130 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P

liew90kw
post Nov 1 2007, 06:20 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 1 2007, 01:51 AM)
i play with both. i'm a guitarist so i play better with the pick. i still cant get a nice warm tone from fingerplucking. plus i cant play 3 fingers for shiz
LOL I somehow have the exact opposite of that man. I can't get a nice warm tone from picking.... only seem to find bright in-your-face tones.
Oh, and for the 3-fingers thing, start out with "Iron Maiden - The Trooper" A friend of mine recommended it to me as a "3 fingerstyle on bass for dummies". It actually works lol. thumbup.gif

@Bassix==> can you elaborate on the double thumb and double pop? I never really understood those. I can do regular slap & pop but thats about it. hmm.gif
TSBassix
post Nov 1 2007, 08:33 PM

-----
1,171 posts

just go youtube and search. Since wooten became so famous this technique is all over the place.

Actually i do not double thump or double pop. Instead of slapping with my thumb i pluck like how a classical player would. It's basically like playing classical fingerstyle cept with the double thump-ish method as in after i pluck with my thumb i flick it out again to pluck the same string again. So it's more like double plucking. The other 2 fingers are just normal plucking, nothing special.
crazychris
post Nov 1 2007, 08:37 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

search for victor wooten smile.gif

im learning tat too but....stil tinkin how to use tat for rock songs
aiks...
most picks wunt giv warm tone
i wonder wil nylon do the warm tone?

liew90kw
post Nov 1 2007, 09:29 PM

239 posts

slapping or popping followed by quick hammer-ons sounds really interesting with distortion. give it a try sometime.
crazychris
post Nov 3 2007, 01:43 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

distortion?

using BOSS ODB?
MXR ?

hotfootpowder
post Nov 3 2007, 03:49 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Nov 1 2007, 08:37 PM)
search for victor wooten smile.gif

im learning tat too but....stil tinkin how to use tat for rock songs
aiks...
most picks wunt giv warm tone
i wonder wil nylon do the warm tone?
heheh... i've tried the victor wooten techniq.... damn hard... plus my fingernails started to hurt...
liew90kw
post Nov 3 2007, 10:14 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Nov 3 2007, 01:43 AM)
distortion?

using BOSS ODB?
MXR ?
Boss ODB-3 works just fine, but you have to keep playing with the EQ depending on which range of notes you want to use more. You have to be a treble and midrange whore, usually, but dont be afraid to experiment. tongue.gif
It actually sounds wicked on MT-2, but that's for guitars, so another story for another time.

This post has been edited by liew90kw: Nov 3 2007, 10:20 AM
foogie
post Nov 3 2007, 03:23 PM

505 posts

lol, raptor might have something to say about bass effects tongue.gif.

anyways, double thumb rocks, the tone produced is beyond comparison. talk about dynamics and techniques smile.gif. u should be real proud to be able to pull it off, bassix. well, i tried, but i cant even come close to actually being able to play it tongue.gif. kudos to victor wooten. using a pick? tongue.gif. i can never use a pick for a bass. i simply wud accidentally drop it everytime i try tongue.gif.
TSBassix
post Nov 3 2007, 04:53 PM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(foogie @ Nov 3 2007, 08:23 AM)
lol, raptor might have something to say about bass effects tongue.gif.

anyways, double thumb rocks, the tone produced is beyond comparison. talk about dynamics and techniques smile.gif. u should be real proud to be able to pull it off, bassix. well, i tried, but i cant even come close to actually being able to play it tongue.gif. kudos to victor wooten. using a pick? tongue.gif. i can never use a pick for a bass. i simply wud accidentally drop it everytime i try tongue.gif.
Hehe, i can't really pull it off. I just cheat along the way tongue.gif ....shhhhh laugh.gif
Well i don't use it like victor wooten uses it. Not as well anyway. But his style of music is not really mine. Too much going on in it (Except in Flecktones. I like his stuff there). Although i have to admit that he does have many wicked techniques up his sleeve.
foogie
post Nov 4 2007, 12:02 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Nov 3 2007, 04:53 PM)
Hehe, i can't really pull it off. I just cheat along the way  tongue.gif ....shhhhh  laugh.gif
Well i don't use it like victor wooten uses it. Not as well anyway. But his style of music is not really mine. Too much going on in it (Except in Flecktones. I like his stuff there). Although i have to admit that he does have many wicked techniques up his sleeve.
and notice his humility smile.gif. very similar to urself's, bassix biggrin.gif. i guess all great bassists are pretty humble biggrin.gif. i enjoy all his video lessons on utube. even the ones where he just talks about his influences and experiences. might seem boring to some, but i learned so much more from there than from his double thumbing lessons tongue.gif. we can see how he's been positively built up from these patriarchs of bass.

