Serious Why some old people still single?, serious question

TSbeeMay
post Jan 2 2021, 09:17 PM, updated 5y ago

Dr
647 posts

as per title.

Sorry if this question is offensive/stupid but Im genuinely curious.

I met a lot of old people that are still single (never married) and just wonder why. their age is 40+, some i know are retired like 60+, theres one grandpa i met before too (idk his age, maybe 70+?) , i assumed he is a grandpa with grandchildren but actually hes single and never married.
I cant ask them cause they might get offended. so i ask here lol

i have 1 relative she is 40 and still looking but no luck. I personally think her personality is good, maybe physically not so attractive but ive seen uglier people and people with worse personality have husband/wife.

i dont get it, i thought theres a person for everyone?
Blofeld
post Jan 2 2021, 09:31 PM

4,700 posts

so many reasons

-choosy
-shy
-didnt socialise enough
etc..
miss comet
post Jan 2 2021, 09:38 PM

222 posts

Maybe it's their choice to be alone. Who knows
Momo33
post Jan 2 2021, 09:41 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jan 2 2021, 10:31 PM)
so many reasons

-choosy
-shy
-didnt socialise enough
etc..
yes..
too busy with work and not care about love
got cheated
can decide if gay or what .. nod.gif
the class 1 stubborn type.

kelvinfixx
post Jan 2 2021, 10:18 PM

1,589 posts

their choice. why need to married, if you don't want to.
nicole_4ever
post Jan 3 2021, 12:46 AM

612 posts

I shy and low confident...
kesvani
post Jan 3 2021, 12:59 AM

953 posts

QUOTE(beeMay @ Jan 2 2021, 09:17 PM)
as per title.

I met a lot of old people that are still single (never married) and just wonder why. their age is 40+, some i know are retired like 60+, theres one grandpa i met before too (idk his age, maybe 70+?) , i assumed he is a grandpa with grandchildren but actually hes single and never married.

i have 1 relative she is 40 and still looking but no luck. I personally think her personality is good, maybe physically not so attractive but ive seen uglier people and people with worse personality have husband/wife.

>Choosy
>Didnt make any move first

Ayam now middle age. Just last year me so daring ask foreign women 9 year younger than me to marry and somehow she accept. Now waiting for covid before do registration at her country first.
kesvani
post Jan 3 2021, 01:01 AM

953 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Jan 3 2021, 12:59 AM)
>Choosy
>Didnt make any move first
> Always have mindset money for important than love/partner

Ayam now middle age. Just last year me so daring ask foreign women 9 year younger than me to marry and somehow she accept. Now waiting for covid before do registration at her country first.
Captain89
post Jan 3 2021, 04:06 AM

Jiken
3,190 posts

Shy shy don’t dare to go out social with people
CyrusWong
post Jan 3 2021, 04:10 AM

1,643 posts

im very low confident with my look and kiasu, scare kene rejected

i actually rejected a girl twice (actually i dunno is it im thinking too much or she's just playing/joking), i "rejected" twice becoz we are too young to be together, no work no saving no career. I want her to have her own live and career, jgn bcoz of dating then force ownself to stay at 1 place, i will feel im the bad guy to lock down 1 ppl life.

with my mindset like this i dun think i will have gf unless i become finiancially independence... i am independence already but zero saving, baru fresh grad work 2 years, so i mean until i'm confident with my income, else i will just stay single. if you ask me how much income only i can feel confident, i don't know lol. i think bottom line is at least rm5k, now i age 26 only 3.5k. 5k is just bottom line, i don't think i will feel confident with 5k at all... so it's a bottomless pit mindset sweat.gif probably i will be single forever

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Jan 3 2021, 04:25 AM
TSbeeMay
post Jan 3 2021, 10:52 AM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Jan 3 2021, 12:46 AM)
I shy and low confident...
Are u above 40
TSbeeMay
post Jan 3 2021, 10:54 AM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Jan 3 2021, 04:10 AM)
im very low confident with my look and kiasu, scare kene rejected

i actually rejected a girl twice (actually i dunno is it im thinking too much or she's just playing/joking), i "rejected" twice becoz we are too young to be together, no work no saving no career. I want her to have her own live and career, jgn bcoz of dating then force ownself to stay at 1 place, i will feel im the bad guy to lock down 1 ppl life.

with my mindset like this i dun think i will have gf unless i become finiancially independence... i am independence already but zero saving, baru fresh grad work 2 years, so i mean until i'm confident with my income, else i will just stay single. if you ask me how much income only  i can feel confident, i don't know lol. i think bottom line is at least rm5k, now i age 26 only 3.5k. 5k is just bottom line, i don't think i will feel confident with 5k at all... so it's a bottomless pit mindset sweat.gif probably i will be single forever
Hmm i dont know your choice but if you do want a relationship then i suggest dont think this way?
Its like "i only wanna try when im ready" but actually we human are never ready. Even if you are ready, theres still failures. So why not start and get failures even when youre not ready
RUI
post Jan 3 2021, 12:45 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(beeMay @ Jan 2 2021, 09:17 PM)
as per title.

So, he is not a grandpa. rclxs0.gif

U see, having a relationship is about two individual making conscious decision to have one and sticks to it.
And there are many reasons and circumstances where people never get to make that decision.

Me for one, never get myself around getting into one nor sticking to one.
SUSpot-8-O's
post Jan 3 2021, 01:18 PM

P O T A T O E S
662 posts

I'm irresponsible towards my own life, I can't nor will I be held responsible for another.
TruboXL
post Jan 3 2021, 01:19 PM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

Usually alone also top20
gundamsp01
post Jan 3 2021, 02:25 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

there is a retired guy staying alone opposite my house, seems like doing well, however, his thought process is one of a kind, and stubborn.

kind of understand why people like him are single till forever
TSbeeMay
post Jan 3 2021, 04:05 PM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jan 3 2021, 02:25 PM)
there is a retired guy staying alone opposite my house, seems like doing well, however, his thought process is one of a kind, and stubborn.

kind of understand why people like him are single till forever
I do agree its sometimes their personality.
I know one , shes also retired, 60+ still single, doing well.
But selfish and most of the time helps people half heartedly or only if it benefits her back. I can be her fren but I dont want to.

I wish i wont be like her when i grow up

klch87
post Jan 4 2021, 10:08 AM

779 posts

safe to say many women are ok if they are not married. unlike men, i think die die also they need to have a life partner.

but this is just my personal experience.
flying_manatee
post Jan 5 2021, 02:37 PM

210 posts

Well to tell you the truth it's very complex, some people focus too hard on their career, others may hold out for the person who can touch their heart but sadly never meet them, yet others may just not socialize enough. So you really have to look at it from various aspects - it's not a simple answer at all.

For me it's because I'm poor and ugly la LOL
TSbeeMay
post Jan 5 2021, 05:56 PM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Jan 5 2021, 02:37 PM)
Well to tell you the truth it's very complex, some people focus too hard on their career, others may hold out for the person who can touch their heart but sadly never meet them, yet others may just not socialize enough. So you really have to look at it from various aspects - it's not a simple answer at all.

For me it's because I'm poor and ugly la LOL
hmm okay the reason why i am asking this is i don't want to be like that. I mean, i know some ppl choose to be single forever but thats not me. I do want to settle down and have a partner one day. I want to know how can I work to prevent that

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:14 PM