QUOTE(Jaclow @ Jul 24 2021, 02:57 PM)
An advise being alone for too long your entire life can develop suicidal thoughts. You'll start feeling disengaged and abandoned by society....Serious Why some old people still single?, serious question
Serious Why some old people still single?, serious question
Jul 24 2021, 02:59 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,878 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Jul 24 2021, 03:11 PM
The Mental Health Struggles of Single Men
Unmarried Men Age Between 40-60years old were 3.5(4%) More Likely to Die of Suicide Than Women https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/tal...nd-divorced-men QUOTE The phrase single men is an umbrella term describing men who are never married, widowed, separated, or divorced. Interestingly, a large corpus of research indicates that single men have higher rates of mental health issues compared to married men and single women. For example, a large-scale U.S. study found that unmarried men aged 40-60 were 3.5 times more likely to die by suicide compared to both similarly-aged married men and unmarried women. Similarly, another large U.S. study found that unmarried men aged 40-75 years had a 2-fold risk of suicide compared to married men of the same age group. Other research indicates that single men have higher rates of depression than married men. For example, one study found over double the rate of depression in single men (3.6 percent) compared to married men (1.7 percent). Other studies have found that single men have much higher rates of addictions than other demographics including married men and single women. Stigmas and Stereotypes Evidence suggests that a variety of factors intersect to increase the risk of mental health issues among single men. To start, recent research indicates that single men experience abnormally high rates of loneliness, which can leave them alienated and isolated from mainstream society. Such loneliness is a risk factor for a range of mental health issues including depression, substance abuse, and suicide. This isolation does not occur in a social vacuum. While many men may choose a life of solitude, some single men may face harmful stigmas and stereotypes when trying to integrate into society. For example, some research indicates that unmarried men of a certain age are typically perceived in unflattering terms, and sometimes considered an untamed threat to the moral social order. These stereotypes are embodied in archetypal fictional characters such as Svengali, Don Juan, and Lothario—depicting single men as a corruptive presence lurking in the shadows of civilized society. Such stigmas and stereotypes can have harmful consequences, fueling policies and procedures that marginalize single men, young and old alike. For example, some aggressive campus campaigns against so-called "rape culture" have been criticized for implying that all single young men are potential brutes on the verge of pillage. Worse still, some policies and procedures implicitly associate single men with pedophilia. One of the most egregious and well-documented examples of this phenomenon is a common airline policy that prohibits solo male passengers from sitting next to an unaccompanied minor, with such men being asked to swap seats with a female passenger. While very few men actually experience the humiliation of being asked to swap airline seats, this sexist policy is indicative of the wider societal suspicion targeted at single men, which can harm mental health. As a single man still unmarried, have you been perceived by society as problematic or a troubled person by others before? Such as mistakenly thinking you're a pedophile, gay or mentally unstable by some women out there? I have my share of experience. Some girls had even asked me before if I'm gay because at my age and successful career/good looks why I'm not unmaried yet until my late 30s. Very disheartening and sad when it happened. Sometimes you feel you don't deserve to continue living after all the hardships you went through life taking care of your parents, chasing after career to build your finances honestly and obstructed from returning love to girls whom you met throughout your earlier life. This post has been edited by Candy12: Jul 24 2021, 03:16 PM |
Jul 24 2021, 03:15 PM
2,353 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Because they are old lor.
Jul 25 2021, 03:47 PM
13 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
there's always people with their opinion but didn't know the whole story why the person is still single. Have you ever know what he had been through and know what's happening to him? There's always a reason why the person is single. Who don't want to have someone with them? I guess must be a reason good or bad also wish them best of luck in love
Jul 26 2021, 10:23 AM
263 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
The report says Unmarried..not "Single". Guys in their 40s can still be attached but not married. I'm 43 and my current GF is 30. Are we planning to get married, maybe not. We enjoy each other's company and also our alone time. Most of my secondary school friends are divorced (by most I mean around 65%, because of this tered I went and calculated), and the most stubborn one got divorced 3 times...and now he has a "partner" instead of wife.
