136 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here

civic98
post Mar 2 2008, 08:39 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 2 2008, 12:00 AM)
I've no problems having my MBP switched on 24/7 too - when it's idling it just goes to 'sleep'.

@civic98,
U leaving ur system on 24/7 is slightly different cause ur up in the Highlands - we're in the Lowlands *grins*

@seale_navy,
So, did u manage to convince ur mom?
Tink, I guess you have a point there, btw my MB is always on a cooler with two 12V fans blowing underneath (modified) brows.gif

Seal_navy, it's just some facts of life we all have to live with, don't be "poisoned" by Mac owners here, you're lucky enough to get your parents to buy you ANY notebook, just because you are spoilt with choices doesn't mean you have to get a better one. Back in those days we are lucky enough to have a PC at home shared by everyone.

These days people just forgets to appreciate what they are already blessed with and tend to demand for more...
seale_navy
post Mar 2 2008, 10:44 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Mar 2 2008, 08:39 AM)
Tink, I guess you have a point there, btw my MB is always on a cooler with two 12V fans blowing underneath (modified)  brows.gif

Seal_navy, it's just some facts of life we all have to live with, don't be "poisoned" by Mac owners here, you're lucky enough to get your parents to buy you ANY notebook, just because you are spoilt with choices doesn't mean you have to get a better one. Back in those days we are lucky enough to have a PC at home shared by everyone.

These days people just forgets to appreciate what they are already blessed with and tend to demand for more...
haha..civiv98 you maybe correct on your theory but not for me,..I have to work for months and even skip lunch to save up around rm3000+
to buy a laptop for my own..I am not spoilt or rich ,just determined in buying things with your own hard work money.
tinkerbel
post Mar 2 2008, 11:18 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@seale_navy,
If u are using ur own $ u should be able to make some decision as to which machine to get. Ur folks seem to be sceptical about Mac vs Windows so all u need to do is convince them that the Mac is as good, if not better, than Windows.

1) Yes there are skin protectors for the Mac; or get the black one instead
2) Leopard's an Operating System, just like Window Vista. And "MY COMPUTER" is really the same as "Macintosh HD"
3) iPod is from Apple and it's the product that turned Apple around; how can Apple not be famous? Also, Y would Nike (and equally well known international brand) partner with Apple on the iPod Runners [or whatever u call it] if Apple weren't good? Also, when Apple introduced the iPhone it took the world by storm
4) If u need, U can always run Windows on your OSX - Mac OS allows that; And just what programs do u use? If u can justify and show ur dad the programs u use are compatible with Windows it'll be better
5) I can't help u there
6) The additional benefit of not worrying about spam/spy/viruses
7) If u need, U can also use the weight as a point to ur argument [depending on the other machine ur looking at]

All in all, U just need to be convincing enough; though I feel ur folks think u decided on a Mac because ur friends find it cool and u just wanna be cool. All in all, if they really don't want u to get a Mac, they'll find their reasons; the keyboard not nice to type on, the trackpad no double click like Windows, etc etc.

Good Luck! smile.gif And Yeah quit complaining cause when I was a student, I had to use the computers available at the library!
vetkin_gray
post Mar 2 2008, 12:49 PM

766 posts

@seale_navy,
looks like you have to choose xps 1330 now huh? its not that bad either since dell's after sales service is really good. some people just don't understand how mac is better than windows cause they're afraid to change. they'll rather go for the safe side no matter what you convince them. i totally understand it. so when you're finally earning your own money, buy your own mac. dont be so sad cause after using mac after a while, it won't be such a novelty anymore, you'll find out that windows and mac have their good and bad sides.
seale_navy
post Mar 2 2008, 01:36 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Mar 2 2008, 12:49 PM)
@seale_navy,
looks like you have to choose xps 1330 now huh? its not that bad either since dell's after sales service is really good. some people just don't understand how mac is better than windows cause they're afraid to change. they'll rather go for the safe side no matter what you convince them. i totally understand it. so when you're finally earning your own money, buy your own mac. dont be so sad cause after using mac after a while, it won't be such a novelty anymore, you'll find out that windows and mac have their good and bad sides.
about the xps 1330 is my brother one, we shared the same user name so don't get confused...actually i am using his ID and he is highly active in the xps 1330 club..then he advised to try out Low Yat forum where there are many helpful ppl like u guys to seek advice of a laptop. I am active on the macbook and macbook pro thread only. Yes Vetkin Gray you are right, dell services is outstanding. However the product quality for xps 1330 is kinda negative Dell image.

thanks for understanding me as well..where sometimes I want to be at the safe side too. Therefore I posted a few question here.

