99 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

KittyKat
post Jan 19 2009, 01:43 PM

364 posts

Hey everyone, need some help... Am looking for Evo's red meat, small bite kibbles. Noticed anyone carrying this??? I found Toby at Penang carrying the normal sized ones, but they dont bring in the small bites. Am switching for my pup again as she's not very fond of chicken/turkey diet. Phew...

Thanks for help in advance...
h71y6
post Jan 19 2009, 01:47 PM

47 posts

Can we have Natural Balance into the poll as well? Should be a bunch of pple using it. biggrin.gif
bluepuppygirl
post Jan 19 2009, 04:15 PM

21 posts

Seriously people... switch to raw feeding! smile.gif
h71y6
post Jan 19 2009, 04:17 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 19 2009, 04:15 PM)
Seriously, don't believe the hype! tongue.gif
bluepuppygirl
post Jan 19 2009, 04:26 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(h71y6 @ Jan 19 2009, 05:17 PM)
Seriously, don't believe the hype! tongue.gif
I don't quite have a choice... I used to feed kibble (Evo) because I believed it was 6-star and all. Then my dog came down with a host of problems. Impacted anal glands, skin problems...

This post has been edited by bluepuppygirl: Jan 19 2009, 04:26 PM
KittyKat
post Jan 19 2009, 04:26 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 19 2009, 04:15 PM)
Am considering, am considering... Give me some time... =)

Added on January 19, 2009, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 19 2009, 04:26 PM)
I don't quite have a choice... I used to feed kibble (Evo) because I believed it was 6-star and all. Then my dog came down with a host of problems. Impacted anal glands, skin problems...
I dont plunge in to Evo, or Orijen, or Solid Gold, etc etc just because it is 5, 6, 7, etc stars, by the way ;P

This post has been edited by KittyKat: Jan 19 2009, 04:28 PM
bluepuppygirl
post Jan 19 2009, 04:30 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Jan 19 2009, 05:26 PM)
Am considering, am considering... Give me some time...  =)
Hahahaha I used to be like you until one day I bit the bullet and just headed to the supermarket and bought raw chicken meat and stuff.

It's as easy as feeding as kibble. Store chicken in freezer and defrost next day feeding in bottom compartment.

Follow the prey model diet, not barf... you don't even have to feed fruits or veggie. Just raw meaty bones and organs (liver, kidney, etc)

And I just realized I'm probably typing this in the wrong topic LOL.

Added on January 19, 2009, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(KittyKat @ Jan 19 2009, 05:26 PM)
Am considering, am considering... Give me some time...  =)

Added on January 19, 2009, 4:28 pm
I dont plunge in to Evo, or Orijen, or Solid Gold, etc etc just because it is 5, 6, 7, etc stars, by the way  ;P
What do you feed btw?

I trusted Evo, because it's grainless kibble. I know grain can cause allergies in dogs. Maybe that's just me, but if I can afford it, I would want to give my dogs the best.

This post has been edited by bluepuppygirl: Jan 19 2009, 04:32 PM
sinv
post Jan 19 2009, 11:08 PM

I am Poodle Addict
2,810 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 19 2009, 04:26 PM)
Bcos Evo is too high in protein n suits only working dog or guard dog. Try innova for its lower protein and other good ingredient.

Added on January 19, 2009, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 19 2009, 04:30 PM)
Hahahaha I used to be like you until one day I bit the bullet and just headed to the supermarket and bought raw chicken meat and stuff.

It's as easy as feeding as kibble. Store chicken in freezer and defrost next day feeding in bottom compartment.

Follow the prey model diet, not barf... you don't even have to feed fruits or veggie. Just raw meaty bones and organs (liver, kidney, etc)

What do you feed btw?

I trusted Evo, because it's grainless kibble. I know grain can cause allergies in dogs. Maybe that's just me, but if I can afford it, I would want to give my dogs the best.
hey i think even feed raw have to feed fruit n vege lah, if not where got balance diet. but anyway, not supposed to discuss about raw here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sinv: Jan 19 2009, 11:09 PM
bryanyeo87
post Jan 19 2009, 11:42 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

where can i purchase natural balance in 15kg packs, flav is vegetablein petaling jaya?

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Jan 19 2009, 11:45 PM
n3sbaby
post Jan 20 2009, 12:11 AM

196 posts

i think you can get it at SS2 pet supplies for 15kg pack...
KittyKat
post Jan 20 2009, 12:59 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 19 2009, 04:30 PM)

What do you feed btw?

Oh... My pup's doing Evo small bites now. Moved her from Orijen cuz she dont really like it. While biting into her kibbles, she'll look at me with expression on her face: "Ey... Boss... Very hard... Very difficult to bite lar!!! How to eat???". Then she often skip her meal cuz that. Even on Evo, she quite reluctant, but at least she take all her proper meals. Want to move her back to red meat as she's doing it fine during her puppy stage.

Regarding raw, i belief inclusion of small propotion greens and fruits are vital. As canine evolve (i believe even in the past or in wild now), selective greens and fruits serve as natural antibiotins and tonic, etc. My point of view though, cuz i feed my pup with strain of wheat grew in my garden, and it aids her digestion. My nearby neighbor's GR also take it whenever he comes over to my place for play play or when we walk him. My cat even knows how to harvest and consume it herself. That's when i learnt about it and try it out. Just an example...

bluepuppygirl
post Jan 20 2009, 03:12 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Jan 20 2009, 01:59 PM)
Oh... My pup's doing Evo small bites now. Moved her from Orijen cuz she dont really like it. While biting into her kibbles, she'll look at me with expression on her face: "Ey... Boss... Very hard... Very difficult to bite lar!!! How to eat???". Then she often skip her meal cuz that. Even on Evo, she quite reluctant, but at least she take all her proper meals. Want to move her back to red meat as she's doing it fine during her puppy stage.

