Anyone know about foreign FD?

abcn1n
post Oct 13 2023, 07:09 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 9 2023, 05:59 PM)
About 5% p.a, similar to current risk-free rate.

The most popular and liquid one is BIL ETF (ticker symbol is BIL) and that is the one I am holding.

https://www.ssga.com/us/en/intermediary/etf...-t-bill-etf-bil

That said, BIL ETF's distribution is subject to 30% dividend/distribution WHT (which, depending on your broker, will be refunded close to end of year), so majority of my USD sits in uninsured FD with DBS Singapore, rates are about 5% as well, not too far off: https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/rates-onlin...d-deposits.page

If your purchase amount is large, can also consider buying short-term US T-bills directly from say, IBKR (commission is 5 USD minimum, so you will need a large purchase amount to justify the fees). 

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/prici...nds.php?re=amer
TOS How's the exchange rate to put into DBS USD FD?(ie: SGD convert to USD) Is it better than RHB multicurrency FD forex rate? Was trying to deposit online into DBS USD FD previously, but DBS could not tell me the exact forex rate to convert SGD into USD. So ended putting it in RHB

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 8 2023, 09:01 AM)
The 3.95% is for members (co-operative) from what I read in the forum

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Oct 13 2023, 07:09 PM
abcn1n
post Oct 14 2023, 12:53 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 13 2023, 10:35 PM)
1. Regarding DBS SG's USD FD.

I convert to USD in IBKR, then TT the money out to DBS USD FD account straightaway. 10 USD fee charged by correspondent bank JP Morgan.

Don't convert directly from SGD to USD via DBS. Their FX markup is about 2% (against interbank rates), last I check. Use other fintech to convert to USD or convert within IBKR.

----------------------------

2. Yea, it's for co-operative members only. tongue.gif
Wah. You very creative. Thanks for the answer.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 14 2023, 12:25 AM)
hmmm... not sure ibkr usd to rhb mca got correspondent fee or not...
Are you sure can do that? I would have assumed that it would be like normal bank tt transfer for IBKR to RHB which means lousy rates
abcn1n
post Oct 14 2023, 12:53 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 13 2023, 10:35 PM)
1. Regarding DBS SG's USD FD.

I convert to USD in IBKR, then TT the money out to DBS USD FD account straightaway. 10 USD fee charged by correspondent bank JP Morgan.

Don't convert directly from SGD to USD via DBS. Their FX markup is about 2% (against interbank rates), last I check. Use other fintech to convert to USD or convert within IBKR.

----------------------------

2. Yea, it's for co-operative members only. tongue.gif
Wah. You very creative. Thanks for the answer.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 14 2023, 12:25 AM)
hmmm... not sure ibkr usd to rhb mca got correspondent fee or not...
Are you sure can do that? I would have assumed that it would be like normal bank tt transfer for IBKR to RHB which means lousy rates
abcn1n
post Oct 14 2023, 02:17 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 14 2023, 01:06 AM)
rhb mca usd deposit no fees no fx... question is ibkr's bank tt usd to rhb mca, does it go through correspondent bank...
Sorry don't know answer. Myself would be interested to know too since have RHB MCA and IBKR. Suspicion is likely to have correspondent bank and it will be JPM basing on people from different countries when receiving USD directly from IBKR and JPM do charge USD10
abcn1n
post Oct 15 2023, 07:50 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 15 2023, 03:32 PM)
if one can buy BIL etf already, is there any advantages to go for RHB MCA USD 5% interest?
RHB MCA PIDM protected up till RM250k, plus you know the exact interest you are getting. Other than that, don't think there's much difference.
abcn1n
post Oct 16 2023, 10:52 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 16 2023, 10:16 PM)
the issue of 250k pidm protection on foreign currency is this... if say you have 250k ringgit equivalent of usd before 'a crisis' and ringgit is significantly devaluated because of it... your usd can now be worth say 400k ringgit... but if rhb imploded and pidm steps in, you only get back 250k of 'worthless' depreciating ringgit and not your initial pot of usd worth 400k...

one might argue that he/she didn't max out 250k ringgit equivalent... say only 50k, or have split to multiple accounts, so fully protected, but you still lose out in value... because when the implosion happens, snapshot of your account includes exchange rate of say 7... it doesn't matter if current rate is 10... value of your account will be based on 7... hence you can never get back the original amount of usd with pidm money...
Yikes. Thanks a lot. Didn't think so far. Was only afraid that govt might impose a fixed forex rate like what they did during the Asean Financial Crisis. Now have to be more careful.
abcn1n
post Oct 17 2023, 04:51 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 17 2023, 07:29 AM)
holding usd/fx offshore has its own problems...
dwRK Can you elaborate on this? Thanks
abcn1n
post Oct 17 2023, 06:44 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 17 2023, 05:56 PM)
Unlikely RHB would failed in the 1st place 🤦‍♀️ and if it ever happens EPF would be in a big trouble as well
Transferring money around and taxes being imposed with capital control restriction
Thanks. Sigh. Yeah, tax form asking how much money bring back to Malaysia. Really wish Malaysia would not be so restrictive. They should actually encourage people to bring back money to Malaysia. Its especially important if country is in trouble.

abcn1n
post Oct 18 2023, 12:09 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 17 2023, 11:16 PM)
Can’t do anything because it is institutional failure since back in the 90s 🤦‍♀️ and yet they still practice when the world has change a lot in the past 30 years
Yeah. Find they getting more restrictive. sad.gif
abcn1n
post Oct 23 2023, 07:51 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 19 2023, 11:25 AM)
Has anyone tried this?

https://www.stashaway.sg/simple-guaranteed

1 month 3.8% looks tempting... Makes you wonder which MAS bank is partnering with Stashaway lol

Stashaway earns a spread from the bank as well. Which means, the MAS bank is paying them around 4%, not too far from a 4-week MAS bill.
TOS Is the 3.8% net of Stashaway's fees?
BTW, couldn't find the post which says can only open Stashaway Singapore with Singpass. FYI, can open without Singpass
abcn1n
post Oct 23 2023, 08:11 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2023, 08:06 PM)
No need singpass. Can use passport. Other day I just login and next day that asked for my passport. I look just to check and see if I got any money left inside there (planning to move all loose change to moomoo). Told them want to cancel acocunt.

