New Perodua Ativa, online viewing here

AdrianS_99
post Mar 3 2022, 05:44 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(ed209 @ Mar 3 2022, 02:01 PM)
A hybrid priced between H & AV spec?

Extremely unlikely only if Perodua intends to electrify the H spec and leave the rest of the features found in AV out.

Obviously MOST engines produce some form of vibration but whether the vibration actually gets transmitted into the cabin is an entirely different thing.

Also, not all vibrations are the same, some are barely noticeable, some are tolerable and some aren't.
Hybrid priced between H & AV spec, was base on INDONESIA Daihatsu price directly convert to MYR, was between H & AV spec, but don't forget the other tax haven't been add in calculate

It should be on H variant or AV variant, to let consumer pick want 1.0T or 1.2NA Hybrid
BravoZeroTwo
post Mar 3 2022, 06:45 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(ed209 @ Mar 3 2022, 05:54 PM)
Yea my W203 is really old, it was a used car when my parents bought it back in '06. Drove that thing all the way until 2022.

I replaced the shock absorbers, most likely OEM, so i'm not sure if that resulted in a more softer hence less planted highway cruising experience.

The W203 is significantly softer on my bum when it comes to pot holes and uneven road compared to the Ativa.
How is your experience on the day to day drive in the city ? How's the suspension ?
sss2sssss
post Mar 3 2022, 08:09 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Btw not sure if you guys had encounter this before

So currently my Ativa AV is having chassis number and engine number already on this Monday, and my car get registered by SA and road tax is registered. But then my SA now said that not sure when my car will up Perodua trailer and send to Seremban Rasah (my SA had told me before last week said my car will reach this Wednesday)

So now what should I do? Should I directly complain to Perodua HQ (and if can what's the communication channel can I using)? Or if there's anyway I can know when my stock will semd down? Also can I request go Rawang take my car?

And it's common for nowadays SA can go register my car and get road tax etc without even know when car is arriving?
ed209
post Mar 4 2022, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 3 2022, 06:45 PM)
How is your experience on the day to day drive in the city ? How's the suspension ?
I think there was someone who asked if it was noticeable when the CVT transmission switches between planetary gear and belt mode and the answer to that is actually yes.

After driving the car for a few days I could tell that 1st gear is always planetary gear mode, once you hit the required RPM for the transmission to shift up, its belt mode from then on.

I guess that's Daihatsu's solution to solve CVT's rubberbanding and whining issues. But the downside is, you can really tell when you're in planetary gear mode because you'd feel the usual sensation of both engine braking and shift shock. So if you're stuck in traffic, the car will behave like your usual AT car.

But whats quirkier with the D-CVT transmission is, i find it slightly difficult to perform 2k rpm accelerations in CVT mode. The car feels programmed in a way where it has strong preference to remain below 2k rpm or above 2k rpm. It almost feels like driving, what i would assume, a car in Eco mode, where power requires alot more depression in the pedal. Perhaps the car is setup in this manner, a "default always on" Eco mode and hence the power button. But i'd like it if the car would make it easier for me to catch 2k rpm.

And if the above description is a description of the D-CVT's quirkiness, let me tell you what i actually dislike when the D-CVT is paired with the 3 cylinder engine. Vibrations. And i dont mean vibrations at idle. The Ativa's vibration at idle is really no biggie at all. It tends to vibrate more on Drive, but when you put it into Neutral, it vibrates alot lesser. I find it extremely tolerable. What i cannot tolerate is engine vibration when the car is on the go (honestly very surprised that ZERO reviewers mentioned this). As mentioned above, the car LOVES to stay below 2k rpm. And unfortunately, this is where the vibration only occurs. The vibration isn't atrocious, but you CAN hear it, I would describe it as a higher frequency but low amplitude rumble. I dont have much experience in driving 3 cylinders, but if anyone drove the VW Beetle A5, then you'd know what i mean (although Beetle A5 isnt 3 cylinders). I find this rumble extremely strange, the car is not shaking, its just quietly rumbling, and it rumbles enough to cause cabin rattle noises when the road becomes rougher (i mean in road grain not pot holes).

Power wise, really nothing to complain, I dont expect my car to accelerate like a Civic, but that power button is quite addictive. Since the throttle is setup in a way that requires more push to the pedal to accelerate, its fun to just hit the power button and do a 3k rpm acceleration. Getting up to 80km/hr is a breeze. At 3k rpm, the engine isnt very loud.

Suspension, ride handling, NVH wise. The Ativa is miles behind compared to an HRV or the x50, definitely a jump forward against the myvi, but unfortunately, i cannot say that its on par with current gen City, Vios, Yaris and Almera. The new sedan B segments handle pot holes and rough roads far better than the Ativa. The Ativa is stiff, but im sure there's more to a suspension and ride handling set up to just being "stiff". I'm not a car engineer but I would say the Ativa's suspension set up isnt anymore sophisticated than my old W203. Both cars I would never send it through rough roads like a HRV without even slowing down, well the W203 maybe more since its much softer, but both Ativa and W203 isnt set up like the HRV. Its not conquering any rough roads for sure. I would say the Ativa feels in between the 5th and 6th gen honda city but leaning more towards the 5th gen. The Ativa can definitely do with some vibration damping pads because over very grainy roads, you can feel it, and on very specific parking ramps with those big gaps in the road, it creates a very loud resonance in the cabin that gives me a slight headache.

