Planning to purchase online under education without verification. Those who successfully purchased this way please make some noise? I don't want my unit later kena sangkut...
[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread
Feb 1 2021, 10:45 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
3,350 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Planning to purchase online under education without verification. Those who successfully purchased this way please make some noise? I don't want my unit later kena sangkut...
Feb 1 2021, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 28 2021, 06:02 PM) TL;DR/DW - Performs 2-3x better than Excel on Intel Mac, but whether faster than Windows IDK.YT embed fixed. This post has been edited by ionStorm: Feb 1 2021, 12:08 PM eikozai liked this post
Feb 1 2021, 09:19 PM
Trying to decide between Air and Pro. I'd like to get a sense of how warm it gets.
Do you use it on your lap? Does it get too warm? (compare regular surfing vs YouTube/Netflixing) How big a difference between AC and non-AC room? My Pro 15 2015 gets a bit toasty and that's after undervolting and disabling Turbo Boost. Ugh. This post has been edited by ionStorm: Feb 1 2021, 09:21 PM |
Feb 2 2021, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(coklatua @ Feb 2 2021, 01:53 PM) Regular Surfing and Youtube not hot at all. Thanks! I went ahead and purchased earlier today. Didn't try Netflix though. It get warm to the touch when I play Minecraft. Its just warm warm not crazy hot. I dont use it on my lap and in non-AC room. |
Feb 4 2021, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(tony_mw @ Feb 4 2021, 04:32 PM) *The wifi problem occur right after I reach home and I manage to take a video this round. I suspect your router's WiFi is not playing nice with your Mac. These things do happen.Network Access Problem Router/WiFi settings you can try: - Change the country setting (Asia, SG, MY) - Change/Fix the band. 2.4GHz use 1, 6 or 11. 5GHz use 36 or 149. - Split the SSID if it's not already split. 2.4GHz and 5GHz on separate SSID. tony_mw liked this post
Feb 5 2021, 08:28 AM
Thanks for bringing up the issue with PD charging on the M1 guys.
I'm a bit bummed 'cos I already purchased all my adapters with PD charging - but it's ok. I can live with it. I've taped up all the USB-C ports on the adapters just to be safe. |
Feb 9 2021, 01:27 PM
Ordered on 2 Feb. Still processing.
Feb 11 2021, 10:02 AM
Feb 11 2021, 02:04 PM
Feb 15 2021, 02:43 PM
Feb 16 2021, 08:22 AM
Feb 18 2021, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Feb 18 2021, 01:15 AM) Just received my wife’s new MBA M1 16GB/1TB today. #happywyfehappylyfeOrdered on 1st feb via Apple MY website & using education pricing. Expected to receive on 19th, but it arrived today (17th). My wife jumped with joy. She happy to get her new MBA M1 while her old MBA 2014 4GB/256GB will complement my ipad pro 2018 11” LTE nicely after this Smart man. Zaryl liked this post
Feb 19 2021, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(plurbuddyskuppy @ Feb 19 2021, 03:47 PM) Hodl! HODL!Eh...wrong thread... This post has been edited by ionStorm: Feb 19 2021, 09:47 PM Eithanius liked this post
Feb 21 2021, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(billychong930518 @ Feb 20 2021, 06:40 PM) Hi guys, Some of my must have items in my stack.I just got myself a MacBook Air with M1 chip. Do you guys have any recommended apps to install? Alfred - supercharged search tool BetterSnapTool - snaps windows Diagrams - fast diagram designer Hidden Bar - hide less used items in the menu bar iStat Menus - keep an eye on your utilization Karabiner Elements - remap keyboard keys Mindnode - mind mapping OwlOCR - convert any screenshot to text Visual Studio Code - supercharged text editor WordService - text manipulation (eg. change selected text to lower, Proper, UPPER case) Nice curated list of apps https://github.com/jaywcjlove/awesome-mac https://github.com/iCHAIT/awesome-macOS https://github.com/phmullins/awesome-macos |
Feb 21 2021, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Feb 21 2021, 10:43 AM) Soundsource by Rogue Amoebahttps://rogueamoeba.com/soundsource/ Note: You didn't say if it needed to be free. |
Feb 22 2021, 08:33 PM
My M1 is ready to ship!
