QUOTE(nightlordccc79 @ Mar 16 2022, 05:59 PM)
Hi sifus. Please help me out here 😞.
I drive a perodua myvi 2nd gen which has torsion beam at rear. Went to do alignment today and mechanic told me my rear toe in totalling both side to 1 degree. He offered 2 solutions.
1. Change the whole rear axle / torsion beam costing around RM650 Inc installation.
2. (For my understanding) Add shims / washer at 1 of the wheel bearing/ nut hole. To compensate the degree.
Note:
Car has not been in an accident , only minor rear bang/light collision middle not side.
Can any sifu give me some opinions, since toe in will degrade tyre faster right.
Huuh...... Rear Total Toes of 1 degree both sides combined.I drive a perodua myvi 2nd gen which has torsion beam at rear. Went to do alignment today and mechanic told me my rear toe in totalling both side to 1 degree. He offered 2 solutions.
1. Change the whole rear axle / torsion beam costing around RM650 Inc installation.
2. (For my understanding) Add shims / washer at 1 of the wheel bearing/ nut hole. To compensate the degree.
Note:
Car has not been in an accident , only minor rear bang/light collision middle not side.
Can any sifu give me some opinions, since toe in will degrade tyre faster right.
Mind sharing the print out of the alignment read outs?
That 's going to eat up the rear tyres really really fast right?
How's your tyre life so far?
Do you experience rear axle instability on rough road surface, especially on turns/curves/cornering?
Yes, replacing the whole rear torsion beam is one option technically.
For RM650 it is probably a used second hand from the kedai potong/scrap yards??
If so the replacement might not be accurate also giving you another set of wrong alignment angles??
If it is new torsion beam from Perodua may be worth trying.
Shimming the rear torsion beam is another option which I personally prefer, problem is I have difficulty in finding a competent and reasonably-priced mechanic in Klang valley to do this kind of job on my Avanza.
Let us know if your mechanic is good and competent on shimming rear torsion beam delivering cun cun good alignment reports.
Here is a link on shimming of rear torsion beam axle on a 2012 Hyundai Elantra with reasonably good results.
https://www.hyundai-forums.com/threads/do-i...7/#post-1984049
This post has been edited by zeng: Mar 16 2022, 09:40 PM
Mar 16 2022, 09:39 PM

0.0344sec