Not net fees. Net fees around 3.5-3.6%?
Thanks. Yeah, I suspected net fees was 3.6% but wanted confirmation. Yes, I have Stashaway Singapore. Opened it with passport.
abcn1n
post Oct 23 2023, 09:54 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 23 2023, 08:11 PM)
Thanks. Yeah, I suspected net fees was 3.6% but wanted confirmation. Yes, I have Stashaway Singapore. Opened it with passport.
Just took a look again and its really 3.8% as no fees and they say the rate we see is the rate we get.
So its good smile.gif

https://www.stashaway.sg/simple-guaranteed
abcn1n
post Oct 23 2023, 10:47 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 23 2023, 10:37 PM)
So, we just renew every mth for one-mth tenure at every renewal.
If that's what you want. But it can go up and down depending on the environment once the lock-in period is over. Best to spread over different periods like some in 1 month, 1 year.... 1 year interest is 3.5% though fyi

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Oct 23 2023, 10:48 PM
abcn1n
post Oct 23 2023, 10:53 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 23 2023, 10:19 PM)
There is another one : CIMB SG. Total FD of 3.5% pa, no lock-in, daily-accrual, but the comparison is vs your September month-end balance. Paid-out on every month-end and on 20th of the mth,......
QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 23 2023, 10:51 PM)
3.5%...That is a fake number. I have tested for 2 months. IRR is no higher than 2.7% p.a.

They delay the "bonus" interest by 20 days, effectively halving the interest rate. The bonus interest just sits for 20 days and do nothing, yet you can't get it on the end of the previous month. They lock your money for 20 days and pay you nothing.

Don't be fooled by the bankers.
Wow. Thanks for the heads up
abcn1n
post Oct 24 2023, 12:21 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 23 2023, 11:05 PM)
thanks for the fact checking... just opened SA sg too...
Welcome. The more people open SA Sg, the merrier biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 23 2023, 11:05 PM)
Lock-in is not good for me.
Oh,you can choose not to lock, but don't know what's the interest will be. Maybe you can try with small amount and see how.
abcn1n
post Oct 24 2023, 05:15 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 24 2023, 03:13 PM)
Thank you, bro,... for the further help,...

Emm, what I meant to say was : even if my funds are 'locked-up' for 30days, I'm not too comfortable with it. This batch of funds that I have, are for the REITs. I got rid some portions of my REITs earlier, and am anxious to re-deploy these funds.

'Locked-up' funds are in parked in other places/instruments.
Welcome. I put some money in FSM Singapore money market. The rate avg 3.2%+ for SGD. Can withdraw anytime but not sure how long it takes b4 it reaches one's bank account. Rate not great but I don't like to put all my eggs in 1 basket even if its higher rates (too many scams and with the advent of AI even more scary). I place safety over greed anytime.

abcn1n
post Oct 24 2023, 05:58 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 24 2023, 05:47 PM)
Prb could be a money mkt fund has risk towards your capital when you wished to access your capital.

Hence,.... why not the CIMB 'promo' ? It doesn't lock-up your funds, but ok,... TOS' point is good, for the bonus 2% interest, you need to wait for 20 days to be able to access your interest earned.

But you can access ALL your funds anytime without problems and pull-out immediately using SG's FAST transfer.

You will not have principal risk.

If you can withstand the '20-day delay thing', you will be able to earn 3.50% against your basic principal (not interest-on-interest), provided your balance at end-September was $0..

CIMB SG is a bank - protected by the SIDC.
I haven't got CIMB Sg yet. I leave it in FSM because in case want to buy anything, straightaway can and also not to put everything in 1 basket. Yes, the commission sucks but just in case something happens to my other accounts. I have gone through a long list of my bank accounts being blocked, email disabled etc by overzealous people although I did nothing wrong. Have wasted tons of time, $ and frustration. Just because I log in/out several times or do more transactions doesn't mean its hacked/ illegal. Sigh. Bank people especially like to lock your account.
abcn1n
post Oct 26 2023, 02:29 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 25 2023, 12:44 PM)
You know, guys,... I feel really pathetic,... fighting and debating over a 3.50% or 2.70% interest rate today, when I used to be earning more than 6% in my REITs earlier.

Think I better spend more time speculating in forex or IPOs to make more capital gains-lar,....
Hansel What forex broker is good? Have been wondering whether to go into this (most likely won't be anytime soon if I ever go into forex but good to know of one if I ever do). Thanks.

abcn1n
post Oct 26 2023, 02:17 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 26 2023, 11:54 AM)
Hi bro,...

I do forex programs with my private bank. One needs to qualify and join the bank first. Then,.. the RM 'might' select the client to participate.
I see. Thanks
abcn1n
post Oct 26 2023, 03:53 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 26 2023, 02:23 PM)
His bank's traders are taking position against him and he still doesn't realize that. brows.gif
Likely but I think he knows this. So long as he is making $, its ok

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 26 2023, 02:57 PM)
They can do that,.. but I'm still highly in winning position. Read my previous posts, I'm still holding on to different tranches of the AUDJPY.
thumbsup.gif

0.0511sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:48 PM