XiaoMi AX3600 AX1800 AX5 Vlan tagging

xeon1989
post Apr 14 2021, 12:39 PM

Member since 2008
964 posts

Bought AX3600.
Noticed that with a single device connected to 2.4G wifi, the speed is awesome.
Ping from PC to router 192.168.31.1 less than 1ms.

After I connect all my IoT and IP Cam (~10 devices) which supports only 2.4G wifi, ping from PC become ~600ms and frequently disconnected.

However, if I connect my PC to 5G wifi, it's smooth again.
But I can't connect to 5G wifi with my phone as it doesn't cover every corner in my house (such as toilet) :|

Is this the slow 2.4G wifi a common issue for AX3600?
Even with my very old TL-WR740N, it can easily handle more than 10 devices without hiccup...

blacktubi
post Apr 14 2021, 07:36 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(xeon1989 @ Apr 14 2021, 12:39 PM)
Bought AX3600.

After I connect all my IoT and IP Cam (~10 devices) which supports only 2.4G wifi, ping from PC become ~600ms and frequently disconnected.

But I can't connect to 5G wifi with my phone as it doesn't cover every corner in my house (such as toilet) :|

Even with my very old TL-WR740N, it can easily handle more than 10 devices without hiccup...
Disable WiFi 6 and force 20Mhz mode for the 2.4Ghz band on the Xiaomi AX3600 and hope for the best. You can play around with channels but I doubt that will help a lot.

The Qualcomm based 2.4Ghz radio on the Xiaomi AX3600 isn't that great.

There's actually better WiFi router at this price point unless you absolutely need Mi Home integration.
neuromancerx
post Apr 14 2021, 10:16 PM

879 posts

QUOTE(xeon1989 @ Apr 14 2021, 12:39 PM)
Bought AX3600.

Older device that run on lower data rate can contribute to this, as all the clients will be forced to use the lowest data rate. Normally, cheap IOT device is the culprit.

I solved my 5ghz coverage issue by putting a wifi mesh.
xeon1989
post Apr 15 2021, 04:55 PM

Member since 2008
964 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 14 2021, 07:36 PM)
Disable WiFi 6 and force 20Mhz mode for the 2.4Ghz band on the Xiaomi AX3600 and hope for the best. You can play around with channels but I doubt that will help a lot.

The Qualcomm based 2.4Ghz radio on the Xiaomi AX3600 isn't that great.

There's actually better WiFi router at this price point unless you absolutely need Mi Home integration.
Both has been done, but still the same issue.
I suspect it might be caused by interference as it was placed very near to NVR and there are another router on another side of the wall in neighbour's house.
I tried to relocate router and NVR away from the wall, it runs smoothly. Now monitoring.

QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Apr 14 2021, 10:16 PM)
Older device that run on lower data rate can contribute to this, as all the clients will be forced to use the lowest data rate. Normally, cheap IOT device is the culprit.

Thanks! This might one of the possible cause. Since I already own AX3600, i might get another AX1800 as wifi mesh too.

LanzaDelRelampago
post Apr 20 2021, 04:36 PM

77 posts

Does this applies to the ax9000 also
flubear
post Apr 21 2021, 10:07 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Apr 14 2021, 10:16 PM)

Edited : they still have the scanning available on the settings which is using the 2.4Ghz Wifi.

This post has been edited by flubear: Apr 24 2021, 04:32 AM
m3ow
post Apr 29 2021, 01:57 PM

66 posts

Planning to get AX3600. been using unifi given router and modem like 5 - 6 years ago. so i believe its time to upgrade sikit.
Heard u guys heboh about AX3600 like very keng chow, so need to get it.

One question... do i need to upgrade my modem? old unifi modem from white become yellow now.
toytoy
post Apr 29 2021, 11:41 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(m3ow @ Apr 29 2021, 01:57 PM)
Planning to get AX3600. been using unifi given router and modem like 5 - 6 years ago. so i believe its time to upgrade sikit.
Heard u guys heboh about AX3600 like very keng chow, so need to get it.

One question... do i need to upgrade my modem? old unifi modem from white become yellow now.
Modem is Unifi property. If got problem can ask them to change. The last time I changed due to old one cannot support higher bandwidth.
If your modem no problem then no need to change.

m3ow
post Apr 30 2021, 11:58 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 29 2021, 11:41 PM)
Modem is Unifi property. If got problem can ask them to change. The last time I changed due to old one cannot support higher bandwidth.
If your modem no problem then no need to change.
Understand that. Check on bandwith and dont see any problem.
Thanks!
flubear
post May 3 2021, 12:46 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(m3ow @ Apr 30 2021, 11:58 AM)
Understand that. Check on bandwith and dont see any problem.
Thanks!
i bet your modem is old as a 100 year old tree tongue.gif
anyway since you are and will still subscribe to Unifi at home, you could always ask call Unifi say line slow, ask technician come and request for change of modem after yearsssss of using it. They would change to the new Huawei white modem which is being used by Unifi & Time as well FOR FREE.

