Anyone know about foreign FD?

abcn1n
post Oct 14 2023, 12:53 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 13 2023, 10:35 PM)
1. Regarding DBS SG's USD FD.

I convert to USD in IBKR, then TT the money out to DBS USD FD account straightaway. 10 USD fee charged by correspondent bank JP Morgan.

Don't convert directly from SGD to USD via DBS. Their FX markup is about 2% (against interbank rates), last I check. Use other fintech to convert to USD or convert within IBKR.

----------------------------

2. Yea, it's for co-operative members only. tongue.gif
Wah. You very creative. Thanks for the answer.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 14 2023, 12:25 AM)
hmmm... not sure ibkr usd to rhb mca got correspondent fee or not...
Are you sure can do that? I would have assumed that it would be like normal bank tt transfer for IBKR to RHB which means lousy rates
dwRK
post Oct 14 2023, 01:06 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 14 2023, 12:53 AM)
Wah. You very creative. Thanks for the answer.
Are you sure can do that? I would have assumed that it would be like normal bank tt transfer for IBKR to RHB which means lousy rates
rhb mca usd deposit no fees no fx... question is ibkr's bank tt usd to rhb mca, does it go through correspondent bank...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 14 2023, 01:06 AM
abcn1n
post Oct 14 2023, 02:17 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 14 2023, 01:06 AM)
rhb mca usd deposit no fees no fx... question is ibkr's bank tt usd to rhb mca, does it go through correspondent bank...
Sorry don't know answer. Myself would be interested to know too since have RHB MCA and IBKR. Suspicion is likely to have correspondent bank and it will be JPM basing on people from different countries when receiving USD directly from IBKR and JPM do charge USD10
Medufsaid
post Oct 15 2023, 03:32 PM

3,489 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 7 2023, 01:20 PM)
E.g. BIL ETF via IBKR.
if one can buy BIL etf already, is there any advantages to go for RHB MCA USD 5% interest?
SUSTOS
post Oct 15 2023, 03:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 15 2023, 03:32 PM)
if one can buy BIL etf already, is there any advantages to go for RHB MCA USD 5% interest?
This you can ask Mr. Gray or dwRK. They both know better than I do regarding RHB MCA stuff.

One possible advantage I can think of is keeping USD closer to you, under BNM regulations. Suitable for retirees or those who does not want to hold assets in foreign countries.

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 15 2023, 03:45 PM
abcn1n
post Oct 15 2023, 07:50 PM

2,379 posts

RHB MCA PIDM protected up till RM250k, plus you know the exact interest you are getting. Other than that, don't think there's much difference.
raptor_cZn
post Oct 15 2023, 08:49 PM

1,404 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by raptor_cZn: Oct 15 2023, 08:51 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 15 2023, 09:02 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Oct 15 2023, 08:49 PM)
-deleted-
What is it that you want to ask me? tongue.gif

Happy to answer.
dwRK
post Oct 16 2023, 11:02 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

only reason to buy bil etfs is you wanna take a break from trading/investing, or you have excess usd cash in broker account...

if sole purpose is just to hold usd... then rhb mca is superior for now imho...

1. cheaper/easier myr to usd, and back
2. better interest rates
3. interest amount easily reinvested/compounded
4. but mca debit card has 20 annual fee, since i pay 12 for normal debit card, incremental cost is just 8

if buy bil...

1. 30% of div is 'stuck' for 6 months effective as wht
2. very high relative cost of reinvesting remaining 70% div into bil
3. estate tax if applicable, or other probate fees

bro TOS' pet peeve of only pidm 250k ringgit protection and not getting back usd in case rhb collapse and gov unable to arrange bail out... i'd say split to many joint accounts at least get back snapshot value, but really by that time, malaysia really gg, no local deposit is safe... so is valid point but rather moot... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 16 2023, 11:06 AM
Hansel
post Oct 16 2023, 02:12 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 16 2023, 11:02 AM)
only reason to buy bil etfs is you wanna take a break from trading/investing, or you have excess usd cash in broker account...

2. better interest rates
4. but mca debit card has 20 annual fee, since i pay 12 for normal debit card, incremental cost is just 8

if buy bil...

bro TOS' pet peeve of only pidm 250k ringgit protection and not getting back usd in case rhb collapse and gov unable to arrange bail out... i'd say split to many joint accounts at least get back snapshot value, but really by that time, malaysia really gg, no local deposit is safe... so is valid point but rather moot... tongue.gif
Hi bro DWRK,...

But if we put into rhb mca, we can't access the USD over the counter, right ? Must chg back into Ringgit first and then access the Ringoiit, right ?
dwRK
post Oct 16 2023, 09:17 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 16 2023, 02:12 PM)
Hi bro DWRK,...

