Xsence @ Aug 15 2021, 02:29 PM)
Drop till 75kg
Even if it still persist, trust me your health will be much better and as u say 62 vs 32.
what you say 100% true.
no matter how obese is not healthy.

dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 02:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 01:47 PM)
Easy way to see if u have high risk of sleep apnea is to do STOP BANG questionairre.. just google it.

to conclusively confirm it,

do a partial sleep study (level 3) or if u banyak duit or complicated case get a polysomnography(psg or full sleep study which is level 1/2)

from there can conclusively know what is ur condition
I DONT NEED your googled answer. I'm asking TS for his/her actual experience which is invaluable.
GHBZDK
post Aug 15 2021, 02:33 PM

173 posts

i super jelly a guy i know with this issue. he can sleep anywhere anytime within 10 seconds.
nighttime saw him choke and wake up and then snore within 10 seconds
i go surgery the surgeon sedate also i cannot fall asleep after counting down weh i bet.

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: Aug 15 2021, 02:35 PM
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 02:37 PM

1,749 posts

i have uploaded the CPAP reading (PDF) at the first post.
is an example of the sleeping result yesterday night.
Mr.Docter
post Aug 15 2021, 02:41 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Is it very common in Asia? Does anyone have it also here can share the experience also?

1. Obesity
2. Heart attack
3. Diabetes

Sorry for being blunt, but you must be obese.

Loss some weight. Its going to help, a lot. Come see me for the weight management medication.
PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 02:48 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(dino5aurus @ Aug 15 2021, 02:33 PM)
I DONT NEED your googled answer. I'm asking TS for his/her actual experience which is invaluable.
im just answering question on how usually they going to diagnose u with sleep apnea since i do work with the ent and respi dr in regards to sleep study and cpap.. im sorry if u think its "googled answer" thus may be wrong. im saying google the stop bang questionaire since usually dr would also ask the same type of question from that questionaire before referring for a sleep study test.
thxxht
post Aug 15 2021, 02:50 PM

368 posts

you stop breathing for a few seconds in your sleep, that's very dangerous
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 02:55 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 02:48 PM)
im just answering question on how usually they going to diagnose u with sleep apnea since i do work with the ent and respi dr in regards to sleep study and cpap.. im sorry if u think its "googled answer" thus may be wrong. im saying google the stop bang questionaire since usually dr would also ask the same type of question from that questionaire before referring for a sleep study test.
this is the same questionnaire i did when i first visit ENT specilist.

https://www.apneaboard.com/sleep-apnea-info...sleepiness-test

this could help, my score is 10.

but this test is not 100% accurate to detect Sleep Apnea, cause not everyone is able to answer it accurately.

PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 02:55 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 02:37 PM)
i have uploaded the CPAP reading (PDF) at the first post.
is an example of the sleeping result yesterday night.
may i know what mask are u using ?

is it the nasal pillow or full face mask?

buysellaccount
post Aug 15 2021, 02:56 PM

127 posts

must cpap. jangan tak cpap.

my father had sleep apnea, woke up 4-5 times every night swearing.

not treated in anyway and i was a dumb ass for not knowing.

passed away from heart attack after his regular morning walk.

interrupted sleep is serious business. take care of yourself, ts.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 02:57 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Aug 15 2021, 02:50 PM)
you stop breathing for a few seconds in your sleep, that's very dangerous
from the info i understand, it will not kill, it just causes the brain to awake to control the muscle open back the airway.
but prolong of this lead to low O2 in the body,

my sleep study shows the lowest point of O2 in my blood is 72% at 1 point.

PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 02:57 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 02:55 PM)
this is the same questionnaire i did when i first visit ENT specilist.

https://www.apneaboard.com/sleep-apnea-info...sleepiness-test

this could help, my score is 10.
but this test is not 100% accurate to detect Sleep Apnea, cause not everyone is able to answer it accurately.
yup this is another test that u can try other than the stop bang test... again both questionaire is just to see if u have high risk or not for sleep apnea.
sleep study is the only way to conclusively confirm u have sleep apnea or not.
naTTan
post Aug 15 2021, 02:58 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:23 AM)
i think need an ENT specialist for the sleep test.
mine has been done in Singapore hospital.

the sleep test cost me SGD4500. but covered by insurance.

the scope cost SGD450 during the first consultation.

check with the insurance agent to ensure is it covered.
ENT, respiratory physician, Neurologist depend who has the expertise. Conducting the test is not expensive and you can always bring the results to the specialist either in government or private.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 03:01 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 02:55 PM)
may i know what mask are u using ?

is it the nasal pillow or full face mask?
currently using Resmed P30i nasal pillow mask and Philips DreamWisp on nasal mask.

