[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

loonsave
post Mar 8 2021, 04:06 PM

1,632 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Mar 8 2021, 03:45 PM)
Use Chrome. Safari will destroy your SSD. It loves to swap.
Thank you for your advise. I know M1 love swap, but don't know Safari is one of the app.
But I remembered review show that chrome use 10x ram more than Safari. Maybe I try Edge.

This post has been edited by loonsave: Mar 8 2021, 04:09 PM
johnsonxray
post Mar 9 2021, 12:28 AM

116 posts

anyhow did another round of testing playing a 1080p Youtube video on full screen that is around 10mins long, only 1 browser tab playing the said video. Results may vary from user to user, just some stats.

Safari, used 5-600mb ram, cpu temp 40+c
Edge, used 600+mb ram, cpu temp 70 to 80+c
Brave, used 1+gb ram, cpu temp 70 to 80+c
Firefox, used 1+gb ram, cpu temp 40+c

Only installed adblocker as extension for all the browsers.
WhiteFlag
post Mar 9 2021, 10:27 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(johnsonxray @ Mar 9 2021, 12:28 AM)
anyhow did another round of testing playing a 1080p Youtube video on full screen that is around 10mins long, only 1 browser tab playing the said video. Results may vary from user to user, just some stats.

Safari, used 5-600mb ram, cpu temp 40+c
Edge, used 600+mb ram, cpu temp 70 to 80+c
Brave, used 1+gb ram, cpu temp 70 to 80+c
Firefox, used 1+gb ram, cpu temp 40+c

Only installed adblocker as extension for all the browsers.
what is the app u using to monitor temperature?
johnsonxray
post Mar 9 2021, 11:44 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Mar 9 2021, 10:27 AM)
what is the app u using to monitor temperature?
TG Pro
jimbet1337
post Mar 9 2021, 11:44 AM

meh
2,669 posts

Guys, plan to get M1 Air and came across the news about SSD excessive write issue.

Is it going to be fixed in OS updates/hotfix etc sometime in the future?
miahahaha
post Mar 9 2021, 11:59 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

Big Sur 11.2.3 update is up..hopefully will fix some of the issues arise before..
WhiteFlag
post Mar 9 2021, 12:03 PM

539 posts

Tried the 11.2.3, did not fix the ssd issue.
Still under normal usage, browsing, video, music, 1gb written every ~50min

This post has been edited by WhiteFlag: Mar 9 2021, 12:06 PM
WhiteFlag
post Mar 10 2021, 05:58 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(johnsonxray @ Feb 24 2021, 08:50 AM)
AlDente for M1 Macs is released.
Da best battery management tool to prolong the lifespan of your MBs battery.

https://github.com/davidwernhart/AlDente
is your aldente working now? the os suddenly throw error ask me to delete the app as it might damage the computer. after i ignore the warning and try to run then it says i do not have permission to run it. any idea?
johnsonxray
post Mar 10 2021, 10:51 PM

116 posts

No issue for me cuz I running older version mac os..Someone reported the same issue after updated to 11.2.3

https://github.com/davidwernhart/AlDente/issues/178

Guess you have to wait for the dev to update it or see if somebody providing a fix in the thread.

caffeinionated
post Mar 11 2021, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 9 2021, 11:44 AM)
Guys, plan to get M1 Air and came across the news about SSD excessive write issue.

Is it going to be fixed in OS updates/hotfix etc sometime in the future?
It's most probably blown out of proportion.

1. It's happening on Intel macs too
2. SMART monitoring is not necessarily accurate, or may not be optimised in this instance so take the results with a pinch of salt
3. People tend to forget that Apple has been working on ARM processors and SSD storage in iPads and iPhones for a long, long time before the M1 came about

johnsonxray
post Mar 11 2021, 11:16 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(johnsonxray @ Mar 10 2021, 10:51 PM)
No issue for me cuz I running older version mac os..Someone reported the same issue after updated to 11.2.3

https://github.com/davidwernhart/AlDente/issues/178

Guess you have to wait for the dev to update it or see if somebody providing a fix in the thread.
The fix is released now.

https://github.com/davidwernhart/AlDente/releases

For people concerning about the ssd swap, Conclusion: Don't care, just use your computer

