8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P

foogie
post Apr 4 2009, 05:44 PM

505 posts

haruka kanata rocks, hehe, akfg rocks hard too, used to play a lot of their materials back when i was jamming with a jrock kinda band in foundation year.

btw, try buikikaesu by MTH, quite fun to play smile.gif, not too difficult also, after which, u will be addicted to slap pop, tongue.gif
foogie
post Apr 4 2009, 09:17 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 4 2009, 07:41 PM)
@Thalmes

Slap and pop is easy when you put time to practice it. It looks difficult but once you get into it, you'll love it. Go hunt for some simple slap and pop tutorials or videos for begineers. We all started that way but we gradually become better.
+1, youtube really makes self learning way easier each day, so many slap pop tutorials for any level of playing, i wish i started learning slap pop earlier.. if it wasnt that huge ego of mine that told me i was good enough a few years back.. (that was the bubble i lived in).. thankfully met some other bassists that really humbled me so much and led me to really explore bass for real.. Now i realize there're tons of other techniques worth learning in bass, heck, even slap pop i cant master yet... sigh..

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 4 2009, 08:00 PM)
Most songs have chord structures and or so to say, chords made for the songs are pretty fixed. So to start with, we play according to the song or the given chords.

In some cases, many pro musicians will change the chords in the song or add different breaks to make the song more unique.

As a bassist, we need to know the feel of the song to start with and play them right. Until we are confident enough to play the song well, we then can start to add own flavours to the song.
example: for a G-D-Em-C progression, check how john myung did it in "through her eyes", really inspirational. To some of the bassists that think john myung has no groove, think again! tongue.gif.

Another thing to note is from wat Jaco said, that the treble clef is as important as the bass clef to a bass player, one must know the melody of the song before trying to improvise, as some bass player (me included), tend to come out with 'goreng' bass line for a particular song which might sound a bit like the "harmony", but in actual fact, they're so disconnected from the song..
Oh yea, don't forget about dynamics as well.
foogie
post Apr 10 2009, 09:32 PM

505 posts

Wa lordie, u also kena the Pbass craze adee ar?

crazychris: u got go js music anytime soon???!!

chapree: ur curbow is the one with the extremely high action 1 ar?

Thalmes: can get at the guitar store near damansara perdana there

This post has been edited by foogie: Apr 10 2009, 09:35 PM
foogie
post Apr 10 2009, 11:23 PM

505 posts

The Guitar Store: http://www.theguitarstore.com.my/index.php?m=brand:brand=1

Cheers biggrin.gif
foogie
post Apr 11 2009, 10:57 AM

505 posts

wa, chris, u also using Pbass now? hehe
foogie
post Apr 11 2009, 04:30 PM

505 posts

In Malaysia, if you stay outside KL very hard to get loh, in malacca rite, bass pickups almost non existent tongue.gif.

But electric guitar pickups almost everywhere also can get. can't blame the stores la, so little bass players, summore bass players dun normally change their pickups also. electric guitarists cant survive without changing their pickups it seems tongue.gif.

This post has been edited by foogie: Apr 11 2009, 04:37 PM
foogie
post Apr 12 2009, 03:24 PM

505 posts

The only pickups that i seem to have a problem is are active pickups though, somehow i just cant seem to find the sweet spot for these pups to bring out the best from a bass... any suggestions?

chris: ah.. i'm still curious why P bass's simple design creates such unforgettable tone. u like jaco's fretted or fretless jazzbass? the harmonics from them are timeless.. and it's from stock fender pups would u believe it, hehe.

foogie
post Apr 13 2009, 06:27 PM

505 posts

chris: thanks for the video, were a fan of lakland because of tim foreman of switchfoot.. i still don't think the lakland came even close to the Pbass's tone though, lacking of that punchy uumphness..

oh btw, i need some help, why is it that my harmonics always get drowned in the mix 1 ar?
foogie
post Apr 17 2009, 09:16 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Apr 15 2009, 03:12 PM)
from what i read and heard, wood influences the string vibrations and resonance. I don't understand how it works, but a string mounted on different woods vibrate differently and have different overtones. Thus giving you different sound characteristics of the wood. Nothing to do with pickups. Pickups convert these into electrical signals which again alter your signals. So both wood and PUs have an effect on tone, but they are independant of each other.