Philips DreamWisp on nasal mask = i get <1 AHI average per night
Resmed P30i nasal pillow mask = i get 2 to 8 AHI average per night

i still testing on the mask.

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Aug 15 2021, 02:56 PM)
must cpap. jangan tak cpap.

my father had sleep apnea, woke up 4-5 times every night swearing.

not treated in anyway and i was a dumb ass for not knowing.

passed away from heart attack after his regular morning walk.

interrupted sleep is serious business. take care of yourself, ts.
yes, could lead to heart attack.
using the mask when sleep, i can totally sleep and awake in when morning without night wake or dream also.
very quality sleep.
dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 03:03 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 02:48 PM)
I'm sorry. I misunderstood your statement, i thought u asking me to google instead of asking questions to TS. Haha. Ya i checked out the STOP BANG. Really helpful. Thanks man
TSangelgemini

1,749 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 02:57 PM)
yup this is another test that u can try other than the stop bang test... again both questionaire is just to see if u have high risk or not for sleep apnea.
sleep study is the only way to conclusively confirm u have sleep apnea or not.
yes, even buying the mask and CPAP machine, need to have the official prescription from the doctor.
without that, u not able to buy it officially.
buysellaccount

127 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Aug 15 2021, 02:58 PM)
ENT, respiratory physician, Neurologist depend who has the expertise. Conducting the test is not expensive and you can always bring the results to the specialist either in government or private.
sunway medical centre has a sleep clinic.

i think rm3k+ and up. go sleep there for a night and they'll take your stats for the day.
adele123

4,721 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 01:05 AM)

You direct go to ENT or go to GP first? Got company insurance cover?
bristlebb
post Aug 15 2021, 03:05 PM

574 posts

1. Obesity
2. Heart attack
3. Diabetes

i was once experienced not being able to sleep for straight 5 days. was that related to sleep apnea?

This post has been edited by bristlebb: Aug 15 2021, 03:06 PM
buysellaccount
post Aug 15 2021, 03:08 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Aug 15 2021, 03:05 PM)
i was once experienced not being able to sleep for straight 5 days. Is that related to sleep apnea?
brain damage sets in after the 4th day, mang.

apa cerita?

sleep apnea is waking up at night because your air passage collapsed and you can hardly breathe.

shallow sleep and you kept waking up multiple times at night.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 03:08 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 15 2021, 03:03 PM)
You direct go to ENT or go to GP first? Got company insurance cover?
i using medical insurance, direct to ENT (skip GP) as advised by the insurance agent.
as the first thing, the check is the Nasal scope which considers day surgery. <-- can claim insurance directly cause day surgery

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Aug 15 2021, 03:05 PM)
i was once experienced not being able to sleep for straight 5 days. Is that related to sleep apnea?
me, not ENT, so can't comment on this.
but sleep apnea is unable to have good quality sleep, still can sleep but tired during the day.
PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 03:11 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Aug 15 2021, 03:03 PM)

i think rm3k+ and up. go sleep there for a night and they'll take your stats for the day.
most people dont require a full sleep study though. partial sleep study usually enough to diagnose sleep apnea and the partial sleep study cost at most also few hundred ringgit compared to full sleep study
Xsence
post Aug 15 2021, 03:17 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 15 2021, 02:41 PM)
Sorry for being blunt, but you must be obese.

