113 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.34, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

atyy1988
post Jan 6 2022, 05:13 PM

Hi sifu,

Budget : 5k
Usage : For office work; Microsoft word, excel, outlook, PowerPoint, Browser, and some engineering software (similar to autocad/solidworks)
Requirements: SSD (512GB and above), no need numpad, size 14"-15.6", larger battery and lighter (always bring laptop when traveling)
greggyquah
post Jan 6 2022, 05:16 PM

13 posts

Hello Sifus,

Need recommendation for laptop.

Budget: around RM4.5K
Usage: Mostly for work, lots of excel/google sheet, many chrome tabs, ms office, light gaming, unlikely to play AAA title.
Spec: No special preference, don't mind screen size 15" or 14"

Need to get within the next 2 weeks.
If it helps, can get from shop anywhere in Klang Valley
ZM Fong
post Jan 8 2022, 10:58 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(UroborosOrphis @ Jan 2 2022, 10:44 PM)
wait time <than 2 months

Thanks boss!
need dGPU?
QUOTE(sang_kenari @ Jan 3 2022, 09:14 PM)
Hello sifu,

Need a new laptop as my current one quite outdated and sometimes blue screen.

Budget: Not more than RM5,000
Usage: Web browsing, Microsoft Office and some analytical tools like SPSS, Python, Mendeley etc.

Not using for gaming but expected to at least have processor of i5 and ram of 8GB.

So far looking at Dell Latitude 5420 but open for suggestions.

Many thanks in advance

Edit: open to long waiting time (6-10 weeks)
any preferences on weight and battery life?
QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Jan 4 2022, 09:08 PM)
Asking for a friend
1. Budget: 2k+
2. Usage: Light Photoshop for work (design supermarket brochures)
3. Spec: 16GB ram

can recommend one with immediate stock and another one which requires waiting time

i dont know if the budget even makes sense, but please help me sifus  biggrin.gif
go for used/refurb
QUOTE(aeronyc @ Jan 5 2022, 01:27 PM)
all sifus,

appreciate your help here.

I'm looking to buy a laptop almost immediately (in the next 2 - 3 days), can go collect at shop nearby (KL, lowyat or Cheras area). If no choice, can also buy online (ready stock) then wait for delivery (I assume within 1 week?).

Budget: RM2.5k to RM3.5k
Usage: MS office, surfing, NOT for gaming
Spec: no special preference, but prefer to have a bigger screen (15' and above) with better resolution.

thanks in advance
Magicbook Pro?
QUOTE(atyy1988 @ Jan 6 2022, 05:13 PM)
Hi sifu,

Budget : 5k
Usage : For office work; Microsoft word, excel, outlook, PowerPoint, Browser, and some engineering software (similar to autocad/solidworks)
Requirements: SSD (512GB and above), no need numpad, size 14"-15.6", larger battery and lighter (always bring laptop when traveling)
how light u need? give a max weight in kg

also, wait time?
ZM Fong
post Jan 8 2022, 11:00 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(greggyquah @ Jan 6 2022, 05:16 PM)
Hello Sifus,

Need recommendation for laptop.

Budget: around RM4.5K
Usage: Mostly for work, lots of excel/google sheet, many chrome tabs, ms office, light gaming, unlikely to play AAA title.
Spec: No special preference, don't mind screen size 15" or 14"

Need to get within the next 2 weeks.
If it helps, can get from shop anywhere in Klang Valley
any more requirements? like need numpad, weight etc

coz there are a lot of options, need to narrow down a bit
greggyquah
post Jan 8 2022, 12:36 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 8 2022, 11:00 AM)
any more requirements? like need numpad, weight etc

coz there are a lot of options, need to narrow down a bit
Nope really don't have.
No preference for numpad, so can assume if don't have also okay

Weight, not too picky. As long not 5kg. Haha
afiq10
post Jan 10 2022, 04:35 PM

394 posts

How is HP Envy X360 ay1013AU ? 2 in 1 Laptop + 1.3kg weight. Good? or anything better this than this? Under RM3.7K
sglalang
post Jan 10 2022, 05:10 PM