Added on March 2, 2008, 1:46 pmtinkerbel..

although I earned the money but the verdict is still at my parent discretion.
Cause they don't want me to make the wrong choice..and yes my mum thinks I am buying macbook cause is cool..and actually thats one of the reason as well another reason is how many 13inch laptop out there, there ain't many.

i will keep you guys update on my story..

This post has been edited by seale_navy: Mar 2 2008, 01:46 PM
civic98
post Mar 2 2008, 01:59 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(seale_navy @ Mar 2 2008, 01:36 PM)
about the xps 1330 is my brother one, we shared the same user name so don't get confused...actually i am using his ID and he is highly active in the xps 1330 club..then he advised to try out Low Yat forum where there are many helpful ppl like u guys to seek advice of a laptop. I am  active on the macbook and macbook pro thread only. Yes Vetkin Gray you are right, dell services is outstanding. However the product quality for xps 1330 is kinda negative Dell image.

thanks for understanding me as well..where sometimes I want to be at the safe side too. Therefore I posted a few question here.

Cause they don't want me to make the wrong choice..and yes my mum thinks I am buying macbook cause is cool..and actually thats one of the reason as well another reason is how many 13inch laptop out there, there ain't many.

The way I look at it, your parents loves you, so not worth disagreeing just because of a notebook. Good for you that you earned your own $$ to get it. The OSX vs Windows arguments don't really stand anyway, cause you can still run Windows on OSX.

Tell your mum, being cool isn't an offence cool2.gif Macs are capable of more than just being cool.

Btw if your target is a 13inch notebook and portability, try looking for others as well, MBs although are 13inch lappies, they are NOT small and NOT light. Do a comparison based on your needs before deciding.

Another thing is, factor in cost for ACPP when comparing with Dell's 3 years Completecover.
diners
post Mar 2 2008, 02:03 PM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(seale_navy @ Mar 2 2008, 01:36 PM)
about the xps 1330 is my brother one, we shared the same user name so don't get confused...actually i am using his ID and he is highly active in the xps 1330 club..then he advised to try out Low Yat forum where there are many helpful ppl like u guys to seek advice of a laptop. I am  active on the macbook and macbook pro thread only. Yes Vetkin Gray you are right, dell services is outstanding. However the product quality for xps 1330 is kinda negative Dell image.

tell aunty seale_navy that...
its ur hard earned money and let them give u a chance to make ur own decision.
and tell them, if u regret buying the MB, u won't like... find ur daddy and mummy to say
"ah, i regret buying it"...
but i doubt u will after using the MAC

good luck mate
tinkerbel
post Mar 2 2008, 04:37 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@seale_navy,
I figured as much coz folks are weary when their kids make the decision based on emotions. U need to rationalise the pros and cons with ur folks in order for them to understand. Look at it this way, if in future u meet a girl whom ur folks don't like just because (just because!) then are u going to convince them she's good, or are u just going to break off with her? tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Mar 2 2008, 04:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 2 2008, 04:37 PM)
@seale_navy,
I figured as much coz folks are weary when their kids make the decision based on emotions.  U need to rationalise the pros and cons with ur folks in order for them to understand.  Look at it this way, if in future u meet a girl whom ur folks don't like just because (just because!) then are u going to convince them she's good, or are u just going to break off with her?  tongue.gif
Hits too close to home.....the girl part. sad.gif
tinkerbel
post Mar 2 2008, 05:06 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@stringfellow,
I'm sure U didn't leave her just coz the folks didn't approve of her. U must've tried ur best in convincing the folks and changing their minds about her, right? smile.gif

It's also important to hear what the folks have to say; if they really think there's nothing good about Apple and if u can't substantiate its goodness other than its physical looks, it's gonna be tough convincing the folks, don't U think smile.gif
IvanKang
post Mar 2 2008, 05:23 PM

238 posts

Can anyone help me out here, my bro's macbook seems to have this problem recently. He just bought it a month ago and 2 days ago, his hard disk was auto renamed to "i can" suddenly the next day he tried to turn on his mac and it wouldn't. Just the apple logo and the spinning thingy on start up.
He's running on leopard and its the intel c2d 2.2 .. And right now he's in Hong Kong any help would be really appreciated.
tinkerbel
post Mar 2 2008, 05:30 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@IvanKang,
It could be a HDD malfunction. What about asking him to take it into one of the Apple Stores in HK to get it fixed or replaced; MB's have International Warranty coverage so they should be able to look into the problem FOC!
IvanKang
post Mar 2 2008, 06:00 PM

238 posts

Thanks, anyway I'm at the apple site and I can't seem to find an address to the apple store in HK.
tinkerbel
post Mar 2 2008, 07:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@IvanKang,
I found a list of resellers here; perhaps U should get ur brother to call them before making the trip to the Store.

