Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

SUSBrookLes
post Jul 12 2023, 03:59 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jul 12 2023, 03:31 PM)
To everybody reading this:

Voluntarily putting money into your parents EPF is a good thing.
In the eyes of the law, it is no different than directly giving the money to your parents.
The monies given to your parents no longer belong to you.

It ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT imply that you are entitled to the monies and whatever interests and dividends derived.
Whatever distributions that follow will be executed with accordance to the nominations done, with no consideration for who pumped in the contribution payments.
Never know your relationship with your parents is like this
But then you probably lost your soul a long time ago.

Of course, for my case I expect my parents to return to me what is rightfully mine. But if that also they want to take. Then I give loh. But if your parents also you cannot trust then who can you trust?

Maybe you are the type who will ask your parents to sign a contract after you ask them to help you put money into a FD for elderly because you are scared they will not return the money to you. Not saying there should not be written because ppl can forget due to old age or if you have siblings and something happen to your parents at least you can tell your sibling this is what you gave to your parents to care for you.

Like I said everything extra you write only makes you look bad that's all.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 12 2023, 04:42 PM
MUM
post Jul 12 2023, 06:53 PM

14,958 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jul 12 2023, 03:31 PM)
To everybody reading this:

Voluntarily putting money into your parents EPF is a good thing.
In the eyes of the law, it is no different than directly giving the money to your parents.
The monies given to your parents no longer belong to you.

It ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT imply that you are entitled to the monies and whatever interests and dividends derived.
Whatever distributions that follow will be executed with accordance to the nominations done, with no consideration for who pumped in the contribution payments.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif good advise for other readers but except for those that think and believes otherwise.

pump pump pump money in,...then realised he is NOT nominated .... doh.gif
or
pump pump pump money in,...then realised he is nominated for only certain % out of the total available doh.gif

there had been cases as reported some years ago by the Bar Council of Malaysia

btw,
after a certain age,....cannot self contribute into KWSP account anymore.

Holocene
post Jul 12 2023, 06:54 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 12 2023, 03:59 PM)

Of course, for my case I expect my parents to return to me what is rightfully mine. But if that also they want to take. Then I give loh. But if your parents also you cannot trust then who can you trust?

Maybe you are the type who will ask your parents to sign a contract after you ask them to help you put money into a FD for elderly because you are scared they will not return the money to you. Not saying there should not be written because ppl can forget due to old age or if you have siblings and something happen to your parents at least you can tell your sibling this is what you gave to your parents to care for you.

My man, don’t la like this.

You want to make fun of us for entertainment I also don’t mind but don’t la go and involve parents/kids/partner and all..

Take it down a notch.

I’m sure deep down you know what JiuHwei has shared is a legit response.

Anyways if you don’t, let me give you a scenario on potential risk.

Crookless is a married man with wife and 2 kids.

Crookless got a father that’s in his 70s. Mother left the material world.

Crookless wants to put his additional money in his father EPF account to leverage on the EPF returns. Unfortunately for Crookless he never asked his father about the nomination arrangements. Not knowing that the father EPF nomination nominated the father’s hot young thing to receive 100% of the account value.

Father suddenly died from a heart attack because of rigorous physical activities. EPF pays out following the father’s nomination to the hot young thing.

Question is now, what happens to Crookless funds that he deposited in the fathers EPF account?

Sure Crookless can get the hot young thing to give Crookless back his funds, but she got no relationship with Crookless, why even entertain him?

Anyways just an example, you can replace hot young thing with siblings or friends. Same result.

Prevention always better than cure mah.

If you read my post, I gave the forummer a different point for consideration seeing other contributors and yourself have already address the main question.

Additional info: The father can change the nomination anytime but at least now the forummer is aware of the risks.

This post has been edited by Holocene: Jul 12 2023, 06:57 PM
Holocene
post Jul 12 2023, 06:55 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 12 2023, 06:53 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif good advise for other readers but except for those that think and believes otherwise.

pump pump pump money in,...then realised he is NOT nominated ....  doh.gif 
or
pump pump pump money in,...then realised he is nominated for only certain % out of the total available  doh.gif

btw,
Probably can’t take it when he’s being shown up.

But that’s my assumption. I could be wrong.
lifebalance
post Jul 12 2023, 06:57 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 12 2023, 06:53 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif good advise for other readers but except for those that think and believes otherwise.

pump pump pump money in,...then realised he is NOT nominated ....  doh.gif 
or
pump pump pump money in,...then realised he is nominated for only certain % out of the total available  doh.gif

btw,
Haiyah, bring one issue then kasi spin mah. 😂
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 12 2023, 07:12 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jul 12 2023, 06:54 PM)
My man, don’t la like this.

You want to make fun of us for entertainment I also don’t mind but don’t la go and involve parents/kids/partner and all..

Take it down a notch.

I’m sure deep down you know what JiuHwei has shared is a legit response.