From my own testing:

- Ash: Defined highs, twangy pops (adjust using EQs) and a nice slap sound. Not that great with a pick (very very twangy)

- Swamp Ash: Expensive Ash

- Alder: Decently balanced tone wood. Can't give any specific characteristics, because I use this as my reference tone wood

- Mahogany: Similar to alder, except the overtones are different creating a "warmer" sound. That's the best description i can give  tongue.gif

- Maple: Similar to Ash but much twangier i feel.

- Basswood: Sucks. Just manages to give a real muddy sound. Or maybe I just suck at bass

- Rosewood: No idea. Which bass uses rosewood?

And of course the millions of other exotic woods that have usually similar characteristics to those described above. But normal people can't afford.  tongue.gif
Also look out for combinations. Those are quite popular nowadays. Luthiers layer the guitar body to combine tonal characteristics and blend them to get a unique sound. And some make weird art out of that. Like Conklin. Although, again, normal people can't afford  tongue.gif

So just keep your ears open  cool.gif
Woah, really good post just when im really thinking about it, thanks a lot man, really clear a lot of misunderstanding notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ Apr 16 2009, 07:33 AM)
man, deja vu ... smile.gif
suj, haha, long time no see, see time no long smile.gif.

QUOTE(chapree @ Apr 16 2009, 08:58 PM)
Wah, so many replies. Nyum nyum nyum  nod.gif
Hahahah I guess so, but it's no longer that high. Remember SMX Times Square (are they still around?) had this free setup day couple of years ago? I went there and have it lowered.

But I think the neck already gg'ed since I didn't played it for so long.
I would suggest getting them online, since you shouldn't encounter much hassle as per buying larger size items.
How about finger position and angle?
SMX still in times square ar, but change lot adee, it's near the snooker and pool supplies shop. bigger store now, yeah, i remember the free setup day smile.gif. So, getting any new neck or bass soon? hehe..

how about tax for pickups? or no more tax adee?

i dunno eh chapree, everytime i play, i get muddy sounds, maybe i just suck really bad and can only play passive... sad.gif. how to do proper finger position and proper angle leh? is it because i play too close to the neck?
foogie
post Apr 18 2009, 09:25 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Apr 17 2009, 10:34 AM)
I didn't know that there's a musical instrument store in Times Square . Will try to go and hang out once in a while .

By the way, Has anyone played on a American Standard Jazz Bass ? How does it sound like ?
yeah, do check SMX out, they have quite a bunch of recording stuffs there, u wud love it, m-audio, etc.. but guitar wise, less than last time, no trace of taylor sad.gif.. still remember hw nice they were last time to let me try a 10k taylor tongue.gif.

QUOTE(ptewee @ Apr 17 2009, 11:22 AM)
@Thalmes: lol u sure update fast (K-On!)...

anyway, im heading to KL in july, so might wanna check out some music shops...

*bass currently on hiatus because of assignments >.<*
eh, i got final year project thesis to write wei, still playing more than 3 hours daily tongue.gif... hehehhee.. oh yea, do check out bentley and guitar store at damansara area. forget the bentley at bukit bintang, no point going there... nt forgetting js music, look out for aguilars... hehehe biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chapree @ Apr 17 2009, 03:59 PM)
Yeah, I did remember that they moved to new shop lot, just didn't know their still around.  nod.gif

They tax pups? Hmm...still, it wouldn't be that expensive also.

I don't know whether there's text-book definition of finger position + angle. It's just that I when I moved around my fingers, I got different sounds coming out. It's something like how playing near the bridge sounds totally different compared to near the neck or somewhere in between. In addition to that, I tried further combination for example less nail hitting the strings, more nails, slightly angled fingers...something like that.  laugh.gif
haha, i only play near the bridge if i wanna play fast, developed this bad habit of playing near the neck most of the time coz last time watched some of the country players playing like on top of the fretboard with a p bass and the sound was quite cool, so wanted to imitate, and there u go... habit! Sounds good on a passive la, but on an active.. and i hate playing with fingernails, i think cud be why i get muddy tone.. thanks man, made me think a bit, hehe.

