Just got my Macbook Air M1. I am a happy man now. Trying to set it up instead of transfer from my MBA 2013. Still need to get used to the keyboard distance. Kinda disappointed that still need to delete some items in keychain access in order to unlock from my Apple Watch.
Whats the alt browser you guys use besides safari and chrome? Tried to use chrome but its really consuming too much resources and generating a lot heat also..I tested using chrome to watch some live Twitch streaming on full screen and the cpu reached 100c, while safari only recorded at around 50+ degree on the same video streaming settings. Safari is no doubt a good browser, but just wanted to know if there is something better outside.
The new Microsoft Edge is a good replacement for chrome since it also based on Chromium. But I will just stick to Safari on Mac and using Edge on Windows.
Use Chrome. Safari will destroy your SSD. It loves to swap.
Thank you for your advise. I know M1 love swap, but don't know Safari is one of the app. But I remembered review show that chrome use 10x ram more than Safari. Maybe I try Edge.
This post has been edited by loonsave: Mar 8 2021, 04:09 PM
You are right on that, but after my last disaster with some water damage (water didn't spill on the keyboard but rather someone knocked over a glass of water and it flowed through the back vents) and fall damage (someone hit the bag where the laptop was kept off the chair), I decided to get a casing for my MBA.
You have your point. So it depends on whether someone willing to take the risk or not.
I would like to buy my MacBook pro on Apple site. It seems like it will need about 2-3 weeks to arrive my house based on the estimated delivery date. Does it really take so long if I buy it online from there official page? No shops are opened and I need the laptop asap.
Thanks sifus all.
I think official store not ship from Malaysia. So it will take longer time.
Weird it says up to rm520 discount but bottom small little t&c says called at rm5?
This is how's their "scam marketing" work. Choose an item with the highest discount from original price and advertise it. Try to deceive consumer as usual.
I just came a cross a problem that VirtualBox cannot work on M1 chip when I trying to do local deployment and testing with Vagrant.
Vagrant + Docker also hassle since I can't simulate the real VM environment. If anyone need to work with x86 architecture, you might need to get the Intel based laptop.
Anyone here uses a Logitech bluetooth mouse with their Apple Silicon Macbook? I recently downloaded Options+ which is now Apple Silicon ready and it feels like my MX Master 3 is super smooth! Maybe its a placebo effect
My MBA quite hot after update the OS to 12.5.1. If put on my lap, I can feel the temperature after 1 hour. And I only use it for browsing and chat only.
Updated on 7 Sep: Strange that the heat gone after I reboot my Macbook.
This post has been edited by loonsave: Sep 10 2022, 02:16 PM