im glad wooten and a bunch of other great names have proven that great basslines are not just made up from a confusing mix of tens of notes in a single bar. smile.gif.
TSBassix
post Nov 4 2007, 12:38 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(foogie @ Nov 3 2007, 05:02 PM)
im glad wooten and a bunch of other great names have proven that great basslines are not just made up from a confusing mix of tens of notes in a single bar. smile.gif.
Well yeah, but sometimes i get the impression that he contradicts himself. But it is showbiz after all. A good bassline is not going to get you anywhere these days. You need some flashy stuff if you want to get noticed. nod.gif
NZX
post Nov 4 2007, 09:13 PM

692 posts

Yo peeps..!!!

I just pickup up playing with a pick few months ago, for my bands recording purposes lar, used it on one punk rock-ish feel song. Brighter n more aggressive tone, stands out more. But more commonly finger picking lar, more control over dynamics for me. I damn noob at slapping, hahaha!!!

Foogie, pergi KL tak ajak me lar, go see Samarkand also tak ajak!!! Results how? good? I passes all, thank goodness!!

edit : one more thing, picking too hard (high & in the moment, haha) will result in the sound jadi distorted. Gain too high? I guess...duno lar. But pickup volume level is almost turned full on. But it never happens when finger picking, only when use pick.

This post has been edited by NZX: Nov 4 2007, 09:21 PM
PetroToxin
post Nov 4 2007, 09:44 PM

1,179 posts

lol you all talking about double thumb and all... I can't even pull a simple slap riff off correctly... Maybe slappin' is just ain't my thing sweat.gif
liew90kw
post Nov 4 2007, 11:57 PM

239 posts

@NZX ==> where do you pick? closer to neck or closer to bridge? Too hard closer to bridge tends to screw with my sound as well.
foogie
post Nov 5 2007, 12:39 AM

505 posts

NZX: aiya, i accidentally stumbled upon samarkand la, haha. sujesh so gaya tho. how's work coming man?? results? very nice smile.gif. all glory to god for his grace even though i clearly didnt give my best smile.gif. still waiting to send u ur nicely wrapped ocean of fire cd tongue.gif. walau, nzx so pro, can use pick lo. i can never play with a pick ever, no matter how hard ive tried. tongue.gif.
crazychris
post Nov 5 2007, 01:55 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

QUOTE(hotfootpowder @ Nov 3 2007, 03:49 AM)
heheh... i've tried the victor wooten techniq.... damn hard... plus my fingernails started to hurt...
cut al my nails short
hate tat nail tone

Added on November 5, 2007, 2:03 amNZX : pick...cany get use it pick on a bass haha
feel strange to me cause hanging the bass quite high...
wud feel like chicken pickin haha

This post has been edited by crazychris: Nov 5 2007, 02:04 AM
TSBassix
post Nov 5 2007, 03:59 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Nov 4 2007, 02:44 PM)
lol you all talking about double thumb and all... I can't even pull a simple slap riff off correctly... Maybe slappin' is just ain't my thing sweat.gif
I can't slap either. My double thumbing has nothing to do with slapping. It's all about cheating tongue.gif
PetroToxin
post Nov 5 2007, 04:40 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Nov 5 2007, 03:59 AM)
I can't slap either. My double thumbing has nothing to do with slapping. It's all about cheating  tongue.gif
Then where the tone come from? Effect pedals? tongue.gif
TSBassix
post Nov 6 2007, 12:44 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Nov 5 2007, 09:40 AM)
Then where the tone come from? Effect pedals? tongue.gif
No i just pluck instead of slap. Pluck with the thumb, if that makes any sense. And the upward stroke is the same only with a little less force so the strings don't slap back on the frets to get that percussive tone.

This post has been edited by Bassix: Nov 6 2007, 12:45 AM
crazychris
post Nov 6 2007, 01:41 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

ooo i tink i know tat
isit douglas style?

130 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0287sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:56 PM