But if we put into rhb mca, we can't access the USD over the counter, right ? Must chg back into Ringgit first and then access the Ringoiit, right ?
you can wire out for a fee iirc rm 20... but cant cash out directly, but as always can try nego for a fee...
dwRK
post Oct 16 2023, 10:16 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 15 2023, 07:50 PM)
RHB MCA PIDM protected up till RM250k, plus you know the exact interest  you are getting. Other than that, don't think there's much difference.
the issue of 250k pidm protection on foreign currency is this... if say you have 250k ringgit equivalent of usd before 'a crisis' and ringgit is significantly devaluated because of it... your usd can now be worth say 400k ringgit... but if rhb imploded and pidm steps in, you only get back 250k of 'worthless' depreciating ringgit and not your initial pot of usd worth 400k...

one might argue that he/she didn't max out 250k ringgit equivalent... say only 50k, or have split to multiple accounts, so fully protected, but you still lose out in value... because when the implosion happens, snapshot of your account includes exchange rate of say 7... it doesn't matter if current rate is 10... value of your account will be based on 7... hence you can never get back the original amount of usd with pidm money...

abcn1n
post Oct 16 2023, 10:52 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 16 2023, 10:16 PM)
the issue of 250k pidm protection on foreign currency is this... if say you have 250k ringgit equivalent of usd before 'a crisis' and ringgit is significantly devaluated because of it... your usd can now be worth say 400k ringgit... but if rhb imploded and pidm steps in, you only get back 250k of 'worthless' depreciating ringgit and not your initial pot of usd worth 400k...

one might argue that he/she didn't max out 250k ringgit equivalent... say only 50k, or have split to multiple accounts, so fully protected, but you still lose out in value... because when the implosion happens, snapshot of your account includes exchange rate of say 7... it doesn't matter if current rate is 10... value of your account will be based on 7... hence you can never get back the original amount of usd with pidm money...
Yikes. Thanks a lot. Didn't think so far. Was only afraid that govt might impose a fixed forex rate like what they did during the Asean Financial Crisis. Now have to be more careful.
Medufsaid
post Oct 16 2023, 11:04 PM

3,489 posts

basically PIDM is still useful if it's only RHB that failed. if Ringgit ship tenggelam then haha
dwRK
post Oct 17 2023, 07:29 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

pidm is still very usefull in all cases...

holding usd is still better than ringgit as in my unlikely to happen case... biggrin.gif

holding usd/fx offshore has its own problems...

abcn1n
post Oct 17 2023, 04:51 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 17 2023, 07:29 AM)
holding usd/fx offshore has its own problems...
dwRK Can you elaborate on this? Thanks
xander2k8
post Oct 17 2023, 05:56 PM

4,645 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 16 2023, 11:04 PM)
basically PIDM is still useful if it's only RHB that failed. if Ringgit ship tenggelam then haha
Unlikely RHB would failed in the 1st place 🤦‍♀️ and if it ever happens EPF would be in a big trouble as well

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 17 2023, 04:51 PM)
dwRK Can you elaborate on this? Thanks
Transferring money around and taxes being imposed with capital control restriction
abcn1n
post Oct 17 2023, 06:44 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 17 2023, 05:56 PM)
Unlikely RHB would failed in the 1st place 🤦‍♀️ and if it ever happens EPF would be in a big trouble as well
Transferring money around and taxes being imposed with capital control restriction
Thanks. Sigh. Yeah, tax form asking how much money bring back to Malaysia. Really wish Malaysia would not be so restrictive. They should actually encourage people to bring back money to Malaysia. Its especially important if country is in trouble.

CommodoreAmiga
post Oct 17 2023, 10:08 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 16 2023, 11:02 AM)

2. better interest rates

if buy bil...

Hhmm...been thinking to open an MCA account. RHB better? Ambank also got. Just go to RHB branch to open MCA? Basically to hold USD and get some good FD. What about charges and spread?
soul78
post Oct 17 2023, 10:15 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 7 2007, 12:48 AM)
The FD risk is minimal, but the exchange rate risk is not. If you put US$1000 in, you will get US$1000 + 6.15% = $1061.50 at the end of one year. The thing is, what's $1061.50 going to be worth in RM ?

Suppose at the beginning of the year you put in $1000 when US$1 = Rm3.80. So you actually put in $1000x3.8 = Rm3800.

At the end of the year, let's suppose that the exchange rate is now US$1 = Rm3.00. When you take out after one year, your $1061.50 will be worth $1061.50x3 = Rm3184.50.

So basically, if this were to happen, you'd actually lose Rm3800-Rm3184.50 = Rm615.50 after putting your money in FD for one year.

You see how you can lose money in foreign-currency dominated FD now ? it's not risk-free. It all depends on whether the currency goes up or down.

Have you really stopped to calculate how much money you really made ? smile.gif
Why you count when rm goes to 3.00 to usd 1?

why don't you see in positive as 5.00 to usd 1 in future?

53 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:20 AM