1 of these secondary school friends was murdered by the spouse, so basically if you can say if the person didn't get married, the person will be alive and kicking now (ok, this is one of those extreme examples) But I guess I am lucky, I've never met with any negative views on me being weird for not being married at my age. But on the flip side I have a lot of younger male friends asking why I know so many pretty girls and if I can intro to them. The answer is always "networking" and no..I am not going to introduce to you hamsap fellas. |
Jul 26 2021, 10:24 AM
1,058 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Subang |
ts must be an 8 year old kid
40+ is old according to the kid |
Jul 26 2021, 11:03 AM
889 posts Joined: Nov 2016 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(calodin @ Jul 26 2021, 10:23 AM) The report says Unmarried..not "Single". Guys in their 40s can still be attached but not married. I'm 43 and my current GF is 30. Are we planning to get married, maybe not. We enjoy each other's company and also our alone time. Most of my secondary school friends are divorced (by most I mean around 65%, because of this tered I went and calculated), and the most stubborn one got divorced 3 times...and now he has a "partner" instead of wife. Thanks for the precious statistics, the cc edgelord is pleased.1 of these secondary school friends was murdered by the spouse, so basically if you can say if the person didn't get married, the person will be alive and kicking now (ok, this is one of those extreme examples) But I guess I am lucky, I've never met with any negative views on me being weird for not being married at my age. But on the flip side I have a lot of younger male friends asking why I know so many pretty girls and if I can intro to them. The answer is always "networking" and no..I am not going to introduce to you hamsap fellas. |
Jul 26 2021, 11:13 AM
37 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
Choosing to be alone is a matter of personal choice. I my self have been stop dating for 10 years and focus on my career, through out 10 years, i learnt and earned more then any of my married friends, i also learnt that those who are insecure will need a partner either for companionship or financial support.
Now i am in my early 40s, looking back what i have decided 10 years ago, i am glad i make that choice. Recently i started dating again, and yes there are plenty of ladies, every 3 months i get to date different girls and choose who i wanna settle down with. My advice is, don't get desperate for a companionship, built up your career, financial portfolio, and invest at least 4 properties, automatically ladies will come along easily. 40s is our prime time. This post has been edited by mypalm79: Jul 26 2021, 11:19 AM |
Jul 26 2021, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(mypalm79 @ Jul 26 2021, 11:13 AM) choosing to be alone is a matter of personal choice. I my self have been stop dating for 10 years and focus on my career, through out 10 years, i learnt and earned more then any of my married friends, i also learnt those who are insecure will need a partner either for companionship of financial. Agreed, that's the plan, no point following the majority marry early and have stunt growth or live a miserable life, worse if financial bottomline is severely impacted from divorce, men got no idea what they're getting into.Now i am in my early 40s, looking back what i have decided 10 years ago, i am glad i make that choice. Recently i started dating again, and yes there are plenty of ladies, every 3 months i get to date different girls and choose who i wanna settle down with. My advice is, don't get desperate for a companionship, built up your career, financial portfolio, and invest at least 4 properties, automatically ladies will come along easily. Once a good money base has been built, men will be swarmed in choices naturally. Start to reap the rewards, taste different snack whenever you wish, no contract, no obligation. |
Jul 26 2021, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 26 2021, 11:20 AM) Agreed, that's the plan, no point following the majority marry early and have stunt growth or live a miserable life, worse if financial bottomline is severely impacted from divorce, men got no idea what they're getting into. Exactly, i started dating since 2 years back, so many choices...some are young divorcee, some are wives of useless husbands, young graduates, property agents, insurance agents, bankers...it really open my eyes about Malaysian ladies. Do i still wanna settle down? the answer is No. From my own random dating lifestyle, Malaysian girls carry very little values, many do not even have a retirement plan, only 1 house and is still paying every month, very low buying power, and worst the self entitlement! Am i happy with my current lifestyle? Hell yeah and i wanna live and grow old gracefully.Once a good money base has been built, men will be swarmed in choices naturally. Start to reap the rewards, taste different snack whenever you wish, no contract, no obligation. |