Anyways if you don’t, let me give you a scenario on potential risk.

Crookless is a married man with wife and 2 kids.

Crookless got a father that’s in his 70s. Mother left the material world.

Crookless wants to put his additional money in his father EPF account to leverage on the EPF returns. Unfortunately for Crookless he never asked his father about the nomination arrangements. Not knowing that the father EPF nomination nominated the father’s hot young thing to receive 100% of the account value.

Father suddenly died from a heart attack because of rigorous physical activities. EPF pays out following the father’s nomination to the hot young thing.

Question is now, what happens to Crookless funds that he deposited in the fathers EPF account?

Sure Crookless can get the hot young thing to give Crookless back his funds, but she got no relationship with Crookless, why even entertain him?

Anyways just an example, you can replace hot young thing with siblings or friends. Same result.

Prevention always better than cure mah.
If you read my post, I gave the forummer a different point for consideration seeing other contributors and yourself have already address the main question.

Additional info: The father can change the nomination anytime but at least now the forummer is aware of the risks.
You obviously never read my post carefully. But why bother at this point.

Like I said. Maybe you have siblings that would probably take even the portion that rightfully belongs to you. Fortunately, at least my siblings are not this low.

Nah. You know and I know what are the true intentions at this point.

Based on what you have written so far, you would probably whack someone at his head if that means you will be a billion dollars richer and there is assurance that there will be no charges against you.

Not saying the parents should not change the nomination btw. But most ppl are not so calculative to be honest. I will definitely not put a knife towards my parents to change the nomination.

Even though I will not be surprised for you to use the last statement against me.

All you are doing right now is "damage reduction"

Cannot help replying if my replies are quoted.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 12 2023, 07:25 PM
Holocene
post Jul 12 2023, 07:22 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 12 2023, 07:12 PM)
You obviously never read my post carefully. But why bother at this point.

Like I said. Maybe you have siblings that would probably take even the portion that rightfully belongs to you. Fortunately, at least my siblings are not this low.

Nah. You know and I know what are the true intentions at this point.

Based on what you have written so far, you would probably whack someone at his head if that means you will be a billion dollars richer and there is assurance that there will be no charges against you.

Not saying the parents should not change the nomination btw. But most ppl are not so calculative to be honest. I will definitely not put a knife towards my parents to change the nomination.

Even though I will not be surprised for you to use the last statement against me.

All you are doing right now is "damage reduction"
🤔 what kind of damage reduction are you talking about?

I’m just highlighting the potential risk that the forummer might want to be aware of.

So? What’s the problem?

SUSBrookLes
post Jul 12 2023, 07:25 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jul 12 2023, 07:22 PM)
🤔 what kind of damage reduction are you talking about?

I’m just highlighting the potential risk that the forummer might want to be aware of.

So? What’s the problem?
It's ok.
You know I know and those who are intelligent knows
Holocene
post Jul 12 2023, 07:28 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 12 2023, 07:25 PM)
It's ok.
You know I know and those who are intelligent knows
If you got something to say, say it. Get it off your chest man.
adele123
post Jul 13 2023, 01:10 AM

4,726 posts

I think this has gone beyond acceptable discussion on the insurance topic. Please stop unnecessary discussion on who likes to report or otherwise.

Arguments should be fact based please

Summoning cherroy
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2023, 09:33 AM

24,425 posts

Btw lifebalance, I don't troll and I don't care whether I am most popular guy.

I share what I know freely and for the sake of sharing. Reason is because someone shared and teach me stuff that I didn't know previously. I am just returning the favour and I do it as I wouldn't be where I am today without their help.

Oh I don't have the "must win/must always be right by any means attitude/die die must prove somebody wrong" I am happy to be wrong. If I am wrong, even better. Then I learn extra stuff.

If you are easily kecil hati, by all means, please report.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2023, 09:36 AM
lifebalance
post Jul 13 2023, 09:39 AM

10,162 posts

Thanks for cleaning the mess cherroy. Please monitor here more often blush.gif It's been getting out of hand lately.
Xithyl
post Jul 13 2023, 10:55 AM

40 posts

hi guys, come across an incident here >>> https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid...mibextid=ZbWKwL

but i do believe not all insurance agents are like that. as a customer, just be smart to select the insurance agent you want to buy with. If you don't feel safe, meet more agents so you can judge better. just my 2 cents.
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2023, 11:13 AM

24,425 posts

QUOTE(Xithyl @ Jul 13 2023, 10:55 AM)
hi guys, come across an incident here >>> https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid...mibextid=ZbWKwL

but i do believe not all insurance agents are like that. as a customer, just be smart to select the insurance agent you want to buy with. If you don't feel safe, meet more agents so you can judge better. just my 2 cents.
It's quite common. I have seen a few myself, I asked for product a, they try to sell me product b. Then some also talk about savings/investment.

Can't blame them as they got family to feed also. For me, once they try selling to cross sell me other product/spam my WhatsApp with peomo, I will say no and look for other agent.