Hello sifu,

Need a new laptop as my current one has passed on to my daughter

Budget: Not more than RM3,500
Usage: Web browsing, Microsoft Office and and some online class/meeting

Not for gaming but expected to at least have processor of i5 and ram of 8GB. Don't mind AMD Ryzan

screen size : preferably 15.6 (but not a must)
weight : not important as most of the time will sit at study room.
touch screen : not necessary
build quality : prefer to be good one
don't need it urgently, can wait

Many thanks in advance

Mattrock
post Jan 10 2022, 07:02 PM

394 posts

Which store is reliable on Lazada to buy laptop, e.g., Dell?

TSpandera999
post Jan 10 2022, 10:38 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jan 10 2022, 07:02 PM)
if dell, try see if DFO unit.. maybe cheaper... lazada and shopee both are ok... as long as official channel + authorized reseller. try pm any of them.
For lenovo itself, still prefer buy from their website.. incase you need unit can be customized. dell also unless buy from their website
arkana
post Jan 11 2022, 01:09 PM

147 posts

Hi sifus, can recommend me a laptop for my son?

1. Budget : RM3500 +/- RM200
2. Usage : education and gaming
3. Requirements :
a) Prefer 15" size, with dedicated decent graphic card, processor and 8GB Ram.
b) A laptop spec which can last at least 3 years without being outdated

Thanks in advance for your help.

uskimaski
post Jan 11 2022, 06:21 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jan 10 2022, 07:02 PM)
It's most reliable to buy from flagship store on Lazada, here're a couple brands you can check out:

Dell - https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/dell-flagshi...l&sugg=dell_0_1
Microsoft - https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/microsoft-fl...g=microsoft_0_1
HP - https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/hp1629966791...Chp&sugg=hp_0_1
Acer - https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/acer-storage...en&pageTypeId=1

overfloe
post Jan 12 2022, 07:30 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jan 10 2022, 08:02 PM)
For Dell and some other laptop brands - NBplaza / sns gloo network
Titan_Gunners
post Jan 12 2022, 09:15 AM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(sglalang @ Jan 10 2022, 05:10 PM)
Hello sifu,

Need a new laptop as my current one has passed on to my daughter

Budget: Not more than RM3,500
Usage: Web browsing, Microsoft Office and and some online class/meeting

Not for gaming but expected to at least have processor of i5 and ram of 8GB. Don't mind AMD Ryzan

screen size : preferably 15.6 (but not a must)
weight : not important as most of the time will sit at study room.
touch screen : not necessary
build quality : prefer to be good one
don't need it urgently, can wait

Many thanks in advance
Just bought Lenovo Thinkpad E15 Gen3 on their official website, ard rm3.4k
Official LT is 10 weeks. But i order early Dec 21, received by 1st week of Jan 22. biggrin.gif

AMD Ryzen 5
16GB ram
512GB SSD
15.6inch Screen
2 yrs warranty

ljken
post Jan 13 2022, 12:08 PM

937 posts

Hi sifus,

Looking for a 16 inch laptop with dedicated graphics. Budget is 5k-7k.

Brand preference is anything that gives the least issue. Heard the new Dells, Apples, and HP have many problems.

Alternatively considering cheaper 15.6 MSI laptops too, would like to know if anyone has feedback on those.

Thanks!
megadisc
post Jan 13 2022, 03:21 PM

4,349 posts

aisay ...my dell got error code 0511

dying soon kot ...

time for an upgrade
sglalang
post Jan 14 2022, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Jan 12 2022, 09:15 AM)
Just bought Lenovo Thinkpad E15 Gen3 on their official website, ard rm3.4k
Official LT is 10 weeks. But i order early Dec 21, received by 1st week of Jan 22.  biggrin.gif

AMD Ryzen 5
16GB ram
512GB SSD
15.6inch Screen
2 yrs warranty
Thanks for the recommendation. Btw, did you purchase extended warranty?
Put spec aside, what's your experience of using this machine? any words of caution?