Loss some weight. Its going to help, a lot. Come see me for the weight management medication.
Try to go with lifestyle approach before any med intervention if possible
bristlebb
post Aug 15 2021, 03:17 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Aug 15 2021, 03:08 PM)
brain damage sets in after the 4th day, mang.

apa cerita?

sleep apnea is waking up at night because your air passage collapsed and you can hardly breathe.

shallow sleep and you kept waking up multiple times at night.
most probably anxiety from job stress.

i was tired and sleepy but the moment i lay on my bed i didn't feel sleepy anymore, i watched tv until morning and went to work like normal.

that was weird, and i wish that would never happen again.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 03:24 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 03:11 PM)
most people dont require a full sleep study though. partial sleep study usually enough to diagnose sleep apnea and the partial sleep study cost at most also few hundred ringgit compared to full sleep study
can share how this partial sleep study work? interesting to know.

QUOTE(Xsence @ Aug 15 2021, 03:17 PM)
lifestyle change can only help with mild sleep apnea.

cause sleep apnea occurs not cause by lifestyle but tongue and/or tonsil muscle relaxation during the sleeping time or other problems.

but a healthy life style sure 100% beneficial to personal health including reducing the severity of the sleep apnea problem.
adele123
post Aug 15 2021, 03:28 PM

4,721 posts

TS, not making you feel worse but can i ask are you obese or close to obese? Can share bmi?

Actually really think your experience can help many ppl.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 03:30 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 15 2021, 03:28 PM)
TS, not making you feel worse but can i ask are you obese or close to obese? Can share bmi?

Actually really think your experience can help many ppl.
already share,
me 173cm and 95KG = obese

PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 03:34 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 03:24 PM)
can share how this partial sleep study work? interesting to know.
lifestyle change can only help with mild sleep apnea.

cause sleep apnea occurs not cause by lifestyle but tongue and/or tonsil muscle relaxation during the sleeping time or other problems.

but a healthy life style sure 100% beneficial to personal health including reducing the severity of the sleep apnea problem.

this is the home sleep study test
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 03:43 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Aug 15 2021, 03:34 PM)

this is the home sleep study test
i see.

actually, i planning to get the device below to test the effectiveness of the CPAP machine.
https://www.contecmed.com/productinfo/602689.html
Mr.Docter
post Aug 15 2021, 03:44 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Xsence @ Aug 15 2021, 03:17 PM)
No. Once comorbidities are present, early medical intervention is crucial. Both need to be concurrently excercised.
MR_alien
post Aug 15 2021, 03:50 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

funny how i just watched a video about it before stumbled upon this thread

dino5aurus
post Aug 15 2021, 04:19 PM

39 posts

Kudos to TS and other ktards here for making this thread more informative and helpful
anakMY
post Aug 15 2021, 04:24 PM

1,450 posts

I'm using BMC G2 luna, for my severe snoring and sleep apnea.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 04:25 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Aug 15 2021, 04:24 PM)
I'm using BMC G2 luna,  for my severe snoring and sleep apnea.
is it gooding?

who much is it?
Pepsi_Patrick
post Aug 15 2021, 04:30 PM

15 posts

I had sleep apnea for the past 3 months during MCO 1.0, i installed an app on my phone and monitor my snore sound during night.

God damn the noise is super loud scary. I had to sleep separately with my wife because of this.

Maybe you can try by getting a wedge pillow and also lose your weight.

I was 82kg and same height with you. I'm now 76kg and no longer have sleep apnea.

Back pains also is one of the root cause of sleep apnea.

Please take action asap. Its really a serious medical condition.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 04:31 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Pepsi_Patrick @ Aug 15 2021, 04:30 PM)
I had sleep apnea for the past 3 months during MCO 1.0, i installed an app on my phone and monitor my snore sound during night.

God damn the noise is super loud scary. I had to sleep separately with my wife because of this.

Maybe you can try by getting a wedge pillow and also lose your weight.

I was 82kg and same height with you. I'm now 76kg and no longer have sleep apnea.

Back pains also is one of the root cause of sleep apnea.