Apple Hong Kong - Partners - Reseller
civic98
post Mar 2 2008, 08:06 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(IvanKang @ Mar 2 2008, 05:23 PM)
Can anyone help me out here, my bro's macbook seems to have this problem recently. He just bought it a month ago and 2 days ago, his hard disk was auto renamed to "i can" suddenly the next day he tried to turn on his mac and it wouldn't. Just the apple logo and the spinning thingy on start up.
He's running on leopard and its the intel c2d 2.2 .. And right now he's in Hong Kong any help would be really appreciated.
The "auto renamed" part is a bit fishy, my guess is he accidentally clicked on the "Macintosh HD" on the Desktop and typed "I Can" onto it, thus renaming it, and when it tried to start up the next time, it couldn't find "Macintosh HD". The hard drive is probably still ok, just take it out and plug it into another Mac (USB/Firewire connector) to rename it back.

That's what I think...

Another common similar problem is when users rename their "Home/User" folder and the next time they log in all their files are missing.

This post has been edited by civic98: Mar 2 2008, 08:07 PM
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 2 2008, 09:07 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

@seale_navy

dood... get HP... dont get Dell... using Dell PC for 5 years now (i think, more or less 5 years) and have Dell printer for about 2-3 years... At the moment, Dell printer doesnt detect colour ink anymore, and detects black in but cant print with it (basically, cant print AT ALL)... PC also sent for repair twice oredi coz cooling fan malfunctioned both times... i brought to PC shop and they told me its spoilt, i thot they trying to make quick cash, but a few days later it spoilt...

sent them an e-mail and they still dint reply yet... get HP dood... easier to get HP accessories too compared to Dell... must order everything! (or go to that ONE shop they have in Megamall)...

im not trying to convince u... just advising...

This post has been edited by almattitude_v1: Mar 2 2008, 09:07 PM
civic98
post Mar 2 2008, 09:18 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Mar 2 2008, 08:06 PM)
The "auto renamed" part is a bit fishy, my guess is he accidentally clicked on the "Macintosh HD" on the Desktop and typed "I Can" onto it, thus renaming it, and when it tried to start up the next time, it couldn't find "Macintosh HD". The hard drive is probably still ok, just take it out and plug it into another Mac (USB/Firewire connector) to rename it back.

That's what I think...

Another common similar problem is when users rename their "Home/User" folder and the next time they log in all their files are missing.
Forgot to mention, you could most likely start it up with the Startup Disc.
IvanKang
post Mar 2 2008, 10:31 PM

238 posts

Thanks for the tips, but err after the Hard disk was renamed, my brother renamed it back to Macintosh HD which is assume is the original name for it and right after that it didn't start. I've also renamed a few hard disk partition on my other macs and they don't seem to cause any trouble too. Possible HD malfunction? or....

This post has been edited by IvanKang: Mar 2 2008, 10:33 PM
lilredridinghood
post Mar 3 2008, 02:58 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Mar 2 2008, 09:07 PM)
@seale_navy

dood... get HP... dont get Dell... using Dell PC for 5 years now (i think, more or less 5 years) and have Dell printer for about 2-3 years... At the moment, Dell printer doesnt detect colour ink anymore, and detects black in but cant print with it (basically, cant print AT ALL)... PC also sent for repair twice oredi coz cooling fan malfunctioned both times... i brought to PC shop and they told me its spoilt, i thot they trying to make quick cash, but a few days later it spoilt...

sent them an e-mail and they still dint reply yet... get HP dood... easier to get HP accessories too compared to Dell... must order everything! (or go to that ONE shop they have in Megamall)...

on the contrary, i have a different opinion, I'd say get Dell instead of HP. Compaq to be precise by the way, but same manufacturer, no? My Presario's MB went off twice, once during warranty period, then 4 years later which made me ditch that notebook. The same happened to another 2 mates of mine.
diners
post Mar 3 2008, 06:15 AM

Young Dipertuan
1,484 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Mar 2 2008, 09:07 PM)
@seale_navy

hmm, i dun really agree with u too blink.gif
cuz, i got this 6-7 yrs Dell Dimension 4300
hehehhe
still working VERY VERY VERY fine for me.
icon_rolleyes.gif

136 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:56 PM