Is There A Problem? Swap Memory on M1 Macs

This post has been edited by johnsonxray: Mar 11 2021, 11:26 AM
jimbet1337
post Mar 11 2021, 12:29 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(caffeinionated @ Mar 11 2021, 10:12 AM)

2. SMART monitoring is not necessarily accurate, or may not be optimised in this instance so take the results with a pinch of salt
3. People tend to forget that Apple has been working on ARM processors and SSD storage in iPads and iPhones for a long, long time before the M1 came about
QUOTE(johnsonxray @ Mar 11 2021, 11:16 AM)
The fix is released now.

https://github.com/davidwernhart/AlDente/releases
For people concerning about the ssd swap, Conclusion: Don't care, just use your computer

Is There A Problem? Swap Memory on M1 Macs
Thanks for the input. Good to know. Never used a mac before. This will be my first.
hshern95
post Mar 11 2021, 01:25 PM

81 posts

Hi, is 8gb/512gb variant enough for light usages? Likes browsing, watching drama/YouTube, listening music, some office works?

I’m planning to get one as a replacement model since my laptop is spoilt and I’m targeting the M1X/M2 model which might release on Q3 2021. I will give this to my sister when I buy the new model. Not sure the 8gb ram model can fulfil her daily usage or not
CH3COOH
post Mar 11 2021, 02:19 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(hshern95 @ Mar 11 2021, 01:25 PM)
Hi, is 8gb/512gb variant enough for light usages? Likes browsing, watching drama/YouTube, listening music, some office works?

I’m planning to get one as a replacement model since my laptop is spoilt and I’m targeting the M1X/M2 model which might release on Q3 2021. I will give this to my sister when I buy the new model. Not sure the 8gb ram model can fulfil her daily usage or not
Borrow her to use few days will do
Mavik
post Mar 11 2021, 03:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Thanks for sharing this! You are absolutely right, I have had my iPad Pro for 3 years already and it still works fine!
hshern95
post Mar 11 2021, 10:52 PM

81 posts

Just get mine in few hours ago.. posting this comment with it.

Now I can say that I'm officially got my own MacBook...

previously was using a 2015 MacBook provided by company...

Any USB-C Hub recommended?

and is the bluetooth connectivity issue still persist?
hongonn
post Mar 12 2021, 12:47 AM

I am using macbook air 16/512 for software development and ssd write is about 2TB per day. This is really no joke. One year is about 700TB, 2 year is 1400TB, 3 year is 2100TB. I not sure the ssd can last 2100TB not but one day is 2TB meaning my entire 512 ssd is written 4 times over per day.

I check my intel macbook it is not so bad it is like less than 0.4TB per day. I compare side by side also intel does write so much less.

I use the apple own activity monitor tool in the disk tab you can find the kernel_task is showing exact number as the SMART.

You can't compare the way people use the device on ios and macos. The macos is a work station people might run multiple servers multiple software multiple background process doing serious works where as ios is running small apps that the app can be terminated if go into background . The system supposed to manage differently.

Anyway i had logged a ticket but seem like apple support avoid admitting any fault probably don't want to bear the consequence. But i think reporting it to apple is good to raise the awareness.

saintnotsinner
post Mar 12 2021, 01:45 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Mar 8 2021, 05:06 PM)
Thank you for your advise. I know M1 love swap, but don't know Safari is one of the app.
But I remembered review show that chrome use 10x ram more than Safari. Maybe I try Edge.
thanks for this
ionStorm
post Mar 12 2021, 08:28 AM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

QUOTE(hongonn @ Mar 12 2021, 12:47 AM)
I am using macbook air 16/512 for software development and ssd write is about 2TB per day. This is really no joke. One year is about 700TB, 2 year is 1400TB, 3 year is 2100TB. I not sure the ssd can last 2100TB not but one day is 2TB meaning my entire 512 ssd is written 4 times over per day.
How many of your apps are running on Rosetta 2? There's running theory that it's one of the major causes for the high writes.

QUOTE(loonsave @ Mar 8 2021, 04:06 PM)
No longer true. Especially not in the M1 optimized version of Chrome. Using more RAM is also a good thing. It's there to be used man.

This post has been edited by ionStorm: Mar 12 2021, 08:29 AM
ionStorm
post Mar 12 2021, 08:51 AM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

First time experiencing optimised battery charging. biggrin.gif

128 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top