Jul 26 2021, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 26 2021, 11:20 AM) Agreed, that's the plan, no point following the majority marry early and have stunt growth or live a miserable life, worse if financial bottomline is severely impacted from divorce, men got no idea what they're getting into. Having Financial Freedom is also a very attractive attribute...and a sense of humour and being filial helps also. My GF is from Foshan (we meet due to work)..I guess when you find someone that can speak cantonese in Shanghai, you will become friends quite fast. Her family also is not rushing her to get married, the parents like me enough, and her family is a lot richer than mine. I have an apartment in Shanghai and also an apartment in Foshan, and that is about it for my investment in China. I don't own a car here because public transport is so convenient.Once a good money base has been built, men will be swarmed in choices naturally. Start to reap the rewards, taste different snack whenever you wish, no contract, no obligation. Some people might ask, you are in Shanghai, why didn't you get a Shanghai lady as GF.......well....there is a saying, if you want to get a life partner (for men looking for women) get a southern lady (Fujian, Guangdong) and for ladies looking for Hubby, get a Shanghai hubby. |
Jul 26 2021, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(mypalm79 @ Jul 26 2021, 12:44 PM) Exactly, i started dating since 2 years back, so many choices...some are young divorcee, some are wives of useless husbands, young graduates, property agents, insurance agents, bankers...it really open my eyes about Malaysian ladies. Do i still wanna settle down? the answer is No. From my own random dating lifestyle, Malaysian girls carry very little values, many do not even have a retirement plan, only 1 house and is still paying every month, very low buying power, and worst the self entitlement! Am i happy with my current lifestyle? Hell yeah and i wanna live and grow old gracefully. Aren't those insurance or property agents out for making business deals rather than romance? I had dates with them and they end up telling me the business details in the restaurant, very irritating I want to leave. And yes they're pretty much useless, all they have is the body that earned them lots of attention, given enough time they think they're god, hence the entitlement. They truly rely on their physical to the max. Girls with actual substances are a bit tricky to find, at least they contribute to things other than physical. QUOTE(calodin @ Jul 26 2021, 12:50 PM) Having Financial Freedom is also a very attractive attribute...and a sense of humour and being filial helps also. My GF is from Foshan (we meet due to work)..I guess when you find someone that can speak cantonese in Shanghai, you will become friends quite fast. Her family also is not rushing her to get married, the parents like me enough, and her family is a lot richer than mine. I have an apartment in Shanghai and also an apartment in Foshan, and that is about it for my investment in China. I don't own a car here because public transport is so convenient. That's my goal, i plan to achieve that freedom in late 20s, plan is already at late stage, once timing is ready in a few more months to 1 year, I'll harvest it then officially quit job and solely enjoy life, no job, no bs office politics, no work, never lift a finger anymore. Be extremely hardworking and plan meticulously during early years, only to be completely lazy later, a bit of irony huhSome people might ask, you are in Shanghai, why didn't you get a Shanghai lady as GF.......well....there is a saying, if you want to get a life partner (for men looking for women) get a southern lady (Fujian, Guangdong) and for ladies looking for Hubby, get a Shanghai hubby. When i finally have all the time in the world, I'll dive into the possibility of finding life partner, some places include ukraine, columbia. And you gave me some places to start with, but what is the quality that makes them good? |
Jul 26 2021, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 26 2021, 01:21 PM) Aren't those insurance or property agents out for making business deals rather than romance? I had dates with them and they end up telling me the business details in the restaurant, very irritating I want to leave. And yes they're pretty much useless, all they have is the body that earned them lots of attention, given enough time they think they're god, hence the entitlement. They truly rely on their physical to the max. Girls with actual substances are a bit tricky to find, at least they contribute to things other than physical. Yes, i was exploring different dating experiences from time to time. Maybe i am bias, but i had experienced so much in such a short time with different ladies and i can safely conclude, Malaysian ladies have very little value and yet demand a lot from their partner if compare to other regions i posted to such as China, Vietnam, Germany, Australia, Japan and Hong Kong. That's my goal, i plan to achieve that freedom in late 20s, plan is already at late stage, once timing is ready in a few more months to 1 year, I'll harvest it then officially quit job and solely enjoy life, no job, no bs office politics, no work, never lift a finger anymore. Be extremely hardworking and plan meticulously during early years, only to be completely lazy later, a bit of irony huh When i finally have all the time in the world, I'll dive into the possibility of finding life partner, some places include ukraine, columbia. And you gave me some places to start with, but what is the quality that makes them good? I do agree there are some fine ladies here, met a few of them. However, i can't stand being control by them. lol This post has been edited by mypalm79: Jul 26 2021, 02:17 PM |