I'm a little intrigued it's coming from China. |
Feb 22 2021, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 22 2021, 07:45 PM) Has anyone here encountered similar crashes? Or is this just a first world user problem? fwiw, since updating my Mac mini to 11.2 on 2/2, I've had 2 kernel panics one on 2/2 and one on 3/2. None after that. Touch wood. 2 days ago, opening any video with VLC, it would play with audio only and a nice black screen. Had to restart to fix that. QUOTE(frostbyte13 @ Feb 22 2021, 09:39 PM) speak of the devil lol. first time experienced kernel panic today. at this rate, i'm just half-half about my M1 already. so many bugs that its getting a bit too much of a running joke. hopefully Apple really looks into ironing it out together with M1X. Did you guys restore from Time Machine or installed everything from scratch?some of my mac apps also not working properly. |
Feb 24 2021, 07:36 PM
Reporting in. Finally arrived today!
Model - MBA M1 CTO (256/16) Initial Experiences - Unboxing was super lovely - Did a manual migration because I wanted to ensure I have as little junk come along as possible - which turned out to be super tedious because I have a lot of customizations. - Performance is really fast - Also runs reasonably cool Problems OOTB - BT mouse stutters (Logitech M720). Lower tracking speed to fix. - Does not run Lunar, a tool I use to sync my external monitor brightness Delivery Schedule 02 Feb - Ordered 22 Feb - Shipment Picked Up 24 Feb - Delivered This post has been edited by ionStorm: Feb 25 2021, 03:18 PM |
Feb 25 2021, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(jmwm @ Feb 25 2021, 10:30 AM) Hi people ! Just want to share my MBA experience for people who needs any info or queries. 2. You can consider capping your frame rate to 60fps in the graphics settings. The laptop won't have to work as hard.2) If you want to play casual games like me (dota, indie games, etc etc), please not that the input lag is really high on the native screen. It is recommended that games should be played on an external monitor (Dota gets 90-100fps before the MBA gets hot, but after playing for a few hours, frames will drop to 50-70fps. All of this is based on the preset lowest settings) 3) The USB-C hub that I use is making my Touch ID buggy, as sometimes it will detect my fingerprint, and sometimes it doesnt work at all. I am using a ugreen USB C 10 in 1 hub to charge my MBA (with the original MBA charger), along with 3 USB A hubs for my keyboard, Mouse dongle, and Microphone. My external Speaker is connected to my monitor instead of the hub. When my USB-C hub is connected to the MBA, it will make my touch ID buggy, but when I remove it, the touch ID will work perfectly fine. 4) Sometimes the USB-C hub does not even get connected if my USB-C to Display Port is connected to the monitor, and vice versa, but sometimes it does work. Have to plug in and out multiple times to get both to work simultaneously. And even if both manages to connect, there is a possibility that the USB-C hub is not working properly; mainly the keyboard being really buggy with random keys registered. After plugging in and out a few times then it will only work as per normal. 5) I don't know if it's the USB-C hub or USB-C to Display Port cable, or a software bug that screwed up my MBA's webcam, but as of now, the webcam green light indicator lights up on it's own even though photo booth, facetime, and other programs that require a webcam it not even turned on. To add to that, my webcam is completely not working at all now. Currently there is a faded green light that is turned on all the time even if I shut down my MBA, I need to find a day to book an appointment with machines to get it diagnosed and fixed. 3-5. Sounds like you're charging your laptop through the USB hub. The MBA M1 is very sensitive to voltage fluctuations. It could explain your multiple electronic failures. |
Feb 25 2021, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(jmwm @ Feb 25 2021, 10:49 AM) i think the 3-5 is really really important for people to know. If there is another way that my monitor can output high refresh rates without taking up a thunderbolt space then I will highly consider charging straight to my mac. Any USB hubs that you know that is reliable and has many USB ports? Would really want to change my current one to prevent future problems Any of the UGreen or Anker hubs are fine - but the rule is the same for now - do NOT charge your M1 MacBook through a hub. Charging needs to sit on its own port.You can try the UGreen USB-C to DP hub - I don't have personal experience with that specific hub though. That aside, try to get the laptop replaced - then from then on, charging needs to be on its own port. |
| Change to: | 0.0335sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:27 AM |