Overall, all the oddities and downside that I've described with the car, I still find them tolerable. But what i cannot tolerate is cabin rattling. My car is not even 2 months old and its already rattling and !@#$ its annoying. If i can solve my cabin rattling noises, i'd gladly say im happy with the car.
sss2sssss
post Mar 4 2022, 11:19 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(ed209 @ Mar 4 2022, 10:39 AM)
I think there was someone who asked if it was noticeable when the CVT transmission switches between planetary gear and belt mode and the answer to that is actually yes.

After driving the car for a few days I could tell that 1st gear is always planetary gear mode, once you hit the required RPM for the transmission to shift up, its belt mode from then on.

I guess that's Daihatsu's solution to solve CVT's rubberbanding and whining issues. But the downside is, you can really tell when you're in planetary gear mode because you'd feel the usual sensation of both engine braking and shift shock. So if you're stuck in traffic, the car will behave like your usual AT car.

But whats quirkier with the D-CVT transmission is, i find it slightly difficult to perform 2k rpm accelerations in CVT mode. The car feels programmed in a way where it has strong preference to remain below 2k rpm or above 2k rpm. It almost feels like driving, what i would assume, a car in Eco mode, where power requires alot more depression in the pedal. Perhaps the car is setup in this manner, a "default always on" Eco mode and hence the power button. But i'd like it if the car would make it easier for me to catch 2k rpm.

And if the above description is a description of the D-CVT's quirkiness, let me tell you what i actually dislike when the D-CVT is paired with the 3 cylinder engine. Vibrations. And i dont mean vibrations at idle. The Ativa's vibration at idle is really no biggie at all. It tends to vibrate more on Drive, but when you put it into Neutral, it vibrates alot lesser. I find it extremely tolerable. What i cannot tolerate is engine vibration when the car is on the go (honestly very surprised that ZERO reviewers mentioned this). As mentioned above, the car LOVES to stay below 2k rpm. And unfortunately, this is where the vibration only occurs. The vibration isn't atrocious, but you CAN hear it, I would describe it as a higher frequency but low amplitude rumble. I dont have much experience in driving 3 cylinders, but if anyone drove the VW Beetle A5, then you'd know what i mean (although Beetle A5 isnt 3 cylinders). I find this rumble extremely strange, the car is not shaking, its just quietly rumbling, and it rumbles enough to cause cabin rattle noises when the road becomes rougher (i mean in road grain not pot holes).

Power wise, really nothing to complain, I dont expect my car to accelerate like a Civic, but that power button is quite addictive. Since the throttle is setup in a way that requires more push to the pedal to accelerate, its fun to just hit the power button and do a 3k rpm acceleration. Getting up to 80km/hr is a breeze. At 3k rpm, the engine isnt very loud.

Suspension, ride handling, NVH wise. The Ativa is miles behind compared to an HRV or the x50, definitely a jump forward against the myvi, but unfortunately, i cannot say that its on par with current gen City, Vios, Yaris and Almera. The new sedan B segments handle pot holes and rough roads far better than the Ativa. The Ativa is stiff, but im sure there's more to a suspension and ride handling set up to just being "stiff". I'm not a car engineer but I would say the Ativa's suspension set up isnt anymore sophisticated than my old W203. Both cars I would never send it through rough roads like a HRV without even slowing down, well the W203 maybe more since its much softer, but both Ativa and W203 isnt set up like the HRV. Its not conquering any rough roads for sure. I would say the Ativa feels in between the 5th and 6th gen honda city but leaning more towards the 5th gen. The Ativa can definitely do with some vibration damping pads because over very grainy roads, you can feel it, and on very specific parking ramps with those big gaps in the road, it creates a very loud resonance in the cabin that gives me a slight headache.

Overall, all the oddities and downside that I've described with the car, I still find them tolerable. But what i cannot tolerate is cabin rattling. My car is not even 2 months old and its already rattling and !@#$ its annoying. If i can solve my cabin rattling noises, i'd gladly say im happy with the car.
For the gearbox part, looks like it's different from what Daihatsu claim though (Daihatsu claim use belt before high speed then gear on high speed), the behavior you mentioned is more like Toyota Direct Shift CVT (which use gear as first gear then belt for after first gear)

https://<link removed>/2021/02/24/perodua-ativ...-to-other-cvts/
ed209
post Mar 4 2022, 12:25 PM

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Mar 4 2022, 11:19 AM)
For the gearbox part, looks like it's different from what Daihatsu claim though (Daihatsu claim use belt before high speed then gear on high speed), the behavior you mentioned is more like Toyota Direct Shift CVT (which use gear as first gear then belt for after first gear)