Jul 26 2021, 02:23 PM
3,190 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 24 2021, 02:59 PM) An advise being alone for too long your entire life can develop suicidal thoughts. You'll start feeling disengaged and abandoned by society.... Feeling of nothing to lose. Life is a serious matter don’t play with life. Meet up old friends (although most of them are married I believe there are some that willing to spend time ). Nothing wrong being single nowadays hard to find soulmates especially now. Lock ourselves in room Candy12 liked this post
Jul 26 2021, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 26 2021, 01:21 PM) Aren't those insurance or property agents out for making business deals rather than romance? I had dates with them and they end up telling me the business details in the restaurant, very irritating I want to leave. And yes they're pretty much useless, all they have is the body that earned them lots of attention, given enough time they think they're god, hence the entitlement. They truly rely on their physical to the max. Girls with actual substances are a bit tricky to find, at least they contribute to things other than physical. Russia and White Russia are good place to date. But its all up to fate, cannot be too mechanical about dating also, not like choosing vege at pasar. So let fate do its work.That's my goal, i plan to achieve that freedom in late 20s, plan is already at late stage, once timing is ready in a few more months to 1 year, I'll harvest it then officially quit job and solely enjoy life, no job, no bs office politics, no work, never lift a finger anymore. Be extremely hardworking and plan meticulously during early years, only to be completely lazy later, a bit of irony huh When i finally have all the time in the world, I'll dive into the possibility of finding life partner, some places include ukraine, columbia. And you gave me some places to start with, but what is the quality that makes them good? QUOTE(mypalm79 @ Jul 26 2021, 02:14 PM) Yes, i was exploring different dating experiences from time to time. Maybe i am bias, but i had experienced so much in such a short time with different ladies and i can safely conclude, Malaysian ladies have very little value and yet demand a lot from their partner if compare to other regions i posted to such as China, Vietnam, Germany, Australia, Japan and Hong Kong. If it was up to me, I would avoid vietnam ladies.I do agree there are some fine ladies here, met a few of them. However, i can't stand being control by them. lol mypalm79 liked this post
Jul 26 2021, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(calodin @ Jul 26 2021, 02:51 PM) Russia and White Russia are good place to date. But its all up to fate, cannot be too mechanical about dating also, not like choosing vege at pasar. So let fate do its work. i have good experience with Vietnamese ladies, i was referring to those with proper upbringing. I met one in HCMC, introduced by a local lady friend of mine who work in HSBC as a credit manager. Very fine lady, polite, earning pretty well too and that she manage to secure 2 beautiful 3 storey rustic property, plus she is very frugal with her earning cause she has to take care of her aging mom and sister. I can say she came from a background of making the best out of nothing. However we just remain best friend cause i ain't good enuff for her. lolIf it was up to me, I would avoid vietnam ladies. This post has been edited by mypalm79: Jul 26 2021, 03:39 PM |
Jul 26 2021, 11:06 PM
Another reason why modern times men are still single.
There's been a social experiment conducted on society based on the Gypsie Moths with the aim of population control/eugenics. Why Are So Many Men Single? I think there are many young men out there who fell for this and as a result neglected their role in society to keep the population numbers growing. |
Jul 27 2021, 06:33 PM
198 posts Joined: Jan 2019 From: Praia Espiñeirido/Kuala Lumpur |
Want to know why most man are single go watch Fresh&Fit podcast youtube. Because of the internet , instagram, tinder....most girls want to date those man in the 1%.....those earning 6 figures, drive luxury car, 6 feet tall...most average men are invisible to a average woman let alone those hotter ones.
Guys can date down but Girls want to date up. This post has been edited by Shanks747: Jul 27 2021, 06:33 PM |
Aug 22 2021, 01:19 PM
1,087 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
ok. i'm in my early 40s. i can say based on my experience ladies doesn't like losers. does this answer half of your question? This post has been edited by spring onion: Aug 22 2021, 01:20 PM Skylinestar liked this post
Aug 22 2021, 05:17 PM
10,475 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(spring onion @ Aug 22 2021, 01:19 PM) ok. i'm in my early 40s. i can say based on my experience i think that's just stupid because there is nothing wrong with losing. if you win all the time, you are not part of life. these girls need a reality check.ladies doesn't like losers. does this answer half of your question? |
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:50 AM |