Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

MUM
post Feb 10 2024, 06:08 AM

14,959 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Feb 10 2024, 02:53 AM)
I have an example of a insured person from my agent, who standalone medical policy rose from rm1927.08 (age 52) to rm4231.24 (age 61). She claim that the sharp increase was due to the standalone nature and inferring that using a ILP will slow down the sharp increase.
Without considering the actual % of quantum of increase to define " sharp increase"...but just by looking at and comparing the numbers with another ILP product, ... your agent could be right by saying that ILP product rises slower. But it is not that right to infer that ILP products will slow down the "sharp" increase, unless can quantify tangibly define "sharp increase".
Looking at that ILP premium table obtained from, ...

How to deal with medical insurance repricing?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5432101

Looks like the "sharp" increase starts once you are 51, and became "sharper" with each falls into the next age brackets

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 10 2024, 06:30 AM

hoonanoo
post Feb 10 2024, 07:03 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 8 2024, 11:57 PM)
That's not the only case GE have. I heard GE also have other cases. That is one of the reason I avoid GE totally.
So is other like Prudential any better?
adele123
post Feb 12 2024, 09:25 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 10 2024, 07:03 PM)
This is a public forum. Comments without statistics backing or hearsay or anecdotal are really not facts.

Regulators are there to protect consumers interest.

I have said many times, it takes more effort to deny claims than to approve claims. If it's rightfully yours, they won't simply reject.

It is in YOUR INTEREST that insurance companies don't simply pay claims too. Because if you were honest, you want the insurance companies to weed out the dishonest people. Else do you want to be paying higher premium because some people didn't disclose thier diabetes?

This post has been edited by adele123: Feb 12 2024, 10:00 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2024, 10:47 AM

24,427 posts

Don't know. But I know GE got lots of case under them. Look for comments on Reddit, here. Make sure to search back 201x thread.
I don't care about Prudential cause I just want standalone medical insurance.

I am not going to bother with life. Critical insurance I get from sg side
MUM
post Feb 12 2024, 10:59 AM

14,959 posts

Just My uneducated, unqualified & kay poh comments, ....

No matters which one, no matters what matters, .... if you still feel not satisfied with the issues AFTER contacting and getting response or conclusions from the insurance company,, you can still go to seek assistance with OFS.

Historically, annually, OFS had managed to revise 5-10% of the insurers earlier decision.
But most of the time, insurers are right,

Attached are just some cases studies I got from OFS in the net, showing the complainants did the right decision to contact OFS.

BTW, there are alot of cases studies by OFS showing the the decisions of the insurers are right too

In one of their annual reports, OFS did mentioned something about "non disclosures", ( as per attached images)

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
devilmaycry9
post Feb 12 2024, 11:25 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 8 2024, 01:02 PM)
1. Lasik is a surgery and you should declare. Otherwise any complication arise from Lasik on the eye will not be covered.

2. Then you should declare for high BP since there is already a record.

If the insurance accept after your disclosure then its fine. You keep quiet about it and pretend nothing happened. Then you see whether luck is at your side or not when it comes to claims.
QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Feb 8 2024, 01:11 PM)
1. yes, because it is a non-disclosure.
2. No. It will only serve as a record. The most underwriters can do is to seek clarification by requesting for a medical examination on the high bp.
It is understandable that blood pressure spikes when nervous ah, excited ah, etc.
I also nervous every time i go dentist.
tq for the answer... regarding question 1, so every surgery done should be declare even minor accident cut and doing the circumcise too? hmm.gif
lifebalance
post Feb 12 2024, 11:29 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(devilmaycry9 @ Feb 12 2024, 11:25 AM)
tq for the answer... regarding question 1, so every surgery done should be declare even minor accident cut and doing the circumcise too? hmm.gif
Just answer according to the questionnaires.
hoonanoo
post Feb 12 2024, 04:36 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2024, 10:47 AM)
Don't know. But I know GE got lots of case under them. Look for comments on Reddit, here. Make sure to search back 201x thread.
I don't care about Prudential cause I just want standalone medical insurance.

I am not going to bother with life. Critical insurance I get from sg side
what is a standalone medical insurance?

prudential don't have them?
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2024, 06:15 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 12 2024, 04:36 PM)
what is a standalone medical insurance?

prudential don't have them?
Pure medical insurance. Nothing else. No bundle life/critical illness/investment. Prudential doesn't sell standalone medical insurance with RM1m+ coverage.
hoonanoo
post Feb 13 2024, 03:20 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2024, 06:15 PM)
Pure medical insurance. Nothing else. No bundle life/critical illness/investment. Prudential doesn't sell standalone medical insurance with RM1m+ coverage.
exactly who sells 1m+coverage?
Ramjade
post Feb 13 2024, 04:21 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 13 2024, 03:20 PM)
exactly who sells 1m+coverage?
AIA, GE, Generali, medisavees (lonpac), gather are selling RM1m+ coverage.
kucingfight
post Feb 13 2024, 10:24 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2024, 04:21 PM)
AIA, GE, Generali, medisavees (lonpac),  gather are selling RM1m+ coverage.
Oh funny couldn't find 1m medic standalone in generali, only tru rhb insurance. Mainly max 150k

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Feb 13 2024, 10:24 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2024, 12:04 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Feb 13 2024, 10:24 PM)
Oh funny couldn't find 1m medic standalone in generali, only tru rhb insurance. Mainly max 150k
Find on their website.
JIUHWEI
post Feb 14 2024, 12:03 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(devilmaycry9 @ Feb 12 2024, 11:25 AM)
I like to be thorough if you'd like to be thorough as well.

hoonanoo
post Feb 15 2024, 09:02 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2024, 04:21 PM)
AIA, GE, Generali, medisavees (lonpac),  gather are selling RM1m+ coverage.
oh I see

someone recommended lonpac to me.

but I was thinking, do I need 1m medical insurance?

hmm.gif

not unless I travel a lot
MUM
post Feb 15 2024, 09:20 AM

14,959 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 15 2024, 09:02 AM)
oh I see

hmm.gif

Well, I think the proponents of that might tell you, ... this 1 million coverage might become like current 300k after 30 yrs, ...that is the time, when your chances of claiming it may more.
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2024, 09:33 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 15 2024, 09:02 AM)
oh I see

hmm.gif

You get rm1m+ coverage is not for you to use insurance now. It is for you to use it 20-30 later. Like last time insurance only RM30k. Now only enough for like normal admission but not enough for ICU or major op.

Combine with the lousy ringgit, your rm1m+ will be needed sooner than later.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 15 2024, 10:58 AM
hoonanoo
post Feb 15 2024, 09:43 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 15 2024, 09:33 AM)
You get rm1m+ coverage is not for you to use insurance now. It is for you to use it 20-30 later. Like last time insurance only RM30k. Enough for like normal admission but not enough for ICU or major op.

Combine with the lousy ringgit, your rm1m+ will be needed sooner than later.
hmm.

perhaps u r right.
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2024, 10:59 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 15 2024, 09:43 AM)
hmm.

perhaps u r right.
You have not factor in cancer treatment and dialysis. You can go for those 100k+ coverage. It is sufficient. But if you need dialysis or cancer treatment, not going to be enough.

Do you want to run out of coverage when you need it?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 15 2024, 11:00 AM
ycs
post Feb 15 2024, 01:54 PM

4,238 posts

got AIA quote; is the comparison correct? investment link only slightly more expensive than standalone?

392 Pages « < 246 247 248 249 250 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:36 AM