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ Apr 17 2009, 04:23 PM)
Check out my blog's fresh new look:

http://www.bassraptor.blogspot.com/
suj, nice pic of u with ur sweet rickenbacker smile.gif.

This post has been edited by foogie: Apr 18 2009, 09:26 AM
foogie
post Apr 20 2009, 10:59 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(chapree @ Apr 19 2009, 01:11 AM)
I'm still experimenting as well...as many otais said - tone came from your finger. There are truth in it indeed.  laugh.gif
About no Taylor in SMX, maybe because Taylor's dealership went to Bentley?
chapree, whenever u find good tone ar, dun forget to share u knw, hehehe biggrin.gif.
Taylor's dealership really went to bentley ar? sad! sad.gif

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 19 2009, 10:46 PM)
I would say..don't turn everything up on the EQ's bass knobs. Imagine full bass, mid and highs, you have no control over your sound. Not a good way to have good  tone and sound. Imagine if all musicians on stage would do the same, full bass, mids and highs..you hear a whole lot of noise but you won't hear quality of sound. 

My suggestion is to leave all knobs flat on the bass and amp first. Then only tweak the bass knobs accordingly. Your tone should comes first before tweaking the bass knobs to enhance your overall sound. Lastly, tweak them bass amp if you need to.

Unless you happen to play on a very bad bass amp (Laney 80-100 watts), then you have to tweak the bass amp like crazy.
davidgary, if im using passive bass, then what should i do? should i leave the neck, bridge pup and the tone only at the medium level (with the amp at flat) and then only adjust accordingly on the bass, or should i leave it all at full level on the bass then only adjust at the amp side like what some of my friends do? (their argument is that passive basses sound best with all knobs full on the bass).

Also, what is the best configuration on the bass and amp if i just wanna use the bridge pups for that twangy jazz sound?

thanks in advance smile.gif
foogie
post Apr 20 2009, 10:15 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(Graffitist @ Apr 20 2009, 11:43 AM)
Hi Foogie, how r u? Still in Melaka? smile.gif
hey, im fine, hw about u? yea, still in malacca, have we met before?

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 20 2009, 12:16 PM)
I reckon that passive basses is good to go full on but I would recommend to place all settings flat and adjust the bass knobs settings to your preference. If your settings a full on, then is cool. There's so much of tonality to play with actually. Don't let a full on bass knob stamp your bass tone. Experiment and see the tones you can get from the bass. In some occasion, i used the GNL passive switch and still cut the treble.

As for the bridge config, i have no idea mate. You just have to experiment with both your bass and amp to find the sound you're looking for. You can try adding more mids for the roundness but not to much at 800Hz - 2Hz.
ooo, thanks for the help man smile.gif. gonna try out when i can jam with a drummer, coz normally if i tweak my tone cantik cantik at home adee, when play with a drummer, always get drowned, hehe.

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Apr 20 2009, 01:22 PM)
Can I rest assure with American Standard Jazz Bass ? Or Do I have to upgrade the pickups ? Looking for a bass to get and use it for my bass life soon . Now I'm still using my SR200 ...
i dun think need to upgrade the pups lo, coz jaco also sticked to stocks his entire life tongue.gif. hehe, nah, jk, erm, u might realize that the single coil hum might be kinda annoying (those noiseless or hum cancelling pups), or u wanna search for a different sound (change ur onboard preamp to audere or smth), or higher output (quarter pounder, etc.).

btw, thalmes, u shud sayang ur sr200 for at least another year la, important thing is dont sell ur first bass! haha. normally after selling u sure sakit hati 1, sentimental value and all... but if u wanna GAS for an american std can la, but just dun sell the sr200, really great bass also ar imho.

QUOTE(chapree @ Apr 20 2009, 01:50 PM)
Hahaha, true indeed! Personally, this is what happen to me most of the time as jamming studio usually provide us with budget series high-powered amps.