Titan_Gunners
post Jan 14 2022, 12:53 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(sglalang @ Jan 14 2022, 09:29 AM)
Thanks for the recommendation. Btw, did you purchase extended warranty?
Put spec aside, what's your experience of using this machine? any words of caution?
Ori is 1 yr warranty, i add on another 1 yr.
As i mainly use for office work, so far so good. Build qty is good. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Titan_Gunners: Jan 14 2022, 03:04 PM
Human Nature
post Jan 15 2022, 12:13 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

My Inspiron 5558 died today after 6 years of service. Coincidently, my previous Dell Studio 15 also lasted 6 years. What are the general sentiments for Dell laptop nowadays? Naturally, I am looking at Inspiron again, but it appears that those with a dedicated graphic card now starts from RM3150. Those cheaper uses UHD Graphics, not even Iris Xe.

What do you think of these Lenovo IdeaPad offering:

https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...3-/p/82HL00EJMJ
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...L6/p/82H80116MJ
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...L6/p/82H801VNMJ

The third one has Integrated Intel® Iris® Xe Graphics, which I suppose if slightly better than UHD Graphics.

I am alsp looking at other options. Some basic requirements:

Intel processor, preferably 11th gen i3 or i5
256 SSD min
15 inch display, full HD
Usage: Microsoft office, Google Meet and Zoom, video and songs, internet, no gaming, 15 hours per day
Budget: less than RM2800, can stretch to RM3000 for a good deal.

Any recommendation?

Thank you

MyProLife
post Jan 15 2022, 12:19 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,074 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 15 2022, 12:13 AM)
My Inspiron 5558 died today after 6 years of service. Coincidently, my previous Dell Studio 15 also lasted 6 years. What are the general sentiments for Dell laptop nowadays? Naturally, I am looking at Inspiron again, but it appears that those with a dedicated graphic card now starts from RM3150. Those cheaper uses UHD Graphics, not even Iris Xe.

What do you think of these Lenovo IdeaPad offering:

https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...3-/p/82HL00EJMJ
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...L6/p/82H80116MJ
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...L6/p/82H801VNMJ

The third one has Integrated Intel® Iris® Xe Graphics, which I suppose if slightly better than UHD Graphics.
I am alsp looking at other options. Some basic requirements:

Intel processor, preferably 11th gen i3 or i5
256 SSD min
15 inch display, full HD
Usage: Microsoft office, Google Meet and Zoom, video and songs, internet, no gaming, 15 hours per day
Budget: less than RM2800, can stretch to RM3000 for a good deal.

Any recommendation?

Thank you
The three ideapad models above will NOT last long

Consider at least ideapad 5 or thinkbook normal (non-s)/E series or stretch budget for s models instead if want last long or stretch for thinkpad higher end series (L or T)

AMD is same perf, yet budget friendly, so you don't have to limit just intel only

DM zm fong for discounts

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Jan 15 2022, 12:29 AM
Human Nature
post Jan 15 2022, 12:40 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Jan 15 2022, 12:19 AM)
The three ideapad models above will NOT last long

Consider at least ideapad 5 or thinkbook normal (non-s)/E series or stretch budget for s models instead if want last long or stretch for thinkpad higher end series (L or T)

AMD is same perf, yet budget friendly, so you don't have to limit just intel only

DM zm fong for discounts
Unfortunately those are beyond my budget.

Would the service life of the IdeaPad 3 be the same or worse than Dell Inspiron 3000?
https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/laptops-and...op/hni3511401my

Reason being I have zero knowledge on AMD. Already familiar with Intel naming, i3 i5 i7 sweat.gif
I am actually worried with the integrated graphic. My HP ProBook 440 G7 is already giving problem after 2 years of minimal usage.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 15 2022, 12:42 AM

113 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:51 PM