Please take action asap. Its really a serious medical condition.
have you done the sleep test? cause snoring is part of the problem but snoring is not equal to have sleep apnea.

sleep apnea is very hard to detect without an o2 monitor or sleep test.
anakMY
post Aug 15 2021, 04:33 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 04:25 PM)
is it gooding?

who much is it?
Around 1.5k including a nasal mask. Yep quite satisfied. Hv been using it every night since middle of March. Starting time not that used to it, will take it off middle of the night. After 1-2 weeks I'm ok with it already.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 04:37 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Aug 15 2021, 04:33 PM)
Around 1.5k including a nasal mask. Yep quite satisfied. Hv been using it every night since middle of March. Starting time not that used to it, will take it off middle of the night. After 1-2  weeks I'm ok with it already.
that sounds good.
naTTan
post Aug 15 2021, 04:47 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Aug 15 2021, 03:03 PM)

there are private at home sleep study also, much cheaper also, but you need to bring the results to a ENT or respiratory physician ti interpret.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 04:50 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Aug 15 2021, 04:47 PM)
there are private at home sleep study also, much cheaper also,  but you need to bring the results to a ENT or respiratory physician ti interpret.
do you know how much is those private home sleep studies cost?
any contact?
darkdevilrey
post Aug 15 2021, 04:55 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

lastime i have an obese friend having sleep apnea.

he sit there 5 minutes in meeting room then suddenly fall asleep and snoring.

every body in the meeting room looking at him.

then kena bos tiao kao kao.

he literally cannot lie down and sleep like a normal person.

he got to sleep in sitting mode.

very difficult times.

then unclear oral speech.

hardly can heard what he is trying to say clearly.

This post has been edited by darkdevilrey: Aug 15 2021, 04:56 PM
naTTan
post Aug 15 2021, 04:59 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 04:50 PM)
any contact?
Around rm 300. You can ask your local ENT or KK.
ZforZebra
post Aug 15 2021, 05:00 PM

172 posts

Expensive machine u have there.

Sleep apnea happen less to asia people. Or they just dont give af cause the machine is costly.
PeinEVO
post Aug 15 2021, 05:02 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 04:50 PM)
any contact?
if u in klang valley or southern area come contact me for the sleep study smile.gif
billychai
post Aug 15 2021, 05:11 PM

63 posts

Hey all, so this issue is only with Phillips machine only or all others as well? I am using an old Phillips Remstar unit, can confirm these foam do come out. Happened to me last time, Some got stuck in my humidifier container, and I’m sure some in my lungs also la 😓. Had to change it in a service Center.

Am thinking of getting another brand le if all Phillips models are having same issue.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 05:29 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(ZforZebra @ Aug 15 2021, 05:00 PM)
Expensive machine u have there.

Sleep apnea happen less to asia people. Or they just dont give af cause the machine is costly.
is just less popular, don't mean is not happening in Asia.
many people are unknown about this or ignore it.

QUOTE(billychai @ Aug 15 2021, 05:11 PM)
Hey all, so this issue is only with Phillips machine only or all others as well? I am using an old Phillips Remstar unit, can confirm these foam do come out. Happened to me last time, Some got stuck in my humidifier container, and I’m sure some in my lungs also la 😓. Had to change it in a service Center.

Am thinking of getting another brand le if all Phillips models are having same issue.
many philips machines have this issue, can check at their website.
they only recall in USA, and no F other markets.

now the CPAP machine is a shortage as chip and Philips issue, so price go up by 100% in USA market.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 08:36 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Aug 15 2021, 04:55 PM)
lastime i have an obese friend having sleep apnea.

he sit there 5 minutes in meeting room then suddenly fall asleep and snoring.

every body in the meeting room looking at him.

then kena bos tiao kao kao.

he literally cannot lie down and sleep like a normal person.

he got to sleep in sitting mode.

very difficult times.

then unclear oral speech.

hardly can heard what he is trying to say clearly.
actually is a sickness and been tiao by boss, this abit unfair to him.

cause most people dunno about this sickness.

TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 08:37 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Aug 15 2021, 04:59 PM)
Around rm 300. You can ask your local ENT or KK.
ok, cause plan to ask my father go check

MADReaLJL
post Aug 15 2021, 08:45 PM

4,050 posts

No. This is common misconception.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 08:51 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Aug 15 2021, 08:45 PM)
loss weight will help alot, but is not a cure.
can reduce the severity of sleep apnea.
MADReaLJL
post Aug 15 2021, 08:53 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 08:51 PM)
loss weight will help alot, but is not a cure.
can reduce the severity of sleep apnea.
Partially correct but it's not really as simple as the way you worded it

If it's not caused by the fat accumulation, hardly can be solved by losing weight

There are people with perfect bmi suffered with sleep apnea.. And as side effects, their weight gets increased

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: Aug 15 2021, 08:55 PM
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 09:08 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Aug 15 2021, 08:53 PM)
Partially correct but it's not really as simple as the way you worded it

If it's not caused by the fat accumulation, hardly can be solved by losing weight

There are people with perfect bmi suffered with sleep apnea.. And as side effects, their weight gets increased
what you say is true and accurate.
just to highlight

sleep apnea causes weight gain and this weight gain causes the sleep apnea severity to get worst.
the cycle keeps repeat and reaches a point of heart attack.

Docile
post Aug 15 2021, 09:22 PM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

Is sleep apnea deadly though?
I thought only disturbing because ur partner may have to hear u snore like a train all night long…
darkdevilrey
post Aug 15 2021, 09:31 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

would suggest ts start adapt healthy diet and exercise like jogging

it will improve over times

likewise surgery
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 09:34 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Docile @ Aug 15 2021, 09:22 PM)
Is sleep apnea deadly though?
I thought only disturbing because ur partner may have to hear u snore like a train all night long…
is will cause other sicknesses such as Diabetes, heart attack, and especially danger when driving in highway.

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Aug 15 2021, 09:31 PM)

likewise surgery
in the progress of changing healthy diet and lifestyle.
Thanks,.
Starbucki
post Aug 15 2021, 10:48 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Aug 15 2021, 08:45 PM)
If you think you know more than ENTs, then I got nothing to say.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 15 2021, 11:16 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 15 2021, 10:48 PM)
If you think you know more than ENTs, then I got nothing to say.
so call ENT vs researcher.

hope this help to clear some doubt.
Starbucki
post Aug 15 2021, 11:40 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 15 2021, 11:16 PM)
so call ENT vs researcher.

hope this help to clear some doubt.
Sticking to the context: if you are obese as claimed, losing weight is worth a try. I dont see any point in talking about how sleep apnea is also an issue with non-obese people, which is not your case here. ENTs would advise on losing weight too if the patient is overweight.
tatabun
post Aug 15 2021, 11:47 PM

59 posts

cipap machine?

hahahaha

sorry i laugh more then i should lol
GymBoi
post Aug 15 2021, 11:55 PM

1,393 posts

It's actually very common but not many ppl know they have sleep apnea which is dangerous haha ... Been in CPAP for 4 years ... actually maybe wont forever need to use CPAP la ... these days when i nap in living room, i ask parents i got snore or not they say no ... and i didn't lose any weight since 4 years ago ...

Sometimes too tired straight sleep without CPAP also can sleep till morning .. sleep apnea for sure u will wake up many times in the night and with dry throat ...

But i didn't repeat any sleep test without CPAP la ... since machine is there just use it daily ... normal already

edit: read back abit, seems like many ppl don't know the difference between sleep apnea, snoring and insomnia lol

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Aug 15 2021, 11:57 PM
TSangelgemini
post Aug 16 2021, 12:08 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Aug 15 2021, 11:55 PM)
It's actually very common but not many ppl know they have sleep apnea which is dangerous haha ... Been in CPAP for 4 years ... actually maybe wont forever need to use CPAP la ... these days when i nap in living room, i ask parents i got snore or not they say no ... and i didn't lose any weight since 4 years ago ...

Sometimes too tired straight sleep without CPAP also can sleep till morning .. sleep apnea for sure u will wake up many times in the night and with dry throat ...

But i didn't repeat any sleep test without CPAP la ... since machine is there just use it daily ... normal already

edit: read back abit, seems like many ppl don't know the difference between sleep apnea, snoring and insomnia lol
i never wake up in the mid of the night but detected severe sleep apnea, 64 AHI.

i think is i still sleep, but the brain wakes to settle the muscle problem then fall back asleep. so I never really experience being awake from it.

snoring is may a symptom of sleep apnea but got snoring is not equal to have sleep apnea.

