[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

jimbet1337
post Mar 9 2021, 11:44 AM

meh
2,669 posts

Guys, plan to get M1 Air and came across the news about SSD excessive write issue.

Is it going to be fixed in OS updates/hotfix etc sometime in the future?
jimbet1337
post Mar 11 2021, 12:29 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(caffeinionated @ Mar 11 2021, 10:12 AM)
It's most probably blown out of proportion.

1. It's happening on Intel macs too
2. SMART monitoring is not necessarily accurate, or may not be optimised in this instance so take the results with a pinch of salt
3. People tend to forget that Apple has been working on ARM processors and SSD storage in iPads and iPhones for a long, long time before the M1 came about
QUOTE(johnsonxray @ Mar 11 2021, 11:16 AM)
The fix is released now.

https://github.com/davidwernhart/AlDente/releases
For people concerning about the ssd swap, Conclusion: Don't care, just use your computer

Is There A Problem? Swap Memory on M1 Macs
Thanks for the input. Good to know. Never used a mac before. This will be my first.
jimbet1337
post Jul 26 2021, 02:44 PM

meh
2,669 posts

Guys, how much actual free space left for 256GB SSD when you turned on the MBA M1 for the 1st time?
jimbet1337
post Jul 26 2021, 04:01 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(un.deux.trois @ Jul 26 2021, 03:46 PM)
If i remember correctly it’s around 210GB.
thank you.
jimbet1337
post Feb 9 2023, 08:31 AM

meh
2,669 posts

Thanks for the heads up guys. Bought the basic unit RM3599, for general use.
jimbet1337
post Feb 10 2023, 12:00 PM

meh
2,669 posts

What sleeve that you guys use?
jimbet1337
post Feb 21 2023, 11:27 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Feb 21 2023, 11:01 AM)
anyone knows the price to replace cracked screen of MBA M1?
Sorry to hear that. How did it happen?
jimbet1337
post Feb 23 2023, 08:47 AM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Feb 22 2023, 10:38 AM)
kids..........,

anyway Switch replied, cost RM1965 for the screen replacement
So unfortunate. Hope it won't happen again. 2K is a lot of money.
jimbet1337
post Aug 29 2023, 11:15 AM

meh
2,669 posts

For those who connect to external monitor. Which option do you use?

a) Adaptor (USB C male to HDMI female) + normal HDMI cable (male - male)
b) Single cable. USB-C male + HDMI male
jimbet1337
post Nov 19 2023, 12:54 PM

meh
2,669 posts

Thanks everyone. Bought two Dell P2722HE USB monitor and connect it directly via USB.

Too bad M1 doesn't support dual external display, without external dock.
jimbet1337
post Nov 28 2023, 12:27 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Nov 28 2023, 10:52 AM)
if u have an iPad, u can also use it simultaneously with external monitor.
No I don’t but maybe someday 😅

0.0730sec    1.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:00 AM