Told off one GE agent for spamming me with promo from GE. Told her I am not interested in buying other insurance as I already got what I wanted and I won't buy from GE at all. Another agent from allianz also spam me with promo from allianz.

That's why I found an agent who didn't spam me and didn't try to sell me things I didn't want.

Of course if one only know FD and nothing else, then likely will get caught/persuaded by insurance agent. But when your returns are better than theirs, you wont even want to take a look at their products. That's why important to get educated.

Never ask a barber if you need a haircut and no one cares more about your money than yourself. Never be tempted by greed.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2023, 11:17 AM
lifebalance
post Jul 13 2023, 11:14 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Xithyl @ Jul 13 2023, 10:55 AM)

Thanks for sharing the juicy story.

Yes, do becareful of snake oil agents. If in doubt, consult another agent to compare the advise.

Good to know that justice is done whereby the PO gets his money back.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Jul 13 2023, 05:41 PM
JIUHWEI
post Jul 13 2023, 01:11 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 12 2023, 03:59 PM)

Quite a lot of people that I trust bro
I leave my cheque book with my agency admin and she can sign my signature perfectly.
My corporate card is also left in her care as well.
My wife knows all my password templates and PIN structures, and her biometrics unlocks my phones too.

Whatever I have given to my parents, I never expected it back lah.
What they do with it, also didn't cross my mind to question them lah... (really bro?)
Maybe because they raised me right? Can't tell for sure
What I have given to my siblings also I never thought to ask back, unless they specify that it is pinjam wan la.
Pinjam tu lain, have to return. Bagi tu lain, kena ikhlas.
In fact, whatever I gave out, usually is without the intention of asking for it back la...
Maybe cuz I grew up in a tight-knit Muslim community, influenced in a rather good way by my neighbors too.
At this age... I will feel damn malu if I still need my parents to care for me lah, quite frankly.

Never crossed my mind to use my parents as a mule as well... Really bro? You a Ludacris song now?

I assume that I have a very different life than you.
But, to follow your arguments, what's the agreed interest rate of what you owe to your parents?
I imagine it to be on the high side... or are they seeking a refund at this point?
Are you on a payment plan?
Quite smart, I'll give you that, cuz this doesn't affect your credit score anyways.
Since you kira with your parents, I just assume that it is due to your parents also kira with you la.
The family book have to balance. Otherwise, all parties cannot balance, is that it?
Unless... you're a prick that kira with your parents for spending "YOUR MONEY"
But I choose to believe that you're not la.
I still choose to hold you to a higher standard, despite the fact...
real_cranium
post Jul 13 2023, 04:57 PM

64 posts

Hi, looking to buy insurance/takaful for my 3 months baby boy. Appreciate if any agents can DM me some quotations for me to read through. Many thanks.
Pokem0n P
post Jul 14 2023, 12:02 PM

Probation

Hello all,
I'm 28 years old healthy, non-smoker male.
I recently get touch with Generali Insurance agent (Previous known as AXA)

I received insurance quote for ILP from him/her as below:
Wealth Protect Assurace 2 - 100 yrs:

TPD & Accident = 50k | Accidental Death - Additional 50k
CritiCover - CI (194) = 50k | 100k if Cancer Related, Heart Attack, Stroke
OneMedic Elite 1 = 1Mil | 10% increase every 5years if no claim made
Hospital Income = RM100
Premium Payor = To cover the premium in case anything happened till 80 years old

All these plans/riders for annual Premium = RM220 monthly

Would like to know whether these coverages are cheap or expensive for the Quoted Premium ?
lifebalance
post Jul 14 2023, 12:06 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Pokem0n @ Jul 14 2023, 12:02 PM)
Hello all,
I'm 28 years old healthy, non-smoker male.
I recently get touch with Generali Insurance agent (Previous known as AXA)

I received insurance quote for ILP from him/her as below:
Wealth Protect Assurace 2 - 100 yrs:

TPD & Accident = 50k |  Accidental Death - Additional 50k
CritiCover - CI (194) = 50k | 100k if Cancer Related, Heart Attack, Stroke
OneMedic Elite 1 = 1Mil | 10% increase every 5years if no claim made
Hospital Income = RM100
Premium Payor = To cover the premium in case anything happened till 80 years old

All these plans/riders for annual Premium = RM220 monthly

Would like to know whether these coverages are cheap or expensive for the Quoted Premium ?
Quite okay, what's your concern?
Pokem0n P
post Jul 14 2023, 12:28 PM

Probation

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jul 14 2023, 12:06 PM)
Quite okay, what's your concern?
Thank you for the reply. While comparing my colleague AIA ILP plan which have slightly higher monthly premium medical coverage with 1.6Mil coverage. My concern here is 1Mil medical coverage that been offered is sufficient for these days ?

392 Pages « < 179 180 181 182 183 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:02 PM