TSangelgemini
post Aug 16 2021, 12:10 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 15 2021, 11:40 PM)
Sticking to the context: if you are obese as claimed, losing weight is worth a try. I dont see any point in talking about how sleep apnea is also an issue with non-obese people, which is not your case here. ENTs would advise on losing weight too if the patient is overweight.
even with or without sleep apnea, i need to loss weight also, haha.

my stamina getting reduced,
normally 40 stores staircase hike without issue, now 20 stories have to stop to rest already.

my peak staircase hike is 240 stories, in 1 go, at those time i also obese bmi level,
GymBoi
post Aug 16 2021, 12:19 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 16 2021, 12:08 AM)
i never wake up in the mid of the night but detected severe sleep apnea, 64 AHI.

i think is i still sleep, but the brain wakes to settle the muscle problem then fall back asleep. so I never really experience being awake from it.
snoring is may a symptom of sleep apnea but got snoring is not equal to have sleep apnea.
guess you're not hardcore enough ... mine was 85 i think lolololololol ... dr say if i'm 80+ i could have been dead
spacelion
post Aug 16 2021, 12:47 AM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Aug 15 2021, 09:31 PM)

likewise surgery
But won't solve completely
MADReaLJL
post Aug 16 2021, 03:09 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 15 2021, 11:40 PM)
A lot people with sleep apnea didn't even understand their problems before they were going overweight.

If you think reduce weight can reduce sleep apnea to the point it doesn't affect patient health, i don't know, maybe you are claiming to be better than ENT after all?
Starbucki
post Aug 16 2021, 09:11 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Aug 16 2021, 03:09 AM)
A lot people with sleep apnea didn't even understand their problems before they were going overweight.

If you think reduce weight can reduce sleep apnea to the point it doesn't affect patient health, i don't know, maybe you are claiming to be better than ENT after all?
If you think being obese is fine and that TS should not do anything about it just because it is a "misconception" to you, I rest my case.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 16 2021, 09:47 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Aug 16 2021, 03:09 AM)

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 16 2021, 09:11 AM)
If you think being obese is fine and that TS should not do anything about it just because it is a "misconception" to you, I rest my case.
let stop the argument and make the thing clear.

1. Sleep Apnea is not only happening to obese people, it happens underweight, normal and obese people.
2. many normal people get sleep apnea problem, because sleep apnea cause metabolism reduce to bottom, so the person becomes Obese.
3. Obese will cause Sleep Apnea to become more serious/severe.
4. ENT advice me to Stop Sleep Apnea with a CPAP machine and then go lost weight. Losing weight when still have OSA will not be effective, cause metabolism very low.
5. reduce weight can help to improve Sleep Apnea problems but is not a cure. CPAP or Operation is required (CPAP work the best as have 95% effectiveness rate)

TSangelgemini
post Aug 16 2021, 09:55 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Aug 16 2021, 12:19 AM)
guess you're not hardcore enough ... mine was 85 i think lolololololol ... dr say if i'm 80+ i could have been dead
ic, but i do see some people get 120++ AHI,

CPAP can help to reduce to 1++ only.
MADReaLJL
post Aug 16 2021, 10:12 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 16 2021, 09:47 AM)
let stop the argument and make the thing clear.

1. Sleep Apnea is not only happening to obese people, it happens underweight, normal and obese people.
2. many normal people get sleep apnea problem, because sleep apnea cause metabolism reduce to bottom, so the person becomes Obese.
3. Obese will cause Sleep Apnea to become more serious/severe.
4. ENT advice me to Stop Sleep Apnea with a CPAP machine and then go lost weight. Losing weight when still have OSA will not be effective, cause metabolism very low.
5. reduce weight can help to improve Sleep Apnea problems but is not a cure. CPAP or Operation is required (CPAP work the best as have 95% effectiveness rate)
No 5 is the key. Perhaps cpap forever or operation. Even problems can reoccur post-operation after some time. Definitely not as simple as it sounds.

But still got dummy thinking reduce weight can solve everything. Definitely can solve most things and led to healthier life, but not this issue period.
TSangelgemini
post Aug 16 2021, 05:59 PM

1,749 posts

moved the discussion to here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5183011

0.0747sec    0.49    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:58 AM