<a href='https://<link removed>/2021/02/24/perodua-ativa-how-d-cvt-is-different-to-other-cvts/' target='_blank'>https://<link removed>/2021/02/24/perodua-ativ...-to-other-cvts/</a>
Oh then im not sure la, but when I drive the car, moving from a stand still, the car really does behave like its on planetary gear because of the sensation from upshifting and engine braking.
BravoZeroTwo
post Mar 4 2022, 02:59 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(ed209 @ Mar 4 2022, 11:39 AM)

I suspect that this Ativa is not really retuned to suit our driving habits and/or road conditions. This is JDM car and in Japan the speed limit is 80km/h. Therefore, the gear changes is preferred at 2k RPM could be the reason you face here. There was a lot of talks about DNGA aka TNGA chassis but nothing beats first hand information from actual users.
ed209
post Mar 4 2022, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 4 2022, 02:59 PM)
I suspect that this Ativa is not really retuned to suit our driving habits and/or road conditions. This is JDM car and in Japan the speed limit is 80km/h. Therefore, the gear changes is preferred at 2k RPM could be the reason you face here. There was a lot of talks about DNGA aka TNGA chassis but nothing beats first hand information from actual users.
It's strange though, considering that Perodua chose to stiffen the car up specifically for the Malaysian market.

I just came back from dinner in pudu, and boy oh boy, those kl roads were rough on the Ativa. I foresee myself installing some vibration damping and sound insulating mats.
d@odao
post Mar 4 2022, 10:43 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

Any recommendations for head unit that support apple carplay?
Anyone changed their head unit?
ed209
post Mar 4 2022, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 4 2022, 10:43 PM)
Any recommendations for head unit that support apple carplay?
Anyone changed their head unit?
Would love to know this as well.
Prismo_Ultra P
post Mar 6 2022, 01:46 PM

Probation
40 posts

Guys.

Myvi vs Ativa

Mainly use for highway cruising from central to northern and southern every month. Estimated at 2k++ mileage a month.

Main concern is durability, highway stability, ride and handling.

Which one would be your pick?

Thanks sifu.
ed209
post Mar 6 2022, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(Prismo_Ultra @ Mar 6 2022, 01:46 PM)
Guys.

Myvi vs Ativa

Mainly use for highway cruising from central to northern and southern every month. Estimated at 2k++ mileage a month.

Main concern is durability, highway stability, ride and handling.

Which one would be your pick?

Thanks sifu.
I would say ativa for sure. There's a significant step up between myvi and ativa. But i would recommend going for the H or X spec. The execution of the ACC and LKC in the AV spec isn't great and I doubt the additional 2 speakers you're getting in the AV spec provides an improvement in audio quality. Can't remember what other features are found in the AV that's not available in H. Maybe H doesn't come with built in DVR.
d@odao
post Mar 6 2022, 03:26 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(ed209 @ Mar 6 2022, 03:22 PM)
I would say ativa for sure. There's a significant step up between myvi and ativa. But i would recommend going for the H or X spec. The execution of the ACC and LKC in the AV spec isn't great and I doubt the additional 2 speakers you're getting in the AV spec provides an improvement in audio quality. Can't remember what other features are found in the AV that's not available in H. Maybe H doesn't come with built in DVR.
H don’t hv blind spot monitoring.
ed209
post Mar 6 2022, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2022, 03:26 PM)
H don’t hv blind spot monitoring.
Oh right, that's unfortunate. I find BSM to be really really useful.
SUSClowninja
post Mar 7 2022, 01:55 AM

86 posts

this may the most rookie thing i havent heard, but should i still waiting for engine to heat up first after turning it on then move or
i can just straight go after turning it on.
(about to own new ativa soon)
FrogBlob
post Mar 7 2022, 10:53 AM

462 posts

QUOTE(Clowninja @ Mar 7 2022, 01:55 AM)
this may the most rookie thing i havent heard, but should i still waiting for engine to heat up first after turning it on then move or
There is a blue light on the meter that shows when you start up, meaning engine not yet warm enough. I usually wait until the light disappears before I drive (unless in a rush).
syling88
post Mar 7 2022, 11:29 AM

64 posts

Notice that rain/water would stay at b-pillar, anyone know whether those rubber strips with 3m tape does work to fill d place up and won't affect door closing?
unkaleong
post Mar 7 2022, 02:12 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ed209 @ Mar 4 2022, 10:53 PM)
Would love to know this as well.
I changed my unit to a Teyes CC3. I would recommend it. Supports apple carplay and android auto.
ktek
post Mar 7 2022, 06:00 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(syling88 @ Mar 7 2022, 11:29 AM)
Notice that rain/water would stay at b-pillar, anyone know whether those rubber strips with 3m tape does work to fill d place up and won't affect door closing?
this part no worry as we open door every days.
urs got rain water near boot rubber?
ktek
post Mar 7 2022, 06:01 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Clowninja @ Mar 7 2022, 01:55 AM)
drive gentle no issue man

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Mar 7 2022, 10:53 AM)
There is a blue light on the meter that shows when you start up, meaning engine not yet warm enough. I usually wait until the light disappears before I drive (unless in a rush).
u wait in gear or free gear

70 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:58 AM