Personally, I rely on my own bass' EQ with flat EQ on amps.
Ibanez not that bad indeed.
With the right owner, even GIO series could sound great. I remember Melina (Tempered Mental) used GIO 5-stringer for quite sometime before moving to Soundgear.

Might be good to my ear, but not for you.
I no longer have my passive Jazz sound with me since I already sold off my SX. Until I get a new one, I can only offer you humbucker tones. 
Melina's fingers can generate perfect tone on any bass wei, hehe, dat's why tongue.gif. Speaking of which, wat happened to tempered mental?

sayang la ur sx so cantik also wanna sell sad.gif. i made a vow not to sell my sx ever adee wei, really faithful little bass that until nw im still surprised at some of the hidden tone gems i can find from this cheap little thing, hehe.

Sorry yea lordie, i have to take back some of the words i used to describe my sx, hehe, after pairing with ur amp, really changed my life la. thanks lordie again, hehe.

QUOTE(powx84 @ Apr 20 2009, 04:31 PM)
If i wanna buy a fender,it will be the Fender Jaguar.
It has the same jazz pickup with a little twist here and there.

There's something about the the jaguar that make it so desirable

haha, but the jag very hard to tweak wei, so many knobs, dizzy wei. the jazz bass only 3 knobs also i sakit kepala with the dizzying array of tones adee, tongue.gif

QUOTE(crazychris @ Apr 20 2009, 08:41 PM)
EndlessEternal - Rose (coverNana...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIIY4lk5XSg...re=channel_page

EndlessEternal - Season's Wish |...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2gGLqMkATTM...re=channel_page

Mage - Doom's Day | VR1pub, SOM ...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9fUt9f5MU8...re=channel_page

Mage - Important than Dream | VR...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzqsiu-zPOc...re=channel_page

Mage - All the Lonely Nights | V...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DWTYU7-U4A0...re=channel_page
sum live gigs we played,
my band and my favorite band
im using L2500 and chitwei using a stingray
do leave ur comments in the youtube page
bro, thanks for sharing man, will check it out when my speaker ok again, kaboom the other day due to too much blasting. wanna listen to ur l2500 awesomeness, hehe biggrin.gif.

foogie
post Apr 22 2009, 04:13 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Apr 20 2009, 10:29 PM)
I'm planning to keep my SR200 even if I have my Fender in the future . That's to keep the memories and stuffs(Haha) ...

American Standard Jazz Bass uses 2 single coil right ? You mean the pickups are noiseless ? Change onboard system ? You mean changing the pickup ?

I thought that the American Standard Jazz Bass is a passive system(Passive doesn't have preamp) ? I'm turning my laptop into a practice amp and recording studio. Gotta save up some space in my room.
erm, no, i mean, u might be tired of the hum the original pickups are going to produce unless u change it to noiseless ones smile.gif.

Change the onboard system as in fit in a spanking new audere preamp, hehe, and u have to forgive me coz i always refer to the onboard electronics as preamp tongue.gif.

QUOTE(powx84 @ Apr 21 2009, 02:37 PM)
Its the complicated look that make it cool.The button/knobs is only pickup selector & eq.
Drool... drool.gif
i remember raptor did a review of that bass on the star quite a while ago, hehe. wonder if can still see that bass hanging in the house of bass biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Apr 21 2009, 10:00 PM)
American Deluxe ? I have no idea as the American Standard is the most basic one and cheapest of all . I'm hoping for a Made In Mexico anyway ... For the price xD
Erm, mexican deluxe or mexican standard? i tried both of them in swee lee, and they are... crap. i dunno if it's because the pickups rosak or wat la, but the strings were still new, but sounds horrible at whatever settings i put... maybe japanese fenders are a better value for money?

QUOTE(Graffitist @ Apr 22 2009, 12:27 PM)
Of course,haha. We definitely know each other, even jammed before  sweat.gif
But it wouldnt be fun to reveal my ID now... Rock on!
Haha, we jammed before ah? aduh, u have to forgive me, i got pretty bad memory nowadays because of final year project tongue.gif. hehe. stress wei, wanna cry adee... we jammed where leh?
foogie
post Apr 22 2009, 11:00 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Apr 22 2009, 09:02 PM)
Hmm...I have thought about Japanese Fender too . Maybe I'll just head on to the store and see what's available. But anyway, I still don't really get your meaning of the ''hum'' =_= ...  Hum sound ? Change onboard system = Change it to what ? Spanking Audere ?
Changing pickup is changing pickup.

