QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 3 2025, 02:52 PM)
I feel for the people who have to endure endless claims denials and follow up queries, but from my experience, >90% of the time the insurance company is in the right and act in accordance to their T&Cs.
People need to understand that the way the law and medical insurance framework stands, insurers will only thoroughly investigate at the point of claim, NOT underwriting. Is this fair? I think not, but that's the system. Too much resources would be wasted to thoroughly underwrite.
Besides, witholding information and being dishonest in your application will always come back to bite you, despite what your agent advises. The reason for this is because in Malaysia, individual medical insurance contain a clause: pre-existing conditions are NOT covered.
Some things like high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes, can inevitably be linked to almost every single ailment. Besides, even if something completely unrelated were to develop, an insurer can invalidate your entire policy for failure to disclose your past medical conditions (including mental health issues). This is because it is not the insurer that bears the claims cost, but rather other insured in the insurance pool (which is you and me).
In this case, I won't be surprised that Allianz has sufficient ground to reject the claims and probe further, the timing from the insured seems fishy.
Sadly, we will be seeing more and more such news hitting social media, unless there is a reform to the medical insurance system to cover pre-existing conditions, a la the USA. But that won't be easy, given the propensity for adverse selection in such a situation.
To be fair, I don't think Allianz has outright rejected the claims.
The whole thing sangkut because the first admission GL request was left unresolved.
When there is no claim, Allianz didn't even have the chance to investigate.
Then with the follow-ups that were also unable to proceed due to the unresolved initial GL, created a whole series of unnecessary confusion.
The agent, aka INTERMEDIARY, wasn't mediating anything.
Beginilah jadinya.
Will the insurer bother to run around on behalf of the insured?
No, because it is the insured's duty to file for a claim.
And the intermediary collected the commissions, might as well render the services.
No doubt there are these bad apples among agents. I frankly really understand the stigma that some forumers here hold against insurance agents.
In this specific case, I think Allianz Life is very innocent lah.