Regarding raw, i belief inclusion of small propotion greens and fruits are vital. As canine evolve (i believe even in the past or in wild now), selective greens and fruits serve as natural antibiotins and tonic, etc. My point of view though, cuz i feed my pup with strain of wheat grew in my garden, and it aids her digestion. My nearby neighbor's GR also take it whenever he comes over to my place for play play or when we walk him. My cat even knows how to harvest and consume it herself. That's when i learnt about it and try it out. Just an example...
I second your POV regarding the inclusion of fruits and vegetables in a dog's diet mainly because they need fiber to bulk up their stools.

Even though my shih tzu is on raw at moment, I do give her cooked rolled oats mixed with organic veggie powder (the one Nezumitaro is selling) in the morning. Or sometimes I feed her plain unsweetened yogurt for probiotics. We let her try whatever fruits we are eating at home, but so far she only likes small amounts of bananas. But her main diet will always be meat.

iluv2zzz
post Jan 20 2009, 06:47 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Natural Balance big pack should can get from Seapark Pet Supplies, in SS2.

Guys, there is a BARF thread maybe you all can proceed there, and it will benefit whoever interested in raw feeding.

I also personally thinks that high protein food is not for every dog. Just feed those in between 20+% protein is good enough for small breed. I tried Orijen on my dog, doesn't works great. Switching back to lower protein food. Currently on Innova.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Jan 20 2009, 06:49 PM
jarjar6666
post Jan 20 2009, 08:07 PM

354 posts

Now my bearbear refuses to eat the Orijien 6 fresh fish...she never reject any food before..
KittyKat
post Jan 20 2009, 09:45 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Jan 20 2009, 08:07 PM)
Now my bearbear refuses to eat the Orijien 6 fresh fish...she never reject any food before..
Dunno why??? My pup also not very fond of Orijen's Adult formula, sigh. I somemore got her the biggest pack to split with my friend's pup, now dunno what to do, scratching head liao... I personally feel the kibbles are much harder, and if prolonged consumption, its taste's way too appealing that my pup gets sick of it. When she's trying out samples, she seem Ok with it, but...

Got a sample pack of Artemis's Maximal. The kibbles smell's sooo strong, even i dont feel like putting in my mouth and eating it. Perhaps it's its high fat content. I dont think i'll switch my pup to it. Sigh...

I might really go raw in time to come if its so difficulty, switching around. High protein diet's fine. Just that... I still belief that Solid Gold (depending on its range) makes great kibbles. Its just that, long lead time make its shelf-life short. It's premiumly pricey as well for its league. Canidae's also fine. But with the boom in price recently, made me stay away from it. Not need to mention its grainless range. Its crazy i mean...

iluv2zzz
post Jan 20 2009, 10:08 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Mind telling me the recent Canidae price, both the ALS and grainless?
KittyKat
post Jan 21 2009, 07:47 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Jan 20 2009, 10:08 PM)
Mind telling me the recent Canidae price, both the ALS and grainless?
I dont see the grainless one around yet... But the ALS shot up to about 150+ for 6.8kg. Its like +/-50% up!!!
bluepuppygirl
post Jan 21 2009, 09:44 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Jan 21 2009, 08:47 AM)
I dont see the grainless one around yet... But the ALS shot up to about 150+ for 6.8kg. Its like +/-50% up!!!

Seriously?? That's even more pricey than Evo or Orijen!

My friend also gave me a sample of Artemis. I think it's okay. Not grainless, but it has sufficient meat content to give it a 5-star rating.

You know what, when Royal Canin came out with it's "specific breed" range of kibble, I was soooooo tempted to buy the shih tzu range for my dog. But Royal Canin has never been on my to-buy list. Has anyone ever tried it out?
KittyKat
post Jan 21 2009, 10:54 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Jan 21 2009, 09:44 AM)
Seriously?? That's even more pricey than Evo or Orijen!

My friend also gave me a sample of Artemis. I think it's okay. Not grainless, but it has sufficient meat content to give it a 5-star rating.

You know what, when Royal Canin came out with it's "specific breed" range of kibble, I was soooooo tempted to buy the shih tzu range for my dog. But Royal Canin has never been on my to-buy list. Has anyone ever tried it out?
Yep. That's why i ran away from them. I was on a deal when they were with their old "two rice form" formula (Less than RM100 for 7.5kg). But with 50% up price, i end up telling my pup, "Sorry, Canidae ban liao..."

Artemis's normal range is Ok too. I wanted to get the small breed one, but with its price, i rather go Evo. Formulation very typical of premium kibbles. Good overall.

Well... Royal Canin... Never in my "will-think-of-it" list as well. For the price, its products are not "premium" enough.

Added on January 21, 2009, 10:56 am
QUOTE(KittyKat @ Jan 21 2009, 10:54 AM)
Yep. That's why i ran away from them. I was on a deal when they were with their old "two rice form" formula (Less than RM100 for 7.5kg). But with 50% up price, i end up telling my pup, "Sorry, Canidae ban liao..."

Artemis's normal range's Ok too. I wanted to get the small breed one, but with its price, i rather go Evo. Formulation very typical of premium kibbles. Good overall.

Well... Royal Canin... Never in my "will-think-of-it" list as well. For the price, its product's not "premium" enough.
By the way... Any leadings on Evo's red meat, small bites???

This post has been edited by KittyKat: Jan 21 2009, 11:01 AM
bluepuppygirl
post Jan 21 2009, 11:15 AM

21 posts

Honestly I've never seen the red meat range. Only the normal yellow packaging one.

But with the already super high protein content in the normal range, you still wanna feed the red meat variety? smile.gif

99 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:58 PM