Changing the onboard electronics = Changing the electronics ? ( How ) ?
What about the Highway Series ? Is it better ? Price is ''better'' as well xD . I can't really go for Deluxe or anything . Highway barely made it only . So either Highway or Standard series. Japanese Made , Mexican Made , USA Made ... Doesn't really matter to me.

I would rather get a good and decent one rather than getting one which needs upgrade after a short while.

I'm using this link as a reference. The prices are not the same but it's a good reference as I know where the price will be heading to.

Look only at Fender J Bass

Highway and Standard series ... That's as far
the generic single coil hum almost always present in j style basses, hw to explain ar.. erm, like when u leave just 1 pickup on (the bridge would be more visible), u will definitely hear that hum, it's quite ignorable for me la, but for some ppl dat hates it, they normally replace with hum-cancelling pickups or shield the electronics properly. it's a problem with grounding though imho, coz when u put ur hand on the strings, the hum is gone.

about the onboard electronics, im really bad at explaining, but here's the site: http://www.audereaudio.com/JZ3D.htm

oh yea, highway 1? it's pretty much a slot machine kinda bass, so i wudnt recommend it at all, lucky bassists might get a good sounding one with proper neck relief, action, and great durability, while the not so lucky ones would end up with ones that lack low end, sustain, bowed neck after awhile.. etc. even if u do plan to get one, please try those with badass bridge preinstalled, makes a whole lot of difference.

P.S., chris! wicked basslines u and ur friend both have. mind if i copy some? hehehe... tongue.gif
foogie
post Apr 25 2009, 03:08 PM

505 posts

thalmes: yea, try any fender j-bass without discrimination, and choose the one that sounds best to your ear smile.gif. make sure the playability's good also though, check for neck relief, action, fret buzz, intonation on 12th fret, harmonics, etc. dun just test those that are in ur budget tho, test really expensive j-basses so that u know what u are aiming for with ur budget, who knows, u might find a cheap fender gem that might sound as good, and plays better. Once u purchased ur baby, dun forget to flash them photos! hehehe.

foogie
post Apr 26 2009, 03:57 PM

505 posts

thalmes: bass comes first, then only recording equipment, hehehe tongue.gif.

Good luck with the recording btw! biggrin.gif
foogie
post Apr 28 2009, 12:05 AM

505 posts

chris, and chapree: so darn jealous u guys got to watch stu hamm!! bought any hartke goodies?? hehehe. darn la, i had to stay in malacca dat time waa.... :'(. Which stack and combo did he use? which tube preamp? He used his favourite red urge ar? did he do the kick dancing while playing kinda thing??

lordie: deumuseth? wat happened to cardiac necropsy? hehe. warwick awesomeness, thanks for sharing man. btw, wat's with the door b****?

jcyh: so ur a basser, guitarer, drummist, pianer and vocaler, tongue.gif.
foogie
post Apr 29 2009, 01:29 PM

505 posts

chris: haha, maybe la, but honestly, the only thing i like about kl is the guitar stores, music events and ikea tongue.gif. walau! ur fren so rich la, bought the ck music promotion package yea? so naish! u didnt buy meh? hehe

lordie: darn! so fun! all the best to cn man!
foogie
post Apr 29 2009, 10:22 PM

505 posts

can just learn online, so many really brilliant bass tutorials, especially from youtube. i recommend learning from hackbass. His slap pop groove 1 & 2. all the necessary things u need to learn from slap pop is there. Muting, hammering, left hand slap, etc. Remember to start playing it slow and clean first, then only try to play faster once u can do it really clean and slow.
foogie
post Apr 30 2009, 12:42 AM

505 posts

chapree: u are darn funny man, i cant stop laughing right nw, i dunno why, could be im high on fyp or smth, lol. helping a friend with fyp nw since i dropped mine! muahahahahaha, all thanks to my bass...

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0527sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:56 AM