AX3600 is still best bang for your buck =)
flubear
post May 3 2021, 12:47 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(LanzaDelRelampago @ Apr 20 2021, 04:36 PM)
Does this applies to the ax9000 also
hmm i got a unit of AX9000, with several MI IOT items, how do you define it being slow ?
Could do some test for ya
LanzaDelRelampago
post May 6 2021, 12:45 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(flubear @ May 3 2021, 12:47 PM)
hmm i got a unit of AX9000, with several MI IOT items, how do you define it being slow ?
Could do some test for ya
How good it is if compared to ax6000 or ax3600.. is it any better. Also does it support dual wan or dual wan aggregation. Do you use it as ap or how do you set up the vlan. These answer would greatly help me before purchasing the ax9000.. only strong point for me was the shape, love the shape. Thanks in advance 😁
TSheidarren
post May 6 2021, 02:16 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(LanzaDelRelampago @ May 6 2021, 12:45 AM)
How good it is if compared to ax6000 or ax3600.. is it any better. Also does it support dual wan or dual wan aggregation. Do you use it as ap or how do you set up the vlan. These answer would greatly help me before purchasing the ax9000.. only strong point for me was the shape, love the shape. Thanks in advance 😁
AX3600 has (compare to AX6000):
Better CPU
Better 2.4GHz (dedicated chipset)
SSH access (so VLAN tagging is possible)

AX6000 has (compare to AX3600):
Better 5GHz performance (5% faster, more OFDMA client supported)
Better 5GHz radio coverage (in radar pattern, AX3600 is strong at front and rear, but weak at sides, AX6000 fixed it)
2.5GHz WAN/LAN port

AX9000 has (compare to AX6000):
Best CPU among these 3 routers
Best 5GHz chipset for 5G1 (even more OFDMA client supported)
Better 2.4GHz (dedicated chipset)
Slightly smaller 5GHz coverage than AX6000 due to Tri-Band, about the same with AX3600
2.5GHz WAN/LAN port

AX3600 is a better router and AX6000 is a better AP, AX9000 seems strong but it doesn't give you better coverage

Dual-wan is not supported but possible if you has good knowledge OpenWRT, same as IPTV VLAN tagging
flubear
post May 7 2021, 11:06 AM

211 posts

@LanzaDelRelampago good summary above already.

If you use Unifi / Maxis then AX3600 gives you less headache with VLAN capability setting available either via mod or english global firm.

If you are on Time or have a lot of users, the triband helps tongue.gif
eugenecctan
post May 8 2021, 11:55 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Sifus, question. My ax1800 once a while need to reset and setup everything again. Anyone facing the same? I am thinking to get a global unit ax3600. Will it solve the issue? Can my existing ax1800 and ax5 China units connect to global unit ax3600 as mesh? Thanks
eugenecctan
post May 8 2021, 01:30 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(heidarren @ Jul 15 2020, 10:43 AM)
True, but luckily we finally managed to get it run on Vlan tagging, the good thing is we only have to do it once and do a backup file, can restore config anytime.
May I know how to backup and restore? Thanks
LanzaDelRelampago
post May 11 2021, 08:59 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(flubear @ May 7 2021, 11:06 AM)
@LanzaDelRelampago good summary above already.

If you use Unifi / Maxis then AX3600 gives you less headache with VLAN capability setting available either via mod or english global firm.

If you are on Time or have a lot of users, the triband helps tongue.gif
Ive set my mind on the ax3600 but ive saw in shopee some seller said still need switch for the global version, the global version have inbuild vlan tagging or still need to ssh into to get the vlan working ya?
LanzaDelRelampago
post May 11 2021, 09:14 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(LanzaDelRelampago @ May 11 2021, 08:59 PM)
Ive set my mind on the ax3600 but ive saw in shopee some seller said still need switch for the global version, the global version have inbuild vlan tagging or still need to ssh into to get the vlan working ya?
disregard this question.

For Unifi user, kindly update your firmware to 3.0.22 and set VLAN 500 for internet, thereafter reset the router and you are good to go!

can get the firmware in the video description below
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWQHrocbmvE&t=94s
flubear
post May 12 2021, 01:02 PM

211 posts

or u can hack the china version tongue.gif
tants
post May 28 2021, 09:08 PM

Hi all Sifu,

I need your help and advice here.
I have installed AX3600. So far all mobile devices, desktop and laptops for work can access internet through Wifi

But the gaming laptops ASUS TUF A15 and Dell Gaming G3 15 cannot access internet through Wifi neither 2.4GHz nor 5GHz. Both of them can access internet through router Lan ports. Are there any settings that i need set on router in order make it work.

Both are using 802.11ac Wifi. Please help.

22 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0341sec    1.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:35 PM